Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Industrial Designers Society of America.
Title:	Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA) Records
Inclusive Dates:	1944-1977
Quantity:	125.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Administrative papers from several earlier organizations, including the American Society of Industrial Designers and the Industrial Designers' Institute, which merged into the Industrial Designers Society of America in 1965; bound material including minutes and scrapbook; audio-visual material including slides, films, and tapes; printed material; and memorabilia.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The term "industrial designer" originated in the U.S. Patent Office in 1913 as a synonym for the then-current term "art in industry." In 1927 Macy's department store in New York City held a well-attended Exposition of Art in Trade, which featured "modern products," many of them from the 1925 International Exposition of Modern Decorative and Industrial Arts in Paris. Public and manufacturer demand for these new "Art Deco" styles immedately surged, and a number of design professionals (including architects, package designers and stage designers) began for the first time to focus their creative efforts on mass-produced products. These professionals adopted the title of "industrial designer."

In the ensuing decades numerous organizations of industrial designers were formed, including the American Union of Decorative Artists and Craftsmen (AUDAC, ca. 1928), the National Furniture Designers' Council (NFDC, 1933), the American Designers Institute (ADI, ca. 1937), the Society of Industrial Designers (SID, 1944), the Industrial Designers Institute (IDI, 1951), and the Industrial Design Education Association (IDEA, 1957).

In 1955, SID changed its name to the American Society of Industrial Design (ASID). In 1965, after over ten years of careful negotiations, ASID merged with IDI and IDEA to form the Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA), thus becoming "the single voice of industrial design in the US."

In 1965 IDSA had approximately 600 members in 10 chapters across the country. Its first Chairman of the Board was John Vassos (1898-1985), the founder of ADI, and its first President was Henry Dreyfuss (1904-1972). By 2000, the organization boasted over 3,300 members and 28 chapters.

IDSA's purpose is to "advances the positive impact of design on business and society while directly benefiting members by evolving into the world's most effective design organization." It strives to improve both the field of industrial design (quality, originality, innovation) and the education and careers of its members. IDSA recognizes excellence in the field via its Catalyst Awards and IDEA (International Design Excellence Awards).

[Portions of this summary adapted from IDSA's website, http://www.idsa.org/

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA) Records covers more than thirty years and comprises five series.

General files contains office files from predecessor industrial design organizations (ASID, IDI) as well as files from IDSA itself; topics include among other things advertising, annual meetings, awards, clients and products, committee activities, designs, engineering, international activities, marketing, piracy and patents, public relations, and symposiums. Also here will be found material from related organizations (for example, the American Society of Civil Engineers, U.S. Chamber of Commerce, Council of Industrial Design, Eastern Arts Association, Folding Paper Box Association, National Society of Interior Designers, Society of Plastics Industry).

Bound materials contains books of meeting minutes, a guest book, scrapbook, and hotel register.

Printed matter consists of brochures, pamphlets, and periodicals of commercial origin and also periodicals and leaflets published by IDSA.

Audio-visual material includes slides, films and tapes relating to industrial design.

In the Memorabilia series will be found logos, membership pins, award certificates, photographs and various pieces of artwork.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

General files and Bound materials are arranged alphabetically by title/topic. Printed material is subdivided alphabetically by type and then by title. Audiovisual material and Memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by type..

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to industrial design. For a complete list, please refer to the SCRC Subject Index .

