Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Literacy Volunteers of America.
Title:	Literacy Volunteers of America (LVA) Records
Inclusive Dates:	1965-1990
Quantity:	30 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the non-profit education and literacy organization founded in 1962 by Ruth J. Colvin in Syracuse, New York. Material in the collection includes audio tapes and cassettes, correspondence, motion pictures, newsletters, primers, readers, reports, slides and video tapes. Areas of special interest are English as a second language, work within correctional facilities, the production of readers and workbooks, involvement in the National Right to Read Effort, and the development of slide/tape and later video tutor training programs.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Literacy Volunteers, Inc. was founded in 1962 by Ruth J. Colvin in Syracuse, New York. Mrs. Colvin's interest in literacy grew out of the global mission of her denomination and exposure to the work of Frank Laubach and Welthy Honsinger Fisher. Planning to encourage her church to support literature programs in Africa, Mrs. Colvin learned of the high number of illiterates in the United States. Focusing on the illiterate in her local area she gave over 90 presentations educating the community to the problem at hand. Thus LVA had its beginnings.

In 1972 the name was changed to Literacy Volunteers of America, Inc. or LVA. LVA is a nonprofit educational organization whose main aim is "to provide training and program support for volunteers who tutor adults and teenagers, one to one, to write and speak conversational English." A National Endowment for the Humanities grant in 1979 enabled the production of a bibliography of humanistic materials at low reading levels. In 1991 the organization had grown to over 400 programs in 33 states. Mrs. Colvin has traveled to over 40 countries presenting workshops and serving-as a consultant to literacy programs. Areas of special interest are: English as a Second Language: work within correctional facilities; literacy and public libraries; the production of readers and workbooks (READ ON!); involvement in the National Right to Read Effort and the development of slide/tape and later video tutor training workshops.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Literacy Volunteers of America Records covers the period 1965-1988 with the bulk falling between 1971 and 1985. The collection contains general office files as well as the papers of Ruth J. Colvin, founder of the organization. There is also a considerable amount of audiovisual material.

Four sequences of General Files, each arranged alphabetically, contain office records of the organization. Included here are administrative information (Board of Directors, task forces, committees, staff development), LVA publications and teaching material (workshops, flash cards, flip charts, "Read On!", etc.), conference programs and presentations, correspondence with individuals and organizations (ALA, NAPCAE, NEH, PEACE), and bibliographies and articles on relevant topics such as basic reading, literacy, and ESL.

Two sequences of Ruth Colvin material, each arranged alphabetically, contain Ms. Colvin's own correspondence and subject files relating to her work with the organization. Included here are conferences, travel to Australia and New Zealand, photographs, and tutor training material.

The collection also contains an extensive amount of Media, including audiotapes, audio cassettes, films, slides, and videos. Much of this consists of training material developed and used by LVA, but there are also recordings of awards ceremonies, interviews, speeches, workshops, seminars, and other events.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Each of the four General Files series and the two Ruth Colvin series are arranged in their own separate A-Z order. The researcher is advised to explore the entire inventory to ensure locating all relevant material. Much of the material remains in original order and in original folders. Media is subdivided by type, and then arranged alphabetically by title within each type.

PLEASE NOTE: Labels on many of the audio and video cassettes, reels, tapes, and slides were missing or illegible. Information on cases or labels has been transcribed verbatim where possible, and may or may not be useful or accurate.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many individuals and organizations involved in adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In particular, see the Laubach Literacy Records.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Literacy Volunteers of America (LVA) Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Literacy Volunteers of America.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: ca. 1988
Revision history: 24 Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 3 Aug 2009 - box 7/8 corrections (MRC); 24 May 2017 - rehoused, media processed (MRC, MS, PJM); 28 Sep 2022 - media descriptions updated/corrected (MRC IRP); 28 Nov 2022 - film descriptions updated/corrected (MRC IRP); 22 Mar 2024 - items lva_001 thru 064 rehoused, locations updated (IRP)

Return to top

Inventory

	General files (I)
Box 1		Adult Basic Education - New York State
Box 1		Adult Literacy Issues, Programs and Opinions
Box 1		American Library Association [ALA] Apr. 4, 1986
Box 1		Annual reports 1981-1983
Box 1		Articles (2 folders)
Box 1		BBC Adult Literacy Handbook 1975
Box 1		Basic Math 1981
		Basic Reading
Box 1			Action 1985
Box 1			Assessment/Goal Setting, segment 5
Box 2			B4 - first and third drafts (2 folders)
Box 2			Goals and Lesson Plans, segment 6
Box 2			Goals and Lesson Plans: Theory 1981
Box 2			Handbook for Tutors of Reading 1982
Box 2			Introduction, segment A 1979 - draft copy
Box 2			Language Experience, segment B 1979 - draft
			Learn to Read / Root, Jane H. 1973
Box 2				Books 1-4, units 1-20 (4 folders)
Box 2				Books 6-7, units 26-35 (2 folders)
Box 3			Phonics, segment D 1981
Box 3			Segment K-3 of Basic Reading Tutor Training Workshop on Additional Teaching Techniques for Special Reading Problems 1975
			Tutor Training Workshop
Box 3				[General] (2 folders)
Box 3				[Miscellaneous] Feb 1977
Box 3				[Miscellaneous] 1981 (2 folders)
Box 3				Lesson Plans and Goals 1981 - 2nd draft
Box 3				Props
Box 3				Segments F(b), G
Box 3				Slide/Tape Script
Box 3				Sight Words, Segment C 1981 - draft
Box 3				Small Group Tutoring Manual
Box 4				Task Force
Box 4				Trainee Kit
Box 4				Video 1985 (4 folders)
Box 4				Video, correspondence 1984-1985
Box 4			Word List 1981
Box 4			Word Patterns 1981
Box 4			Workshop 1978
Box 5			Workshop Leaders Handbook
Box 5		"Be Informed on Banking." Gibbs, Elsie, Laubach Literacy International 1969
Box 5		Bibliography 1983
Box 5		Board of Directors 1976-1978 (2 folders)
Box 5		Brochures
Box 5		California 1984
Box 5		Case Conference Report
Box 5		Coalition for Literacy 1984
		Colvin, Ruth J.
