Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Related Material

Administrative Information

Index to cartoons

Inventory

Cartoons

Proofs

printer friendly version

Ed Holland Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Holland, Daniel Edward.
Title: Ed Holland Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1965-1969
Quantity: 1.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Original color editorial cartoons and proofs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Daniel Edward Holland (1918-2009), commonly known as Ed Holland, was an American editorial cartoonist.

Ed Holland was born in Guthrie, Kentucky on February 2, 1918. He attended David Lipscomb College (formerly the Nashville Bible School) from 1936 to 1938, followed by two years at the Chicago Academy of Fine Arts (1938-1939). Holland would later teach at the Chicago Academy of Fine Arts for many years.

Holland worked only a few years as directorial cartoonist for the Nashville Banner (1939-1941) before being called away to service as a lieutenant with the United States Army Air Force during World War II. Holland received several decorations for his service during which he participated in the invasions of Italy and Sicily. Upon his return from service in 1945, Holland began his tenure with the Chicago Tribune after Carey Orr selected him to fill the position left by John T. McCutcheon's retirement, joining Orr and John Parrish with all three sharing the responsibility of creating 14 cartoons a week. With the exception of one four year stint with the Washington Times-Herald (1950-1954), Holland remained with the Chicago Tribune throughout the duration of his career. Holland was promoted to chief editorial cartoonist at the Tribune in 1972, a position he held until his retirement in 1975.

During his career, Holland received numerous citations from the Freedoms Foundation (certificate of merit 1949; medals 1950-51 and 1958), and his cartoons were featured many times, in color, on page one of the Chicago Tribune.

Daniel Edward Holland died on August 18, 2009.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ed Holland Cartoons are divided into 2 series: Cartoons and Proofs.

Cartoons consists of 54 original editorial cartoons. Of particular interest is that these cartoons (except for one) were done in color. The cartoons in this particular collection do not address events or politics specific to Chicago but instead focus on national and foreign affairs including the Vietnam War and President Lyndon Johnson's social programs. Worth noting is Holland's harsh criticism of college students involved with demonstrations and left-wing student groups and several cartoons depicting this appear in this collection. Holland also often used a recurring Uncle Sam character. On undated cartoon in black ink with an inscription to Gladys Clements is also included.

Holland used watercolor, ink and pencil to draw the cartoons on illustration board. The Chicago Tribune published cartoons on the front page of the paper in color, therefore it is likely that is where these cartoons appeared. Notations about specific dates or days of the week appear in pencil on the front of the cartoon. Engraver stamps on the back list dates that differ from the dates on the front of the cartoons (typically preceding the date on the front as the engraver most likely received the cartoon in advance of its publication). For purposes of this inventory, dates appearing on the front have been used to date the individual cartoons except where noted.

There are also 21 color Proofs of cartoons published in the Chicago Tribune during 1966. All but one proof lists the specific date the cartoon appeared. Five of the proofs were printed on newsprint.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The cartoons and proofs are arranged in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Holland, Daniel Edward.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Corporate Bodies

United States. Congress -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Associated Titles

Chicago tribune.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Illinois.
Cartoonists -- United States.
College students -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Demonstrations -- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Student movements -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1963-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.
Proofs (printed matter)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ed Holland Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ed Holland, 1967-1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 19 Nov 2008
Revision history: 19 Nov 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 28 Oct 2009 - added detailed inventory and index (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons (54) 13 1/4" x 15 1/4"
Click here for a detailed inventory by date.
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Oversize 1, Folder 1 Cartoons 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 2 Cartoons 1966
Oversize 1, Folder 3 Cartoons 1967
Oversize 1, Folder 4 Cartoons 1968 Jan - Mar, 1968 May - Jun
Oversize 1, Folder 5 Cartoons 1968 Aug - Oct
Oversize 1, Folder 6 Cartoons 1969 Feb, 1969 Apr - Jul
Oversize 1, Folder 7 Cartoons 1969 Aug - Sep, 1969 Nov
Drawer 100 Cartoons undated - black and white ink cartoon with caption "Starting a Forest Fire" inscribed "To Gladys Clements with my best wishes Ed Holland" 15" x 23"
Proofs
Oversize 1 Proofs 1966

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.

Return to top