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CAK
Date: 3 Sep 1979
Revision history: 7 Jan 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 27 Jan 2021 - Box 113 rehoused, some items moved to new Oversize 8 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	General files
Box 1		Admissions 1965, 1968 (2 folders)
Box 1		Advertising 1971
Box 1		Advisory council 1965, 1967, 1969, 1971, undated (7 folders)
Box 1		American Arbitration Association
Box 1		American Ceramic Society
Box 1		American Council of Education
Box 1		American Council of Industrial Arts Teacher Education
Box 1		American Craftsman Council
Box 1		American Federation of Arts
Box 1		American Institute of Approval
Box 1		American Institute of Architects (2 folders)
Box 1		American Institute of Chemical Engineers
Box 1		American Institute of Decorators (2 folders)
Box 1		American Institute of Die Casting
Box 1		American Institute of Graphic Arts
Box 1		American Institute of Industrial Engineers
Box 1		American Institute of Management
Box 1		American Management Association 1957, 1958, undated (5 folders)
Box 1		American Management Association - Questionnaire 1947
Box 1		American Marketing Association
Box 1		American Personnel and Guidance Association
Box 1		American Public Relations Association
Box 1		American Society of Association Executives (2 folders)
Box 1		American Society of Civil Engineers
Box 1		American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioner Engineers (3 folders)
Box 1		American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Box 2		American Standards Association
Box 2		American Trade Associarion Executives
Box 2			Annual meeting 1945-1955 (38 folders)
Box 3			Annual meeting 1955-1959 (41 folders)
Box 4			Annual meeting 1959-1961 (47 folders)
Box 5			Annual meeting 1961-1963 (29 folders)
Box 6			Annual meeting 1963-1965 (28 folders)
Box 7			Annual meeting 1965-1969 (24 folders)
Box 8			Annual meeting 1969-1971 (21 folders)
Box 9		Applications - forms and information (2 folders)
Box 9		Arbitration
Box 9		Architecture
Box 9		Archives 1965
Box 9		Art Directors Club
Box 9		Articles of general interest
Box 9		Arts Council of America 1965
Box 9		Associate category (2 folders)
Box 9		Association Executives
		Associations
Box 9			General 1967-1971 (7 folders)
Box 9			Consulting Management Engineers (2 folders)
Box 9		Atomic Energy Commission
Box 9		Automation (2 folders)
		Awards
Box 9			General 1952-1965 (13 folders)
Box 9			Competitions 1959-1960
Box 10			Competitions 1961-1970 (14 folders)
Box 10			Design 1951-1953 (13 folders)
Box 11			Design 1953-1961 (29 folders)
Box 12			Design 1962-1965 (12 folders)
Box 12			Entries
Box 13			Fashion Academy (2 folders)
Box 13			Former programs
Box 13			Industry 1959-1965 (3 folders)
Box 13			Junior Achievement
Box 13			Kaufman International (2 folders)
Box 13			Koppers Competition (2 folders)
Box 13			Madawick 1965
Box 13			Merit 1969
Box 13			Modern plastics
Box 13			Packaging Council
Box 13			Photos 1960-1964 (7 folders)
Box 13			Pins and medals
Box 13			Scholarships
Box 13			Special 1965
Box 13			Steel program 1963
Box 13			Student administration (2 folders)
Box 13			Student competition 1956-1958 (4 folders)
Box 14			Student competition 1959-1960 (2 folders)
Box 14			Walter Dorwin Teague
Box 14			Young Artist Project
Box 14		Ballots 1953-1965 (7 folders)
Box 14		Barrier Free Design 1971
Box 14		Beautificat
Box 14		Bibliographical
Box 14		Bibliography 1964-1971 (12 folders)
		Board of Directors
Box 14			1945-1953 (9 folders)
Box 15			1953-1965 (45 folders)
Box 16			1966-1975 (16 folders)
		Board of Trustees
Box 16			1946-1957 (21 folders)
Box 17			1958-1964 (23 folders)
Box 18		Body politic 1968
Box 18		Bookkeeping
Box 18		Book orders
Box 18		Books (reviews)
Box 18		Brochures - other organizations
Box 18		Business 1953-1954
Box 18		Business ad course 1952
Box 18		Business and Professional Woman's Club
Box 18		Business methods and promotions 1955
Box 18		Business outlook