			See Colvin, Ruth J. sections following the General Files.
Box 5		Community Education 1981
Box 5		Comprehension and Study Skills
		Comprehension and Study Skills Handbook / Root, Jane
Box 5			[General] (3 folders)
Box 6			[General] (4 folders)
Box 6			Comments 1980
Box 6			Notes
Box 6			Notes and Activities 1978
Box 6			Review Task Force 1980
		Conferences
Box 6			Adult Basic Education [ABE], "Renewing Our Resources." Apr. 2-6, 1984
Box 6			Adult Education. "The Maine Opportunity" Sep. 15-17, 1983
			ALA
Box 7				ALA Midwinter (Denver) Jan. 23-28, 1982
Box 7				[Unidentified] June 1984
			Annual
Box 7				[General] 1975, 1977 (2 folders)
Box 7				"Literacy Empowers." Oct. 2-4, 1985
Box 7				"Turning the Tide Toward Literacy Nov. 2-4, 1989
Box 7			Migrants Feb. 28, 1984
Box 7			"Right to Read." IRA May 12-13, 1976
Box 7			Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages [TESOL] May 1982
Box 7			Conferences. Virginia May 1983
Box 7		Consultants
Box 7		Constitution
		Correspondence
Box 7			[General] 1978-1986
Box 7			Commendations 1965-1975
Box 7			CORE Library 1984-1985
Box 7			Genegraphics 1983-1984
Box 7			Monti, David A. 1980
Box 7			"Read All About It" 1985
Box 7			Root, Jane 1974
Box 7			Special Reading Problems Modules 1983
Box 7			Sadkin, Loretto 1980
Box 8			Video, New Jersey 1981-1985
Box 8		Directory 1987-1988
Box 8		"Do You Understand? Communicating With the Non-English Speaking Patient." Trainers Guide / Carlin, Chip, ed. (comments)
		English as a Second Language (ESL]
Box 8			[General] 1971-1980 (2 folders)
Box 8			Bibliography of Basic Materials 1980
Box 8			Copyright 1972-1978
Box 8			Correspondence 1984-1985
Box 9			"I Speak English" 1976, 1985-1986 - notes (3 folders)
Box 9			Intercultural Understanding
Box 9			New York State Workshop Aug. 17, 1978
Box 9			Oral Assessment 1978
Box 9			Overview script 1976
Box 9			Props 1980
Box 9			Scripts 1980
Box 9			Trainers Guide, Intercultural Communication 1980
Box 9			Tutor Training Workshops - slide/tape scripts (2 folders)
Box 10		Financial statements July 1973-June 1975 (2 folders)
Box 10		Flash cards
Box 10		Fliers (masters)
Box 10		Flip chart 1979
Box 10		Florida, Orange County - funding
Box 10		Gannett brochures 1980-1985
Box 10		Gannett Foundation 1985-1990
Box 10		Gannett, Newspaper Exhibit 1983-1984
Box 10		Glenn, John 1985
Box 11		Guidelines 1971-1973
Box 11		"Guidelines To Teaching Remedial Reading To the Disadvantaged" / Pope, Lillie 1967
Box 11		Hawaii
		HEW (U. S. Department of Health Education and Welfare)
Box 11			General 1972-1973
Box 11			Program Reports 1973
Box 11			Proposal 1973
Box 11			Miscellaneous 1971-1974 (2 folders)
Box 11		Laubach Literacy International 1973-1977
Box 12		Laubach Literacy International 1978-1979
Box 12		Law Enforcement Assistance Administration (LEAA)
Box 12		"Learning Disabilities Training Module For Teaching Persons With Special Reading Problems" 1975 - training module
Box 12		Legislative Committee
Box 12		Legislative Information 1981-1982 (2 folders)
Box 12		Library Task Force 1976-1977
Box 12		Literacy and Libraries, Wisconsin
Box 12		Literacy Organization Structure
Box 12		LVA (Literacy Volunteers of America), history of
Box 12		Livingston County Awareness Program 1984
Box 12		Logo line
Box 12		Management Handbook, distribution 1983-1984
Box 12		Mental Retardation Task Force 1979
Box 12		Migrants 1974
Box 12		Migrants Task Force 1978-1979
Box 13		Migrants, tutoring 1980
Box 13		"Migrants, Tutoring: An Overview" 1980
Box 13		Minutes 1973-1976
Box 13		Minutes, reports, etc May 7, 1980
Box 13		Miscellaneous 1969-1970, 1976 (2 folders)
Box 13		Modern Maturity article 1977
Box 13		Monogram (G.E.) article 1977
Box 13		NAPCAE (National Association for Public Continuing and Adult Education) 1976-1979
Box 13		National Center For Voluntary Action 1974
		NEH (National Endowment for the Humanities) project
Box 13			Authors 1980-1981
Box 13			Bibliography distribution 1979
Box 13			Correspondence 1978-1979 (2 folders)
Box 13			Correspondence, Washington D.C 1978-1979
Box 13			Expenses 1978-1979
Box 14			Grant 1980-1981
Box 14			Grant proposal 1980-1981
Box 14			Materials Creation Project 1981 (4 folders)
Box 14			Project proposal 1978-1979
Box 15			Publishing 1980-1981
Box 15			Quarterly Reports 1980-1981
Box 15			Questionnaire (2 folders)
Box 15			Miscellaneous 1978, 1980-1981 (2 folders)
Box 15		National Institute of Education
Box 15		New York City Training 1987
Box 15		New York State Department of Correctional Services
		Newsletters
Box 15			Action (World Association for Christian Communication 1977-1981
Box 15			The Affiliate 1974-1979
Box 15			Affiliates 1974-1981, 1988
Box 16			Pivot (Free Library of Philadelphia) 1979-1980
Box 16			[Miscellaneous] 1975-1976
Box 16			[Miscellaneous] 1980-1981
		Newspaper as Instructional Tool
Box 16			Correspondence 1983-1984
Box 16			Proposal 1984
Box 16			"Tutor's Booklet: The Newspaper As An Instructional Tool for Adult Learners" / Warren, Lucy S and Margaret M. Williams
Box 16			Use 1981
Box 16			Workshop participants
Box 16			Miscellaneous
Box 16		Notebook - calendar, goals
Box 16		Organizational Management Handbook / Haendle, Connie 1976
Box 16		Patient Handbook / Carlin, Chip 1988 - comments
Box 16		"Patience" 1988 - slide/tape script
		PEACE (People's Equal Action and Community Effort)
