Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Kamin, Martin.
Title:	Martin Kamin Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1789-1973
Quantity:	25 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the Polish-American publisher and bookseller, primarily in the areas of dance and drama. Collection includes autographs, correspondence, photographs, printed material, and miscellaneous papers.
Language:	Majority in English, some items in French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Russian, Swedish and other languages.
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Martin Kamin (1897 or 1899-1976) was a Polish-American publisher and bookseller, particularly in the areas of dance and drama.

Born on November 15, 1897 (or 1899) in Warsaw, Poland, Kamin left Poland to come to the United States while still in his teens. After mastering English he enrolled at the University of Baltimore and continued his studies in linguistics, philosophy and economics at the University of Geneva in Switzerland where he earned his Ph.D.

In 1920 Kamin married Sarah (Sally) Katz, a school teacher from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. For a number of years she had been associated with the Wisconsin Players as a dramatic actress and dancer performing under the name Sara Nikov. The Kamins resided in Paris during the 1920's and 1930's where Martin began his publishing career. He published Contact: A Quarterly Review (edited by William Carlos Williams and Nathaniel West), Both Sides, Films, and Current Controversy. The Kamins became a part of the "lost generation" which included Hemingway, Fitzgerald and Gertrude Stein. His address book from that period registers the names Aaron Copland, Gustav Holst, Darius Milhaud, Serge Prokofieff, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Picasso, and more.

In addition to his publishing business Kamin operated a book store in New York City which eventually specialized in materials on the dance. For many years the Kamin Dance Book Shop was an internationally known center for books and manuscripts relating to all aspects of that art.

After his wife's death and his retirement Kamin married briefly for a second time, but spent most of his later years weakened by a stroke and living in virtual poverty in various nursing homes. He died on September 4, 1976.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Martin Kamin Collection is comprised of art, autographs, clippings, correspondence, memorabilia, Photographs, Printed naterial, subject files, and writings. Some of the material may have been part of the stock of the Kamin Dance Bookshop.

Art consists of costume and set design drawings and reference material as well as original prints by Mahlon Blaine, Carlos Merida, and several notable photographers, a self-portrait by Enrico Caruso, a Marie Taglioni paper doll, and a few other items.

Autographs contains the signatures of many well-known figures in the arts, including Prokofieff, Villa-Lobos, de Falla, and Stravinski.

Clippings consists of items about the Kamins and their bookshop as well as pieces on various dancers.

Correspondence includes both letters to and from the Kamins as well as letters collected by the Kamins. Correspondents in the former category encompass actors, authors, choreographers, composers, dancers and dance critics, including Jacques Bense, Konrad Bercovici, Evelyn Cournand (Anna Galina), Alexandra Danilova, Friderica Derra de Moroda, Anton "Pat" Dolin, Katherine Dunham, Martha Graham, Langston Hughes, Michel Licht, Alicia Markova, Peter Neagoe, Romola Nijinsky, Sydor Rey, Tomaz Ribas, Maurice Sandoz, Ted Shawn, Mia Slavenska, Walter Toscanini, Tamara Toumanova, Elisabeth Twysden, John Vassos, Lynd Ward, and Jacqueline and Robert de Warren. Correspondents in the latter category include a wide range of notables in the field of dance; one of the oldest items in this series (1832) is from Paul Taglioni, father and teacher of Marie Taglioni, the first ballerina to dance on en pointe before the days of toe-stiffened ballet slippers.

Memorabilia includes Sally Kamin's academic records, Martin Kamin's Parisian address book, financial records, a few items of dance memorabilia (including one of Nijinsky's costumes), loose photographs and several photograph albums, and assorted printed material.

The collection contains a large number of Photographs of ballet companies (among them Ballet Russe, Diaghilev Ballet, Martha Graham Dance Company, and the San Francisco Ballet), individual dancers (Alexandra Danilova, Alicia Markova, Nijinsky, Moira Shearer, and others), and specific dances (including Bluebeard, Camille, Giselle, Princess Aurora, and Swan Lake), as well as conductors and choreographers.

Printed material contains concert programs, dance instruction material, dance notation material, items from the Kamin's Dance Bookshop, magazine and newspaper clippings, pamphlets on various dance-related subjects, posters and broadsides, a substantial number of programs and souvenir booklets spanning more than fifty years and numerous countries, and miscellaneous items.

Subject files includes dance-related bibliographies and lists, two scrapbooks of promotional material from the Kamin Dance Bookshop, items from Kamin Publishers, and assorted notes and clippings on Michel Licht, the Middle East, and a military newspaper that Martin produced during World War II.

Writings is subdivided into writings by Martin, probably by Martin, by Sally, and by others. Martin's writings include handwritten notebooks dating from his years in the Army during World War II, handwritten notes for something entitled "Rascals", and assorted notes and fragments on other topics. Material presumed to be by Martin, though it cannot be said for certain, includes essays on dance, politics, World War II, and other topics. Writings by Sally consist of a handwritten essay on D. H. Lawrence and assorted notes and fragments. Writings by others include several items by and about Adolf Bolm, extensive material relating to two books by Maurice Sandoz (including a large amount of correspondence with the author), typed excerpts from a variety of plays (possibly used by Sally when studying for a role), a proposal for a book on American politics, essays on a range of dance-related topics, and the complete typescript of Encyclopedie du Ballet by Fernando Reyna.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by name (correspondence and photographs), by topic (subject files and memorabilia), or by type and title (printed material and writings).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Some items, including a very large number of books and several early libretti, have been removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to Libraries Search to locate these items.

Special Collections Research Center has a number of collections relating to dance and drama. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Martin Kamin Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Some material gift of Martin Kamin.

Some material gift of Lyall Squair, 1970, 1987.

Some material gift of John S. Mayfield.