Box 18		Business practice
Box 18		Business promotion questionnaire 1952
Box 18		Bylaws 1945-1965 (21 folders)
Box 19		Calendar of events 1960-1971 (5 folders)
Box 19		Case histories
Box 19		Certificates, Engrossing
Box 19		Census 1971
Box 19		Chamber of Commerce of the U. S.
		Chapters
Box 19			General 1955-1970 (21 folders)
Box 19			Allegheny 1947-1965 (13 folders)
Box 19			Atlanta 1968-1970 (3 folders)
Box 19			Boston 1965-1970
Box 19			Central New York 1965-1970 (7 folders)
Box 20			Chicago (3 folders)
Box 20			Detroit 1952-1970 (11 folders)
Box 20			Florida
Box 20			Los Angeles 1965-1971 (8 folders)
Box 20			Mexico City
Box 20			Miami 1967 (3 folders)
Box 20			Mid-East Region 1967 (3 folders)
Box 20			Mid-West Region 1947-1970 (20 folders)
Box 20			Minnesota
Box 20			New England
			New York
Box 20				1952-1957 (5 folders)
Box 21				1957-1970 (22 folders)
Box 21			North-East Region 1967-1970 (3 folders)
Box 21			Ohio Valley 1967-1970 (9 folders)
			Pacific Coast
Box 21				1952-1962 (8 folders)
Box 22				1962-1965 (4 folders)
Box 22			Philadelphia (2 folders)
Box 22			San Francisco 1967-1971 (9 folders)
Box 22			Southern New England 1960-1971 (11 folders)
Box 22			Southern Region 1967-1968 (2 folders)
			Student
Box 22				1967-1971 (22 folders)
Box 23				undated (12 folders)
Box 23		Christmas gifts 1970
		Clients and products
Box 23			Accordian
Box 23			Aerosol containers
Box 23			Air conditioners
Box 23			Automobile Manufacturers' Association (2 folders)
Box 23			Automotive Engineers (3 folders)
Box 23			Automotive industry
Box 23			Autos
Box 23			Aviation
Box 23			Bathroom equipment (2 folders)
Box 23			Baths
Box 23			Batteries
Box 24			Bell Telephone Labs
Box 24			Bowlene
Box 24			Bundy Tubing Co.
Box 24			Carpet sweeper
Box 24			Cash register
Box 24			Century 21
Box 24			Coffee maker
Box 24			Companies - miscellaneous
Box 24			Computers
Box 24			Construction
Box 24			Control instruments
Box 24			Cooking pots
Box 24			Copying machine
Box 24			Corn popper
Box 24			Corning Glass Works
Box 24			Dictaphone
Box 24			Dictating equipment
Box 24			Disposal
Box 24			Dishwasher
Box 24			Domes
Box 24			Electric blanket controls
Box 24			Electronics
Box 24			Farm machinery
Box 24			Fans (2 folders)
Box 24			Flashlight and hand lamps
Box 24			Floor machines
Box 24			Food
Box 24			Freezers
Box 24			Furniture
Box 24			Garage
Box 24			General Motors
Box 24			Hearing aids
Box 24			Home fashions
Box 24			Honeywell
Box 24			Industrial lighting
Box 24			Interiors
Box 24			International Harvester Company
Box 24			Irons
Box 24			Jaybern Press
Box 24			Juicers
Box 24			Kitchen appliances
Box 24			Kodak
Box 24			Lawn mower
Box 24			Lighting
Box 24			Locks
Box 24			Machine design (2 folders)
Box 24			Marking devices
Box 24			Massage, scalp
Box 24			Medical design
Box 24			Metropolitan (rapid) transit
Box 24			Michigan Consolidated Gas Co.
Box 24			Military and government
Box 24			Mixers
Box 24			Mobile homes
Box 24			Motors and engines
Box 24			Mousetrap
Box 24			Multiprint, Inc.
Box 24			Northwestern National Life Insurance Co.
Box 24			Oil rigs and oil drilling
Box 24			Oneida Ltd.
Box 24			Paint sprayer
Box 24			Pens and pencils
Box 24			Photographic equipment
Box 24			Piano
Box 24			Picture frames
Box 24			Plastics Institute
Box 24			Plumbing
Box 24			Porcelain enamel (2 folders)
Box 24			Printing
			Prospective clients
Box 24				1957-1962 (5 folders)
Box 25				1962-1971 (13 folders)
Box 25			Radio
Box 25			Ranges
Box 25			Recording equipment
Box 25			Refrigeration
Box 25			Reynolds Aluminum Co.
Box 25			Satellites
Box 25			Saws and cutting devices
Box 25			Scales
Box 25			Sewing machines
Box 25			Sharpeners
Box 25			Shavers
Box 25			Slicing machine
Box 25			Solar energy
Box 25			Sprinklers
Box 25			Steel industries
Box 25			Sun lamp
Box 25			Super sonic transport
Box 25			Telephones (2 folders)
Box 25			Televisions
Box 25			Theatre design
Box 25			Toaster and waffle iron
Box 25			Tools
Box 25			Towers
Box 25			Trains
Box 25			Transportation