Box 16			Affidavits 1972-1973
Box 16			Financial 1971
Box 16			Lease 1973
Box 17		Permission slips (signed)
Box 17		Personnel. Editorial Assistant Position 1986
Box 17		"Preparing and Selecting Printed Material for the New Adult Reader" / Simpson, Edwin L. and Philip W. Leonard 1976
Box 17		Prison programs, Florida
		Program Management
Box 17			Handbook 1975
Box 17			Volunteer Program
Box 17		Proposals 1971
Box 18		Proposals 1973-1974 (2 folders)
Box 18		Props
Box 18		Publicity 1972-1974
		READ (Reading Evaluation Adult Diagnosis)
Box 18			Administrative Guide / Colvin, Ruth and Jane H. Root 1972
Box 18			Test 1979, 1981
Box 18		"Read All About It!! Tutor-Adults with Daily Newspaper" / Lawson, V.K. with Barbara J. MacDonald and Margaret Williams 1984 - tutor handbook
		"Read On!" I
Box 18			Biographical info for Jo Ann Schall (workbook author)
Box 18			Book 3 1976
Box 18			Copyrights 1977-1978
Box 18			Marketing 1978
Box 18			Rally, New Jersey 1980-1981
Box 18			Reviewers 1977
Box 18			Teacher's guide (2 folders) 1978
Box 18			Workbook 2 1976
Box 18			Workbook 4 1976
		"Read On!" II
Box 18			Annotation
Box 18			Annotation chart layout
Box 18			Book 1 (for comment) 1987
Box 19			Book 1, Office copy/working copy
Box 19			Book 1, Workbook (for comment) 1987
Box 19			Book 1, Workbook 1 : Graphics for workbook
Box 19			Book 2 (for comment) 1987
Box 19			Book 2 : "Musical Mix-up" (2 folders)
Box 19			Book 2, Workbook (for comment) 1987
Box 19			Book 3 (for comment) 1987
Box 19			Book 3, Workbook (for comment) 1987
Box 19			Book 1-3, comments 1987
Box 20			Book 5 : "Let me tell you a story" (2 folders) 1988
Box 20			Book 6 (2 folders) 1988
Box 20			Book 6, Workbook 1988
Box 20			Directions for Instruction 1988
Box 20			Draft 1988
Box 20			General directions, draft
Box 20			Instructor's Guide (1 folder) 1988
Box 21			Instructor's Guide (3 folders) 1988
Box 21			Questionaire 1985
Box 21			"Report on Activities" 1987
Box 21			"Sassy" 1987
Box 21			"Sassy Likes her Work" 1987
Box 21			"Sassy", workbook
Box 21			Series overview
Box 21			T.A.I. (Text + Akustik = Information) correspondence 1984
Box 21			"Tribute to Red" 1987
Box 21			Miscellaneous
Box 21		Reader's Digest article 1975 - responses
Box 21		Reading games
Box 21		Refugees, Indochinese Refugee Education Guides
		Research and Development Committee
Box 21			Correspondence 1979-1980
Box 21			ESL Task Force 1973-1977
Box 22			Task Force - Extension TTW (Tutor Training Workshop) 1974 (2 folders)
Box 22			Miscellaneous 1975-1976
		Right to Read (National Right to Read Effort)
Box 22			New York City 1975
Box 22			Teacher Training Syllabus Reading Academy Out Development
Box 22		Riposo studies 1974
Box 22		Skills Files
		Small Group Tutoring
Box 22			Basic Reading 1984
Box 22			Books 1984
Box 22			Skills handbook
Box 22			Tutor Training Workshop - Video 1983
Box 23			"Tutoring Small Groups: Basic Reading" / Ottson, Gerald
Box 23			Miscellaneous
		Special Reading Problems: Some Helps / Miller, Suzanne
Box 23			Drafts 1983
Box 23			Trainers Guide 1983
Box 23			Tutor Notes 1983
Box 23		Speech material 1966-1975
		Staff development project Region V, X
Box 23			Region II 1974-1975
Box 23			Region III 1974
Box 23			Region V 1974
Box 23			Region X 1974-1975
Box 23		State Contracts
Box 23		Student Report Cards
Box 23		Tapes Project
Box 24		Tapes reports 1971-1974
Box 24		Taylor, R. Steven / Peace Corps 1984
Box 24		Teacher Training Workshop 1972 - script, human interest stories
Box 24		Teacher Guides
Box 24		Testing Oct 1970
Box 24		"To Read, To Speak, To Live" 1984 - promotional slide script
Box 24		Tutor Directions, 1-8 A/B
		Tutor Training Workshop
Box 24			Children / Raymond, Dorothy
Box 24			ESL 1976
Box 24		Tutoring, notes on in-school tutoring
		Tutoring Reading in Schools
Box 24			Draft scripts and research (2 folders)
Box 24			Production 1981
Box 24			Script
Box 25		Tutoring, schools
Box 25		Tutoring Techniques 1980
Box 25		Tutoring - Telephone (Connecticut) 1984 - includes slides
Box 25		United States Office of Education 1974-1979
Box 25		Urban Coalition
Box 25		Video Campaign (PBS) 1984
Box 25		Video Project Proposal 1981
Box 25		Video Workshop Trainer's Guide
Box 25		Volunteerism 1978-1979
Box 25		"Way With Words: The Story of Literacy Volunteers of America" 1983
Box 25		"Way With Words: The Story of Literacy Volunteers of America" distribution 1984
Box 25		White, Gene
Box 25		Workshop Suggestions, ESL

	Colvin, Ruth J. (I)
		Australia
Box 26			"Adult Literacy and the Volunteer Tutor." Kindler, Jan July 1985
Box 26			Adult Literacy Information Office 1983
Box 26			Newsletters, Adult Literacy Information Office 1985
Box 26			Articles 1967-1978
Box 26			"As It Was Then" / Bruderer, Marian 1983
Box 26			Conferences, 10th National Sep. 4-7, 1986
Box 26			Correspondence 1986
Box 26			"Crossing the Borders " / Bankstown Technical College 1984
			"Family Birthday Picnic" - books 1-10, plus some tapes
Box 40				A Family Birthday Picnic (1 of 10) 1984 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_395)
Box 40				A Family Birthday Picnic (2 of 10) 1984 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_396)
Box 40				A Family Birthday Picnic (3 of 10) 1984 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_397)
Box 40				A Family Birthday Picnic (4 of 10) 1984 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_398)
