Collection inventory

Biographical History

Roy J. Ingham was an American adult education scholar and teacher. He taught at the University of Chicago while earning his doctorate from that institution, served as Program Advisor at Syracuse University's University College, and was for many years a faculty member of the Florida State University Adult Education program.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Roy J. Ingham Papers is composed primarily of papers (surveys and reports) and publications (including a number of abstracts and bibliographies) collected by Ingham, the bulk dated 1961-1972. Most of the material reflects Ingham's interest in university adult education. A large portion deals with research into and theory of the nature of adult learning, both in general and in higher education settings.

The material is divided into five series. Professional work consists of two surveys of graduate programs in adult education. University adult education contains addresses, bibliographies, papers, and reports as well as information on the Antigonish Movement and on Florida State University degree programs. General theory and research includes books, abstracts, papers, and reports on adult literacy and adult learning. Organizations comprises correspondence and other material relating to various adult education organizations, including the Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC), Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA), the Fund for Adult Education (FAE), and the National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE). A small amount of Miscellaneous material completes the collection.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically by folder title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A large number of pamphlets were removed from the collection and transferred to the Adult Education Pamphlets Collection. Other pamphlets were duplicates of material already found in the general collection of E.S. Bird Library (listed at the end of this inventory), or in other adult education collections.

Special Collections Research Center holds a large number of collections relating to adult education, both of individuals and organizations. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Roy J. Ingham Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EEA
Date: Jul 1991
Revision history: 26 Dec 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Return to top