Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Related Material

Administrative Information

Inventory

Scripts

printer friendly version

Seaman Jacobs Scripts

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Jacobs, Seaman.
Title: Seaman Jacobs Scripts
Inclusive Dates: 1946-1992
Quantity: 7 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection contains scripts written by Seaman Jacobs for television comedy shows. Extent of coverage varies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Seaman Jacobs was a comedy writer for such productions as "The Joey Bishop Show," "Here’s Lucy," and several Bob Hope television specials.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Seaman Jacobs Scripts contains scripts for television shows for which Jacobs was the author. Television shows are primarily comedy shows or situation comedies; shows represented include The Red Skelton Show, Bob Hope, Here's Lucy, No Time For Sergeants, Bachelor Father, F-Troop, The Real McCoy's, The Jimmy Stewart Show, and How to Marry a Millionaire.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Scripts are arranged in no particular order by title of show, and within that by episode air date. The catalog number for each episode is given in parentheses ( ).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Materials do not circulate and no copies may be made without permission of the rights holder(s). Literary rights, including copyright may belong to the authors or their legal heirs and assigns. Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of television-related collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

Television comedies -- United States.
Television scripts.
Variety shows (Television programs) -- United States.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Seaman Jacobs Scripts
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Seaman Jacobs.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1999-12-16
Revision history: 13 May 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Scripts
The Red Skelton Show
Box 1 There's One Thing Money Won't Buy, & Someday We'll Find Out #902 8/25/69
Box 1 Pop, The Astronaut #903 8/29/69
Box 1 Willie Lump Lump's Birthday #904 8/26/69
Box 1 Babysitter And The Farmer's Son, Indian Princess Sketch #905 9/16/69
Box 1 Autograph Hounds, Hominy And True Grits #906 10/28/69
Box 1 The Emergency Case, Tribute To W.C. Fields #907 11/4/69
Box 1 Alaska #908 11/11/69
Box 1 Singing Waiters, HillBilly Songwriters #909 11/18/69
Box 1 There's One Thing Money Won't Buy, And Someday We'll Find Out What #910 11/25/69
Box 1 It Is Better To Have Loved And Lost, Much Better #911 12/2/69
Box 1 He Wanted To Be A Square Shooter, But He Found That His Barrel Was #912 12/9/69