Box 40				A Family Birthday Picnic (5 of 10) 1984 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_399)
Box 40				A Family Birthday Picnic (6 of 10) 1984 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_400)
Box 40				A Family Birthday Picnic (7 of 10) 1984 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_401)
Box 40				A Family Birthday Picnic (8 of 10) 1984 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_402)
Box 40				A Family Birthday Picnic (9 of 10) 1984 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_403)
Box 40				A Family Birthday Picnic (10 of 10) 1984 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_404)
Box 26			"Guide to Spelling for Tutors of Students" / Stocker, Margrit 1981
Box 26			Khmer and Lao Folk Tales / Bankstown Technical College 1985
Box 26			"N.S.W. Rules of the Road" / Barbara Gray, Keith White Jan. 1985
Box 26			"Newspapers in Education" 1985
Box 26			"Readings in Adult Basic Education. Australian Council for Adult Literacy (ACAL) 1985
Box 26			"Spirit of the Khmer" / Bankstown Technical College 1983
Box 26			"Still More Jingles" / Marion Bruderer 1984
Box 27		Basic Education and Reading Committee (BEAR) 1977-1980
Box 27		Basic Reading Tutor Training Workshop, Workshop Leaders Apr 1977
		Conferences
Box 27			Annual, Hartford June 1980
Box 27			ESL, New York State Oct. 18-20, 1974
			TESOL
Box 27				TESOL, Puerto Rico May 8-13, 1973
Box Box 27 9				TESOL, Denver Mar 1974
Box 27				TESOL, Los Angeles Mar. 6, 1975
Box 27				TESOL, New York Mar. 2-7, 1976
Box 27				TESOL, Urban Literacy Jan. 21-23, 1988
Box 27		Conferences/Training 1974
Box 27		Correspondence 1970-1980 (2 folders)
Box 28		Correspondence 1973-1981
		Culture
Box 28			Chinese
Box 28			Communication
Box 28			Ghana 1967
Box 28			Indian Adult Education and the Volunteer Center Oct. 18-20, 1972
Box 28			Italian
Box 28			Japanese
Box 28			Spanish speakers
Box 28			Miscellaneous 1976-1977
		ESL
Box 28			"Adult English as a Second Language." Los Angeles City Schools 1974
Box 28			Advanced students
Box 28			Aids 1970
Box 28			"Bilingual Dictionary as an Aid to Teaching ESL" / Ossoff, Ellen E
Box 28			Comprehension 1975
Box 28			Dialog Sep 1975
Box 28			Evaluation
Box 28			"I Speak English" 1975 - notes
Box 28			Ideas
Box 29			IDIOM (newsletter of New York State ESOL and Bilingual Educators Association) 1973-1974
Box 29			Institute Aug. 22-Sep. 2, 1976
Box 29			Lesson Plans
Box 29			Listening Skills
Box 29			Notes 1972-1973
Box 29			Objectives
Box 29			Picture file as aid
Box 29			Programs and Methods
Box 29			Pronunciation
Box 29			Reading 1977
Box 29			Sensitivity
Box 29			Survival Skills
Box 29			Teaching English as a Second Language, Unit 5 1974
Box 29			Teaching Ideas
Box 29			Techniques
Box 29			Techniques/Substitution Drill
Box 29			Testing
Box 30			Testing Evaluation
Box 30			Tutor Evaluation
Box 30			Tutor Training Workshop [TTW], script for workshop leaders training Aug. 17, 1978
Box 30			Workshop leaders training 1978
Box 30			Workshop notes
Box 30			Miscellaneous 1974
Box 30		Future Training
Box 30		"Handbook for the Teaching of English as a Second Language" 1971
Box 30		"Helping Adults to Spell" / Moorhouse, Catherine 1982
Box 30		"I No Understand the Teacher" / Susan Jacoby 1975 - article
Box 30		Intermedia 1975-1979
Box 30		Jewish Community Center, Detroit, Michigan 1974
Box 30		Naturalization
		New Zealand
Box 31			ARAN (Adult Reading Assistance Newsletter) Spring 1985
Box 31			Brochures 1983
Box 31			"Let's Talk Trade" 1983
Box 40			Sometimes Teacher, Sometimes Learner 1984 - accompanies booklet; side one includes a student interview (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_405)
Box 31		Newspaper clippings 1966-1976
Box 31		Photographs
Box 31		Research and Development Committee 1978-1979
Box 31		Sample journal 1984
		Student stories
Box 31			Correctional facilities 1977-1978
Box 31			Miscellaneous 1969-1978 (3 folders)
Box 31		Student/Tutor stories
Box 31		"Teaching Adults to Read" / MacFarlane, Tom Mar. 1986
		Turkish
Box 32			"Course in English for Turkish Students" / Nebi, Hope Bersie 1967
Box 32			"Pattern Practice Picture Charts" / Nebi, Hope Bersie - mimeographed copy
Box 32		"Tutor. Techniques Used in the Teaching of Reading, Revised Edition" / Colvin, Ruth J. and Root, Jane H. 1976 - published edition
Box 32		"Tutor. Techniques Used in the Teaching of Reading, Revised Edition" / Colvin, Ruth J. and Root, Jane H. 1984 - published edition
		"Tutor. Techniques Used in the Teaching of Reading, 6th edition" / Colvin, Ruth J. and Root, Jane H. 1987
Box 32			First draft, copy 6/10/1987
Box 32			Second draft, copy 7/18/1987
Box 32			First draft, copy 8/17/1987
		Tutor Training
Box 32			Workshop 1977
Box 32			Miscellaneous 1976
Box 33		Miscellaneous 1965-1976, 1986-1989

	General files (II)
Box 33		Amos, Wally 1979-1981
Box 33		Amos, Wally 1982-1983 - PR, press releases
Box 33		"Read On!" Let Me Tell You a Story
Box 33		Reports, final 1986-1987 (4 folders)
Box 34		Reports, final 1988 (4 folders)
Box 34		Speech material

	Colvin, Ruth J. (II)
Box 34		Australia. "Learn Your Language" / Stocker, Margrit (2 copies)
Box 34		New Zealand, "Adult Reading and Learning Assistance Federation of New Zealand 1983 - miscellaneous
Box 34		Newspaper clippings
		Vietnamese
Box 35			"Guide to Language and life in the U.S.A."