Other material, unspecified, 1961, 1965, 1971, 1980.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DMB
Date: 3 Apr 1979
Revision history: Feb 1991 - additions (KM); 1 Jun 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 22 Aug 2014 - additions processed, finding aid expanded (MRC); 5 Jun 2023 - photographs of dancer Marjorie Tallchief identified (DTF); 11 Sep 2023 - multiple adds (RMH)

Return to top

Inventory

	Art
Box 1		Costume design - mixture of clippings, hand-colored prints, original watercolors and sketches by unknown artists, etc.; includes plates and covers from Les Icones d'Ohrid and Fresques Serbes du Moyen Age (6 folders)
Oversize 1		Costume design
Box 1		Dancers - mixture of clippings, pages from books and manuscripts, hand-colored prints, original watercolors and sketches by unknown artists, etc. (3 folders)
Box 2		Dancers - mixture of clippings, pages from books and manuscripts, hand-colored prints, original watercolors and sketches by unknown artists, etc. (3 folders)
		Original art
Map-Case 136			Paintings and prints by Mahlon Blaine - original painting and woodblock prints by the American book illustrator and painter (7 items)
Oversize 1			Photographs prints, various artists (6 items)
				Matched set of six photographic prints on what appears to be Japanese tissue or similar; one each by Alvin Langdon Coburn, Alfred Stieglitz, Prescott Adamson, Joseph T. Keiley, Gertrude Käsebier, and Clarence H. White.
Oversize 1			Portrait of Sarah "Sally" Katz undated
Map-Case 136			Prints by Carlos Mérida - lithographs of Native American costume and dance (25 items)
Oversize 1			Sketches - "original pencil sketch by N.R. Annotated" and "Misc. originals McClurg Kraus Bisch" (2 folders)
Map-Case 136			Miscellaneous - "Religious Medieval · Martha Graham" collage by Muriel Schochen; small watercolor by Pueblo painter Awa Tsireh (Alfonso Roybal); painting of three Native American dancers by unidentified artist (2 folders)
Box 2		Self portrait by Enrico Caruso 1916
Box 2		Set design - clippings, pages from books, etc.
Box 2		Taglioni (Marie) paper doll - doll with several outfits, pages uncut and appear to be hand-colored
		Miscellaneous -

	Autographs
Box 2		Miscellaneous - composers, musicians, writers, celebrities, etc. (3 folders)

	Clippings
		About Kamins
Box 2			About Martin Apr 1961, undated
Box 2			About Sally 8 Jan 1944
		Ballet companies
Box 2			Denishawn Dancers
		Dancers
Box 2			Danilova, Alexandra
Box 2			Dolin, Anton
				See also Printed material : Programs and souvenir booklets : Markova and Dolin, below.
Box 2			Duncan, Isadora
Box 2			Fonteyn, Margot
Box 2			Lichine, David
Box 2			Markova, Alicia
				See also Printed material : Programs and souvenir booklets : Markova and Dolin, below.
Box 2			Massine, Leonide
Box 3			Pavlova, Anna
Box 3			Toumanova, Tamara
Box 3			Various