Box 25			Triennale 1954-1964 (8 folders)
Box 25			Typewriters
Box 25			Upholstery Leather Group, Inc.
Box 25			Urban renewal
Box 25			Vacuum cleaners
Box 25			Varizoom cameras
Box 25			Washers and dryers
Box 25			Wheelchair
Box 25			Wood Office Furniture Institute
Box 25			Wood and wood products
Box 26			World's Fair 1964-1965 (2 folders)
Box 26		Cocktail parties
Box 26		Color Research Institute of America
Box 26		Comet Ray Letter Service (2 folders)
Box 26		Commerce, Chamber of
		Committees
Box 26			General 1955-1969 (10 folders)
Box 26			Activity 1957-1962 (6 folders)
Box 26			Appointments 1949-1964 (14 folders)
Box 26			Lists
Box 26			Reports 1950-1963 (11 folders)
			Specific committee proceedings
Box 26				Admissions 1961-1963 (2 folders)
Box 26				Adult education 1960-1962 (3 folders)
Box 26				Annual meeting 1953-1954
Box 26				Biographies
Box 26				Book (3 folders)
Box 27				Business methods and promotion 1952-1957 (12 folders)
Box 27				Bylaws 1953-1958 (5 folders)
Box 27				Code of practice 1952-1953
Box 27				Combined information and sample reference system 1962-1963 (3 folders)
Box 27				Competitions 1965
Box 27				Contracts 1952-1953 (2 folders)
Box 27				Corporation activities 1953-1954
Box 27				Credentials 1958-1959 (2 folders)
Box 27				Cultural activities
Box 27				Design protection
Box 27				Development and planning
Box 27				Directory
				Education
Box 27					1949-1968 (19 folders)
Box 28					1968-1971 (15 folders)
Box 28				Election 1942
Box 28				Executive 1959-1971 (15 folders)
Box 28				Exhibit 1953-1956 (8 folders)
Box 28				External affairs 1952-1956 (3 folders)
Box 28				Fellows 1955-1964 (7 folders)
				Fellowship
Box 28					1954-1963 (9 folders)
Box 29					1964-1965 (5 folders)
Box 29				Film 1952-1960 (5 folders)
Box 29				Finance 1952-1969 (11 folders)
Box 29				Foreign affairs 1956-1965 (8 folders)
Box 29				Government relations 1958-1962 (6 folders)
Box 29				Graphics 1960 (3 folders)
Box 29				Grievance 1957-1959 (2 folders)
Box 29				Gripe 1952-1953
Box 29				Handicapped, employment of 1952-1959 (4 folders)
Box 29				Headquarters 1953-1956 (2 folders)
Box 29				High school orientation study 1964-1965
Box 29				Homestyle Center Foundation 1956
Box 29				Human resources
Box 29				Industrial and institutional relations
Box 29				Industry liaison 1958-1965 (10 folders)
Box 29				Inter-society affairs
Box 29				Internal activities 1958-1963 (4 folders)
Box 30				Internal professional services 1965-1967 (6 folders)
Box 30				Licensing 1950-1951 (3 folders)
Box 30				Membership 1949-1971 (29 folders)
Box 30				Membership promotion 1952-1954 (4 folders)
Box 31				Museum 1952-1955 (3 folders)
Box 31				National admissions (2 folders)
Box 31				National meeting 1960-1961
Box 31				New business
Box 31				New chapter
Box 31				Nominating 1955-1970 (17 folders)
Box 31				Patents 1954-1963 (8 folders)
Box 31				Pensions and insurance 1952-1964 (12 folders)
Box 31				Philosophy of industrial design (2 folders)
Box 31				Placement
				Policy-making
Box 31					1955
Box 32					1956-1965
Box 32				Public affairs 1952 (2 folders)
Box 32				Public relations 1953-1960 (8 folders)
Box 32				Public service 1969-1971 (3 folders)
Box 32				Publications 1953-1971 (8 folders)
Box 32				Professional evaluation 1963 (5 folders)
Box 32				Program 1944-1953 (3 folders)
Box 32				Research and statistics 1953-1955 (5 folders)
Box 33				Scholarship
Box 33				School approval 1961
Box 33				Slide show 1954-1959 (11 folders)
Box 33				Speakers service
Box 33				Standards of professional training 1953 (3 folders)
Box 33				Steering
Box 33				Student activities 1954-1955
Box 33				Student membership 1952-1960 (2 folders)
Box 33				Study 1958-1959
Box 33		Communications 1970
Box 33		Compensation report
Box 33		Consolidation program
Box 33		Consultant designers' register
Box 33		Consumer Affairs 1969-1971 (3 folders)
Box 33		Contemporary Architecture 1947
Box 33		Contract forms 1960-1961 (2 folders)
Box 33		Control Engineering Corporation