Box 35			"Handbook for Teachers of Vietnamese Students: Hints for Dealing with Cultural Differences in Schools" / Bihn, Duong Thanh, in collaboration with Anne-Marie Diller, Kenton Sutherland, Arlington VA, Center for Applied Linguistics 1975
Box 40			A Colloquium on The Vietnamese Language (Quang, Binh, and Sutherland) (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_406)
Box 35			Miscellaneous 1976
Box 35		Visit Reports
Box 35		"Way With Words. the Story of Literacy Volunteers of America" / Colvin, Ruth J 1983
Box 35		Miscellaneous 1965-1976, 1986-1989 (2 folders)

	General files (III)
Oversize 1		Printouts of Basic Reading texts
Oversize 2		Printouts of Basic Reading texts
Oversize 2		Certificate, New Mexico Jan. 30, 1985

	General files (IV)
Box 35		Action project 1974
Box 35		Aging slides 1986-1988
Box 35		B. Dalton Student Achievement LITMIS projects 1985-1986
Box 35		Basic Reading Workshop script 1972, 1976
Box 35		Bibliography 1973-1974
Box 35		Board committees 1972-1973
Box 35		Board resignations 1967-1977, 1986
Box 35		"Can your employees read this?" June 1984 - photocopies of article
Box 36		Colvin, Ruth, USA trip file 1984-1985
Box 36		ESL hospital awareness 1987-1988
Box 36		ESL printed material
Box 36		History of LVA
Box 36		House, Palmer Road
		Inner city recruitment project PEACE
Box 36			Advisory committee
Box 36			Program reports
Box 36			Proposals/contracts
Box 36			Publicity
Box 36			Receipts/disbursements
Box 36		LVA national staff development project 1974
Box 36		LVA, Inc. August 6, 1980
Box 34		LVA NYS corrections project 1974-1976
Box 36		Migrant script project 1974
Box 37		NEH bibliography 1979
Box 37		National Endowment for the Humanities, Bibliography of Humanistic Reading for Grade Levels 1-8 1978-1979
Box 37		NJ slide show script 1988
		Patient communication handbook
Box 37			Correspondence 1982-1989
Box 37			Design 1988
Box 37			Research
Box 37		"Read on!" promotional mailing
Box 37		R&D questionnaire 1978
Box 37		R2R [Right to read?], Literacy Volunteers New York City 1975-1979 (2 folders)
Box 38		Sample folder given to prospective donors 1977-1978
Box 38		Teen Tutoring Program 1971-1978
Box 38		Video project articles
Box 38		Literacy articles and clippings, various publications (64 folders)
Box 39		Literacy articles and clippings, various publications (44 folders)

	Media, audiovisual
		Audiotape, reel to reel
Oversize 5			5B-0576 ; REEL “A” PHONICS (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_056)
Oversize 5			5B-0576 ; REEL “B” WORD PATTERNS (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_061)
Oversize 5			[Additional Techniques - Learning Disabilities, segment K-3] 4B-2275 ; A (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_054)
Oversize 5			[Additional Techniques - Learning Disabilities, segment K-3] 4B-2275 ; =B= (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_055)
Oversize 5			[Basic Reading Workshop. Overview] 2A-0177 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_060)
Box 45			Brown-Machell Ref. Tape Copy - Experience Story Inserts, Brown - Machell 14:13 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 14:13) (ID#: lva_080)
Box 45			C of C broadcast - (Choral music - Alleluia Chorus, etc.) (No use to L.V. - but lovely music) (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_079)
Box 44			Samuel Coleman (Master) (Edited to shorten) 1963-1965 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_074)
				10/16/63 - 14 yrs. 7th grade - 1.4 reading 2/25/64 - (after 30 hrs. instruction - 1965 - 6.7 Reading Level - 6/3/66 - Interview Mr. Collis, prin. HWSmith Jr. High - 16 yrs - 9th grade
Box 44			Mary Ross - Ruth Colvin 02/24/1969 - good - complete interview with a successful student - recounts all the advantages of being able to read (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_075)
			Comprehension, 8A-1178
Oversize 5				[Comprehension] 8A-1178 ; A (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_047)
Oversize 5				[Comprehension] 8A-1178 ; B (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_048)
Oversize 5				[Comprehension] 8A-1178 ; D (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_049)
Oversize 5				[Comprehension] 8A-1178 ; C (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_050)
Oversize 5				[Comprehension] 8A-1178 ; E (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_051)
Oversize 5				[Comprehension] 8A-1178 ; F (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_052)
			English as a Second Language Series, 6 segments
Box 44				ESL-A ; SIDE I (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 20:56) (ID#: lva_065)
Box 44				ESL-A ; SIDE II (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 13:28) (ID#: lva_066)
Box 44				ESL-B (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 9:56) (ID#: lva_067)
Box 44				ESL-C (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 13:37) (ID#: lva_068)
Box 44				ESL-D (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 16:11) (ID#: lva_069)
Box 44				ESL-E (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 22:20) (ID#: lva_070)
Box 44				ESL-F (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 10:06) (ID#: lva_071)
Oversize 5			["ESL Overview"] 12B-1175 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_059)
			ESL, 9A-0776
Oversize 5				ESL-SEG “G”, 9A-0776 ; A (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_058)
Oversize 5				ESL-SEG “H”, 9A-0776 ; B (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_062)
Oversize 5			[Intercultural Communication] 8B-0978 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_057)
Box 44			Lillie Pope’s Speech at Seminar (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_077)
Box 45			Literacy Volunteers (unidentified) (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_082)
Box 44			Literacy Volunteers, Inc. [blank?] (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_076)
Oversize 3			LVA ; SEG - F-1 ; 10C-2987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_017)
Oversize 3			LVA ; SEG - F-2 ; 10C-2987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_018)
Oversize 3			LVA ; SEG - G-2 ; 10C-2987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_019)
Oversize 5			["LVA-1" and "Spelling (K-1 & LVA)] M7A-093 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_064)
			M5B-223 - titles given in the finding aid are "Word By Word" "Lesson Goals" and "Motivation" but unable to determine which reel is which title
Oversize 4				M5B-223 ; A - unclear which item is which; titles given in the finding aid are "Word By Word" "Lesson Goals" and "Motivation" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_024)
Oversize 4				M5B-223 ; B ; SEG - =K-2= - unclear which item is which; titles given in the finding aid are "Word By Word" "Lesson Goals" and "Motivation" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_025)
Box 44				M5B-223 ; SEG =I= ; B - unclear which item is which; titles given in the finding aid are "Word By Word" "Lesson Goals" and "Motivation" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_072)
Box 44				M5B-223 ; SEG =J= ; B - unclear which item is which; titles given in the finding aid are "Word By Word" "Lesson Goals" and "Motivation" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_073)
Oversize 5			PHONICS DRILL ; 11:47 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 11:47) (ID#: lva_053)
Box 45			Sam Tape Copy I (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 6:30) (ID#: lva_086)
Box 45			Sam Tapes (Shortened Version) Copy 5 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 6:30) (ID#: lva_087)
Box 44			Sammy Interview - Literacy Volunteers-Inc. (for State Fair) (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 11:00) (ID#: lva_078)
Oversize 4			["Sensitivity."] IE-103 ; H-2 - 10:38 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 10:38) (ID#: lva_023)
Box 45			“Something to Give - Something to Gain” P.R. Tape (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_081)
Box 45			Sub-Master (Edited Version) of Session #3 - Section #13 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 6:30) (ID#: lva_085)
Oversize 5			[T.T.W. - Overview] 1A-295 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_063)
Box 45			BLANK REEL [crossed-out: “Dr. Frank Laubach edited by Colvin ; Copy 5.”] (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_088)
			Unidentified reels
				The following 42 reels could not be specifically identified. They may or may not be any of the following, which were listed in the original inventory but could not be matched to specific items: "Basic Reading Tapes. M6B-282 (20 reels)" "Basic Reading T. T. Workshop (9 reels)" "English as a Second Language, Lit. Volun. ESL A-F. 5A 144 (8 reels)" "ESL Interview" "ESL. 1980 series. Segments 1-8 (Films of these were never made. LVA has never used these.) (9 reels)" and "LVA. ESL. segments 5A-144 A-F."
Oversize 3				=D=26:03 ; Side #I (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 26:03) (ID#: lva_001)
Oversize 3				=A= (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_002)