	Correspondence
Box 3		Martin and Sally (wife) 1942-1946, undated (6 folders)
Box 3		A. A. Wyn 1953 - publisher
Box 3		Ambrose, Kay 1945-1946
Box 3		Anthony, Gordon 1942, 1946-1947
Box 3		Archives Internationales de la Dance 1946-1947 - Pierre Tugal
		Armstrong, Ronald
			See Writings by others : Armstrong, Ronald
Box 3		A, miscellaneous - includes typescript of letter to Lina Abarbanel
		Barzel, Ann
			See Kirstein, Lincoln.
Box 4		Bassett, Richard 1945, 1947, 1950, undated
Box 4		Beckelman, Moses 1945-1949, 1952, 1955
Box 4		Bense, Jacques 1945, 1947-1948, 1958
			See also Correspondence of others : English letters.
Box 4		Bercovici, Conrad 1945, undated
Box 4		Berkebile, Fred 1954, undated
Box 4		Black, Helen 1946-1947, 1950
Box 4		Blitzstein, Marc 1943, undated
Box 4		Bolm, Beate (wife of Adolf) 1955
			See also Correspondence of others : English letters.
Box 4		Bosco, Henri 1943 - Revue Aguedal
Box 4		Brennan, Don 1943-1949, undated
Box 4		British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) 1962
Box 4		Buckle, Richard 1946-1947, 1953-1955
Box 4		Bueding, Raya 1946-1947, undated
Box 4		Bundy, Gus 1955, 1961, 1965, undated
Box 4		B, miscellaneous
Box 4		Calvocoressi, Michel-Dmitri 1940
Box 4		Caracciolo, Marella (Princess) 1961
Box 4		Chatwin, Kenneth C. 1945
Box 4		Clique 1945, 1951, 1969, 1972-1973
Box 4		Cope, Thomas Pym 1947, 1959, undated
Box 4		Coton, A. V. 1946-1947, 1949
Box 4		Cournand, Evelyn (Anna Galina) 1960, 1962
Box 4		C, miscellaneous
Box 4		Dali, Salvador 1956 - printed invitation to dinner with the Dalis and Maurice Sandoz, "at which...an interesting announcement will be made concerning a joint artistic venture connected with the forthcoming wedding of Miss Grace Kelly and Prince Rainier III"
Box 4		Dance Quarterly 1954 - includes letters from numerous notable people regarding invitations to contribute, subscriptions, etc.
Box 4		Daniels, Diana 1954-1957
Box 4		Danilova, Alexandra 1948, 1958
Box 4		Dayal, Leela 1955-1956, 1962, undated
Box 4		De Mille, Agnes 1952, 1955, 1961, undated
Box 4		Deakin, Natasha and Irving 1948, 1954, 1959, undated
Box 4		Dennis Dobson Ltd. 1945-1953
Box 4		Denoël, Jean 1943-1945
Box 4		Derra de Moroda, Friderica 1959, 1961
Box 4		DeWulff, Catalina W. 1958-1960
Box 4		Dolin, Anton ("Pat") 1943-1959, undated
			See also Correspondence of others : English letters.
Box 4		Dunham, Katherine 1954
Box 4		D, miscellaneous
Box 4		E. P. Dutton 1954-1955 - Sharon Banigan
Box 4		Evans, Mary Stewart (Lady Evans) 1947-1973, undated - includes handwritten notes on her Orchesography
Box 4		E, miscellaneous
Box 4		Farrar, Straus & Co. 1946
		Galina, Anna
			See Cournand, Evelyn.
Box 5		Finkel, Saul 1945
Box 5		Franck, Dorothea S. 1973
Box 5		Fung (Chinese consul) undated
Box 5		F, miscellaneous
Box 5		Gantt, Harry 1973
Box 5		Girdwood, James 1964, undated
Box 5		Goldberg, Arthur J. 1949
Box 5		Gor (Grossman), Robert 1950
Box 5		Goslar, Lotte 1948
Box 5		Graham, Martha 1947
Box 5		Grayson, James 1943-1946, 1972-1973
Box 5		Gribble, Harry Wagstaff 1949 - typescript of play, "The Feast of St. James" by Gribble and John Proctor
Box 5		Grolier Society 1959-1960
Box 5		G, miscellaneous
Box 5		Habicht, Hermann 1942-1948, 1959-1960, undated
Box 5		Haden-Guest, Peter 1951
Box 5		Hall, Martin 1947, 1950
Box 5		Harris, Lou and Vera 1959-1960
Box 5		Harris, Marguerite Tjader 1941, 1947
Box 5		Haskell, Arnold L. 1937, 1946-1947
Box 5		Hata, Toyokichi 1954, 1959
Box 5		Hawthorn Books 1953
Box 5		Hennessy, Jossleyn 1947
Box 5		Highet, Gilbert (Oxford University Press) 1958-1959
Box 5		Hill & Wang 1958-1959 - request for Sally to review Pudovkin book
Box 5		L'Hommedieu, Bart 1943-1947, undated
Box 5		Hudson, Rosario undated - includes photograph of Anna Pavlova, taken at Hudson's home
Box 5		Hughes, Langston 1926
Box 5		Humphrey, Doris 1948 - regarding Guggenheim application
			See also Correspondence of others : English letters.
Box 5		Jagendorf, Moritz 1943, 1956, undated
Box 5		Jankovic, Danica S. 1953-1958, undated - includes outlines and typescripts of their material on Yugoslavian folk music and folk dance
Box 5		J, miscellaneous
Box 5		Kingsley, Herbert 1939 - contains handwritten piece of music written for Kamins
Box 5		Kirstein, Lincoln 1938-1942, 1946, 1952, undated - Ballet Caravan, Inc.
Box 5		Knopf, Inc. 1949, 1953, 1964
Box 5		Kramer [Kraemer?], Chris 1942-1943, 1946, 1950
Box 5		Krehel, Peter 1945-1952, undated
Box 5		Lawson, Jean 1947
Box 5		Le Chanois, Jean-Paul 1945-1952, 1958-1959, undated
Box 5		Legrand, Edy 1943-1945, 1961-1965, undated
Box 5		Lee, Paul 1943
Box 5		Leidy, Philip 1941
Box 5		Lempertz, Thomas Q. 1961
Box 5		Leslie, Kenneth 1943-1944, 1952-1955
Box 5		Leslie, Serge and Doris 1954, 1958, undated
Box 6		Leyda, Jay 1949
Box 6		Library of Congress 1929, 1938-1960, undated
Box 6		Licht, Michel 1948
Box 6		Lidji, Lena 1947
Box 6		Lilly, Joseph 1942-1949, undated
Box 6		Littell, Ray S. 1959-1960
Box 6		Lloyd, Margaret 1943-1948, undated
Box 6		Love, Paul 1950-1953
Box 6		L, miscellaneous
Box 6		Marc, Emile 1946
Box 6		Markova, Alicia 1942, 1947, 1950, 1973, undated
Box 6		Martin, Ben 1944-1945
Box 6		Martin, John 1943
Box 6		Massaguer, Conrado 1959-1960
Box 6		Mayfield, John S. 1943-1944, 1948, 1952, 1965, 1967, 1969, 1973, undated
Box 6		Mehdi, [Mohammad T. ?] 1972
Box 6		Meister, Guido 1959, undated
Box 6		de Monbrison, Arnaud [?] 1943, undated
Box 6		Museum of Modern Art 1914
Box 6		M, miscellaneous
Box 6		Nagle, Carl 1963-1964, undated
Box 6		Neagoe, Peter 1950, 1958, undated - about his books published by Kamin; includes book reviews, press releases, clippings, author photos
Box 6		Neagoe, Peter and Anna 1958-1962, 1973, undated - letters to and from the Kamins
Box 6		New York Public Library 1946, 1961
Box 6		Nijinska, Romola (wife of Vaslav Nijinsky) 1950-1963 1973, undated - correspondence; annotated clippings
Box 7		N, miscellaneous
Box 7		Orloff, N. [Nicholas?] 1946
Box 7		Oukrainsky, Serge 1961
Box 7		O, miscellaneous
Box 7		Page, Ruth 1948
Box 7		Passport office 1934-1935, 1945-1946
Box 7		Pavelic, Ante 1943, undated
Box 7		Pearl [may be first or last name, not clear] 1940s
Box 7		Porter, Russ ( New York Times) 1943, 1948, undated
Box 7		Prendergast, A. H. D. 1907-1909 - letters to Prendergast from several different people, none of them Kamin
Box 7		Prilipp, Beda 1952-1953
Box 7		Putnam & Company 1942
Box 7		P, miscellaneous
Box 7		Raffe, Walter George R. 1946, 1948, 1955
Box 7		Random House 1954
Box 7		Rene, Natalia 1957-1960
Box 7		Rey, Sydor 1941, 1965-1966, 1973
Box 7		Ribas, Tomaz 1963
			See also Writings : By Kamin, probably : Dance.
Box 7		Russell, Henry Tosti 1958-1960, undated - includes reprint, "Welcome to Portugal, Maurice Sandoz"
Box 7		Q-R, miscellaneous
Box 7		Sadoul, Georges undated
Box 7		Sakowicz, Gabriela 1946
		Sandoz, Maurice
			See Writings by others : Armstrong, Ronald; Writings by others : Sandoz, Maurice
Box 7		Schonberg, Harriett 1957-1963
Box 7		Seidel, Winifred 1947
Box 7		Seldes, George 1940, 1942, undated
			See also Writings : By others : Seldes, George.
Box 7		Selznick, David O. 1956
Box 7		Shawn, Ted 1947-1961, undated
			See also Photographs : Albums : [Album 1].
Box 7		Silbermann, Alphons 1948-1950
Box 7		Slavenska, Mia 1940, 1946, undated
Box 7		Sorrell, Walter 1948-1950
Box 7		Soudeikine, Serge 1941
Box 7		Sterling, David 1943-1944, undated
Box 7		Strate, Walter 1954-1957, undated
Box 7		Stuart Press 1959-1960, undated
Box 7		S, miscellaneous - includes Christmas card from State Opera Ballet of Prague, signed by all members
Box 7		Thackray, Rupert W. 1960 - most is with Mark Paterson and Company Ltd. about Thackray's book
Box 7		Toscanini, Walter 1954-1955
Box 7		Totten, Vivian 1971-1973, undated
Box 7		Toumanova, Tamara undated - includes photograph
Box 7		Trosch, Evelyn and Erving 1951-1952, undated
Box 7		Tuttle, Frank W. 1948
Box 8		Twysden, Elisabeth (A.E.) 1947-1957 - about her book on Alicia Markova
Box 8		Twysden, Elisabeth (A.E.) 1942-1958, undated - to and from the Kamins
Box 8		T, miscellaneous
Box 8		United Nations Rehabilitation and Relief Agency (UNRRA) 1944-1948
Box 8		U, miscellaneous
Box 8		Van Vechten, Carl 1942-1943, 1953, undated - includes several postcards with his own photographs
Box 8		Vassos, John 1943-1945, undated - includes sketches, letter to Maurice Sandoz
			See also Memorabilia : Clippings.
Box 8		Vermilye, Ted and Alice 1950-1952
			See also Writings by others : Vermilye, Theodore.
Box 8		Vernon, Norman 1942
Box 8		V, miscellaneous
Box 8		Ward, Lynd 1935, 1942
Box 8		de Warren, Robert and Jacqueline 1965, 1973
			See also Writings : By others : de Warren, Robert and Jacqueline.
Box 8		Watson, Harry S. 1945
Box 8		Weiner, Beryl (Rod Geiger Productions) 1948, 1952, 1957
		White, Walter 1944-1948 - includes a 5-page typescript, possibly from White's memoirs, that talks about Kamin
Box 8		W, miscellaneous
Box 8		Yarborough, Lavinia Williams 1962-1963
Box 8		Y-Z, miscellaneous
Box 8		Unidentified 1943-1945, 1973, undated - Jimmy, Anka, Bronka; possibly relatives?
Box 8		Unidentified - A-Z by first name
Box 8		Unidentified - no name at all or completely illegible; includes 1951 letter from Sally detailing health and other issues
		Correspondence/writings of others
			These items are to and from someone other than the Kamins. The majority of these items are numbered, but no list of or key to these numbers has been found. It is possible that these items were part of the stock of dance-related memorabilia bought and sold at the Kamins' store.
Box 8			"Ballabile e variazioni Serpentina" 18th century - handwritten manuscript in Italian with diagrams in later binding, title page has the name "Egidia"
Box 8			"Country dance letters" 1789 - handwritten, apparently fragments of larger document or book
Box 8			Greeting and postcards 1925-1957
Box 9			English letters 1853-1956 - includes letters to and/or from Jacques Bense, Eugene Berman, Adolf and Beate Bolm, Jeanette Derby, Anton Dolin, Adeline Genee-Isitt, Doris Humphrey, Maria Ouspenskaya, and Igor Stravinsky
Box 9			Foreign language letters (1) 1832-1962 - letters in French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Russian, other languages (5 folders)
Box 10			Foreign language letters (2) 1807-1962 - letters in French, German, Greek, Russian, other languages

