Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Langner, William R.
Title:	William Langner Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1935-1996
Quantity:	94 linear ft.
Abstract:	William Langner worked for the Department of Education's Division of Adult Education and Literacy for many years. He was active in raising awareness of education for the disabled (Langner himself was a paraplegic from the age of 18 due to a car accident). Collection includes correspondence (both personal and professional), writings, memorabilia, and large amounts of printed material (papers, reports, handbooks, manuals, etc).concerning adult education.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

William Langner (1932-1998) was born in Morrisville, New York. He attended Morrisville-Eaton Central Schools and, after a family move, graduated from Henry Clay High School in Ashland, Virginia. During his freshman year at the College of William and Mary, while hitchhiking south to Florida for spring break, he was involved in a car accident which left him paralyzed from the waist down. He spent nearly two years in the hospital after which, undaunted, he enrolled at the University of Virginia where he earned a bachelor's degree in economics in 1957.

Despite his qualifications, Langner struggled for several years to support himself with a series of jobs including advance sales for circuses, advertising sales, owner/operator of an import/export business (Langner and Company), and teacher at the Blue Ridge School in St. George, Virginia. In the early 1960s he served on the Board of Directors of Cordet Foundation, a Richmond, Virginia job training program that specialized in finding employment for the disabled, and in 1964 he opened Commonwealth Tutoring Center in Richmond. Over the next decade Commonwealth Tutoring and its successor organizations -- Educational Development Center (1966?-1970) and Langner Learning Center (1970-1978) -- served hundreds of students from the local school districts as well as offering foreign languages and other training to local executives.

In addition to operating his tutoring schools, Langner served on the Virginia Board of Vocational Rehabilitation, the Governor's Commission on Employment of the Handicapped, the Mayor's Committee on the Handicapped, and the board of directors of numerous social and civic organizations including the local branches of Easter Seals and Goodwill. In 1973, President Nixon appointed him to the National Advisory Council on Adult Education (NACAE) where he served for three years. He received an M.Ed. from Virginia Commonwealth University in 1977 and was an adjunct faculty member there for two years (1977-1979). He also worked as an educational consultant to various business, governmental, and educational institutions. Langner also traveled several times to Central and South America which stimulated a lifelong interest in the region.

Persistent cash flow problems due to old and new medical expenses and intermittent hospitalizations had for years prevented Langner from achieving any kind of financial security, but that came at last in 1980 with an offer of a position with the Department of Health, Education and Welfare (HEW). When the Department of Education was split off from HEW, Langner took a position with new department's Division of Adult Education and Literacy (DAEL). While with the Department of Education, he implemented the National Adult Literacy and Learning Disability Center (NALLDC) and was instrumental in organizing the Clearing House on Adult Education and Literacy, which compiled, wrote, and published fact sheets, pamplets, guides, directories, bibliographies, newsletters and other resource material.

Langner was a member of the National GED Advisory Committee from 1981 to 1987 and worked with the GED Testing Service to train test administrators. He participated in the White House Adult Literacy Initiative (1983) and was on the advisory committee for the International Center for the Disabled's "Survey III," and served as advisory board member for the University of the District of Columbia Department of Adult Education. With Boris Bogatz of Gallaudet College, he organized a National Congress for Adults with Special Learning Needs in 1987, which resulted in several annual conferences and grew into the National Association for Adults with Special Learning Needs (NAASLN), and he coordinated the first World Congress for Adult Learners with Disabilities in 1995.

Langner was a founding member of the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) and chair of its Adult Learners with Disabilities Unit. He was a member of the International Council for Adult Education (ICAE) and served on the executive committee of its International Associates, and under its sponsorship coordinated the International Network for Adult Learners with Disabilities. He was a delegate to the World Assembly of Adult Education three times and during his career received nearly a dozen awards for his work in education of the disabled. In addition to his professional activities, he was a Freemason, a Rotarian, a member of the education honor society Kappa Delta Psi, traveled extensively, and opened his home to eleven foster sons over the years.

Langner retired from the Department of Education in 1995, intending to purchase a small farm in Florida or Belize. He died in 1998.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Langner Papers spans nearly sixty years and includes correspondence (both personal and professional), writings, memorabilia, and large amounts of printed material (papers, reports, handbooks, manuals, etc) relating to adult education. The collection illuminates the growth of interest in adult education of the disabled both at the federal level and at the state and local level. In addition, the large and comprehensive quantity of personal material, spanning Langner's entire life, highlights Langner's refusal to be discouraged or hindered by his disability and illuminates the challenges faced by the disabled during this period. Throughout his life, as the collection amply demonstrates, Langner exhibited impressive perseverance, drive, and integrity; despite recurrent illnesses due in large part to his paraplegia, he not only worked full-time but raised eleven foster sons over the years and traveled to more than thirty foreign countries -- including a trip to the Amazon which required his wheelchair be lashed to poles and carried through the jungle on the shoulders of native guides.

Biographical and personal material contains material relating to Langner's personal life, including correspondence with family and friends; correspondence with and records relating to several of Langner's foster sons; bills and other material from Langner's creditors over the years; various potential business ventures; medical records; resumes and biographical sketches along with genealogical material on the Langner and Rankin families; membership information for clubs to which Langner belonged; and books, brochures, clippings, maps, newsletters and reference material on Langner's two main avocations: tropical agriculture and travel. Included here is a letter Langner received from "The Seven Society," the most secretive of the University of Virginia's secret societies and known for its generosity. The letter was accompanied by a gift of money to help defray Langner's expenses while attending the University.

