Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Jones, Neil R.
Title:	Neil R. Jones Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1915-1985
Quantity:	74 linear ft.
Abstract:	Writings, diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, photo albums, memorabilia, typewriter of the American science fiction author.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Neil R. (Ronald) Jones (1909-1988) was an American science fiction author from Fulton, New York.

Jones attended Fulton High School from 1924-1928, where he was on the staff of The Fultonian, his high school yearbook. He published several stories in The Fultonian, and won a local prize for an essay in 1927. His first professionally-published story was in 1930, and in 1931 he published the first of his Professor Jameson tales. Over the course of an approximately twenty-year career he published at least fifty stories, mostly science fiction but also a few detective/mystery stories, and invented at least one board game, "Interplanetary." Authors who were influential on his work included Edgar Rice Burroughs and H. Rider Haggard (author profile, Amazing Stories, April 1941). Some of his Professor Jameson stories were republished into the 1970s, but he appears to have largely ceased writing fiction in the early 1950s. He did continue writing his personal diaries, which he had begun in 1924.

Jones served in the US Army during World War II (1942-1945), during which time he met and married Rita Gwendolin Rees of London. Following the war he worked for many years as an insurance claims examiner for the state of New York. In 1970, a few years after Rita's death in 1964, he married Leona M. Tice. At one point he apparently ran a business (whether mail-order or physical is unknown) called "Interplanetary" which specialized in science fiction. One of his hobbies was hand bookbinding, both in leather and cloth; he bound not only issues of early science fiction magazines but also his high school notebooks, his correspondence, and random printed items such as owner's manuals for appliances. He was active in the local Boy Scouts and in the Fulton chapter of De Molay, the Masonic youth organization, and was a member of Hiram Lodge No. 144.

Although neither prolific nor well-known today, Jones was nevertheless an important figure in early science fiction. His first story, published in Air Wonder Stories in 1930, is the first recorded use of the word "astronaut," and he was one of the first, if not the first, author to write on now-classic science fiction tropes such as cyborg and robotic characters and cryopreservation. Many of his stories centered on Professor Jameson, a cryopreserved human revived 40 million years in the future by the Zoromes, a part-organic/part-machine race. Isaac Asimov, who read the stories at the age of eleven, has called the Zoromes the "spiritual ancestors" of his positronic robots.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Neil R. Jones Papers consist of correspondence, diaries, financial/legal papers, memorabilia, printed material and writings. Much of the material in the collection was handbound by Jones into volumes with fabric or leather covers.

Correspondence consists of correspondence with editors, fans, fanzine authors, science fiction organizations, various hotels, and letters from Jones to his mother while he was deployed in Europe during World War II. Most of the correspondence is in volumes handbound by Jones.

Diaries form a substantial part of the collection. There are 259 consecutive volumes of diaries, two binders of war diaries, and one "Line a Day’"diary. The dairies run from May 1924, when Jones was 14, to March 1980, when he was 70. He numbered the diary volumes himself and designated every 25th diary as a "summary diary" of the previous 24; the summary diaries number ten volumes. He states that he started the diaries as a way to record his swims, a habit that continues through all volumes. Another use for his diary was to record information relating to his stories such as chapter heads, forecasts, title changes, payments for, publication information, comments from readers in pulp magazines, details of when he worked on them, and much more. Besides his stories, the diaries chronicle major and minor life events, swims, various gambling game scores (black jack, "rumme", roulette, etc.), Freemasonry events and meetings, quotations, illustrations, meteorological events observed, movies seen, books read, and various memorabilia items pasted onto the pages.

Financial and legal papers contains contracts, copyright filings, estate planning papers, and royalties for Jones' books.

Memorabilia contains original art by Leo Morey and Robert Sherrey, photograph albums (two of which relate to Jones' service during World War II), schoolwork and school papers bound into volumes by Jones, scrapbooks, and yearbooks from Fulton High School. The scrapbooks include five volumes filled with clippings of articles on scientific topics, seven volumes filled with cut-up illustrated book jackets, and two volumes of postcards; the rest are filled with clippings, letters, programs, receipts, greeting cards, leaflets, occasional typed pages or items of correspondence, and so on. At least one of the scrapbooks was the work of Jones' wife, Rita Gwendoline Jones.

Pulp magazines, bound consists of one hundred and forty handbound volumes containing issues of pulp magazines from the 1920s through the 1950s. Bindings are in a range of materials (leather, fabric, etc.) and many are hand-decorated by Jones.

Printed material consists of a wide range of booklets, pamphlets, brochures, fliers, catalogs, leaflets, and other printed items, handbound by Jones into volumes. Contents range from installation/owners' manuals to stamp catalogs to leaflets advertising movies at the State Theatre in Fulton to travel brochures. There are a number of items related to the Fulton chapter of De Molay.