Box 33		Corporation business 1954
Box 33		Corporation papers
		Correspondence
Box 33			General 1945-1949 (6 folders)
Box 34			General 1949-1956 (21 folders)
Box 35			General 1956-1961 (20 folders)
Box 36			General 1961-1963 (16 folders)
Box 37			General 1963-1971 (39 folders)
Box 38			General undated (40 folders)
Box 39			General undated (25 folders)
Box 40			General undated (24 folders)
Box 40		Council of Industrial Design
Box 40		Creativity
Box 40		Current ASID
Box 40		Data sheets (2 folders)
		Design
Box 40			As communication
Box 40			Centers 1967-1968 (2 folders)
Box 40			Contracts
Box 41			Council 1964-1965 (2 folders)
Box 41			Definitions
Box 41			Directory
Box 41			Experimental
Box 41			For industry
Box 41			Futurism
Box 41			In corporations
Box 41			Integrity 1955
Box 41			News of interest
Box 41			Notes 1965 (2 folders)
Box 41			Patent litigation
Box 41			Protection 1957-1968 (12 folders)
Box 41			Sources of inspiration
Box 41			Term paper
		Designers
Box 41			General (2 folders)
Box 41			Appel/Graser -- Cushing and Neville (36 folders)
Box 42			Dailey, Don -- Kraus, Walter (92 folders)
Box 43			Labalme Associates, Inc. -- Myers, Stowe (58 folders)
Box 44			Neafie, Harry -- Stephenson, Charles F. (83 folders)
Box 45			Stephenson, Charles F. -- Yang/Gardner (59 folders)
Box 46			Yang/Gardner (16 folders)
Box 47			Young, Raymond C. -- Non ASID (6 folders)
		Designs rejected
Box 47			General -- Commercial exteriors (22 folders)
Box 48			Communications -- Windows (37 folders)
Box 49		Dues structure and reviews 1963-1965 (2 folders)
Box 49		Eastern Arts Association
Box 49		Economics
		Education
Box 49			General, 1952 -- Association (28 folders)
Box 50			Association -- Business school indoctrination, 1967 (25 folders)
Box 51			Career briefs, 1968 -- Nominations (38 folders)
Box 52			Occupational briefs, 1968 -- Schools and universities (26 folders)
Box 52				General -- Auburn University (9 folders)
Box 53				Bridgeport -- Western Reserve (59 folders)
Box 54				Wisconsin -- Yale (2 folders)
Box 54			Statistical survey -- Working file (15 folders)
Box 54		Elections 1948-1965 (13 folders)
Box 54		Electronics
Box 54		Employee rating survey
Box 54		Employee's agreement
Box 54		Engineering (3 folders)
Box 54		Engineering, human and value (2 folders)
Box 54		Engineers' Joint Council
Box 54		Executive secretary salary guide
Box 54		Executives
		Exhibits
Box 54			General, 1947-1958 (12 folders)
Box 55			General, 1957-1971 -- "Design in America" (33 folders)
Box 56			"Design in America" -- Museums (23 folders)
Box 56				General 1970-1971 (6 folders)
Box 57				A-Z (Albright Art Gallery to West Coast Museums) (38 folders)
Box 57		Fact sheet 1965 (2 folders)
Box 57		Federal Advisory Commission on the Arts
Box 57		Final reservations 1951-1952
		Financial
Box 58			Accountant, 1960 -- Bills, 1961 (24 folders)
Box 59			Bills, 1961 -- Budgets, 1965 (16 folders)
Box 60			Budgets -- Statements, 1957 (58 folders)
Box 61			Statements, 1958 - Treasurer, 1965 (25 folders)
Box 62			Treasurer, 1970 (3 folders)
Box 62		First National City Bank of New York
Box 62		Ford Foundation
Box 62		Foundation 1971
Box 62		Folding Paper Box Association (2 folders)
Box 62		Free design service (4 folders)
Box 62		Government (11 folders)
Box 62		Graphics 1966-1971
Box 62		Group insurance
Box 62		Guidance program, Teague
Box 62		HUD study 1970
		Handbook material
Box 62			Chapter manual -- Ethics, industry, 1969 (32 folders)
Box 63			Ethics, Industry, 1970 -- Student chapter manual (29 folders)
Box 63		Handicapped, employment and criteria (3 folders)
		History
Box 63			General 1969-1970 (8 folders)
Box 64			General -- Organization (18 folders)
Box 64		House of Representatives Standing Committee
Box 64		How to Use an Industrial Designer
Box 64		Human engineering
Box 64		Human Factors Society 1970-1971 (2 folders)
Box 64		Incorporation vs. partnership of industrial design practice 1955
Box 64		Industrial Designers Guild
Box 65		Industrial Design Institute (4 folders)