Box 1 The Son Of Oliver Twist Or Junior Is Just A Little Dickens #913 12/16/69
Box 1 Crime Doesn't Pay But Its Tax Free #914 12/30/69
Box 1 You Can Take The Boy Out Of The Country, If You Promise Not To Bring #915 1/6/70
Box 1 If Marriages Are Made In Heaven, Why Do They Call It Heaven #916 1/13/70
Box 1 Blood Is Thicker Than Water And Harder To Shave With #917 3/10/70
Box 1 There's No Business Like Show Business, When There Is No Business #918 1/27/70
Box 1 Charity Begins At Home, But Nowadays Who Can Afford A Home #919 1/27/70
Box 1 Is This The Way To Ruin An Airline, Plastic Surgeon #920 2/10/70
Box 1 When East Meets West, You've Sure Got A Skinny Country #921 2/2/70
Box 1 People Who Like People Are Cannibals #922 2/9/70
Box 1 The Three Musketeers Ride Again, Those Ding-Dong Daddies #923 2/24/70
Box 1 Bill Bailey Must Have Been Married That's Why He Never Came Home #924 3/3/70
Box 1 He Died With His Boots One Cause He Had Cold Feet To Start #925 3/17/70
Box 1 San Fernando's Spy School or How To Make A Possible Mission Impossible #926 3/24/70
Box 1 Be It Ever So Crumbled, There Is No Place Like Home #927 3/31/70
Box 1 Stone Walls Do Not A Prison Make - So They Added Bars #928 4/7/70
Bob Hope
Box 1 Bob Hope's Funny Valentine Special 2/11/81
Box 1 Bob Hope's All - Star Comedy Look At The New Season 9/27/81
Box 1 Bob Hope Presents A Celebration With Stars Of Comedy 10/22/81
Box 2 Bob Hope's Women I Love - Beautiful But Funny 2/28/82
Box 2 Happy Birthday Bob, Kennedy Center For The Performing Arts 5/23/83
Box 2 Bob Hope Lampoons Television, 1985 2/24/85
Box 2 Bob Hope Buys NBC 9/17/85
Box 2 Bob Hope With His Easter Bunnies & Other Friends 4/19/87
Box 2 Bob Hope Salutes The U.S.A.F. 40th Anniversary 5/25/87
Box 2 NBC Investigates Bob Hope #1 87/88 Season 9/17/1987
Box 2 Stand By For Him - The Hope Funny News Network 9/8/88
Box 2 Bob Hope's 1988 Christmas Show from Miami, Florida 12/19/88
Box 2 Bob Hope's Superbowl Party 1/5/89
Box 2 Bob Hope's 1989 Easter Special From Crystal Place Resort 3/25/89
Box 2 Ooh-La-La . . . It's Bob Hope's Birthday Spectacular From Paris 5/4/89
Box 2 Bob Hope's 1989 Christmas Show From Waikoloa, Hawaii 12/16/89
Box 2 Ole! It's Bob Hope's Spring Fling of Comedy And Music From 4/9/90
Box 2 Bob Hope's USO Road To The Berlin Wall And Moscow 5/19/90
Box 2 Bob Hope's Don't Shoot It's Only Me #1 90/91 Season 9/15/1990
Box 2 Bob Hope's 1990 Christmas Show From Bermuda 12/15/90
Box 2 Bob Hope's Christmas Cheer In Saudi Arabia #3 90/91 Season 1/12/1991
Box 2 Bob Hope's Yellow Ribbon Party 4/6/91
Box 2 Bob Hope & Friends. . .Making New Memories 9/12/91
Box 2 Bob Hope's Cross-Country Christmas Special 12/18/91
Box 2 Bob Hope And Other Young Comedians: The World Laughs 3/14/92
Box 2 Bob Hope Lampoons Show Business - Bob's Comedy Revue Of #3 89/90 Season