Writings includes novels (three science fiction and one semi-autobiographical novel based on Jones' experiences during World War II); stories for two series (Durna Rangue and Professor Jameson), reviews, and short fiction (mostly science fiction but also a few mystery/detective tales). The miscellaneous material at the end of this series includes non-fiction pieces, a speech prepared for WorldCon, eight small "War Notebooks," and several bound volumes of story ideas, outlines, and synopses. Formats present in the collection include original handwritten manuscripts, typescripts, carbon copies, and photocopies. Many of the items were sewn together, and a few bound with decorative covers, by Jones.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Given that almost all of the material in the collection is in bound volumes, arrangement was largely limited to putting these volumes into the general categories listed above. Correspondence volumes are arranged in roughly chronological order. Diary volumes are arranged by number as assigned by Jones, which places them essentially in chronological order apart from the "summary volumes" which cover multiple years. Financial and legal material is arranged alphebetically by type or topic. Memorabilia is subdivided by type; within each type, the volumes are arranged in roughly chronological order. For printed material, volumes containing a single type of material (e.g. State Theater programs) are placed first, followed by the other miscellaneous volumes. Writings are subdivided by type and, within each type, arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Several cartons of commercially published magazines have been removed from the collection and are currently undergoing curator review.

Many of Jones' stories may be found in published anthologies and pulp magazines in our Rare Books holdings. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items (search on "jones, neil r." as author). In addition, Special Collections Research Center has substantial material relating to the early days of science fiction in both our Rare Books and manuscript collections. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to located related published material, and to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of manuscript collections.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Neil R. Jones Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Neil R. Jones, 1988.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 18 Feb 2010
Revision history: 28 Apr 2023 - collection processed (MRC); 30 Jun 2023 - 2 scrapbooks and 140 boxes of bound pulp magazines added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Address lists
		Bound
			The bulk of the correspondence was bound by Jones into volumes. Titles given below are as written on the spines of these volumes.
Box 1			"New York Hotels" 1938-1940 (1 volume)
Box 1			"Editors - Book Pub" 1939-1941 (1 volume)
Box 1			"Editors - Fans - Fanzines - Publishers" 1941-1949 (1 volume)
Box 2			[Letters home 1] 1942-1945 - letters from Jones to his mother during his service in World War II; opening line is "Dear Ma: Save these letters and some day I can bind them" (1 volume)
Box 2			[Letters home 2] 1942-1945 - letters from Jones to his mother during his service in World War II (1 volume)
Box 3			[Letters home 3] 1943-1945 - V-Mail letters from Jones to his mother; note inside front cover says the volume is "bound with my old barracks bag" (1 volume)
Box 3			[Letters home 4] 1943-1945 - photographed V-Mail letters from Jones to his mother; unknown if this is a complete duplicate set of the originals (1 volume)
Box 4			"Orders for Interplanetary - Army Buddies" 1946-1948 (1 volume)
Box 4			"Editors" 1949-1951 (1 volume)
Box 4			"Hotels" 1950 (1 volume)
Box 4			"Literary correspondence" 1966-1976 (1 volume)
		Unbound
Box 5			General 1928-1930, circa 1945, 1949-1950, 1966-1967, 1970-1971, 1974-1985 (4 folders)

	Diaries
		Jones' personal diaries run from May 1924, when Jones was 14, to March 1980, when he was 70. The numbers given below are the numbers assigned to the volumes by Jones. Every 25th volume is a "summary diary" of the previous 24; there are ten of these. The diaries are commercially purchsed notebooks, not bound by Jones.
Box 5		Volumes 1-8 May 1924-Jun 1927 (8 volumes)
Box 6		Volumes 9-21 Jun 1927-Sep 1928 (13 volumes)
Box 7		Volumes 22-32 Sep 1928-Sep 1929 - vol. 25 is a summary of vol's 1-24 (13 volumes)
Box 8		Volumes 35-47 Sep 1929-Oct 1930 (13 volumes)
Box 9		Volumes 48-59 Oct 1930-Nov 1931 - vol. 50 is a summary of vol's 26-49 (12 volumes)
Box 10		Volumes 60-72 Nov 1931-Feb 1933 (13 volumes)
Box 11		Volumes 73-85 Feb 1933-Oct 1933 - vol. 75 is a summary of vol's 51-74 (13 volumes)
Box 12		Volumes 86-98 Oct 1933-Dec 1934 (13 volumes)
Box 13		Volumes 99-110 Dec 1934-Mar 1936 - vol. 100 is a summary of vol's 76-99 (12 volumes)
Box 14		Volumes 111-122 Mar 1936-Mar 1937 (12 volumes)
Box 15		Volumes 123-134 Mar 1937-Apr 1938 - vol. 125 is a summary of vol's 101-124 (12 volumes)
Box 16		Volumes 134-145 May 1938-May 1939 (11 volumes)
Box 17		Volumes 146-156 May 1939-Jun 1940 - vol. 150 is a summary of vol's 126-149 (11 volumes)
Box 18		Volumes 157-165 Jun 1940-Nov 1941 (9 volumes)
Box 19		Volumes 166-171 Nov 1941-Jul 1946 (6 volumes)
Box 19		"Month by month in the army" [binder 1] 1942-1943 - originally in large three-ring binder (4 folders)
Box 20		"Month by month in the army" [binder 2] 1944-1945 - originally in large three-ring binder (3 folders)
Box 20		Volumes 172-178 Jul 1946-Apr 1949 - vol. 175 is a summary of vol's 151-174 (7 volumes)
Box 21		Volumes 179-186 Apr 1949-Jul 1953 (8 volumes)
Box 22		Volumes 187-195 Jul 1953-Aug 1958 (9 volumes)
Box 23		Volumes 196-205 Aug 1958-Jun 1961 - vol. 200 is a summary of vol's 176-199 (10 volumes)
Box 24		Volumes 206-216 Jun 1961-Sep 1964 (11 volumes)
Box 25		Volumes 217-225 Sep 1964-Dec 1966 - vol. 225 is a summary of vol's 201-224 (9 volumes)
Box 26		Volumes 226-234 Dec 1966-Oct 1969 (9 volumes)
Box 27		Volumes 235-243 Oct 1969-May 1973 (9 volumes)
Box 28		Volumes 244-251 May 1973-Jan 1976 - vol. 250 is a summary of vol's 226-249 (8 volumes)
Box 29		Volumes 252-258 Jan 1976-Oct 1979 (7 volumes)
Box 30		Volume 259 Oct 1979-Mar 1980 (1 volume)
Box 30		"A Line A Day Diary" 1915-1980; bulk 1942-1946