	Memorabilia
Box 10		Academics (Sally) - copies of transcripts, letters of recommendation, degree credits, National Dance League Award, etc.
Box 10		Address books
Box 10		Biographical material - biographical sketches, resumés, Martin's military record, tribute by Dorothea Franck, etc.
Box 10		Clippings - includes article on John Vassos with photo
Oversize 8		Dance memorabilia
			Harlequin-patterned leotard worn by Nijinsky, showing multiple repairs; tie and small mother-of-pearl/malachite box (broken), with note saying they belonged to Nijinsky; unidentified partial costume, appears to be part of belly-dancer skirt
Box 10		Fellowship information - relating to Sally Kamin's Guggenheim application
		Financial
Box 10			Bank statements
Box 10			Medical
Box 10			Miscellany
Box 10		Marriage certificate (copy)
		Photographs
Box 10			Martin Kamin
Box 10			Sally Kamin (Sarah Nikov) (2 folders)
Oversize 3			Photo album (1) 1914-1916 - oblong, plain cover; candid photos
Oversize 3			Photo album (2) 1914-1916 - rectangular, "Photographs" printed on cover; candid photos
Box 10			Identified - portrait photos of actors, dancers, artists including Harry Frank, Kevin Kemble, Langston Hughes, Diego Rivera, Arthur Kallet, Frank Shay, Carlos Chavez; many are signed and inscribed to Kamin
Oversize 1			Identified - Adolph Bolm
Box 11			Unidenitified (3 folders)
		Printed material
Box 11			Air Courier Aug-Sep 1945 - newsletter of the Air Transport Command, European Division (2 folders)
Box 11			Backlog Jan 1945 - newspaper of the North African Ferry Division - Air Transport Control (NAFD-ATC)
Box 11			Book lists - catalogs and lists from booksellers in England, Germany, Italy, Spain, etc.
Box 11			Le Canard Enchaine 29 May 1946 - satirical journal, in French
Box 11			French language, miscellaneous - includes one-sheet flyer about Aguedal
Box 11			The Mid-Ocean Chronicle - newsletter of unidentified military unit; includes printed editions and typescripts
Box 11			Programs circa 1916-1968 (3 folders)
Oversize 7			Scrapbook - clippings
Box 11			Visa and passport applications
Box 11			Wedding announcement calling card and printing plate
Box 11			Miscellaneous (4 folders)