Correspondence-subject files comprise the bulk of the collection, and the largest subset of this material (27 boxes) is that from Langner's years at the the Department of Education. This includes vast amounts of internal correspondence as well as weekly work reports, site visit reports, Langner's job performance evaluations, and Sections 310 and 353 grant applications and projects. (See Printed material below for additional Department of Education material.) Other topics or organizations with a significant amount of material include the American Association of Adult and Continuing Education (6 boxes), the GED Advisory Committee (4 boxes), the International Council for Adult Education (ICAE) (5 boxes), Langner Learning Center (8 boxes), National Advisory Council on Adult Education (6 boxes), and the National Association for Adults with Special Learning Needs (NAASLN) (6 boxes).

Memorabilia contains certificates, clippings, letters of appreciation and thanks, Langner's passports, photographs (of Langner and of others), a collection of postcards, and miscellaneous souvenirs.

Multimedia consists of three multimedia programs (videotape with accompanying literature), several floppy disks (some commercial and some Langner's), and two audiocassettes.

Printed material consists of reports, papers, summaries, conference proceedings, newsletters, books, brochures, journals and other material on various topics relating to adult education. Topics include adult basic education, the Adult Education Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, competency-based adult education, correctional education, the GED, international education, education of the learning disabled, literacy, and miscellaneous books, journals and newsletters. Also included here are four boxes of reports, papers, and other printed material from the Department of Education.

The last series, Writings, contains Langner's own writings and spans much of his career. Included here are numerous issues of two newsletters written and edited by Langner while at the Department of Education ("Adult learning activities" and "Adult learning seminars"), drafts and outlines for Langner's work on two books for Cowles Book Company's GED preparatory series, and typescripts of articles, papers, speeches, and presentations, including a few that offer personal reflections on his disability. Also included here are several notebooks, many outlines and fragments of pieces, and an assortment of miscellany (to do lists, notes, reminders, and other scraps).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material in all series are arranged alphabetically. For material that required subdivision, most are alphabetical but some (e.g. Langner Learning Center, Department of Education) are arranged chronologically to provide a more narrative structure.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The collection originally included a considerable number of books and journals. Books that were duplicates of items already held by Special Collections Research Center or in the circulating collection of the library were discarded. For journals which were already held by the library, duplicate issues were discarded; issues the library did not have were sent to Periodicals for cataloging (these are annotated in the catalog as "Gift of William Langner"). Journals which were not held by the library remained with the collection and may be found in Printed material: Misc journals (Box 146).

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of all adult education collections.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Langner Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William R. Langner.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 23 January 2008
Revision history: 19 Jun 2013 - multimedia box 162 inventoried (MRC); 11 Jul 2019 - style/formatting updates (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical and personal material
Box 1		—, Han
Box 1		—, Kecha
Box 1		—, Peggy
Box 1		2709 Chamberlayne Avenue - house in Richmond
		Agriculture
Box 1			Florida
Box 1			Tropical
Box 1			Miscellaneous
Box 2		Amway
Box 2		Arizona State University
Box 2		Belize (2 folders)
Box 2		Berthelette, Mike (foster son) (2 folders)
Box 2		"Bill Page Honda"
Box 2		Birds and birdwatching
Box 2		Board, Sally Ann
Box 3		"Books to order"
Box 3		Bookstore - info on starting a bookstore
Box 3		Boomerangs
Box 3		Business opportunities - specialty foods, franchises, etc
Box 3, 4		Cards - greeting, Christmas, birthday, get-well (5 folders)
Box 4		Chork, Hong (foster son)
Box 4		Colgate University
Box 4		College of William and Mary
Box 4, 5, 6		Creditors, miscellaneous (8 folders)
Box 6		Deal, Willis R.
Box 6		Dictionary of International Biography
Box 6		Emory, Lloyd (foster son)
Box 6		Explorers Club
		Family
Box 6			—, Abbie (aunt?)
Box 6			—, Hertha (aunt)
Box 6			Bowman family - Carol (sister) and Graham; Paige and Courtney
Box 7			Francisco family - Donna (sister) and Waddy; Bonnie, Donna Brooke, Jeff, Michael, Peter
Box 7			Langner, — (grandfather)
Box 7			Langner, Helen and Herbert (parents)
Box 7			Rankin, Effie (grandmother)
Box 7			Miscellaneous
Box 7, 8, 9		Financial and legal papers - bank statements, loans, wills, insurance, etc. (7 folders)
Box 9		Florida
Box 9		Foster parenting - miscellaneous
Box 9		Globe Trotters Club
Box 9		Grammer, Ron (foster son)
Box 9		Great Expeditions
Box 9		Greenlaw, Bill
Box 9		Henry (dog) - includes letters to/from First Dog C.Fred (Bush)
Box 9		Henry Clay High School
Box 9		Horowitz, Inge and Harold
Box 10		Import/export business (2 folders)
Box 10		Investments
Box 10		José (bird)
Box 10		Keiningham, Jean and Tom - also includes material from their son Tom, who was one of Langner's foster sons
Box 10		Lipscomb, Francis ("Buddy) (foster son)
Box 10		"Mail order"
Box 10		Masons (Freemasons) - includes issues of Scottish Rite journal (2 folders)
Box 10		Mayer, Thomasia D.
Box 11, 12		Medical papers - bills, prescriptions, diagnoses, reports, correspondence, health insurance, etc (8 folders)
Box 13		Moore, Tommy (foster son)
Box 13		Morrisville-Eaton Central Schools 1939-1946
Box 13		Munro, Connie
Box 13		National Enquirer - clipping, correspondence regarding Langner's Amazon trip
Box 13		Nixon's speech in Los Angeles 1955
Box 13		Ouk, Mon (foster son)
Box 13		Owen, Ed
Box 13		Phan Sam (adopted son) (4 folders)
Box 14		Pok Dul (foster son)
Box 14		"Real Estate"
Box 14		"Regan Inaugration"
Box 14		Resumes and biographical sketches
Box 14		"Retirement"
Box 14		Rotary Club - includes "Tabasco" and "Progress" newsletters (3 folders)
Box 15		Scott, S. Buford
Box 15		The Seven Society
Box 15		Social Security
Box 15		Sothy, Phurkimony ("Sam") (foster son)
Box 15		South American Explorers Club
Box 15		St. John's Church
Box 15		St. Paul's Church
Box 15		Teacher's College, Columbia University
Box 15		"To Do - 1992"
		Travel
Box 15			Africa
Box 162			Africa, oversize
Box 15			Asia
Box 16			Europe
Box 16			North America
Box 16			Oceania
Box 16			South America
Box 17			Miscellaneous - newsletters, brochures, catalogs, eco-tourism, etc (2 folders)
Box 17		Trimmer, Edward ("Country") (foster son)
Box 17		University of Illinois
Box 17		University of Toronto
Box 17		University of Virginia
Box 18		Washington Symphony Orchestra
Box 18, 19		Miscellaneous (7 folders)