	Financial and legal material
Box 30		Contracts 1966-1967, 1980-1982
Box 30		Copyright
Box 30		Estate planning
		Royalties
Box 30			Ace Books 1967-1970, 1976
Box 30			Doubleday 1974-1985
Box 30			Grosset & Dunlap 1976-1978

	Memorabilia
		Artwork
Oversize 30			Sketches, Leo Morey 1936-1937 - original pencil and pen-and-ink drawing; three small pen-and-ink sketches mounted on board, may be reproductions
Oversize 30			Painting, Leo Morey 1935 - original full color cover art for Amazing Stories, April 1936, featuring "Labyrinth" by Neil Jones
Oversize 33			Painting, Robert C. Sherrey 1940 - original full color cover art for Super science stories, September 1940, featuring "Invisible one" by Neil Jones
		Photograph albums
			Two of the volumes below document Jones' time in the army; many of these photographs are labeled and described. The remaining albums contain candid shots of Jones, his family and friends, and people/places in Fulton and other locations in and around central New York. These photographs are not labeled or described, although most are dated on the back. Dates given below for these volumes are estimates based on a sampling of dates taken from photos at the beginning, middle, and end of each volume.
Oversize 1			[Album 1] circa 1935-1941
Oversize 1			[Album 2] circa 1935-1942
Oversize 2			[Album 3] circa 1935-1941
Oversize 2			[Album 4] circa 1936-1941
Oversize 3			[Album 5] circa 1940s
Oversize 4			[Album 6] 1942-1945 - military / World War II
Oversize 5			[Album 7] 1942-1945 - military / World War II
Oversize 6			[Album 8] circa 1946-1956
Oversize 7			[Album 9] circa 1946-1957
Oversize 8			[Album 10] circa 1946-1957
Oversize 9			[Album 11] circa 1946-1959
Oversize 10			[Album 12] circa 1950s
Oversize 11			[Album 13] circa 1958-1971
		School work - all bound into volumes by Jones
Box 31			Composition books 1923-1929
Box 31			Laboratory exercises in physiography undated - textbook with completed exercises
Box 31			[Miscellaneous] 1923-1926 - bound volume containing various school subjects from 8th grade through high school
Box 32			[Miscellaneous] 1923-1927 - bound volume containing various school subjects including summer school
Box 32			Spelling blanks 1923-1924 - "The rational arm movement spelling blank," 4 volumes bound into one
Box 32			First year high school 1924
Box 33			First year high school 1924-1925
Box 33			Second year high school 1925-1926
Box 34			Third year high school 1926-1927 (3 volumes)
Box 35			Fourth year high school 1927-1928 (2 volumes)
Box 36			Fourth year high school 1927-1928
Box 36			Five notebooks used in high school 1926-1928 - bound into a single volume (1 volume)
Box 36			Seven notebooks used in high school and three notebooks used at home 1927-1937 - bound into a single volume (1 volume)
		Scrapbooks
Box 37			[Book jackets] I-V - notebooks into which have been pasted pieces of illustrated book jackets, including front covers, back covers, front/back jacket flaps with blurbs, spine pieces, etc.; vol. I includes list of Jones' "Literature library," a secret code, and a few other items; vol. II includes a hand-drawn diagram of Fulton High School (5 volumes)
Box 38			[Book jackets] VI-VII - notebooks into which have been pasted pieces of illustrated book jackets, including front covers, back covers, front/back jacket flaps with blurbs, spine pieces, etc. (2 volumes)
Box 38			Scientific I-III - notebooks into which have been pasted clippings on scientific topics, from newspapers and magazines (3 volumes)
Box 39			Scientific IV-V - notebooks into which have been pasted clippings on scientific topics, from newspapers and magazines (2 volumes)
Oversize 12			[Volume 1] 1921-1935
Oversize 13			[Volume 2] 1929-1937
Oversize 14			[Volume 3] 1931-1953
Oversize 15			[Volume 4] 1932-1938
Oversize 16			[Volume 5] 1939
Oversize 17			[Volume 6] 1940-1941
Oversize 18			[Volume 7] 1941-1942
Oversize 19			[Volume 8] 1942
Oversize 19			[Volume 9] 1942-1943
Oversize 20			[Volume 10] 1943-1945
Oversize 21			[Volume 11] 1943-1945
Oversize 20			[Volume 12] 1945
Oversize 22			[Volume 13] 1945-1946
Oversize 22			[Volume 14] "My scrapbook R.G." 1946-1947 - Rita Gwendoline Jones, Neil's wife
Oversize 23			[Volume 15: Postcards] undated
Oversize 24			[Volume 16: Postcards] undated
Oversize 21			[Volume 17: Reno, Nevada] undated
Oversize 34			[Volume 18: Hitler, Germany, France, etc.] [circa 1940-1945?] - mostly picture postcards, some photographs and other printed items
Oversize 35			[Volume 19: Airplanes] undated - mounted reproductions of artist’s renderings of airplanes from the 1950s such as the Lockheed Electra and the Boeing Tri-Motored Transport, etc.
Oversize 31		Typewriter, L.C. Smith & Bros No. 8 [1919 or 1920] - mechanical typewriter, manufactured in Syracuse, NY; poor condition; "Underwood" branded cover discarded due to disintegration
		Yearbooks
Box 39			The Fultonian 1926-1928 - bound into a volume along with issuse of the DeMolay Review and a typescript of "The Knockout punch"
Box 39			The Fultonian 1928
Box 39			The Fultonian 1929
Box 39		Miscellaneous - photocopied clippings, brochure about Fulton, NY

