Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Related Material

Administrative Information

Index to cartoons

Inventory

Work by Hutton

Work by Others

printer friendly version

Hugh M. Hutton Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Hutton, Hugh McMillen, 1897-1976.
Title: Hugh M. Hutton Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1932-1970
Bulk Dates: 1952-1969
Quantity: 33 linear ft.
Abstract: Over 3,800 original editorial cartoons primarily produced throughout Hutton's career with the Philadelphia Inquirer as well as two pieces of original artwork by cartoonist Pierre Bellocq and clippings of work by other cartoonists.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Hugh M. Hutton (1897-1976) was an American editorial cartoonist who worked at the Philadelphia Inquirer for over 30 years.

Hugh McMillen Hutton was born on December 11, 1897 in Lincoln, Nebraska and grew up with an artistic mother. After attending the University of Minnesota for two years, Hutton enlisted in the armed forces and served in World War I. Hutton pursued coursework in art through correspondence school, the Minneapolis School of Art and the Art Students League.

Hutton found some success with a feature, Nutty Natural History and moved to New York City. He worked at the New York World from 1930 to 1932 and with the United Features Syndicate in 1932 and 1933, drawing illustrations and comic strips. Hutton relocated to Philadelphia and worked as the cartoonist at the Public Ledger in 1933 and 1934. He became the Philadelphia Inquirer's editorial cartoonist in April 1934.

Hutton held membership in several professional organizations including the National Cartoonists Society, the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists, the National Press Club, and the Philadelphia Sketch Club. The National Safety Council recognized Hutton's work with awards in 1951, 1954, 1957 and 1961. He was also awarded several times by Freedoms Foundation and he received a Christopher Award.

Hugh M. Hutton retired from the Philadelphia Inquirer in 1969 and died on January 2, 1976 following a stroke. The Hugh Hutton Award for Intaglio is presented to artists by the American Color Print Society at its annual members’ exhibition.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hugh M. Hutton Papers are divided into two series: Work by Hutton and Work by Others. Both consist primarily of original artwork.

Work by Hutton (1932-1970) contains approximately 3,868 pieces of original artwork for editorial cartoons. Nearly all of the cartoons were drawn for the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1932 to 1970. Most date from 1952 to 1969. About 126 items are undated.

Hutton’s cartoons frequently depict issues of importance to the Philadelphia metropolitan area as well as the activities of the Pennsylvania State Legislature including work to revise the state constitution. Local issues receiving frequent coverage are public transportation and the Delaware River Valley. Unlike many other editorial cartoonists, Hutton rarely drew caricatures of presidents although presidents and their policies are heavily represented. Hutton also invoked the words of figures Ben Franklin, George Washington and Abraham Lincoln while commenting on current events. In addition to recurring characters representing the American taxpayer, Hutton uses a robed woman to depict virtues like peace and truth and John Straphanger to represent a typical public transportation commuter.

Single sheets of paper with information about cartoons not located in this collection and who Hutton sent them to are interspersed throughout the collection of original artwork as well as in the folder of notes. The series also contains clippings of Hutton's work, four negative proofs, a pencil sketch and miscellaneous notes.

Hutton’s original artwork varies in size, generally working at a smaller scale as his tenure at the Inquirer progressed. Hutton’s artwork was drawn almost exclusively in crayon (with traces of pencil visible); however his later cartoons feature some details in ink, primarily lettering. Works were produced on coquille illustration board. Cartoons from 1932 bear a notice from the World Feature Syndicate.

The bulk of the Work by others series is clippings of cartoons by other editorial cartoonists from the 1950s. Most of the items bear a stamp with a date and the name of the Philadelphia Inquirer, possibly indicating that the cartoon was also published in the Inquirer. The majority of these clippings of are cartoons by L.D. Warren of the Cincinnati Enquirer. Also in this series are two pieces of original artwork by cartoonist Pierre Bellocq about Algeria and also the European common market.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged chronologically with undated cartoons filed in alphabetical order by caption. Clippings of work by other cartoonists are filed alphabetically by artist.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists including some of the artists represented in the Works by Others series. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Castro, Fidel, 1926- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Hutton, Hugh McMillen, 1897-1976.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Khrushchev, Nikita Sergeevich, 1894-1971 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Washington, George, 1732-1799 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Corporate Bodies

Democratic Party (U.S.) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- ) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United Nations -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States. Congress. -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Subjects