	Correspondence-subject files
Box 20		ABE Institute 1994
Box 20		Academic Therapy Publications
Box 20		Adkins Life Skills Program
Box 20		Adult Basic and Literacy Education, Pennsylvania (ABLE) - includes "Focus on…" newsletters (2 folders)
Box 20		Adult Education Association of Virginia
Box 20		Adult Education Research Conference
		Africa Study Tour
			See Ontario Institute of for Studies in Education (OISE).
Box 20		African Development Foundation
Box 20		Agency for International Development
Box 20		Ali, Patricia
Box 20		Alpha Kappa Psi
		American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE)
Box 20			Correspondence 1969-1981 (3 folders)
Box 21			Correspondence 1982-1985 (5 folders)
Box 22			Correspondence 1986-1994, 1998, undated (7 folders)
Box 23			Adult Learners With Disabilities Unit
Box 23			Board meetings 1984, 1985, 1990 (3 folders)
Box 24			Conferences 1972-1977, 1979, 1980-1984 (5 folders)
Box 24			Conferences 1985-1992, 1994 (3 folders)
Box 24			Constitution and bylaws
Box 24			Directories and rosters (2 folders)
Box 24			Newsletters 1974-1976, 1983-1987 (2 folders)
Box 25			Newsletters 1987-1997 (3 folders)
Box 25			Policies and procedures
Box 25			Reports and papers (2 folders)
Box 25			Miscellaneous
Box 26		American Association for Higher Education (AAHE)
			See also Heath Resource Center.
Box 26		American Council on Education - includes "Higher Education and National Affairs" newsletter
			See also GED Advisory Committee and Printed material: Newsletters: G (GED Items, GED Profiles, GED Research Briefs).
Box 26		American Council on Rural Special Education (ACRES)
Box 26		American Foundation for the Blind
Box 26		American Jail Association
Box 26		American Library Association
Box 26		American Optometric Association
Box 26		American Society of Association Executives (ASAE) (2 folders)
Box 26		American Society for Training and Development (ASTD)
Box 26		American Vocational Association
Box 26		Assault on Illiteracy Program (AOIP)
Box 27		Association for Children with Learning Disabilities (ACLD) - include "ACLD Newsbriefs" newsletter (2 folders)
Box 27		Association for Community-Based Education (ACBE)
Box 27		Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE) - includes "Five Minutes with ACHE" newsletter (2 folders)
Box 27		Axford, Roger
Box 27		Barrow, Nita (Dame)
Box 27		Baughman, Fred A.
Box 27		Baum, Charlene
Box 27		Beacon College
Box 27		Berk, Neal (circus promoter)
Box 27		Berlitz School of Languages
		Blaise, Charles
			See Optometric Extension Program.
Box 27		Blue Ridge School
Box 27		Brightman, Sam
Box 28		Buscaglia, Leo - photocopy of letter
Box 28		Bush, George and Barbara
			See also Biographical and personal material: Henry (dog)
Box 28		Business Council for Effective Literacy - includes 2 folders of "Adult literacy: Programs, planning, issues" newsletter (3 folders)
Box 28		California Adult Student Assessment System (CASAS)
Box 28		Cambodia and Cambodian refugees (3 folders)
Box 28		Canadian Association for Adult Education
Box 28		Carter, Jimmy
Box 28		Cash, Johnny
Box 28		Cassara, Beverly
Box 28		Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) - includes "Continuing Education for Adults" newsletter (2 folders)
Box 29		Central Virginia Society for Children with Specific Learning Disabilities
Box 29		Charters, Alexander N.
		Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA)
			See Syracuse University.
Box 29		Cleveland Clinic
Box 29		Clyde Beatty-Cole Bros. Circus
Box 29		Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) (3 folders)
Box 29		Coalition of Lifelong Learning Organizations (COLLO)
Box 29		J.F. Coates (publisher)
Box 30		Commission on Adult Basic Education (COABE) (4 folders)
Box 30		Commission on Educational Credit and Credentials 1983, 1990 (3 folders)
Box 31		Commission on Educational Credit and Credentials 1991, 1993 (4 folders)
Box 31		Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE)
		Commonwealth Tutoring
			See Langner Learning Center.
Box 31		Comprehensive Adult Student Assessment System (CASAS)
Box 31		CONFINTEA III (Tokyo) 1972
Box 31		CONFINTEA V (Hamburg) 1997
Box 32		Continuing Education Council (CEC)
Box 32		Continuing Education Institute (CEI) (2 folders)
Box 32		Continuing education unit
Box 32		Corcoran, John
Box 32, 33		Cordet Foundation (9 folders)
Box 33, 34		Corporation for Public Broadcasting (2 folders)
Box 34		Correctional Education Association (CEA)
Box 34		Council of Chief State School Officers
Box 34		Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)
Box 34		Council for Non-Collegiate Continuing Education - includes "Growing Edge" newsletter
			See also Continuing Education Council.
Box 34		Cowles Book Company
		Cretella, Jay
			See National Association for Adults with Special Learning Needs (NAASLN) and Wallingford Adult Education.
Box 34		Cristiani-Wallace Bros. Circus
Box 34		Cumberland Hardwoods - includes "Cumberland Tree-bune" newsletter
Box 34		Dalton, John W. (governor of Virginia)
Box 34, 35		Database searches and bibliographies (6 folders)
Box 35		DeMent, Gloria and Stoney
		Department of Education
Box 35			1967-1968 [General]
Box 35			1970-1977 [General] (3 folders)
Box 36			1978-1981 [General] (7 folders)
Box 37			1982-1983 [General] (6 folders)
Box 38			1983 [General] - includes National Employ the Handicapped Week planning committee (2 folders)
Box 38, 39			1984 [General] (7 folders)
Box 39, 40			1985 [General] (5 folders)
Box 40, 41			1986 [General] (4 folders)
Box 41, 42			1987 [General] (5 folders)
Box 42			1987 (Feb) Area IV Workshop
Box 42			1987 (Apr) D.C. Monitoring visit
Box 42			1987 Weekly work reports
Box 42, 43			1988 [General] (4 folders)
Box 43			1988 (May) Illinois site visit
Box 43			1988 (Apr) Missouri monitoring visit
Box 43			1988 "National task force focusing on adult learners / older Americans"
Box 43			1988 Weekly work reports
Box 43, 44			1989 [General] (5 folders)
Box 44			1989 Weekly work reports
Box 44			1989-1990 "Technical assistance logs"
Box 45, 46			1990 [General] (9 folders)
Box 47			1990 Compliance review reports
Box 47			1990 Weekly work reports
Box 47, 48, 49			1991 [General] (9 folders)
Box 49			1991 Compliance review reports
Box 49			1991 Weekly work reports
Box 49, 50			1992 [General] (6 folders)
Box 50			1992 Adults with disabilities session
Box 50			1992 NY/New England symposium
Box 50			1992 State directors conference
Box 50			1992 Weekly work reports