	Printed material
Box 40		Installation directions [1950s] - more than 60 installation guides for various household items -- faucets, locks, garage doors, grills, door chimes, etc. -- handbound into a single volume (1 volume)
Box 40		John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance booklets 1923-1924 - 9 small booklets on various topics of Americana, handbound into a single volume (1 volume)
Box 40		The stamp collector Sep 1928-Feb 1930 - 7 issues handbound into a single volume; some contain stories by Jones (1 volume)
Box 41		Stamp topics Sep 1925-Aug 1929 - 46 issues handbound into 4 volumes (4 volumes)
Box 41		State theater programs 1936-1939 - advertising leaflets from the movie theater in Fulton, NY, bound into volumes (2 volumes)
Box 42		State theater programs 1939-1941 - advertising leaflets from the movie theater in Fulton, NY, bound into volumes (2 volumes)
Box 42		War and Navy Departments publications 1942, 1944 - 8 items handbound into one volume: pocket guides to North Africa and France, six issues of "Army Talks" (1 volume)
Box 42		Miscellaneous [Volume 1] circa 1928-1934 - 16 items handbound into one volume; includes DeMolay items
Box 42		Miscellaneous [Volume 2] circa 1934-1938 - about 25 items handbound into one volume; includes issues of Scientifiction fantasy review and Fantasy magazine
Oversize 25		Miscellaneous [Volume 3] circa 1938-1940 - 14 items handbound into one volume; includes DeMolay items
Oversize 25		Miscellaneous [Volume 4] circa 1933-1941 - 15 items handbound into one volume; includes Colt Firearms catalog from October 1933, issues of Stardust and Metropolitan host, 1939 election canvassing records
Box 43		Miscellaneous [Volume 5] circa 1936-1941 - 14 items handbound into one volume; includes DeMolay items, anti-smoking pamphlet "The true story of Lady Nicotine," two issues of The Alchemist fanzine and Stardust
Box 43		Miscellaneous [Volume 6] 1950s? - 23 items handbound into one volume; includes several vacation- and travel-related booklets, issue of Hugo Gernsback's "Forecast," Fulton DeMolay 25th anniversary booklet
Box 43		Miscellaneous [Volume 7] 1940s? - 8 items handbound into one volume; includes DeMolay items, Kodak "Vigilant" owner's manual
Box 43		Miscellaneous [Volume 8] circa 1940-1950? - 11 items handbound into one volume; includes one DeMolay item, several New York City tourist items
Box 43		Miscellaneous [Volume 9] [1930s?] - 16 items handbound into one volume; includes DeMolay items, joke book, Bullard Press catalogs, John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance booklets on Americana topics