Oversize 3				A-10:49 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 10:49) (ID#: lva_003)
Oversize 3				“B” (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_004)
Oversize 3				B-17:43 ; Side I (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 17:43) (ID#: lva_005)
Oversize 3				B-14:35 ; Side II (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 14:35) (ID#: lva_006)
Oversize 3				=C= (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_007)
Oversize 3				C-12:39 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 12:39) (ID#: lva_008)
Oversize 3				=D= (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_009)
Oversize 3				=F= (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_010)
Oversize 3				=G= (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_011)
Oversize 3				“D” - 14:44 ; Side II (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 14:44) (ID#: lva_012)
Oversize 3				=E= (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_013)
Oversize 3				E - 16:40 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 16:40) (ID#: lva_014)
Oversize 3				“F” - 25:43 ; Side I (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 25:43) (ID#: lva_015)
Oversize 3				“F” - 23:22 ; Side II (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:22) (ID#: lva_016)
Oversize 3				G”-18:12 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 18:12) (ID#: lva_020)
Oversize 3				=H= (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_021)
Oversize 4				H-I 7:08 ; 10 SEC ROLL - HL+TL LDR - OP/CL FOIL - (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 7:08) (ID#: lva_022)
Oversize 4				V/M (A)(B1)(B2) (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_026)
Oversize 4				V/M-A-B+C ; 5A-144 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_027)
Oversize 4				V/M (C)(D)(E) (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_028)
Oversize 4				F/M - SEG A ; F/M (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_029)
Oversize 4				F/M - SEG B1 ; F/M - SEG B2 ; F/M (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_030)
Oversize 4				F/M - SEG C ; F/M (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_031)
Oversize 4				F/M - SEG D ; F/M (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_032)
Oversize 4				F/M - SEG E ; F/M (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_033)
Oversize 4				F/M - SEG. F(A) ; F/M (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_034)
Oversize 4				F/M - SEG F(B) ; F/M (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_035)
Oversize 4				SEG I - SIDE I (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_036)
Oversize 4				SEG #1 ; SIDE 2 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_037)
Oversize 4				SEG #2 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_038)
Oversize 4				SEG #3 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_039)
Oversize 4				SEG 4 - SIDE I (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_040)
Oversize 4				SEG 4 ; SIDE -2- (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_041)
Oversize 4				SEG #5 - V/M + F/M - ; ESL - SEG #5 TESTING - ; F/M - VERIFIED ; 8:43 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 8:43) (ID#: lva_042)
Oversize 4				SEG 6A (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_043)
Oversize 5				6-B - (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_044)
Oversize 5				SEG 8 - SIDE I (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_045)
Oversize 5				SEG #8 ; SIDE 2 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_046)
Box 45				SEG “B” - 2 TRACK (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 32:52) (ID#: lva_083)
Box 45				Side 1 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: lva_084)
		Audiotape, cassettes
			ALA [American Library Association], "Literacy and Public Libraries," Audio Visual Systems, Syracuse, New York
Box 46				ALA - Side 1 ; Side 2: Literacy & Public Libraries (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_137)
Box 46				ALA - Side 1 ; Side 2: Lit. & Public Libraries (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_138)
Box 46				ALA - Side 1 ; Side 2: Lit & Public Libraries (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_139)
Box 46				ALA - Side 3: Lit & Public Libraries (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_140)
Box 46				ALA - Side 3: Lit & Public Libraries (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_141)
Box 46				ALA - Side 3: Lit & Public Libraries (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_142)
			Basic Reading Skills, Book 1-8, Audio Visual Systems, Syracuse, New York
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 1, Unit 1 Orig ; Book 1 - Unit 4 Orig. (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_109)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 1 Unit 2 Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_110)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 1 Unit 3 Or. (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_111)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 1 Unit 5 - Master/Orig. ; Book 3 Unit 15 - Master/Orig. (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_112)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 2 Unit 6-7 Master Tape (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_113)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 2 Unit 8-9 Orig. Master Tape (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_114)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 2 Unit 10 - Orig. Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_115)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 3 Unit 11-12 Orig Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_116)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 3 Unit 13-14 Orig. Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_117)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 4 Tape 18-19 Orig Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_118)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 4 Unit 20 Original Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_119)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 5 Unit 21A New Master ; Book 5 Unit 21B & 22A New Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_120)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 5 Unit 22 cont. New Master ; Book 5 Unit 23 New Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_121)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 5 Unit 24 ; Unit 25 Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_122)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 6 Tape 26 ; 27-A Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_123)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 6 Tape 27-B ; 28 Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_124)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 6 Unit 29 ; 30 Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_125)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 7 Unit 31-32 Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_126)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 7 Unit 33-A ; 33-B Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_127)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 7 Unit 34 ; 35 Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_128)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 8 - Unit 36 A & B Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_129)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 8 Unit 37 ; 38 Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_130)
Box 46				[Basic Reading Skills] Book 8 Unit 39 ; 40 Master (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_131)
			Basic Reading Tutor Training Workshop
Box 48				Introduction: BR Tutor Training Workshop - Segment A (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_226)
Box 48				Language Experience: BR Tutor Training Workshop - Segment B (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_227)
Box 48				Sight Words: BR Tutor Training Workshop - Segment C (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_228)
Box 48				Sight Words: BR Tutor Training Workshop - Segment C (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_229)
Box 48				Phonics: BR Tutor Training Workshop - Segment D (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_230)
Box 48				Word Patterns: BR Tutor Training Workshop - Segment E (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_231)
Box 48				Assessment / Goal Setting: BR Tutor Training Workshop - Segment F(a) (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_232)
Box 48				Goal Analysis / Lesson Planning: BR Tutor Training Workshop - Segment F(b) (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_233)
Box 48				Formal Assessment: BR Tutor Training Workshop - Segment G(2) (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_234)
			Basic Reading Workshop