George Burns
Box 2 The George Burns One Man Show 9/14/77
Box 2 George Burns 100th Birthday Party 11/9/78
Box 2 George Burns In Nashville 9/2/80
Box 3 George Burns Early, Early, Early Christmas Special 6/17/81
Box 3 80 Years In Show Business 8/13/83
Here's Lucy
Box 3 A Date For Lucy 7/29/68
Box 3 Guess Who Owes Lucy 3.50? 9/3/68
Box 3 Lucy And Liberace 10/6/69
Box 3 Lucy's Vacation 6/10/70
Box 3 Lucy's House Guest, Harry 9/10/70
Box 3 Lucy's Lucky Day 6/9/71
Box 3 Lucy's Replacement 8/31/71
Box 3 Lucy's Punctured Romance 10/6/71
Box 3 Lucy And Her Prince Charming 1/3/72
Box 3 Lucy And Her Prince Charming (copy 2) 10/22/71
Box 3 Kim's Singing Group Encounter 2/22/72
Box 3 Lucy, The Other Woman 3/9/72
Box 3 A Home Is Not An Office 3/16/72
Box 3 Lucy And The Group Encounter 5/26/72
Box 3 My Fair Buzzi 7/13/72
Box 3 Lucy And Her Genuine Twimby 7/28/72
Box 3 Lucy Goes To Prison 8/14/72
Box 3 Lucy's Replacement (Copy 2) 8/16/72
Box 3 The Bow-Wow Boutique 6/25/73
Box 3 Lucy's Tenant 8/13/73
Box 3 Harry Catches Gold Fever 9/14/73
Box 3 Lucy, The Sheriff 10/30/73
Box 3 Mary Jane's Boyfriend 11/14/73
The Lucy Show
Box 3 Lucy Gets Mooney Fired 4/3/67
Box 3 Lucy, The Starmaker 5/15/67
Box 3 Lucy the Philanthropist 8/14/67
No Time For Sergeants
Box 3 Bully For Ben 5/10/64
Box 3 Blood Hounds Are Thicker Than Water 5/19/64
Box 3 Blue's Wild Yonder 5/21/64
Box 3 Will Gets A Right Hand Man 5/22/64
Box 3 The Velvet Wiggle 6/8/64
Box 3 Grampa's Airlift 6/11/64
Box 3 Two Aces In A Hole 6/25/1964
Box 3 Do Me A Favor And Don't Do Me Any 6/26/64
Box 3 The Spirit Of Seventy-Five 7/2/64
Box 3 Will Goes To Washington 7/30/64
Box 3 The $100,000. 9/3/64
Box 3 The Farmer In The Deal 9/21/64
Box 3 Oh Krupnick, My Krupnick 10/1/64
Box 3 Two For The Show 10/13/64
Box 3 Stockdale's Island 10/22/64
Box 3 Stockdale's Millions 11/3/64
Box 3 My Fair Andy 11/12/64
Box 3 The Living End 11/17/64
Box 3 Stockdale, General Nuisance 11/24/64
Box 3 Too Many Stockdales 11/30/64
Box 3 A Hatfold Of Muscles 12/5/64
Box 3 Krupnick Strikes Again 12/11/64
Box 3 It Shouldn't Happen To A Sergeant 12/21/64
Box 3 The Case Of The Revolving Witness 1/7/65
Box 3 Stockdale Of The Stockcade 1/22/65
Box 3 Will's Misfortune Cookie 1/28/65
Box 3 The Day Blue Blew 2/11/65
Box 3 Whortleberry Roots For Everybody 2/17/65
Box 3 Andy Meets His Match 2/22/65
Box 3 Target Stockdale 3/2/65
Box 3 The Sergeant's Kimono 11/14/65
The Ed Wynn Show
Box 4 A Prospectus
Box 4 [no title] #1 9/22/49
Box 4 [no title] #3 10/6/49
Box 4 [no title] #4 10/13/49
Box 4 [no title] #5 10/20/49
Box 4 [no title] #6 10/27/49
Box 4 [no title] #19
Box 4 [no title] #29 4/8/50
Box 4 [no title] #32
Box 4 The Scholarship #4349 7/30/58
Box 4 Younger than Autumn #4404 8/20/58
Box 4 The Parking Ticket #4431 9/26/58