	Pulp magazines, bound
		Jones bound hundreds of issues of fantasy, science fiction, and adventure pulp magazines into hardcover volumes. Each box listed below contains one bound volume. Each volume contains one to four issues; most contain issues of a single publication, while others contain issues of two or more publications. Pasted inside the front and/or back cover of each volume is a list of its contents: publication(s), date(s), and story titles. The bindings are in a variety of material, including leather, canvas, corduroy, patterned fabric, etc. Some are hand-titled and decorated with ink or paint lettering and/or artwork, and at least one is embroidered.
		The volumes are listed below in alphabetical order by the first title bound into the volume, so in some cases a particular title may appear out of order (see for example the first item, in Box 67, which contains two issues of Air Wonder Stories as well as one issue of Wonder Stories).
Box 67		Air Wonder Stories 1929 Aug, Oct; Wonder Stories Apr 1933
Box 68		Air Wonder Stories 1929 Oct-Dec; 1930 Jan
Box 69		Air Wonder Stories 1930 Feb-May
Box 70		Amazing Detective 1930 Jul-Oct
Box 71		Amazing Stories 1926 Apr-Jul
Box 72		Amazing Stories 1926 Aug-Oct
Box 73		Amazing Stories 1926 Nov-Dec; 1927 Jan
Box 74		Amazing Stories 1927 Feb-Apr
Box 75		Amazing Stories 1927 May-Jul
Box 76		Amazing Stories 1927 Aug-Nov
Box 77		Amazing Stories 1927 Dec; 1928 Jan-Mar
Box 78		Amazing Stories 1928 Apr-Jul
Box 79		Amazing Stories 1928 Aug-Oct
Box 80		Amazing Stories 1928 Nov-Dec; 1929 Jan-Feb
Box 81		Amazing Stories 1929 Mar-May
Box 82		Amazing Stories 1929 Jun-Sep
Box 83		Amazing Stories 1929 Oct-Dec; 1930 Jan
Box 84		Amazing Stories 1929 Dec; Wonder Stories 1933 Jan-Mar; Amazing Stories 1930 Dec
Box 85		Amazing Stories 1930 Feb-Apr
Box 86		Amazing Stories 1930 May-Aug
Box 87		Amazing Stories 1930 Sep-Nov
Box 88		Amazing Stories 1930 Dec; 1931 Jan-Feb
Box 89		Amazing Stories 1931 Mar-Jun
Box 90		Amazing Stories 1931 Jul-Oct
Box 91		Amazing Stories 1931 Nov-Dec; 1932 Jan-Feb
Box 92		Amazing Stories 1932 Mar-Jun
Box 93		Amazing Stories 1932 Jul-Oct
Box 94		Amazing Stories 1932 Sep; 1933 May
Box 95		Amazing Stories 1932 Nov-Dec; 1933 Jan-Feb
Box 96		Amazing Stories 1933 Oct, Dec; 1934 Dec
Box 97		Amazing Stories 1933 Mar-May
Box 98		Amazing Stories 1933 Jun-Sep
Box 99		Amazing Stories 1933 Oct-Dec
Box 100		Amazing Stories 1934 Jan-Mar
Box 101		Amazing Stories 1934 Apr-Jun
Box 102		Amazing Stories 1934 Jul-Sep
Box 103		Amazing Stories 1934 Sep-Oct
Box 104		Amazing Stories 1934 Oct-Dec
Box 105		Amazing Stories 1935 Jan-Mar
Box 106		Amazing Stories 1935 Apr-Jun
Box 107		Amazing Stories 1935 Jul, Aug, Oct
Box 108		Amazing Stories 1935 Dec; 1936 Feb, Apr
Box 109		Amazing Stories 1935 Mar, Jul; 1936 Apr
Box 110		Amazing Stories 1936 Jun, Jul, Oct
Box 111		Amazing Stories 1936 Dec; 1937 Feb, Apr
Box 112		Amazing Stories 1937 Jun, Aug, Oct
Box 113		Amazing Stories 1937 Dec; 1938 Feb, Apr
Box 114		Amazing Stories 1938 Jun, Aug, Oct
Box 115		Amazing Stories 1938 Nov-Dec; 1939 Jan
Box 116		Amazing Stories 1939 Feb-Apr
Box 117		Amazing Stories 1939 May-Jul
Box 118		Amazing Stories 1939 Aug-Oct
Box 119		Amazing Stories 1939 Nov-Dec; 1940 Jan
Box 120		Amazing Stories 1940 Feb-Apr
Box 121		Amazing Stories 1940 May-Jun; Fantastic Adventures 1940 Jun
Box 122		Amazing Stories Annual, undated; Amazing Stories Quarterly, 1928 winter
Box 123		Amazing Stories Quarterly 1928 spring, summer
Box 124		Amazing Stories Quarterly 1928 fall; 1929 winter
Box 125		Amazing Stories Quarterly 1929 spring, summer
Box 126		Amazing Stories Quarterly 1929 fall; 1930 winter
Box 127		Amazing Stories Quarterly 1930 spring, summer
Box 128		Amazing Stories Quarterly 1930 fall, winter [table of contents in volume is incorrect]
Box 129		Amazing Stories Quarterly 1931 spring, summer
Box 130		Amazing Stories Quarterly 1931 fall; 1932 winter, spring/summer [combined issue]
Box 131		Amazing Stories Quarterly 1933 winter, spring/summer; 1934 fall
Box 132		Astonishing Stories 1940 Oct, Dec; Super Science Novels 1940 Nov
Box 133		Astonishing Stories 1941 Feb; Super Science Novels 1941 Mar; Amazing Stories 1941 Apr
Box 134		Astonishing Stories 1941 Apr; Super Science Novels 1941 May, Aug
Box 135		Astonishing Stories 1941 Sep, Nov; Super Science Novels 1941 Nov
Box 136		Astonishing Stories 1942 Mar, Jun, Oct
Box 137		Astounding Science Fiction 1938 Mar-May
Box 138		Astounding Science Fiction 1939 Sep; Thrilling Wonder Stories 1939 Oct; Uncanny Tales 1939 Nov