Box 65		Industrial Design Students' Association
Box 65		Industrial marketing
Box 65		Industry 1964-1965 (5 folders)
Box 65		Industry liaison 1967-1971 (6 folders)
Box 65		Infringements or piracy
Box 65		Insurance 1952-1970 (13 folders)
		Inter-society
Box 65			General -- Affairs (6 folders)
Box 66			Affairs -- Structure and procedures (42 folders)
Box 66		Interim report 1969-1971 (3 folders)
Box 66		Internal activities 1965-1969 (2 folders)
		International
Box 66			General 1965-1969 (4 folders)
Box 67			General, 1970 -- Council of Societies (23 folders)
Box 68			Council of Societies (2 folders)
			Countries
Box 68				Africa -- France, 1958 (26 folders)
Box 69				France, 1963 -- Great Britain, 1965 (29 folders)
Box 70				Great Britain, 1965 -- Italy, 1964 (34 folders)
Box 71				Italy, 1961 -- Philippines, 1965 (39 folders)
Box 72				Poland -- Yugoslavia (13 folders)
Box 72			Foreign design groups -- trade fairs (19 folders)
Box 72		Intra-professional 1967-1970 (4 folders)
Box 72		Job resumes 1957-1958 (2 folders)
Box 72		Job seekers, inquiries, and placement (4 folders)
Box 73		Joint Action 1959-1960
Box 73		Labor, U.S. Department of
Box 73		"Lahti" studies
Box 73		Leases, offices (3 folders)
Box 73		Legal 1968-1971 (6 folders)
Box 73		Liaison 1963-1964 (3 folders)
Box 73		Library 1953-1970 (3 folders)
Box 73		Licensing 1969 (2 folders)
Box 73		Logo
Box 73		Long Island Railroad
Box 73		Long range policy
Box 73		Mailing lists 1971 (3 folders)
Box 73		Machine design
Box 73		Management
Box 73		Management aids
Box 73		Marketing
Box 73		Material on loan 1958-1962 (2 folders)
Box 73		Materials
Box 73		Materials suppliers
		Membership
Box 73			General -- Applications, general (14 folders)
Box 74			Applications, general (14 folders)
			Applications
Box 75				General -- Dike, Roy Wesley (49 folders)
Box 76				Deskey, Donald -- Gunther, Harst (35 folders)
Box 77				Gustafson, F. Malcolm -- Lynxwiler, Thomas L. D. (40 folders)
Box 78				L--U, V, W (50 folders)
Box 79				Rejected
Box 79			Biographies, 1952 -- Expansion, 1971 (41 folders)
Box 80			Information -- Lists (40 folders)
Box 81			Lists -- Student (26 folders)
Box 81		Merchandise mart
Box 81		Merchandising
Box 81		Merger 1965 (7 folders)
Box 81		Metropolitan survey
Box 82		Model makers
Box 82		Motivation research
Box 82		Name for a new society
Box 82		National Alliance of Art and Industry, Inc.
Box 82		National Committee for Effective Design Legislation
Box 82		National Council on the Arts 1967-1970 (7 folders)
Box 82		National defense
Box 82		Narional Design Center
Box 82		National Institute for Commercial and Trade Organization Executives
Box 82		National Industrial Conference Board
		National Office
Box 82			General, 1956 -- President's Annual Report, 1964 (37 folders)
Box 83			President's Annual Report, 1965 - Vice President's Report, 1960 (32 folders)
Box 83		National reports
Box 83		National Safety Council
Box 83		National Society for Decorative Design
Box 83		National Society for Study of Communication
Box 83		National Society of Interior Designers
Box 83		New York State Council on the Arts
Box 83		New York State Personnel Management Association
Box 83		New York State Society of Professional Engineers
Box 84		News/press clippings 1957-1971 (21 folders)
		Newsletter
Box 84			Newsletter 1951-1954 (28 folders)
Box 85			Newsletter 1955-1958 (39 folders)
Box 86			Newsletter 1958-1961 (32 folders)
Box 87			Newsletter 1961-1964 (43 folders)
Box 88			Newsletter 1964-?? - typescripts (17 folders)
Box 88		Nominations and elections 1968-1971 (5 folders)
Box 88		Non profit organizations
Box 88		Obsolescence 1956 (2 folders)
Box 88		Office routine (2 folders)
Box 89		Office supplies (2 folders)
Box 89		Organizational charts
Box 89		Organizations, miscellaneous 1970-1971 (4 folders)
Box 89		P.E.P. 1970
Box 89		Package Designers Council 1969-1971 (4 folders)
Box 89		Package research conference
Box 89		Packaging (2 folders)
Box 89		Packaging Institute
Box 89		Patents (3 folders)