	Photographs
		Albums - individual dancers, dance companies, photos of performances, publicity photo-cards, a few non-dance-related items
Oversize 5			[Album I] 1920-1948 - includes a few original photographs but most are reproductions; majority are of Ruth St. Denis, Ted Shawn, the Denishawn dancers
Oversize 5			[Album II] undated - most are printed cards with captions; album is in very poor condition
Oversize 5			[Album III] undated - most are printed cards with captions
		Ballet companies
Box 12			Adolf Bolm Ballet
				See also Dancers : Bolm, Adolf.
Box 12			Australia
Box 12			Ballet Intime
Box 12			Ballet Rambert
Box 12			Ballet Russe 1931-1956
Box 12			Ballet Theatre at McCarter Theatre
Box 12			Denishawn Dancers 1913-1928
				See also Albums : [Album I]
Oversize B			Denishawn Dancers 1913
Box 12			Diaghilev Ballet
Box 12			Diaghilev Production Staff
Box 12			Martha Graham Dance Company
Box 12			National Ballet of Canada
Box 12			New York City Ballet
Oversize 6			[Jerome] Robbins
Box 12			San Francisco Ballet
Box 12			Ted Shawn and His Men Dancers
Box 12			Various
				Ballets Espagnol, Ballet Imperial, Agnes de Mille Dance Theatre, Bettis[?], Ballet de Champs-Élysées, miscellaneous unidentified
		Dancers
Box 12			Baronova, Irina
Box 12			Bolm, Adolf
				See also Ballet companies : Adolf Bolm Ballet.
Oversize 6			Bolm, Adolf
Box 12			Danielian, Leon
Box 12			Danilova, Alexandra
Box 12			De Mille, Agnes George
Box 12			Dolin, Anton
				See also Printed material : Programs and souvenir booklets : Markova and Dolin, below.
Box 12			Duncan, Irma and child dancers
Box 12			Dunham, Katherine
Box 12			Essen, Viola
Box 12			Franklin, Frederic
Box 13			Karsavina, Tamara
Box 13			Kaye, Nora
Box 13			Kovach, Nora
Box 13			Krassovska, Nathalie
Box 13			Lichine, David
Box 13			Markova, Alicia
				See also Printed material : Programs and souvenir booklets : Markova and Dolin, below.
Box 13			Massine, Leonide
Box 13			Moncion, Francisco
Box 13			Moylan, Mary Ellen
Box 13			Nijinsky, Vaslav
Box 13			Pavlova, Anna
				See also Correspondence : Hudson, Rosario.
Box 13			Primus, Pearl
Box 13			Rabovsky, Istvan
Box 13			St. Denis, Ruth
				See also Photographs : Ballet companies : Denishawn Dancers.
			Shawn, Ted
				See Photographs : Ballet companies : Denishawn Dancers and Photographs : Ballet companies : Ted Shawn and his Men Dancers.
Box 13			Shearer, Moira
Box 13			Slavenska, Mia
Box 13			Tallchief, Maria
Box 13			Tallchief, Marjorie
Oversize 6			Tallchief, Marjorie
Box 13			Tcherina, Ludmilla
Box 13			Toumanova, Tamara
				See also Correspondence : Toumanova, Tamara.
Box 13			Young, Loretta
Box 13			Youskevitch, Igor
Box 13			Various (2 folders)
Oversize 6			Various - Anne Eglinsky, Rosella Hightower, Milad Miskovitch, Moscow Ballet School, Nina Novak, Roland Petit
Box 13			Various, autographed - some are inscribed to the Kamins, some to other people
Box 14			Unidentified
Oversize 6			Unidentified
		Dances
Box 14			Bach Cycle
Box 14			The Black Swan
Box 14			Bluebeard
Box 14			Camille
Box 14			Carmen
Oversize 6			Carmen - Roland Petit, Jean Marie
Oversize 6			Le Combat - Colette Marchand and Milorad Miskovitch
Box 14			Coq d'Or
Box 14			Don Quixote
Box 14			Giselle
Box 14			Henry VIII
Oversize 6			Kabuki, various
Oversize 6			La Malinche - Simon Hoving, Pauline Koner
Box 14			Nutcracker
Box 14			Pas de Quatre
Oversize 6			Pas de Quatre
Box 14			Pas de Trois
Box 14			Petrouchka
Oversize 6			Petrouchka
Box 14			Princess Aurora
Box 15			Le Rendezvous Manque
Box 15			Romantic Age
Box 15			Romeo and Juliet
Box 15			Scheherazade
Box 15			La Spectre de la Rose
Box 15			Swan Lake
Box 15			Les Sylphides
Box 15			Sylvia
Box 15			Various (2 folders)
Box 15			Unidentified
		General
Box 15			Conductors, choreographers, etc.
Box 15			Costume design
Box 16			Folk dances
Box 16			Folk dances, Spanish
Box 16			Kamin Dance Bookshop
				See also Printed material : Kamin Dance Bookshop and Subject files : Kamin Dance Bookshop.
Box 16			Movie stills
Box 16			Miscellaneous
Box 16			Negatives