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Overview (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_186)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Introduction - Segment A (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_207)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Experience Story - Segment B (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_208)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Sight Words - Segment C (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_209)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Sight Words - Segment C (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_210)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Phonics (Consonants) - Segment D (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_211)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Phonics (Consonants) - Segment D (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_212)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Word Patterns - Segment E (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_213)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Word Patterns - Segment E (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_214)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Applying All Techniques - Segment G (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_215)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Applying All Techniques - Segment G (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_216)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Lesson Plans And Goals - Segment I (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_217)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Motivation And Reinforcement - Segment J (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_218)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Fluency In Reading, Segment K-2 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_183)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Fluency In Reading, Segment K-2 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_184)
Box 48				Basic Reading Workshop: Fluency In Reading, Segment K-2 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_185)
Box 47			Walter Beckwith Oct 1979 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_167)
Box 47			Walter Beckwith 1979 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_168)
			Colvin, Ruth
Box 47				R. Colvin - In Service Training - Teens - Nottingham High School 12/10/1973 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_156)
					Adopting Techniques
Box 47				R. Colvin - Nott. Rdg. Prog. In Service 12/10/1973 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_157)
Box 47				R. Colvin - Nott. Rdg. Prog. In Service 12/10/1973 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_158)
Box 47				Colvin - Nottingham In Service 12/10/1973 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_159)
Box 47				Test READ - Ruth Colvin, Dean Crouch (F level) ; Ruth Colvin, Larry Horn (Level J+) 01/11/1974 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: lva_160)
Box 47				LVA - ESL: Using Tape Recorder as Homework - Examples - Colvin Oct 1975 - Using a Tape Recorder as homework & practice for ESL students - Basic, Med, Advanced (Audio cassette; running time 10:00) (ID#: lva_161)
Box 48			Comprehension And Study Skills Part One (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_187)
Box 48			Comprehension And Study Skills Part Two (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_188)
			English as a Second Language 1980
Box 48				Intercultural Communication: ESL Tutor Training Workshop - Segment 1 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_219)
Box 48				Introduction: ESL Tutor Training Workshop - Segment 2 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_220)
Box 48				Let’s Get Started: ESL Tutor Training Workshop - Segment 3 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_221)
Box 48				Special Techniques: ESL Tutor Training Workshop - Segment 4 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_222)
Box 48				Teaching Language Skills: ESL Tutor Training Workshop - Segment 6B (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_223)
Box 48				Survival Skills & Teaching: ESL Tutor Training Workshop - Segment 7 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_224)
Box 48				Goals And Lesson Plans: ESL Tutor Training Workshop - Segment 8 (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_225)
Box 47			ESL - NYS - 10/25-27, 1975 - Ruth Colvin 10/27/1975 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: lva_162)
Box 47			ESL - Reading (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_146)
Box 47			Dr. Frank Greene 9/27/73 09/27/1973 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_163)
Box 47			Frank Greene 9/27/73 Side I - (type only this side) 09/27/1973 - Ruth - Copies for Nottingham. Barb. (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: lva_164)
Box 48			I Can Go Anywhere, Gene White-BR (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_180)
Box 48			I Can Go Anywhere, Gene White-BR (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_181)
Box 48			Intercultural Communication (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_189)
Box 48			Intercultural Communication (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_190)
Box 47			Dr. Paul Kussrow 9-10 AM 10/03/1985 - Director Center for Com. Ed NC (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_171)
Box 47			Literacy Volunteers: D. Raymond - 3 Nudd St., Waterville, Maine 04901 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_172)
Box 48			A Long Journey, Buon Norasing-ESL (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_182)
			Lugae, Hilda (Spanish), Audio Visual Systems, Syracuse, New York
Box 47				Spanish - Hilda Lugue (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_149)
Box 47				Hilda Lugue 01/29/1974 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_150)
Box 47			Lit Vol Story [Literacy Volunteers Story] (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_145)
			Madrid, Francisca (Spanish), Audio Visual Systems, Syracuse, New York
Box 47				Spanish - Francisca Madrid - alphabet, colors, directions (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_147)
Box 47				Francisca Madrid - Testing 01/22/1974 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_148)
Box 47			News April 10th (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_178)
Box 47			Arthur Nicholson May 1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_170)
Box 46			Perceptions (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_143)
Box 46			Perceptions (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_144)
Box 47			“Probe” on illiteracy in Wash, D.C. CBS TV 11/22/1980 - Voices: Announcer, Ceci, Students, Len, Mr. Fox, Supt. schools, + Maria (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_169)
			Read On! - original inventory lists "Book 1-7 (42 cassettes) and Book 1-4 (91 cassettes)" but there are actually 153 tapes, and it was not possible to tell which tapes go with which set
Box 49				Demo - Workbook 1-1 ; Demo - Book 1, Unit 1 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_235)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 1 ; Book 1, Unit 2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_236)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 1&2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_237)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 1&2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_238)
Box 49				Book 1, Units 1&2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_239)
Box 49				Book 1, Units 1&2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_240)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 1-2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_241)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 1&2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_242)
Box 49				Book 1, units 1&2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_243)
Box 49				Book I, units 1&2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_244)
Box 49				Book I, units 1&2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_245)
Box 49				Book I, units 1&2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_246)
Box 49				Book 1, units 1&2 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_247)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 3&4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_248)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 3&4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_249)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 3&4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_250)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 3-4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_251)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 3-4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_252)
Box 49				Book I, units 3&4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_253)
Box 49				Book I, units 3&4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_254)
