Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Lewis, Fulton, 1936-
Title:	Fulton Lewis III Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1947-1967
Quantity:	2.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American journalist, son of broadcast and print journalist Fulton Lewis (1903-1966). Correspondence (1966-1967); manuscripts (1966); published material, principally newsletters (1966-1967).
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Fulton Lewis III (1936-) is an American journalist, son of broadcast and print journalist Fulton Lewis (1903-1966). Among other achievements, he covered numerous conflicts in Vietnam, Biafra, Rhodesia, and elsewhere, and served as Director of Research for the House Un-American Activities Committee in the 1950s. Retired in the 1980s, he now (2008) owns and operates a database services company in Florida.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fulton Lewis III Papers consist of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material.

Correspondence, both incoming and outgoing, includes fan mail as well as general correspondence. Subject files consists of lists, menus, and student papers and reports. Manuscripts includes columns and commercials as well as manuscripts of radio broadcasts. Published material contains newsletters written by Lewis and some weekly newspapers of others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent; fan mail is placed separately at the end of the series. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by type of material; within that, radio scripts are arranged chronologically. Published material is arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Fulton Lewis Jr. Papers.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fulton Lewis III Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 21 Jan 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		A-H 1966, 1967 (6 folders)
Box 1		Hoover, J. Edgar 1966
Box 1		Hunt, H. L. 1966, 1967
Box 1		I-Z, unidentified 1966, 1967 (7 folders)
		Fan mail
Box 1			1965-1966 Sep (2 folders)
Box 2			1966 Oct-1967 Dec (2 folders)
Box 2			Undated, circa 1966-1967
Box 3			Condolences on death of Fulton Lewis, Jr. 1966 (5 folders)
Box 3		Outgoing 1966, 1967
Box 3		Of others 1966

	Subject files
Box 4		Lists 1954
Box 4		Menus 1947
Box 4		Student papers and reports 1948, 1955

	Manuscripts
Box 4		Columns
Box 4		Commercials
		Radio broadcasts
Box 4			Top of the News 1966, Aug-Oct - original typescripts
Box 5			Top of the News 1966, Nov-Dec - original typescripts and carbons

	Published material
		Newsletters by Fulton Lewis III
Box 5			Exclusive 1966
Box 5			The Top of the News 1967
Box 5		Weekly newspapers by others 1967

Return to top