World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Civil rights movements -- United States -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Cold War -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Communism -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Crime -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Economics -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Elections -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nuclear weapons -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Taxation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Transportation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1933-1945 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Editorial cartoons.
Proofs (printed matter)
Sketches.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hugh M. Hutton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Hugh M. Hutton, 1964 and 1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: –
Date: Jul 1967
Revision history: 6 Jun 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 14 May 2010 - revised bio, scope, inventory; added index (SK); 26 Mar 2012 - updated box 1/OS 39 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Work by Hutton
Clippings
Oversize 39 Editorial cartoons 1957, 1959-1963, 1965, 1967
Original cartoon artwork
Dated
Click here for a detailed inventory.
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Oversize 1 1932-1937, 1939-1940, 1945-1951, 14" x 22 ½"
Oversize 2 1952 Jan-Apr 14" x 22 ½"
Oversize 3 1952 May-Aug 14" x 22 ½"
Oversize 4 1952 Sep-Dec 14" x 22 ½"
Oversize 5 1953 Jan-Apr 14" x 22 ½"
Oversize 6 1953 May-Aug 14" x 22 ½"
Oversize 7 1953 Sep-Dec 14" x 22 ½"
Oversize 8 1954 Jan-Apr 14" x 22 ½"
Oversize 9 1954 May-Sep 14" x 22 ½"
Oversize 10 1954 Oct-1955 Feb 14 ½" x 18 ½"
Oversize 11 1955 Mar-May 11" X 14"
Oversize 12 1955 Jun-Nov 11 ½" x 14 ½"
Oversize 13 1955 Dec-1956 Apr 14 ½" x 18 ½"
Oversize 14 1956 May-1956 Jul 15 14 ½" x 18 ½"
Oversize 15 1956 Jul 16 -1956 Dec 13" x 18"
Oversize 16 1957 Jan-Apr 13" x 18"
Oversize 17 1957 Jun-Sep 13" x 18"
Oversize 18 1957 Oct-1958 Feb 13" x 18"
Oversize 19 1958 Mar-Jul 13" x 18"
Oversize 20 1958 Aug-Nov 13" x 18"
Oversize 21 1958 Dec-1959 Apr 13" x 18"
Oversize 22 1959 May-Sep 13" x 18"
Oversize 23 1959 Oct-1960 Feb 13" x 18"
Oversize 24 1960 Mar-Aug 13" x 18"
Oversize 25 1960 Sep-1961 Feb 13" x 18"
Oversize 26 1961 Mar-Aug 11" X 14"
Oversize 27 1961 Sep-1962 Mar 11" x 14"
Oversize 28 1962 May-Jun, 1962 Oct-1963 Apr 11 ½" x 14 ½" 14" x 18 ½"
Oversize 29 1963 May-Dec 15" x 18" 11" x 14"
Oversize 30 1964 Jan-Aug, 1964 Oct-Nov 11" X 14"
Oversize 31 1965 Jan-Sep 11" x 15"
Oversize 32 1965 Oct-1966 May 11 ½" x 14"
Oversize 33 1966 Jun-Dec 11 ½" x 14 ½"
Oversize 34 1967 Jan-Sep 11 ½" x 14 ½"
Oversize 35 1967 Oct-1968 Jun 11 ½" x 14 ½"
Oversize 36 1968 Jul-1969 Feb 11 ½" x 14 ½"
Oversize 37 1969 Mar-1970 Jan 11 ½" x 14 ½"
Undated (126 items)
Oversize 38 A-W
Oversize 38 Untitled
Miscellaneous
Oversize 39 Notes 11 Jan 1949, 1952, 1954, 1956
Order for drawing paper
Notes about removed cartoons
Weather maps
Oversize 39 Proofs 15 Jul 1960, 25 Nov 1965, 21 Jan 1966, 7 Feb 1966
Oversize 39 "Our Game Warden" pencil sketch undated 8 ½" x 11"
Work by Others
Clippings
Box 1 Newspaper clippings of editorial cartoons 1952-1956 1958, undated
Barrow, Henry
Bastian, Robert
Berryman, Clifford Kennedy
Brett, Unknown
Carmack, Paul
Conrad, Paul
Craig, Eugene
Crawford, Bill
Crockett, Gib
Duffy, Edmund
Evans, Roy
Fitzpatrick, D.R.
Flannery, Thomas J.
Hungerford, Cy
Herblock
Hess, Don
Holland, Ed
Jensen, Cecil
Justus, Roy
Kuekes, Edward
Mauldin, Bill
Miller, Frank
Orr, Carey
Page, Grover
Poinier, Art
Ray, S.J.
Russell, Bruce
Seibel, Fred O.
Shanks, Bruce
Shoemaker, Vaughn
Somerville, John?
Stambre, John
Temple, Keith
Warren, L.D.
Williams, Frank
Wood, Art
Original cartoon artwork
Oversize 39 Pierre Bellocq 11" x 14"
Jul 21, 1961: [Algeria negotiations]
Undated: [European common market]

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.

Return to top