Box 139		Astounding Stories 1930 Feb; 1931 Jan, Sep
Box 140		Astounding Stories 1931 May, Nov; 1932 Mar
Box 141		Astounding Stories 1932 Jun; Miracle Science Fiction Stories 1931 Apr/May; Astounding Stories 1934 Apr
Box 142		Astounding Stories 1934 Nov; 1935 Jul, Dec
Box 143		Astounding Stories 1936 Jun-Aug
Box 144		Astounding Stories 1936 Sep-Nov
Box 145		Astounding Stories 1936 Dec; 1937 Jan-Feb
Box 146		Astounding Stories 1936 Sep; 1937 Jun
Box 147		Astounding Stories 1937 Mar-May
Box 148		Astounding Stories 1937 Jun-Aug
Box 149		Astounding Stories 1937 Sep-Nov
Box 150		Astounding Stories 1937 Dec; 1938 Jan-Feb
Box 151		Captain Future 1940 winter; Science Fiction 1940 Mar, Jun
Box 152		Comet 1941 May; Astounding Stories 1942 Mar, Oct
Box 153		Dynamic Science Stories 1939 Apr-May; Unknown 1939 Jun; Science Fiction 1939 Jun
Box 154		Future Fiction 1940 Jul; Planet Stories 1940 summer; Science Fiction Quarterly 1940 summer
Box 155		Future Fiction 1940 Jul; Astonishing Stories 1940 Aug; Super Science Stories 1940 Sep
Box 156		Future Fiction 1940 Nov; Comet 1940 Dec; Cosmic 1941 Mar
Box 157		Marvel Science Stories 1938 Nov; Startling Stories 1939 Jan; Science Fiction 1939 Mar
Box 158		Marvel Science Stories 1939 Aug; Famous Fantastic Mysteries 1939 Sep-Oct; Future Fiction 1939 Nov
Box 159		Other Worlds 1950 Mar; Spaceway 1954 Jun; Graveyard Watch (book)
Box 160		Planet Stories 1940 winter; Astonishing Stories 1940 Feb; Super Science Stories 1940 Mar
Box 161		Planet Stories 1940 spring; Super Science Stories 1940 May; Astonishing Stories 1940 Jun
Box 162		Planet Stories 1940 summer, fall; 1941 spring
Box 163		Planet Stories 1940 fall, winter; 1941 spring
Box 164		Planet Stories 1941 summer; Comet 1941 May, Jul
Box 165		Planet Stories 1942 winter; 1948 winter; Two Complete Science Adventure Books 1951 winter
Box 166		Planet Stories 1942 winter; Super Science Stories 1950 Sep; Two Complete Science Adventure Books 1951 summer
Box 167		Planet Stories 1942 spring; 1944 summer; Thrilling Wonder Stories 1947 Jun
Box 168		Planet Stories 1954 winter; 1955 spring; Startling Stories 1952 Mar
Box 169		"Professor Jameson Series Vol I" (Amazing Stories 1931 Jul; 1932 Feb, May)
Box 170		"Professor Jameson Series Vol IV" (Amazing Stories 1937 Apr, Oct; 1938 Apr)
Box 171		Science Fiction 1939 Aug, Oct, Dec
Box 172		Science Wonder Stories 1929 Jun-Aug
Box 173		Science Wonder Stories 1929 Sep-Nov
Box 174		Science Wonder Stories 1929 Dec; 1930 Jan-Feb
Box 175		Science Wonder Stories 1930 Mar-May
Box 176		Science Wonder Quarterly 1929 fall; 1930 winter
Box 177		Science Wonder Quarterly 1930 spring, summer
Box 178		Scientific Detective Monthly 1930 Apr-Jun
Box 179		Stirring Science Stories 1941 Feb; Comet 1941 Mar; Amazing Stories 1941 Apr
Box 180		Super Science Stories 1940 Jul-Sep
Box 181		Super Science Stories 1941 Jan; Astonishing Stories 1941 Feb; Super Science Novels 1941 Mar
Box 182		Super Science Stories 1942 Feb, Aug; Amazing Stories 1939 Dec
Box 183		Super Science Stories 1949 Sep, Nov; 1950 Mar; The Gorgon vol. 2 no. 4
Box 184		Super Science Stories 1949 Sep, Nov; 1950 Jan
Box 185		Super Science Stories 1950 Mar, May, Jul
Box 186		Super Science Stories 1950 Sep, Nov; 1951 Jan
Box 187		Super Science Stories 1951 Apr, Jun, Aug
Box 188		Super Science Stories 1951 Aug
Box 189		Tales of Wonder 1938 winter, spring, summer
Box 190		Thrilling Wonder Stories 1936 Aug, Oct, Dec
Box 191		Thrilling Wonder Stories 1937 Feb, Apr, Jun
Box 192		Thrilling Wonder Stories 1937 Apr; Amazing Stories 1938 Dec; Science Fiction 1939 Oct
Box 193		Thrilling Wonder Stories 1937 Aug, Oct, Dec
Box 194		Thrilling Wonder Stories 1938 Feb, Apr, Jun
Box 195		Thrilling Wonder Stories 1949 Apr; Out of This World Adventures 1950 Dec; Future / Science Fiction Stories 1950 May-Jun
Box 196		Two Complete Science Adventure Books 1950 winter; 1951 spring, summer
Box 197		Wonder Stories 1930 Jun-Oct
Box 198		Wonder Stories 1930 Nov-Dec; 1931 Jan
Box 199		Wonder Stories 1931 Feb-Apr
Box 200		Wonder Stories 1931 May-Jul
Box 201		Wonder Stories 1931 Aug-Sep
Box 202		Wonder Stories 1931 Nov-Dec; 1932 Jan-Feb
Box 203		Wonder Stories 1936 Apr; Weird Tales 1936 Aug-Sep; Blue Book 1936 Apr
Box 204		Wonder Stories Quarterly 1931 fall
Box 205		Wonder Stories Quarterly 1931 fall; 1932 winter; Wonder Stories 1933 Feb
Box 206		Young Wild West series - 10 stories from 1927 issues of Wild West Weekly, Pluck & Luck, and Fame & Fortune