	Printed material
Box 16		Concert programs
			See also Programs and souvenir booklets and Miscellaneous folders, below.
Map-Case 136		Concert programs
		Dance instruction
Box 16			Catalogs of films and music
Box 17			Dance descriptions (3 folders)
Box 17			Examinations
				British Ballet Organization, Federation of Russian Classical Ballet, Imperial Society of Teachers of Dancing Inc., International Dancing Masters Association (IDMA), National Dance Branch, Royal Academy of Dancing
Box 17			Folk dances (2 folders)
				"Jungle dances and their variations" published by the Boy Scouts Assocation; pamphlets in Hebrew and Japanese; "Game animal dances of the Rio Grande Pueblos"; and a set of cards entitled "Rhythmic Activities Series I" by Frances R. Stuart and John S. Ludlam, with English, Danish, American and other folk dances for children
Box 18			Folk dances (3 folders)
				Booklets and sets of activity cards in Russian, Hebrew and Hungarian, as well as booklets in English relating to English, Spanish, and Native American dances
Box 18			Schools
Box 18			Techniques (3 folders)
Box 19		Dance notation systems
Box 19		Kamin Dance Book Shop
			See also Photographs : General : Kamin Dance Bookshop and Subject files : Kamin Dance Bookshop.
		Librettos
			The collection originally contained a number of librettos in various languages. These have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to Libraries Search to locate these items.
Box 19		Magazine articles (3 folders)
		News clippings
Box 19			Lifar, Serge 1932-1938 - also includes silver publicity folder with printed photographs
Box 19			Shawn, Ted and Ruth St. Denis 1921, 1929, 1947
Box 19			Miscellaneous 1928, 1938, 1940, 1950, 1960 - in English, Russian, Spanish
		Pamphlets
Box 19			Miscellaneous (1)
				Topics include Slavic folklore, opera stars, synocopated therapy, the Nijinsky Foundation, Chinese theater, Indonesian dance, Yugoslavian folk dance and music, legal protection for choreography, the Kirby Malzeard Sword Dance, dance and aestheticians, ballet in New Zealand, the London Museum, and UK laws regarding handicapped pupils.
Box 20			Miscellaneous (2)
				Topics include Max Reinhardt, Les Archives Internationales de la danse, the Mexican Morisca, ballet in Russia (including "Inside Informations [sic] about Russian Ballet" by A. A. Ounanian-Ounanoff), and "Warne's Learn to Draw Folders #20: Ballet, Ballroom & Folk Dancing."
		Posters and broadsides
Map-Case 136			L'Union des Artistes Russes
				See also Programs and souvenir booklets : Miscellaneous : U.
Oversize 1			Miscellaneous - includes Ricardo Linter, Olympia Grand Ballet, Musée Grévin, Revue Chorégraphique de Paris, more
		Programs and souvenir booklets
Box 20			Adolf Bolm Ballet 1923, 1928, 1938
Box 20			Agnes de Mille Dance Theatre undated
			American National Ballet Theatre
				See Ballet Theatre.
Box 20			La Argentina 1932, undated
			Balieff's Chauve-Souris of Moscow
				See Theatre de la Chauve-Souris.
Box 20			Ballet Russe 1911-1912, 1916, 1919-1920, 1923, 1928-1930, 1933-1934 - under Sergei Diaghileff until 1929, then under Colonel Wassily de Basil (3 folders)
Box 21			Ballet Russe 1934-1938, 1954, undated - under Colonel Wassily de Basil (3 folders)
Oversize 2			Ballet Russe 1936 - under Colonel Wassily de Basil
Box 21			Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo 1929-1944, 1953-1960, undated (2 folders) (2 folders)
Box 21			Ballet Theatre (New York) 1940-1943, 1946, 1950, 1954-1955, 1960, undated (2 folders)
Box 22			Ballets de Paris 1948-1950, undated
Box 22			Bayanihan Philippine Dance Company undated
				See also Miscellaneous (2), below.
Box 22			Bolshoi Ballet 1956, 1958, undated (2 folders)
Box 22			Chicago Opera Ballet (Ruth Page) 1950, 1960, undated - includes performance in Paris
Box 22			Covent Garden 1938-1939, 1946-1954
Box 23			Covent Garden 1954-1958, undated
Box 23			Dancers of Bali 1957, undated
Box 23			Dunham, Katherine 1957, undated - also includes a few news clippings
Box 23			Escudero, Vincente 1932, 1949, undated
Box 23			Festivals 1914, 1927-1931, 1950, 1960, undated (2 folders)
Box 23			Fokine, Michael 1935, undated
Box 23			Folies Bergere 1913-1914, 1924-1925, 1928, 1932, 1937
Box 24			Grand Ballet de Monte Carlo; New Ballet Russe 1938-1939, undated
Box 24			Greco, Jose 1955, undated
Box 24			International Ballet 1947, 1951-1952, undated
Box 24			Jooss Ballet 1933, 1941-1942, 1945, undated
Box 24			Lan-Fang, Mei 1931, undated - includes program from first American tour, with extensive essays on Chinese theatre
Box 24			London's Festival Ballet 1950-1951, 1958-1959, 1961 undated - Anton Dolin, Alicia Markova
Box 24			Markova and Dolin 1936-1938, 1944-1950, undated
Box 25			Moiseyev Dance Company 1955, 1958, 1961, undated - Russian folk ballet
Box 25			Mordkin Ballet circa 1920, 1937-1939
Box 25			National Ballet of Canada 1951-1957
Box 25			New York City Ballet 1951-1957, undated
Oversize 2			New York City Ballet 1958-1959
Box 25			Opera Prive de Paris 1929
Box 25			Original Ballet Russe 1940-1941, 1946-1947, undated
Box 25			Pavlova, Anna 1911, 1916, 1921-1922[?], 1924-1927, 1930, undated
Box 26			Pavlova, Anna 1931-1937, 1956, undated
Box 26			Polish Ballet 1937, 1959
Box 26			Reinhardt, Max 1924, 1938
				See also Pamphlets : Miscellaneous (2), above.
Box 26			Royal Ballet (Great Britain) 1960-1961
Box 26			Royal Danish Ballet 1939, 1950[?], 1956-1957
Box 26			Rubenstein. Ida 1912, 1920, 1929 - includes a few newspaper clippings
Box 26			Sadler's Wells Ballet 1944-1956, undated (2 folders)
Box 27			Shankar, Uday 1932, 1937-1938, 1950
Box 27			Shawn, Ted and St. Denis, Ruth circa 1915, 1924, 1927, 1939, 1944, 1949, 1952-1956, undated - includes The Denishawn Dancers, Shawn and His Men Dancers, Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival
Box 27			Slavenska, Mia 1952-1954 - includes Slavenska Franklin Ballet, Ballet Variante, Slavenska Tihmar and Company
Box 27			Southern Ballet 1953-1959 - includes Southern Ballet of Atlanta
Box 27			Theatre de la Chauve-Souris 1921-1924 - includes Balieff's Chauve-Souris of Moscow
Box 27			Theatre des Champs-Elysees 1913, 1933, 1946, 1949-1951, 1958, undated - includes Saison Russe, Ballets Portugais, Ballets de Champs-Élysées, various ballet companies of the Marquis de Cuevas
Oversize 2			Theatre des Champs-Elysees 1946
Box 27			Theatre National de l'Opera (Paris) 1923, 1948, undated
Oversize 2			Theatre National de l'Opera (Paris) 1938
Box 27			Vashi, Nataraj 1947, undated
			Miscellaneous companies, venues and performers, A-Z
Box 28				A - Alexandra Theatre (Birmingham), Académie Nationale de Musique et de Danse, (Carmen) Amaya
Box 28				B - Bal de la Grand Ourse, (Alexandra) Balachova, Ballet for America, Ballet de l'Amérique Latine, Ballets Basques de Biarritz, Ballet Caravan, Ballet Carnival, Ballet Celeste, Ballet de la Ciudad de México, Ballet Indien, Ballet Mexicano, Ballet Rambert, Ballet Society, Le Ballet-Theatre Français, Ballets Espagnols, Ballets de l'Opera de Paris, Ballets Suédois, (Alfonso) Benavides, (Henry) Bernstein, Borovansky Ballet (3 folders)
Oversize 2				B, oversize - Ballet de Cuba, Belgium ( Les Fleurs and Les Mouchoirs)
Box 28				C - (Fernande) Cabanel, (Walter) Camryn, Casino de Paris, (Janine) Charrat, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, (Francisco) Clerico (very interesting item - program dating from 1821 Milan), (Jan) Cobel (Polish ballets), (Janet) Collins, Conferences Charles Cros, Connecticut Pops
Box 28				D, E, F, G - Dance Theater Berlin, (Lycette) Darsonval, De Quevao[?], (Isadora) Duncan, (Raymond) Duncan, Edinburgh International Festival of Music and Drama, Ensemble of the Red Army, (Vicente) Escudero, Foxhole Ballet, Georgian State Dance Company, (José) Greco, The Grand Concert (film version of Borodin's Prince Igor)
Oversize 2				G, oversize - (Martha) Graham
Box 28				J, K - June Taylor Dancers, Jushny's Theater, Kabuki dancers, Kanellos Greek Festival, (Thamar) Karsavina, (Leo) Kehl, Kirsova Australian Ballet (book of drawings and sketches), (Boris) Kniaseff, det Kongelige Teater
Box 29				L - Latin Quarter, Leningrad-Kirov Ballet, (Serge) Lifar (including an art catalog), (Lydia) Lopokova, Los Angeles Grand Opera, Los Angeles Music Guild
Oversize 2				L, oversize - London Philharmonic ( The Nutcracker)
Box 29				M - Manhattan Opera House, Mata and Hari and Company, Mayfair School of Dancing, Metropolitan Opera House (benefit for Widowed Mothers Fund Association), (Darius) Milhaud (premier of his David), Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra, Moliere ("Le Bourgeouis Gentilhomme"), (Mikhail) Mordkin, Moscow Art Theatre Musical Studio, Moscow State Symphony, Moulin Rouge, Music Hall
Box 29				N - Nashville Ballet Society, National Ballet of Lithuania, National Ballet Theatre of Finland, New Centyry Theatre, New York World's Fair 1940, (Doris) Niles et Serge Leslie, Nrityalayam, Offenbach ( Tales of Hoffman), Oklahoma!, L'Opera de Paris
Box 29				O - Palace aux Femmes, Palais du Chaillot, Paris Opera Ballet, Pasadena Regional Ballet, (Roland) Petit, Piccolo Teatro di Milano
Oversize 2				P, oversize - the Pratesi Sisters
Box 29				R - Radio City Music Hall, Ram Gopal, (Shanta) Rao and her Dancers of India, The Red Shoes, (Jerome) Robbins' Ballets: USA, (Billy) Rose's Show of Shows, Royal Academy of Dancing, Royal Winnipeg Ballet of Canada, Russian Festival
Oversize 2				R, oversize - (Jerome) Robbins; Royal Opera Covent Garden
Box 29				S - (Clotilde and Alexandre) Sakharoff, San Francisco Civic Ballet, San Francisco Russian Opera and Ballet Association, Santa Fe Opera, (Trudi) Schoop and her Comic Ballet, Shakespeare Memorial Theatre, Soviet Dancers in Britain, Soviet Opera Stars, Soviet Theatre, Stone-Camryn Ballet, (Steffy) Stahl
Oversize 2				S, oversize - Scheherezade (circa 1930, in French with very nice tipped-in color illustrations)
Box 30				T - Takarazuka Dance Theatre, Texas Christian University Fine Arts Ballet, Teatro Classico della Repubblica Popolare di Cina, Teatro Odeon, Teatro de la Opera, Theatre d'Art du Ballet, Theatre du Chatelet, Theatre Femina, Theatre de Monte Carlo, Theatre Royal
Oversize 2				T, oversize - Teatro Municipal
Oversize 2				U, oversize - L'Union des Artistes Russes (several items)
					See also Programs and broadsides : L'Union des Artistes Russes, above.
Box 30				V, Z - (Andre) Van Damme, Vecheslova and Chabukani, Vienna Ballet, Vic-Wells Ballet, Ziegfeld Follies
Box 30				Russian language, miscellaneous
		Scripts
Box 30			Miscellaneous - "Joint Owners in Spain" by Alice Brown (1913); "A Russian Honeymoon" by Mrs. Burton Harrison (1911)
Box 30		Miscellaneous (1) (2 folders)
			Items include programs, newsletters, photocopy of copyright agreement for Arbeau's Orchesography, numerous items relating to painter Eugene Berman, and large posters for a performance by De Ballet do Rio de Janeiro.
Box 31		Miscellaneous (2) (3 folders)
			Items include programs, exhibit announcements and invitations, calling cards, postcards, newsletters, a Stravinsky bibliography, a press folder for Bayanihan Philippine Dance Company, numerous items relating to Perry Rawson and roller skating, a calendar illustrated with dance-related photographs, line drawings and cartoons, 1951 Annual Guide to Music and Musicians in Los Angeles, membership directory for Chicago National Association of Dance Masters, and book jackets.
Oversize 2		Miscellaneous (3)
			Reproductions of pages in French with text and illustrations regarding a "Parodie de Giselle ou les Willis, ballet en deux actes"; "Grandmother's Minuet"; reproductions of paintings from Museum of Modern Art; advertising brochure for book on Canaletto
Map-Case 136		Miscellaneous (4)
			A copy of French newspaper La Soiree