Box 4 New York Adventure #4446 10/9/58
Box 4 The New Boy In Town #4455 10/16/58
Box 4 Friendship Club #4486 11/14/58
Box 4 Aunt Lydia Comes to Town #4419
F-Troop
Box 4 Background On Western Television Series
Box 4 Story Outline For The Pilot Script 8/3/64
Box 4 Scourge Of the West 9/11/64
Box 4 Scourge Of The West 12/21/64
Box 4 Here Comes The Tribe 6/22/65
Box 4 Iron Horse Go Home 6/30/65
Box 4 Dirge Of The Scourge 7/8/65
Box 4 Honest Injun 7/23/65
Box 4 Reunion For O'Rourke 12/22/65
Box 4 A Fort's Best Friend Is Not A Mother 3/1/66
Box 4 The Day That The Injuns One 3/14/66
The Mother's in Law
Box 4 The Career Girls #5892-4 5/4/67
Box 4 How Do You Moonlight A Meatball 7/25/67
Box 4 Didn't You Used To Be Ossie Snick 5/20/68
Box 4 Love Thy Neighbor-If You Can't Make Him Move 5/30/68
Bachelor Father
Box 4 Peter Meets His Match #12403 5/25/59
Box 4 The Case Against Gisele #12409 5/22/59
Box 4 Bentley And The Brainy Beauty #12410 9/28/59
Box 4 The Very Friendly Witness #12428 1/8/60
Box 4 Fortune Cookie Caper #12431 1/6/60
Box 4 Bentley, The Model Citizen #12439 12/7/59
Box 4 Kelly Learns To Drive #12455 7/11/60
Box 4 Bentley And The Big Board #12460 8/31/60
Box 4 It Happens In November #12461 8/30/60
Box 4 Bentley's Barbecue #12471 9/1/60
Box 4 Bentley And The Wood Pecker #12476 10/20/60
Box 4 Peter Plays Cupid #12481 2/6/61
Box 4 Peter's China Doll #12485 1/16/61
Box 4 Bentley And The Nature Girl #12488 2/13/61
Box 4 Bentley Slays A Dragon #12489 3/20/61
Box 4 A Favor For Bentley #12492 4/4/61
Box 4 A Party For Peter #15608 6/1/61
Box 4 Blossom Comes To Visit #15611 12/8/61
Box 4 Here's Tenting Tonight #15616 8/21/61
Box 4 Peter's Punctured Wedding #15621 7/5/61
Box 4 Will Succes Spoil Jasper #15629 8/1/61
Box 4 Gold In Them Hills #15633 8/23/61
Box 4 Bentley Takes It Easy #15635 3/22/62
Box 4 Blossom Time At The Greggs #15641 3/12/62
Blossom Time At The Garden #15641 3/12/62
Missing, 5/2007
Box 4 A Visit From The Bergens #15643 1/17/62
Box 4 Marry Thy Neighbor #15643 3/30/62
The Joey Bishop Show
Box 4 Five Brides For Joey #7 9/12/61
Box 4 Charity Begins At Home #10 10/9/61
Box 4 The Taming Of the Brat #15 11/14/61
Box 4 Must The Show Go On #28 3/1/62
The Andy Griffith Show
Box 4 Mayberry Elects A Sheriff 2/5/63
Box 4 Goodbye, Dolly #25G (214) 12/14/66
Box 4 Howard, The Comedien #26G (215) 1/5/67
Box 4 Goober The Executive 2H (221) 6/22/67
Box 5 The Tape Recorder 9H (228) 8/10/67
Box 4 Aunt Bee And The Lecturer 11H (230) 9/6/67
Box 4 Andy's Investment 12H (231) 9/14/67
The Danny Thomas Show
Box 5 Rusty's Birthday DT#19-J (300) 10/23/62
Box 5 Linda And The Ground Up DT#25-J (306)
Box 5 The Antique Dealers 11/7/63
Box 5 The Leprechan DT#23-K (336) 11/28/63
Petticoat Junction
Box 5 The Courtship of Floyd Smoot #6000-4 6/8/63
Box 5 The Little Train Robbery #6000-6 7/1/63