Box 50			1992 Wyoming site visit
Box 51, 52			1993 [General] (6 folders)
Box 52			1993 DAEL priorities
Box 52			1993 Weekly work reports
Box 52			1993 Welfare reform task force
Box 52, 53			1994 [General] (5 folders)
Box 53			1994 Weekly work reports
Box 53			1994 "WV corr."
Box 54			1994 "Work group on the recruitment, advancement, and access for people with disabilities"
Box 54			1995 [General]
Box 54			1995 ETS meeting
Box 54			1996 [General]
Box 54			1997 [General]
Box 54			1998 [General]
Box 54			"Abstracts / annotated Bib / corr. Adult literacy"
Box 54			Accessible Computer Technology (ACT) VI conference
Box 55, 56			310 and 353 projects (12 folders)
Box 57			Adult secondary education
Box 57			America 2000 (2 folders)
Box 57			Briefs
Box 57, 58, 59			"Building effective program linkages" conference 1990-1992 (7 folders)
Box 59			Goals 2000
Box 59			Goals and objectives (for others)
Box 59			Help requests
Box 59			Help requests - replies
Box 59			Job descriptions and evaluations 1980-1981
Box 60			Job descriptions and evaluations 1982-1994, undated (4 folders)
Box 60			"LD newsletter"
Box 60			National Symposium on Adult Secondary Education 1984-1989
			OVAE/OSERS joint conference
				See "Building effective program linkages" conference.
			Printed material
				See Printed material : Department of Education.
Box 61			"Travel folder" 1981-1983
Box 61			"Univ. & colleges"
Box 61			"Workplace / family literacy programs -- Midwest"
Box 61			Workshop evaluations
Box 61			Miscellaneous undated (2 folders)
Box 62			Miscellaneous undated (3 folders)
Box 62		Department of Justice
		Distance Education Training Council (DETC)
			See National Home Study Council (NHSC).
Box 63		Dolff, Helmuth
Box 63		Dore, Daniel
		Dyslexia Research Institute
			See Hardman, Patricia K. .
Box 63		Easter Seal Society - includes National and Virginia branches
		Educational Development Center
			See Langner Learning Center.
Box 63		Engleman, Vance
Box 63		External Diploma Program (3 folders)
Box 64		Federal Task Force on Disabled Persons (FTFDP)
Box 64		Feldman, Marvin (president of Fashion Institute of Technology)
		First National Conference for Adults with Special Learning Needs
			See National Association for Adults with Special Learning Needs (NAASLN).
		First National Congress for Adult Learners with Disabilities
			See National Association for Adults with Special Learning Needs (NAASLN).
Box 64		Florida Department of Education
Box 64		Foster, Barbara
Box 64		Fountain Square Publishing
Box 64		Futurism / Futurists
Box 64		Galaxy II Conference
Box 64		Gallaudet University (2 folders)
		GED Advisory Committee
Box 64			Meeting minutes 1976-1979
Box 64			Meeting minutes 1981-1982 (3 folders)
Box 65			Meeting minutes 1983-1987 (7 folders)
Box 66			Meeting minutes 1988-1990 (7 folders)
Box 67			Meeting minutes 1990-1992 (7 folders)
Box 68			Meeting minutes 1992-1995, undated (7 folders)
Box 68		Geisel, Ritchie (president of Recording for the Blind)
Box 68		Genocide
Box 68		George Washington University
Box 68		Georgia Association for Children with Learning Disabilities (GACLD)
Box 68, 69		Goodwill Industries of America (3 folders)
Box 69		Gorman, Thomas
Box 69		Greensboro Massacre
Box 69		Grefe, Mary
Box 69		Gross, Marsha
Box 69		Gross, Ron
			See also Learning Resources Network (LERN) (Gross was editor of LERN's newsletters).
Box 69		Hadley School for the Blind
Box 69		Hardman, Patricia K.
Box 69		Hartley, Robert - Manuscript for book, With Wings as Eagles (2 folders)
Box 69		Hawking, James
Box 70		Heath Resource Center - project of the American Association of Higher Education (5 folders)
Box 70		Hunsaker, Herbert - flier for "Dr. Hunsaker's Oriental Adventures" tour
Box 70		IBM
Box 71		IBM - material from their National Support Center for Persons with Disabilities
Box 71		Information Services Inc.
Box 71		Institute for the Management of Lifelong Education (IMLE)
Box 72		Institute for the Study of Adult Literacy - includes 1 folder of "Mosaic" newsletter (3 folders)
Box 72		International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET)
Box 72		International Center for the Disabled 1996
Box 72		International Conference on Adults with Disabilities, 1st - planning materials for
Box 73		International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE)
		International Council for Adult Education (ICAE)
			Annual meetings
Box 73				Annual meetings 1975, 1976 (2 folders)
Box 74				Annual meetings 1981-1982, 1984-1986, 1988, 1990 (8 folders)
Box 75				Annual meetings 1994 (2 folders)
Box 76			Correspondence 1975-1998, undated (4 folders)
Box 76, 77			Directories (2 folders)
Box 77			International Network for Adult Learners with Disabilities
Box 77			Langner's notes
Box 77			Meeting minutes
			Newsletters
Box 77				A-Z by title - includes "ICAE News," "International Associates Newsletter," "News from the Secretariat," "Pachamama," and "Panorama" (5 folders)
Box 78				Miscellaneous
Box 78			Publication lists and bibliographies
Box 78			Published material (2 folders)
Box 78			Women's programme
Box 78			Miscellaneous
Box 78		International Development Conference
Box 78		International Platform Association
Box 79		International Reading Association (IRA)
Box 79		International Year of Disabled Persons (IYDP) 1981 (4 folders)
Box 79		Irlen Clinic
Box 80		Jacques, Joseph
Box 80		Ji Woong Cheong
Box 80		Jordan, Dale
			See also LEAD 2000.
Box 80		Joseph P. Kennedy Foundation
Box 80		Jossey-Bass
Box 80		Jurmo, Paul
Box 80		Kansas State University
Box 80		Keller, Helen
Box 80		Kempfer, Homer
			See also Continuing Education Council (CEC).
Box 80		Kidder, Carolyn Buell
Box 80		Kirschner Associates
Box 80		Knowles, Malcolm
Box 80		Koloski, Judy
			See also National Adult Education Professional Development Consortium (NAEPDC).
Box 80		Kulich, Jindra
Box 80		Kurland, Norman
			See also Study Circles Consortium.
Box 80		Lab School of Washington
			See also Multimedia : Falling Through the Cracks: Learning Disabled Adults Speak Out (Box 162).
Box 80		Landmark College
Box 80		Landmark School ca. 1977-1981
Box 81		Langner and Associates circa 1951-1963, 1974-1976? - Langner's educational consulting service (6 folders)
Box 81, 82		Langner and Company - Langner's import/export business (5 folders)
Box 82		Langner Foundation - Langner's non-profit, provided scholarships to Langner Learning Center
		Langner Learning Center