	Writings
		Novels
			Citadel in Space
Box 44				93K word version, original typescript (4 folders)
Box 44				93K word version, photocopy (4 folders)
Box 44				72K word version, original typescript, pp. 1-170 (2 folders)
Box 45				72K word version, original typescript, pp. 171-339 (2 folders)
Box 45				72K word version, photocopy (3 folders)
			Cosmic Veil
Box 45				Continuity
Box 45				Story outline (3 folders)
Box 45				Original handwritten copy (3 folders)
Box 45				Original typescript (4 folders)
Box 46				Original typescript carbon (3 folders)
Box 46				Typescript [A] (4 folders)
Box 46				Typescript [B] (3 folders)
			Hurry up and wait - semi-autobiographical novel based on Jones' experiences in the military
Box 46				Chapter heads
Oversize 26				Initial outline - bound volume
Box 46				List of material
Box 46				Short extracts
Box 46				Topical index
Box 46				Miscellaneous notes
Box 47				Individual stories, alphabetical by title - mix of typescript originals and photocopies (5 folders)
Box 47				Miscellaneous fragments
Box 47				Typescript [A] - handwritten annotations, appears to be first/early draft; page 250 missing (2 folders)
Box 47				Typescript [B], pp. 1-100
Box 48				Typescript [B], pp. 101-606 (5 folders)
Box 48				Typescript [C] (7 folders)
Oversize 27				Bound typescript, illustrated covers, Volume I
Oversize 28				Bound typescript, illustrated covers, Volume II
Oversize 29				Bound typescript, illustrated covers, Volume III
			Outlawed World
Box 49				Advertising plan - includes mockup of order form
Box 49				Chapter heads, characters, synopses
Box 49				Original handwritten version (4 folders)
		Durna Rangue stories
Box 49			Captives of the Durna Rangue
Box 49			Durna Rangue neophyte
Box 49			Feminine ivory (2 folders)
Box 49			Invisible one (2 folders)
Box 50			Little Hercules (2 folders)
Box 50			Moon pirates (2 folders)
Box 50			Vampire of the void (2 folders)
Box 50			Zyrma
		Prof Jameson stories
Box 50			Lists, notes, etc.
Box 50			The accelerated world
Box 50			Battle moon (2 folders)
Box 50			Cat-men of Aemt [alt title: The feline men] (2 folders)
Box 51			Cosmic derelict (2 folders)
Box 51			Doomsday on Ajiat
Box 51			Exiles from below (2 folders)
Box 51			Hidden world
Box 51			In the meteoric cloud [alt title: In the meteoric curtain] (2 folders)
Box 51			Into the hydrosphere
Box 51			The Jameson satellite (2 folders)
Box 51			Labyrinth [alt title: The metal eaters]
Box 51			The lost nation
Box 52			The lost nation
Box 52			The metal moon [alt titles: The strange moonlet; The strange asteroid]
Box 52			The mind masters [alt title: World of the robots] (3 folders)
Box 52			The music monsters (3 folders)
Box 52			On the planet fragment (2 folders)
Box 52			Parasite planet
Box 52			Planet of the double sun
Box 53			Return of the tripeds
Box 53			The satellite sun
Box 53			Slaves of the unknown (2 folders)
Box 53			Space war
Box 53			Star killers [alt title: The sapphire comet] (2 folders)
Box 53			The sun dwellers - outline and partial draft only
Box 53			The sunless world [alt title: Wandering world]
Box 53			Time's mausoleum
Box 53			Transmogrification
Box 53			Twin worlds (2 folders)
Box 54			Twin worlds
Box 54			Voice across space (2 folders)
Box 54			World without darknesas (2 folders)
Box 54			Zora of the Zoromes
Box 54			Professor Jameson Series No. 1 [loose sheets] - typescript, #1-3 (2 folders)
Box 54			Professor Jameson Series No. 1 [binder] - three-ring binder containing typescripts for #1-3
Box 54			Professor Jameson Series No. 2 [loose sheets] - typescript, #4-6
Box 55			Professor Jameson Series No. 2 [loose sheets] (cont.) - typescript, #4-6 (2 folders)
Box 55			Professor Jameson Series No. 2 [binder] - three-ring binder containing typescripts for #4-6
Box 55			Professor Jameson Series No. 3 [loose sheets] - typescript, #7-9 (2 folders)
Box 55			Professor Jameson Series No. 3 [binder] - three-ring binder containing typescripts for #7-9
Box 56			Professor Jameson Series No. 5 [binder] - three-ring binder containing typescripts for #22, 23, 16
		Reviews
Box 56			Volumes I-V (5 volumes)
				These undated small notebooks are filled with handwritten reviews of books. Most are titles in popular boys' adventure series of the time, including the Motorcycle Chums, Tom Swift, Pee Wee Harris, the Dreadnought Boys, and so on. Publishers represented include Grosset & Dunlap, A.L. Burt, Hurst & Co., Donohue, John C. Winston, and Mershon Co. Authors represented include Victor Appleton, Booth Tarkington, Percy Keese FitzHugh, Zane Grey, G.A. Henty, and many more.
		Short fiction
Box 56			The atomic worlds 1929
Box 56			The awful transformation
Box 56			The bacteria intelligence 1932 (2 folders)
Box 56			Bandits of the sky
Box 56			The beautiful scourge
Box 57			Behind the eight ball (2 folders)
Box 57			Blackmail [alt title: Brought to justice]
Box 57			The cavern beast
Box 57			City on the lake (2 folders)
Box 57			The counterfeiters
Box 57			Dagger dance
Box 57			Dangerous diamonds
Box 57			Dark swordsmen of Saturn [alt title: The stolen brain secret; Lindquist the avenger]