Box 89		Pending
		Periodicals
Box 89			General 1955-1971 (21 folders)
Box 90			American Artist -- Journal (35 folders)
Box 91			Journal -- U.S. Industrial Designer (41 folders)
Box 92			U.S. Industrial Designer -- Wall Street Journal (16 folders)
Box 92		Personnel
Box 92		Personnel classification
Box 92		Photographic Society of America
Box 92		Piracy and patents
Box 92		Pitney Bowes postage machine
Box 92		Placement (3 folders)
Box 92		Plastics
Box 92		Point of Purchase Advertising Institute
Box 92		Postal license
		Presentations
Box 92			Films, 1967; slides, 1971 (22 folders)
			Speeches
Box 93				General -- Cambridge Lectures 1949 (24 folders)
Box 94				Contini, Renato -- Whidden, R.H. (31 folders)
Box 94		Printing
Box 94		Product engineering 1957 (2 folders)
Box 94		Product identification
Box 94		Product innovation
Box 94		Product planning (2 folders)
Box 94		Professionalism 1958-1970 (6 folders)
Box 94		Program ideas 1962-1963 (2 folders)
Box 94		Programs and samples (3 folders)
Box 94		Progress reports 1954-1960 (6 folders)
Box 95		Progress reports 1960-1964 (9 folders)
Box 95		Project "Earning Power"
Box 95		Proposal for modification of executive structure
Box 95		Proposals re: alternate year design conference
Box 95		Psychological Service Center
		Public relations
Box 95			General -- Counsel (22 folders)
Box 96			Council on Student Competition -- Publicity (29 folders)
Box 96		Questionnaires and results
Box 96		Reference file (2 folders)
Box 96		Replies to questionnaires
Box 96		Report on applications
Box 96		Requests for Industrial Design Report
Box 96		Research and development
Box 96		Research and statistics 1956-1960 (4 folders)
Box 97		Research and statistics 1960-1971 (14 folders)
Box 97		Research contracts
Box 97		Research Institute of American
Box 97		Research organizations
Box 97		Researchers
Box 97		Resumes
Box 97		Review of SID activity
Box 97		Roadside protection 1969-1971 (3 folders)
Box 97		Safety 1967-1971 (7 folders)
Box 97		Safety through design 1966
Box 97		Sales management
Box 97		Science Research Associates
Box 97		Scientific Apparatus Makers Association
Box 97		Secretarial service
Box 97		Small Business Administration
Box 97		Society of Business Advisory Professionals
Box 97		Society of Industrial Artists 1970
Box 97		Society of Plastics Engineers (2 folders)
Box 97		Society of Plastics Industry
Box 97		Society of Typographic Arts
Box 97		Sources 1955-1958 (3 folders)
Box 98		Sources 1959-1969 (9 folders)
Box 98		Speakers 1963-1971 (3 folders)
Box 98		Speakers' Bureau questionnaire 1963
Box 98		Special Study Group 1969-1970 (2 folders)
Box 98		Speculative Design
Box 98		Standard employment agreement
Box 98		Statistics 1968-1969 (10 folders)
Box 98		Suggestions
Box 98		Survey information (5 folders)
Box 99		Symposiums 1955-1963 (30 folders)
Box 100		Symposiums 1964-1970 (8 folders)
Box 100		Table of organization 1969-1971 (3 folders)
Box 100		Tape of library 1969
Box 100		Technical Information System 1970-1971 (2 folders)
Box 100		Trade and industry
Box 100		Trade mark
Box 100		Trade Mark Association
Box 100		UNESCO
Box 100		Umbrella Society 1968
Box 100		United States Information Agency
Box 100		United States Department of State
Box 100		Veterans programs
Box 100		Women in Design 1970
Box 100		World Trade Center 1970
Box 100		Year-end report 1965-1971 (3 folders)
Box 100		Yearbook
		Miscellaneous
Box 100			General (9 folders)
Box 101			Account book pages (2 folders)
Box 101			Artwork and layouts (3 folders)
Box 101			Certificate samples
Box 101			Citations to industry
Box 101			Design awards
Box 101			Education Association studies reports
Box 101			Journal proofs (2 folders)
Box 102			Photographs (38 folders)
Box 103			Photographs (13 folders)
Box 104			Photographs (22 folders)
Box 105			Photographs (8 folders)
Box 106			Photographs (3 folders)
Box 106			Promotional posters
Box 106			Public relations packet (2 folders)
Box 106			Report on member societies
Box 106			Trademark samples