			Langner Learning Center (LLC) was the last of a series of educational institutions owned and operated by William Langner. The first, Commonwealth Tutoring, was formed in 1964. This evolved into the Educational Development Center (EDC) sometime around 1966, which in turn became Langner Learning Center in 1970. At various times, these organizations also comprised the Academic Bookstore, the Handy Craft Shop, and translation services. Since the organizations overlapped both chronologically and financially, material from all of these ventures is contained in this series.
			Correspondence
Box 82				[General] 1965-1966 (3 folders)
Box 83				[General] 1966-1970 (7 folders)
Box 84				[General] 1970-1971 (6 folders)
Box 85				[General] 1971-1972 (5 folders)
Box 86				[General] 1972-1973 (5 folders)
Box 87				[General] 1973-1978 (8 folders)
Box 88				[General] 1979-1987 (4 folders)
Box 88, 89				[General] undated (6 folders)
Box 89			Clippings, press releases
Box 89			Forms
Box 89			Ryan, Mary Ann - research paper on LLC
Box 89			Student folder (sample)
Box 162			Tax exemption application 1962
Box 90			Transcripts of meetings and conferences
Box 90		Langner Learning Systems
Box 90		Laubach Literacy - includes "Literacy Advance" and other newsletters
Box 90		LEAD 2000
Box 90		Learning Disabilities Association (LDA) - includes 1 folder of "LDA Newsbriefs" newsletters (2 folders)
Box 90		Learning Disabilities Council
Box 90		Learning Press International
Box 90, 91		Learning Resources Network (LERN) - includes many issues of "Adult and Continuing Education Today," "Learning Connection," "Adult Learning Review," "Course Trends in Adult Learning," "Marketing Adult Education" and other newsletters (6 folders)
Box 91		Learning Styles Network
Box 91		Lek, Sambonn
Box 91		Lindamood-Bell Learning Process
			See also Multimedia : Lindamood-Bell Learning Processes / Learning Disabilities Association Conference / by Nanci Bell (Box 162).
Box 91		Literacy Volunteers of America (LVA) - includes 1 folder of newsletters ("The Reader," "Literacy Practitioner") (2 folders)
Box 92		Liveright, Alexander
Box 92		Macomber, Janet
Box 92		Margaret Sanger Center
Box 92		Maryland Association for Adult Community Continuing Education (MAACCE)
Box 92		McGraw, Harold W.
Box 92		Metropolitan Washington Association for Adult and Continuing Education (MWAACE) (2 folders)
Box 92		Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Box 92		Miami Project to Cure Paralysis
Box 92		Michaux, Louis
Box 92		Michigan Association for Adult and Continuing Education
Box 92, 93		Mid-Atlantic Center for Community Education (MACCE) (2 folders)
Box 93		Missouri Valley Adult Education Association
Box 93		Montclair State College - includes "Adult Education Clearinghouse Newsletter" (2 folders)
Box 93		Mulcrone, Patricia - includes "Model for Workplace Literacy" from her dissertation
Box 93		Nardini, Joe
Box 93		National Adult Education Professional Development Clearinghouse (NAEPDC) - includes "StateLine" newsletter (2 folders)
Box 93, 94		National Adult Literacy and Learning Disability Center (NALLDC) - includes draft of NALLDC Toolkit, "Linkages" newsletter, other publications (4 folders)
		National Advisory Council on Adult Education (NACAE)
			Correspondence
Box 94				[General] 1969, 1971 (4 folders)
Box 94				[General] 1973-1975
Box 95				[General] 1975-1976 (5 folders)
Box 96				[General] 1977-1980
Box 96				[General] 1982-1985, 1987
Box 96				[General] undated
Box 96			Activity and information reports 1973-1976
Box 96			Annual reports 1968, 1972-1974, 1976-1977, 1978-1983, 1985 (4 folders)
Box 97			Council handbook
Box 97			Minutes 1973-1975 (4 folders)
Box 98			Minutes 1975-1976 (4 folders)
Box 98			Printed material (2 folders)
Box 98			Program visitation reports
Box 98, 99, 100			Reports, papers, other writings (6 folders)
Box 100			Miscellaneous
Box 100		National Advisory Council on Indian Education - includes 15th (1988) and 16th (1989) reports to Congress (2 folders)
Box 100		National Advisory Council on Vocational Education
		National Association for Adults with Special Learning Needs (NAASLN)
			Correspondence
Box 100				[General] 1987
Box 101				[General] 1987-1990 (6 folders)
Box 102				[General] 1990-1992 (6 folders)
Box 103				[General] 1993-1998 (7 folders)
Box 103, 104				[General] undated (3 folders)
Box 104			Bylaws, articles of incorporation, constitution
Box 104			Clippings about
			Conferences
Box 104				Conferences 1988-1991 (4 folders)
Box 105				Conferences 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997 (4 folders)
			Printed material
Box 106				Journal of NAASLN 1991-1994 (4 issues)
Box 106				Newsletter
Box 106				Miscellaneous
Box 106			Miscellaneous
Box 106		National Association for Public and Continuing Education (NAPCAE) - includes almanacs and "Pulse of public continuing and adult education" newsletters (5 folders)
Box 107		National Association for Public and Continuing Education (NAPCAE) - includes "Techniques for teachers of adults" newsletters
Box 107		National Association of Rehabilitation Facilities (NARF)
Box 107		National Center on Adult Literacy (NCAL) - includes "NCAL Connections" newsletters (3 folders)
Box 107		National Center for Community Education
Box 107		National Center for Disability Services
Box 107		National Center for Family Literacy - includes "National Center for Family Literacy" newsletter (2 folders)
Box 107		National Center for Learning Disabilities
Box 108		National Center for Research in Vocational Education (NCRVE) - includes "CenterGram," "Change Agent," "InterChange," "TASPP Bulletin" and other newsletters (4 folders)
Box 108		National Coalition for Literacy
Box 108		National Community Education Association (NCEA)
Box 108		National Council on Disability
		National Council on the Handicapped
			See National Council on Disability.
Box 109		National Council of La Raza
Box 109		National Endowment for the Arts
Box 109		National Home Study Council (NHSC) - includes "NHSC News," "Bulletin," and "NHSC Report" newsletters, and two reports: "Predicting Distance Education in the Year 2001 Final Report" (1982) and "New Course Planning" (1989) (3 folders)
Box 109		National Indian Adult Education Association
Box 109		National Information Center for Handicapped Children and Youth (NICHCY)
		National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR)
Box 109			Correspondence
Box 109			Newsletters - includes "Disability Abstracts" and "Rehab Brief" newsletters