	Sheet music
Oversize 7		La Tarentelle by Martin, Josephine with arrangement by Rossi
Oversize 7		Untitled by Shawn, Ted
Oversize 7		Various songs by Stone, Gregory
Oversize 7		Unknown
			There are two sets of sheet music, one used for the Pavel-Oukransky school and the other with German hand-written notes throughout.

	Subject files
Box 31		Bibliographies and lists - printed, handwritten, typescript in English, French and Russian; includes bibliographies, "want lists" for books, lists of dancers, etc. (2 folders)
		Kamin Dance Bookshop
			See also Photographs : General : Kamin Dance Bookshop and Printed material : Kamin Dance Bookshop.
Oversize 4			Promotional albums (2 volumes)
				Albums contain hundreds of press releases, mimeo notices, printed and engraved cards fro reading and discussions (1930-1940), as well as many small leaflets for books that were carried in the Kamin Dance Bookshop but not published by Kamin. There are also numerous mimeographed letters to librarians about books published and carried by the bookshop. Some pages have pencilled notes.
Box 31			Miscellaneous - printed material, photo of storefront, notebook, miscellany
		Kamin Publishers
Box 31			Forms and form letters - contracts, offer forms, boilerplate letters, etc.
Box 31			Scrapbook 1939-1955 - reviews, letters of appreciation, clippings, etc.
Box 31		Licht, Michel - notes, lists
Box 31		Middle East - notes, clippings, lists, printed material
Box 31		Military newspaper - correspondence about publication of weekly newspaper, mockup of layout