Box 5 The President Who Came To Dinner #6000-8 7/31/63
Box 5 Is There A Doctor In The Roundhouse? #6000-9 8/1/63
The Tycoon
Box 5 Baby Tycoon #3 11/19/63
Box 5 No Place Like Home #7 5/4/64
Box 5 Harvey Brinkerhoff, Who Needs You? 5/13/64
Box 5 Toys In The Pentigon #12 5/28/64
Box 5 A Dog's Life #13 7/10/64
Box 5 Johnny On The Spot #26 10/26/64
Westinghouse Playhouse
Box 5 A Tale Of Two Mothers #13806 10/17/60
Box 5 Those Golden Days #13823 1/13/61
Box 5 Narn Suits Dan #13828 4/27/61
Oh! Those Bells
Box 5 Seal Of Approval #4502 6/15/60
Box 5 The Unfriendly Friendship Club #4504
Box 5 The Camping Trip #4506
Box 5 Mexican Holiday #4511
Box 5 The Case Of The Light- Fingered Chimp 11/18/60
Two for the Road
Box 5 A Screen Comedy By Si Rose and Seaman Jacobs
Min and Bill
Box 5 A New Half Hour Comedy Series 8/6/63
Take Me to the Fair
Box 5 The Richmond Productions #3 4/10/62
Box 5 [no title] 5/15/1962
Box 5 [no title] 8/6/1962
Mother is a Freshman
Box 5 Alias Miss Abbott 1/7/58
Adven. Of the Ambassador's Daughter
Box 5 [no title]
Miss Gulliver Travels
Box 5 Format For A New Television Comedy Series
The Jean Arthur Show
Box 5 My Client The Rooster #27608 6/3/66
Box 5 Blackstone-Italian Style #27615 8/2/66
Box 5 A Slight Case Of Music #27618 9/19/66
Box 5 Will You Raise Your Right Paw #27619 10/6/66
The Donna Reed Show
Box 5 Operation Deadbeat #4575 3/18/59
Different Strokes
Box 5 The Spanking 103 11/1/78
Box 5 The Relative #112 2/2/79
Box 5 Room for One More #318 2/27/81
Castles By the Sea
Box 5 Pilot Script Of A Comedy Adventure Series For Television
The Thin Man
Box 5 A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Morgue Jul-07 12/30/58
Box 5 Cherchez La Sexpot #1248 2/3/59
Box 5 Sublease On Death #1293 2/3/59
My Favorite Martian
Box 5 How To Be A Hero Without Really Trying 4/19/63
Box 5 Do Me A Favor: Don't Do Me Any Favors 5/9/63
Box 5 The Unsuitable Suitor 6/12/63
Holiday Lodge
Box 5 Twinkle Twinkle Little Star #15208 7/3/61
Box 5 Jewel Thieves Anonymous 7/17/61
The Eve Arden Show
Box 5 The French View #2 8/8/57
Box 5 The Montana Date #10 8/13/57
Box 5 Liza And The Bombshell #9 9/4/57
Box 5 Lize Hammond Enterprises #13 9/24/57
Box 5 Safari #16 10/29/57
Box 5 Liza's Reunion Dance #18 11/18/57
The Jimmy Stewart Show
Box 6 A Hunch In Time #9 8/12/71
Box 6 As The Escrow Flies #15 9/2/71
Box 6 A Bone of Much Contention #24 11/18/71
Bringing up Buddy
Box 6 Buddy Hires A Maid #14323 1/23/61
Box 6 Buddy And The Amazon #14326 3/7/61
Box 6 The Aunts Have A Baby #14329 3/28/61
Box 6 Buddy And The Teenager #14335 4/25/61
Run Buddy Run
Box 6 My Son The Killer #2725-0809 6/14/66
Box 6 Killer Cassidy #2725-0811 7/6/66
Box 6 A Bad Run At The Gopher Flats #2725-0812 7/18/66
The Jonny Morgan Show
Box 6 [no title] #1 7/9/46
Oh, Brother!