Box 110			Program directories (2 folders)
Box 110			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 111		National Institute for Literacy - includes "Literacy News" and "Policy Update" newsletters (2 folders)
Box 111		National Learning Laboratory
Box 111		National Network of Learning Disabled Adults
Box 111		National Organization on Disability (NOD) - includes "NOD Report" and "NOD Update" newsletters (2 folders)
Box 111		National Public Radio (NPR)
Box 111		National Rehabilitation Association
Box 111		National Rehabilitation Facilities Coalition (NRFC)
Box 111, 112		National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) - includes "NARIC Quarterly" newsletter (3 folders)
Box 112		National Rural Development Institute
Box 112		National Rural and Small Schools Consortium
Box 112		National Spinal Cord Injury Hotline
Box 112		National Task Force on Disability (NTFD)
Box 112		National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA)
Box 112		National Workplace Literacy Project
Box 112		Native Americans (2 folders)
			See also National Advisory Council on Indian Education.
Box 112		New Jersey Association for Lifelong Learning (NJALL)
Box 113		NORCECA (North, Central America and Caribbean)
Box 113		North Dakota Department of Public Instruction, Adult Education program review (3 folders)
Box 113		Northern Illinois University
Box 113		Office on Educational Credit and Credentials
Box 113		Ohio State University
			See also National Center for Research in Vocational Education (NCRVE) .
Box 113		Oklahoma State University
Box 113		Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE) - Africa study tour
Box 113		Optometric Extension Program
Box 113		Orton Dyslexia Society
Box 113		Pan American Development Foundation
Box 113		Partners of the Americas
Box 113		Patton, Jim
Box 113		Pennsylvania Association for Adult and Continuing Education (PAACE)
Box 114		Perceptual Dynamics
Box 114		Plum, Kenneth R. - speech from 24th Annual Conference of Adult Education Association of Virginia
Box 114		President's Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities (3 folders)
Box 114		President's Committee on Mental Retardation (2 folders)
Box 114		President's Task Force on Private Sector Initiatives
Box 114, 115		Project CLEAR (2 folders)
Box 115		Project Literacy US (PLUS) (2 folders)
Box 115		Public Broadcasting System (PBS)
Box 115		Rankin, Jeanette
Box 115		Reagan, Ronald
Box 115		Rebus Institute
Box 115		Rehabilitative Engineering and Assistive Technology Society of North America (RESNA)
Box 115		Republican party (2 folders)
Box 116		Resumes (of others)
Box 116		Richmond Area Reading Council
Box 116		Richmond Area Rehabilitation Center
Box 116		Richmond First Club
Box 116		Richmond Mayor's Committee on the Handicapped
Box 116		Richmond Public Schools
Box 116		Rivera, William
Box 116		Roberts, Paul E.
Box 116		Robson, R. Anthony
Box 116		Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT)
		Royce, Sherry
			See Adult Basic and Literacy Education (ABLE) of Pennsylvania.
Box 116		Scott, Foresman and Company
Box 116		Siddiqui, Dilnawaz
Box 116		Siwisa, Dennis
Box 116		Smoak, Tom and Betsy
Box 116		Society for International Development (SID)
Box 116		South East Regional Resource Center
Box 116		SpecTrans
Box 116		Stambler, Moses - article on adult educators' visit to India
Box 116, 117		Steck-Vaughn Company - includes "Directions" newsletter
Box 117		Stern Center for Language and Learning - includes "Teaching adults with learning disabilities: Study guide"
Box 117		Study Circle Consortium
Box 117		Study Circles Resource Center - includes "Focus on Study Circles" newsletter (3 folders)
Box 118		Survival International USA
Box 118		Syracuse University - includes "CREA-tivity in New York" newsletter (2 folders)
Box 118		Talbot, Walter D. - speech given at 2d International Community Education Conference
Box 118		TASH (The Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps)
Box 118		Teacher's College, Columbia University - includes transcript of Langner's speech at 1991 conference on literacy and adults with severe learning difficulties (2 folders)
		Technical Assistance for Special Populations Program (TASPP)
			See National Center for Research in Vocational Education (NCRVE).
Box 118		Tronstad, Barry
Box 118		Travis, George Y.
		U.N. Decade of Disabled Persons
			See International Year of Disabled Persons.
Box 118, 119		UNESCO - includes reports, papers, and many issues of "Adult education Information notes" newsletter (5 folders)
Box 119		University of the District of Columbia
Box 119		University of Kansas
Box 119		University of Missouri-St. Louis
Box 119		University of New England (Australia)
Box 119		University of Virginia
Box 119		University Without Walls
Box 119		Virginia Adult Institute for Lifelong Learning (VAILL)
Box 119		Virginia Association for Adult and Continuing Education (VAACE)
Box 120		Virginia Association of Independent Special Education Facilities (VAISEF)
Box 120		Virginia Association of Rehabilitation Facilities
		Virginia, Commonwealth of
Box 120			Board of Education/Department of Education
Box 120			Department of Rehabilitative Services
Box 120			Department of Vocational Rehabilitation - includes "Challenge" newsletter (4 folders)
Box 120			Governor's Committee on the Employment of the Handicapped
Box 121			Governor's Study Commission on Vocational Rehabilitation - includes 2-volume published report (2 folders)
Box 121			Miscellaneous
		Virginia Commonwealth University
Box 121			Correspondence 1969-1978 (3 folders)
Box 122			Correspondence 1979-1980, 1983, 1985, 1988-1990, 1993
Box 122			Correspondence undated
Box 122			Printed material
Box 122			RES-301E - taught by Langner (2 folders)
Box 122			Syllabi
Box 122		Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Box 122		Virginia State University
Box 122		Wallingford Adult Education
Box 122		Warner, John
Box 122		Washington State University
Box 122		Westberry, Susan
Box 123		Wilson Learning Center (Barbara and Ed Wilson)
Box 123		Wingspread Conference
		"With Wings as Eagles"
			See Hartley, Robert.
Box 123		Wolfbein, Seymour L.
		Woodland Hall Academy
			See Hardman, Patricia K..
Box 123		Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center
Box 123		Zaba, Joel
Box 123		Miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 124		Miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 125		Miscellaneous (5 folders)
Box 126		Miscellaneous (5 folders)