Box 57			The death's head meteor - includes photocopy of original publication in Air Wonder Stories
Oversize 32			The death's head meteor / The electrical man / Shadows of the night Jan 1930; May 1930; Oct 1930 - handbound volume with three issues of pulp magazines ( Air wonder stories, Scientific detective monthly, Amazing detective tales) containing stories by Jones; in "The death's head meteor" all occurrences of the word "astronaut" are underlined, presumably by Jones
Box 57			The electrical man (2 folders)
				See also The death's head meteor / The electrical man / Shadows of the night, above.
Box 57			Escape from Phobos (2 folders)
Box 58			Exodus (2 folders)
Box 58			The ghost of Grenville
Box 58			The great telescope (2 folders)
Box 58			Guardians of the citadel (2 folders)
Box 58			He walked in backwards [alt title: Right of entrance]
Box 58			Hermit of Saturn's ring [alt title: Lost in Saturn's ring] (2 folders)
Box 58			The human robot 1931
Box 58			A Japanese romance
Box 58			Jim McMann's exciting night
Box 58			Kiss of death [alt title: Kobera] - includes photocopy of original publication in Amazing Stories (2 folders)
Box 59			Knights of Excalibur [alt title: Revolt] (2 folders)
Box 59			The knockout punch - includes issues of The DeMolay Review in which are published the first two parts (2 folders)
				See also Memorabilia : Yearbooks : The Fultonian.
Box 59			Last raid of the Calliope [alt title: Marquard's strange eyesight]
Box 59			The legend of interplanetary
Box 59			The limehouse dope mystery (3 folders)
Box 59			Liquid hell - includes photocopy of original publication in Future fiction (2 folders)
Box 59			The lost diamonds
Box 59			Mahomet Ben's diary (2 folders)
Box 59			The Martian mishap
Box 60			Martian and troglodyte 1930 (2 folders)
Box 60			Metal menace [alt title: Gods of HWYZ / Highway 2]
Box 60			Meteor of fate
Box 60			Meteor rider
Box 60			Moment of glory (2 folders)
Box 60			A moment's pause
Box 60			Moon of the condemned
Box 60			Nightmare of Louis Pasteur [alt titles: Pasteur's nightmare; The sewer monsters; The awful transformation] (3 folders)
Box 60			On Spanish shores
Box 60			Passed up (2 folders)
Box 60			Pirate treasure
Box 61			Pirates of Pallas
Box 61			Priestess of the sleeping death - photocopy only, of original publication in Amazing stories
Box 61			The prisoner of coral towers (2 folders)
Box 61			Prize dance [alt title: Dressed up romance]
Box 61			Queen of the Degmen (2 folders)
Box 61			The ransom for Toledo (2 folders)
Box 61			Read 'em and weep
Box 61			Recalled from the living dead
Box 61			Retreat of the Earthmen 1931-1932
Box 61			The river pirates
Box 61			The robot lover
Box 61			Romance of Ron Steele
Box 62			Sapphires of the swordsmen [alt title: Castle of hell] (2 folders)
Box 62			Shadows of the night
				See also The death's head meteor / The electrical man / Shadows of the night, above.
Box 62			The sky hounds
Box 62			Spacewrecked on Venus [alt title: The C-49 disaster] 1932-1933 - includes photocopy of original publication in Wonder stories quarterly
Box 62			Specializing in spirits
Box 62			Spheremen of Ganymede (2 folders)
Box 62			Spoilers of the spaceways [alt title: The phantom city] [1940-1942]
Box 62			Suicide Durkee's last ride - "dedicated to Max Valier and Fritz von Opel"
Box 62			Swordsmen of Saturn - includes photocopy of original publication in Science fiction (2 folders)
Box 62			Synthetic lifetime [alt title: Ern Hantel's fate] (3 folders)
Box 62			Tales of the 24th and 26th centuries
Box 62			The tattooed man
Box 63			The tomb of Armand (2 folders)
Box 63			Treasures of Saturn
Box 63			The vacuum killer
Box 63			Vengeance of the ages
Box 63			The violet threat
Box 63			War comes to Skeleton island [alt title: Skeleton Island]
Box 63			War of the exodus (2 folders)
Box 63			A world in darkness
Box 63			[Collection] Eleven short stories - 2-ring binder with title page and typescripts of stories; includes "Death's head meteor" under alternate title "Asteroid of death" (1 volume)
Box 64			[Collection] Three long short stories - 2-ring binder with title page and typescripts of "Limehouse dope mystery," "Suicide Durkee's last ride," and "The knockout punch" (1 volume)
		Miscellaneous
Box 64			Bibliographies
Box 64			Don't give up the script
Box 64			Literary Journal No. 1
Box 64			Literary Journal No. 2
Box 64			My autobiography for Fantasy Magazine
Box 64			My recorded speech for the Cincinnati convention [WorldCon 7]
Box 64			[Notebook] - mostly random lists: cars, animals, population of US states, etc. (1 volume)
Box 64			Outlines, synopses, miscellaneous - bound by Jones (1 volume)
Box 64			Stories for proposed anthology [list]
Box 64			Story ideas and notes - bound by Jones (1 volume)
Box 65			Story ideas and outlines - bound by Jones (1 volume)
Box 65			Story outlines - bound by Jones (1 volume)
Box 65			War anecdote
Box 65			[untitled fragment, about dancing]
Box 66			[Eight war notebooks - 8 small spiral-bound pocket notebooks, bound by Jones (1 volume)
Box 66			[Miscellaneous notebooks] - 14 small pocket notebooks, bound by Jones (3 volumes)

Return to top