Box 6 [no title] 10/3/1979
The Bob Cummings Show
Box 6 One Of Our Rock n Rollers Is Missing 6/9/61
Club Oasis
Box 6 [no title] 11/22/1957
Maude
Box 6 Poor Albert #415 11/18/75
Garviola, The Matador
Box 6 [no title] #2730 2/18/59
The Dennis O'Keefe Show
Box 6 What Happened To Thursday #9333 3/24/60
Alice
Box 6 Oh, George Burns #1 12/4/77
The Real McCoy's
Box 6 Cupid Wore A Tail 7/10/62
Box 6 The Little Boy Blew 8/2/62
Box 6 How Are You Gonna Keep 'em Down On The Farm After They've Seen San . . . 8/9/62
Box 6 Uncle Rightly And The Musical Milker 8/16/62
Box 6 Pepino's Inheritance 8/23/62
Box 6 Up To Their Ears In Corn 9/6/62
Box 6 The Other Side Of The Fence 9/12/62
Box 6 Farmers And Adele #201 10/8/62
Box 6 Aunt Win Arrives #212 12/20/62
Box 6 Aunt Win Steps In #213 12/27/62
Box 6 The Auction #223 1/15/63
How to Marry a Millionaire
Box 6 Alias The Secretary #0000005-10 10/1/57
Box 6 Loco Versus Wall Street #0000005-24 3/10/58
Box 6 A Job For Jesse #0-000005-43 5/7/58
Box 6 A Man For Mike #0000005-45 5/19/58
Box 6 Cherchez La Roomate #15-01 5/6/59
Box 6 The Three Stacked Stock Holders #0000015-05 5/14/59
Box 6 The Seal That Came To DInner #15-11 5/15/59
Box 6 Gwen's Secret #15-09 5/15/59
Box 6 Loco The Teenager #15-12 5/20/59
Earn Your Vacation
Box 6 [no title] #1 5/23/54
Box 6 [no title] #2 5/30/54
Box 6 [no title] #3 6/6/54
Box 6 [no title] #4 6/13/54
Box 6 [no title] #5 6/20/54
Box 6 [no title] #6 6/27/54
Box 6 [no title] #7 7/4/54
Box 6 [no title] #8 7/11/54
Box 6 [no title] #9 7/18/54
Box 6 [no title] #10 7/25/54
Box 6 [no title] #12 8/8/54
Box 6 [no title] #13 8/15/54
Box 6 [no title] #14 8/22/54
Box 6 [no title] #15 8/29/54
Box 6 [no title] #16 9/5/54
Dalton My Partner
Box 6 Dial "D" For Dancing 9/24/65
Staten Island
Box 6 A New Musical Comedy
The Addams Family
Box 6 One Man's Dragon #7000-1 7/21/64
How To Live To Be 100 or More
Box 6 [no title] 9/17/84
Box 6 Lose Me An Albatross By Milton Pascal
Lose Me An Albatross
Box 6 By Milton Pascal
I Dream of Jeannie
Box 6 Jeannie And The Great Bank Robbery 4293 9/26/67
Set-Up
Box 6 By Milton Pascal
The Temperature's Rising
Box 6 Do Do The Voo Doo To Me #184411 8/29/72
The Magic Mondo
Box 6 The Surfing Contest #MM-101 6/28/77
The Gale Storm Show
Box 6 Oh! Suzanna #LD-217
Hank
Box 6 The Trouble With Tina 11/9/65
Box 6 His Highness, Count Gazzari 11/26/65
Box 6 Operation Matriculation 1/13/66
My Three Sons
Box 7 Almost The Sound Of Music #5272-126 5/2/63
Box 7 Adventures In New York #5272-149 7/18/63
Box 7 One Of Our Moose Is Missing #5272-158 4/17/64
The Dennis Day Show
Box 7 The Saga of F.H. La Due #128
Box 7 It's Dubarry's #131
Box 7 Reunion With Volcano Lips #133
Box 7 Mumps The World #136
The Johnny Morgan Show
Box 7 [no title] 2 7/18/46
Box 7 [no title] 3 7/25/46
Box 7 [no title] 4 8/1/46
Box 7 [no title] 5 8/8/46
Saks Fifth Avenue
Box 7 A Synopsis Of A Story With Music
Enough to Go Around
Box 7 [no title]
Love Has a Cold Nose
Box 7 An Outline For A Motion Picture Comedy
Spittin' Image
Box 7 Pilot Script For TV Comedy Series 7/1/81
My Husbands And I
Box 7 Proposed TV Comedy Series
The Bill Dana Show
Box 7 The Hot Dog Caper #25 1/6/63
The Betty White Show
Box 7 Honesty #102 2/7/58
KM Crossovers
Box 7 Miscellaneous Jokes
The New Phil Silvers Show
Box 7 Harry, The Good Neighbor #S-22 1/6/64
Quigley Of the MP's
Box 7 Pilot Script 5/9/66
Family Affair
Box 7 Class Clown #2245-0194 4/30/70
One Happy Family
Box 7 Mildred For President #12 2/6/61

Return to top