	Memorabilia
Box 127		Certificates
Box 127		Clippings about
Box 162		Commemorative paperweights
Box 162		Guest book
Box 127		Letters of appreciation/thanks
Box 162		Maps, Caribbean and West Indies
Box 162		Nameplate
Box 127		Passports
Box 127		Photographs of Langner
Box 127		Photographs of others
Box 162		Postcards
Box 127		Miscellaneous

	Multimedia
Box 162		"Bill's distance learning course files" 2/24/89 - handwritten label, appears to be Langner's personal files (1 floppy disk, 5-1/4") (ID#: langner_008)
Box 162		Business Package #1 / Reports / Supervisor / Outbound Telemarketing / Outside Sales / Profiles, International circa 1987 (1 floppy disk, 5-1/4") (ID#: langner_005)
Box 162		Falling Through the Cracks: Learning Disabled Adults Speak Out / The Lab School of Washington 1985 (1 audiocassette) (ID#: langner_002)
Box 162		Graduating to Independence / Social Security Administration Office of Disability - includes cover letter, packet of supporting material; in binder, as originally published/distributed (1 videocassette; 2 floppy discs 5-1/4") (ID#: langner_018 to langner_020)
Box 162		Lindamood-Bell Learning Processes / Learning Disabilities Association Conference / by Nanci Bell undated (1 audiocassette) (ID#: langner_001)
Box 162		MS-Kermit program disk and documnetation [sic] version 2.31 / Syracuse University Academic Computing Services 16 Jun 1988 (1 floppy disk, 5-1/4") (ID#: langner_004)
Box 162		National Center on Adult Literacy Publications, Volume IV / Should Reading-Disabled Adults be Distinguished from Other Adults Seeking Reading Instruction? (TR93-7) / Prison Literacy: Implications for Program and Assessment Policy (TR93-1) / National Center on Adult Literacy 1984 (1 floppy disk, 5-1/4") , "WordPerfect 5.0 for IBM Compatible" (ID#: langner_003)
Box 162		The PROFILE / Profiles, International / Product: Introduction Package / Reports: 2 circa 1987 - handwritten post-it attached, "Complete and return for a complimentary profile, verbal and written" (1 floppy disk, 5-1/4") (ID#: langner_006)
Box 162		Reading - Level 1, Lessons 1- 14, 19 and 22 / Warren Foundation Turning Point Curriculum - English Communication for the World 1981 - in vinyl case printed with title, Warren Foundation logo, as sold/distributed (8 audiocassettes) (ID#: langner_010 through langner_017)
Box 162		Strategies for Teaching Adults with Learning Difficulties 1986[?] - videotape, "STALD TEST PTS. I AND II"; order form, informational booklet, scoring sheets, and final report "Strategies for Teaching Adults with Learning Difficulties"; in vinyl case as originally distributed/sold (1 audiocassette) (ID#: langner_009)
Box 162		[untitled] - blank label, contents unknown (1 floppy disk, 5-1/4") (ID#: langner_007)