	Bound materials
Box 106		Guest book 1950
Box 106		Hotel register
Box 106		Minutes books (3 volumes)
Box 107		Minutes books (3 volumes)
Box 107		Scrapbook

	Printed matter
		Books
Box 107			Design in America: Professional Practice for Designers (5 volumes)
		Periodicals
Box 107			American Designer -- Asia Notebook
Box 108			Auburn University Bulletin -- Dateline
Box 109			Dateline -- ICSID Report
Box 110			ISCC Newsletter -- Mexico, 1968 Olympics
Box 111			Mexico, 1968 Olympics
Box 112			Mayen's Audio Visuals - pamphlets and bulletins

	Audio-visual material
Box 113		Films - includes some documentation (2 folders)
Box 113		Slides - includes some documentation; many appear to be examples of student work (3 folders, 7 small boxe)
Oversize 8		Slides - numerous small boxes inside larger plastic container; some are identified ("Annual meeting", "Sears Roebuck") but many are not; no documentation
Box 114		Tapes (52 cassettes)
Box 115		Tapes (40 reels)
Box 116		Tapes (39 reels)
Box 117		Tapes (37 reels)
Box 117		Television tape

	Memorabilia
Box 118		Addressograph plates
Box 118		Logo
Box 118		Membership pins
Oversize 1		Art work and layouts
Oversize 2		Art work and layouts
Oversize 3		Layouts and logos
Oversize 4		Scrapbooks
Oversize 5		Certificate and award samples
Oversize 5		Journal proofs
Oversize 5		Office forms
Oversize 5		Miscellaneous drawings
Oversize 6		Record album
Oversize 6		Photographs
Oversize 7		Photographs

Return to top