	Writings
		By Kamin
Box 32			Both Sides Sep 1936 - edited by Kamin
Box 32			Notebooks 1943-1945
Box 32			Notes, war years 1943-1945 - loose sheets, fragments, brief notes, etc., most undated but evidently from war years
Box 32			"Rascals" - handwritten notes for unidentified piece of writing
Box 32			St. Elmo by Augusta J. Evans - notes, possibly for essay or book review
Box 32			Miscellaneous - notes, handwritten fragments, scraps, unnumbered pages, etc. (2 folders)
		By Kamin, probably
Box 32			Dance - topics include "The library for the dancer"; a proposed table of contents for a book on dance; "A proposal for the establishment of a permanent dance theatre devoted to the development of American ballet"; reviews of several books by Tomaz Ribas
Box 32			Politics - topics include the arts in exile, U.S. attitude towards Soviet-influenced countries, Polish Jews, Morccan Jews, what American should know about North Africa, the Phalangist movement in France, the Nationalist movement in the Arab world, and assorted fragments
Box 32			World War II - topics include the black market, observations on London, Mussolini's Italy, public relations, concentration camps in North Africa, and how to get underground news into occupied countries
Box 32			Miscellaneous - notes and fragments on the publishing industry, integrated folk art, proposal for an international current events journal, Theodore Komisarjevsky, notes to printer regarding errata in unidentified book
		By Sally Katz Kamin
Box 32			D. H. Lawrence: An appreciation - handwritten manuscript
Box 32			Miscellaneous - notes, fragments, etc.
		By others
Box 32			—, Larry 1920-1921 - poems addressed to Sally Kamin; handwritten, some with accompanying notes
Box 32			Alanova, Kira, Arabesque, A Romance of the Ballet circa 1937 - summary of "novel to be published Spring, 1938"; typescript
Box 33			Armstrong, Ronald 1956-1958 - extensive correspondence; typescript of chapter on Sandoz from Armstrong's unpublished memoirs; photographs of Sandoz; typescript of preface to Sandoz' On the Pleasures of Mexico
Box 33			Belknap, Riginald R. (Rear Admiral), "Why wars come" 1956-1958 - essay; typescript
Box 33			Bolm, Adolf 1941, undated
				Six typescript items: (1) Interview of Isabel Morse Jones with Adolf Bolm; (2) Tribute to Anna Pavlova; (3) excerpt of play about Maria Taglioni, with accompanying rejection note from MGM Studios; (4) article about Bolm by Mark Turbyfill; (5) spoken prologue and summary for production of Prokofiev's Peter and the Wolf, with choreography by Bolm; (6) Transcript of interview of Bolm by Irving Deakin
Box 33			Chatterjee, Santosh, Bharata Nat am: the Dance of Gesture 1948 - outline for book; typescript with cover letter
Box 33			Cinquabre, Pierre, The dance among the African black race - preface to book, in English and French; typescript
Box 33			Cooke, Marjorie Benton, The Case of Sophronia - Scene I; typescript carbon
Box 33			Dekobra, Maurice, Uranium 235: A Ballet in Two Scenes 1945 - ballet scenario; typescript carbon
Box 33			Engel, Leonard, [untitled book on American politics] - book proposal, lists Theodore Thorner and Martin Kamin as co-authors
Box 33			Giaeosa, —, Sacred Ground - excerpt of play; typescript carbon
Box 33			Halter, Dolores, "Suggested plans for organization and administration of Akron Civic Ballet Company" - essay; typescript carbon
Box 33			Hanna, Robert, Dainishah - play; typescript
Box 33			Kay, Lisan, "Destiny and I meet Nimura" - biographical sketch of dancer, teacher, and choreographer Yeichi Nimura; typescript
Box 33			Kerr, Geoffrey, Mabel and Jane - episode 1, "The Tickets"
Box 33			Krasovskaja, V., "The decay of ballet in the West" 1950 - essay; typescript carbon with additional handwritten notes possible by Sally Kamin
Box 33			Massaguer, Conrado, The Life and Times of Massaguer - biographical introduction, scattered sections containing his views of various people such as Will Rogers and André Maurois; typescript carbon
Box 33			McPhee, Conn, The Ballinese Shadow Play - additions and changes to book, with accompanying cover letter to Kamin; typescript
Box 33			Morgan, Wehlen, "Dance, spinach, collards and mustard greens" - essay; typescript
Box 33			Moskowitz[?], Nicholas - poems, each one signed; typescript
Box 33			Nijinsky, Kira, [untitled on sound, color and movement, "keyrartnik"] - essay; typescript carbon with hand-colored illustrations
Box 33			Parker, Louise, A Minuet - partial script of play; typescript carbon and clipped printed pages
Box 33			Potapov, Vladimir, "The quality of Galina Ulanova's dancing" - essay; typescript
Box 33			Reyna, Fernando, Encyclopedie du Ballet - complete book, in French; typescript (2 folders)
Box 33			Rundy, W. H., Mareska: The Tsigane 1917 - composition book containing text of play; handwritten, green and red pencil
Box 33			Salazar, Adolfo, Concerning the Dance [ Sinfonia y ballet] - English translation, partial; typescript
			Sandoz, Maurice
				See also Writings by others : Armstrong, Ronald.
Box 34				Correspondence with 1954-1958 - letters to and from the Kamins regarding Sandoz' books
Box 34				Correspondence about 1955-1959 - various issues relating to illustration, printing and publication of several of Sandoz' books; includes John Lewinsky, Tillie Stiller, Evelyn Hofer (photographer), printers, binders, etc.
Box 34				Photographs of - portrait, two sheets of contact prints
					See also Writings by others : Armstrong, Ronald
Box 34				Diaghilev, Nijinsky, and Other Vignettes - commentary by Romola Nijinska (typescript), introduction by Walter Terry (typescript), photographs, publicity, reviews and responses from notable figures in the dance world, miscellaneous material related to production of book (5 folders)
Box 34				Pleasures of Mexico - pgotographs, publicity, original typescript in Spanish, miscellaneous material related to production of book (4 folders)
					See also Writings by others : Armstrong, Ronald; Armstrong wrote the preface for this book
Box 34			Schnitzler, Arthur, The Green Cockatoo - excerpt of play; typescript
Box 34			Schwezoff, Igor, "Thoughts on ballet" - essay; typescript
Box 34			Seldes, George, The Great Quotations - introduction and a few sections from book; typescript
Box 34			Stockbridge, Dorothy, Jezebel - excerpt of play; typescript
Box 34			Towne, Jackson Edmund, Princess Cholula - one-act play about the conquest of Mexico; typescript carbon
Box 34			Vermilye, Theodore, "Sanctity vs Communism" - essay; typescript
Box 34			de Warren, Robert and Jacqueline, "Balletphone" - proposal for course in ballet appreciation; typescript carbon
			Miscellaneous
Box 35				Articles, various authors (2 folders)
					Typescripts of thirty-two articles that appeared in the magazines Controversy and New Controversy. The first folder contains a complete list of titles and authors.
Box 35				Ballet scenarios, unidentified authors
					Typed summaries or scenarios for the following: The red mask; The birthday of the Infanta; The flower ballet; several adaptations of Hans Christian Anderson fairy tales; Christmas shop windows; The rivals; Mandragora; The tragedy of the cello; Perseus; Volma's memories (Памяи А. Р. Волъма, in Russian)
Box 35				Books, unidentified authors
					Chapter summary and notes for book on an invented language, "Rawson Universal"
Box 35				Essays, unidentified authors
					Typescripts of six essays: The ballet theatre in New York, 1940; Introduction to book on Haitian folklore and dance; Life in Chicago en famille (name at end is "Bobbie-Celeste"); Literature of the dance; The one two three of Harriet Schonberg (includes photograph); Prospectus for world news association; Theodore Komisarjevsky
Box 35				Scripts, unidentified authors
					Typed excerpts from The Acid Test, The Wife, and an unidentified play about Cleopatra.
Box 35				Notes and fragments
					Notes on various topics, in several differents hands, in English, French and other languages

Return to top