	Printed material - in Hollinger cartons, very heavy
Box 128, 129, 130		Adult Basic Education (ABE) (2 boxes + 5 folders)
Box 130		Adult Education Act (4 folders)
Box 131		Americans with Disabilities Act
Box 132		Conferences (6 folders)
Box 133		Competency-based adult education (4 folders)
Box 133		Correctional education (10 folders)
		Department of Education
Box 134			Clearinghouse of adult education and literacy - briefs, fact sheets, reports, bibliographies, directories, papers, etc
Box 135			Newsletters (22 folders)
Box 136			Reports and papers 1964, 1970-1990 (18 folders)
Box 137			Reports and papers 1991-1998, undated (15 folders)
Box 137			Miscellaneous
Box 138		GED
			See also Misc newsletters: G for several newsletters on the GED.
Box 130, 132		Independent study / distance learning (9 folders)
Box 139		International education
Box 130, 140-143		Learning disabled education (3 folders + 4 boxes)
Box 144, 145		Literacy (2 boxes)
Box 146		Misc books
Box 147		Misc journals
		Misc newsletters
Box 148			Partial list of titles
Box 148			Newsletters, A-E - includes "ABE Newsletter" (Virginia Department of Education), "Adult and Continuing Education Today" (Washington DC)
Box 149			Newsletters, F-Net - includes "GED Briefs," "GED Items" and "GED Profiles" (American Council on Education), "Lifeline" (Florida Adult Literacy Resource Center)
Box 150			Newsletters, New-W - includes "What's the Buzz?" (Pennsylvania ABE), "Written Word" (American Association of Advertising Agencies)
Box 151-157		Miscellaneous education material (7 boxes - 6 Hollinger, 1ab)

	Writings
		Published material
Box 158			Adult learning activities
Box 158			Adult learning seminars
		Manuscripts
Box 158			Adult education materials, co-written with Bonnie Dedeian, Charlie Schmidt - notes, contracts, correspondence, drafts, research material for GED preparatory books (2 folders)
Box 158			Brand talking points
Box 158			Miscellaneous, A-Ev (2 folders)
Box 159			Miscellaneous, Ex-U (4 folders)
Box 159			Miscellaneous untitled
Box 159		Notebooks
Box 160		Outlines, fragments, notes (2 folders)
Box 160, 161		Miscellaneous - notes, reminders, to-do lists, other scraps and fragments (5 folders)

Return to top