Box 49				Book I, units 3&4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_255)
Box 49				Book I, units 3&4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_256)
Box 49				units 3&4, Book I (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_257)
Box 49				units 3&4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_258)
Box 49				units 3&4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_259)
Box 49				Book 1, Units 3-4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_260)
Box 49				units 3&4 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_261)
Box 49				Unit 5, Book 1 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_262)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 5 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_263)
Box 49				Book 1, Unit 5 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_264)
Box 49				Book 1, unit 5 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_265)
Box 49				Book 1, unit 5 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_266)
Box 49				Book 1, unit 5 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_267)
Box 49				Book 1, unit 5 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_268)
Box 49				Book 1, unit 5 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_269)
Box 49				Book 1, unit 5 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_270)
Box 49				Book I, unit 5 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_271)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 6&7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_272)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 6&7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_273)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 6&7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_274)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_275)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_276)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_277)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_278)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_279)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_280)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_281)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_282)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_283)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_284)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_285)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 6-7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_286)
Box 50				Book 2, unit 6&7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_287)
Box 50				Book 2, units 6&7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_288)
Box 50				Book 2, units 6&7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_289)
Box 50				Book 2, units 6&7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_290)
Box 50				Book 2, units 6&7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_291)
Box 50				Book II, Unit 6&7 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_292)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_293)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_294)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_295)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_296)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_297)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_298)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_299)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_300)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_301)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_302)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_303)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_304)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_305)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_306)
Box 50				Book 2, Units 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_307)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 8&9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_308)
Box 50				Book 2 - Unit 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_309)
Box 50				Book 2 - Units 8-9 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_310)
Box 50				Book II unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_311)
Box 50				Book 2 unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_312)
Box 50				Book 2 unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_313)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_314)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_315)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_316)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_317)
Box 50				Book 2 Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_318)
Box 50				Book 2 Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_319)
Box 50				Book 2 Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_320)
Box 50				Book 2 Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_321)
Box 50				Book 2 Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_322)
Box 50				Book 2 Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_323)
Box 50				Book 2 Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_324)
Box 50				Book 2 Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_325)
Box 50				Book 2 Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_326)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_327)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_328)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_329)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_330)
Box 50				Book 2, Unit 10 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_331)
Box 51				Book 3, 11 + 12 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_332)
Box 51				Book 3, 11 + 12 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_333)
Box 51				Book 3, 11 + 12 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_334)
Box 51				Book 3, 11 + 12 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_335)
Box 51				Book 3, 11 + 12 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_336)
Box 51				Book 3, 11 + 12 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_337)
Box 51				Book 3, 11 + 12 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_338)
Box 51				Book 3 Unit 13-14 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_339)
Box 51				Book 3 Unit 13-14 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_340)
Box 51				Book 3 Unit 13-14 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_341)
Box 51				Book 3, Unit 13-14 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_342)
Box 51				Book 3, Unit 13+14 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_343)
Box 51				Book 3, Units 13-14 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_344)
Box 51				Book 3, Units 13+14 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_345)
Box 51				Book 3, Units 13+14 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_346)
Box 51				Book 3, units 13&14 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_347)
Box 51				Book 3, Unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_348)
Box 51				Book 3, Unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_349)
Box 51				Book 3, Unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_350)
Box 51				Book 3, Unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_351)
Box 51				Book 3, Unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_352)
Box 51				Book 3, Unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_353)
Box 51				Book 3 unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_354)
Box 51				Book 3 unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_355)
Box 51				Book 3 unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_356)
Box 51				Book 3 unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_357)
Box 51				Book 3 unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_358)
Box 51				Book 3 unit 15 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_359)
Box 51				Book 4, 16+17 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_360)
Box 51				Book 4, Unit 16-17 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_361)
Box 51				Book 4, Unit 18-19 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_362)
Box 51				Book 4 Unit 20 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_363)
Box 51				Book 4 Unit 20 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_364)
Box 51				Book 4 Unit 20 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_365)
Box 51				Book 4 Tape 20 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_366)
Box 51				Book 4 unit 20 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_367)
Box 51				Book 4 unit 20 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_368)
Box 51				Book 4 unit 20 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_369)
Box 51				Book 5, Unit 21A-21B-22A (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_370)
Box 51				Book 5, Tape 21+22A (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_371)
					Side 1: 21 A ; Side 2: 21B+22A
Box 51				Book 5, Tape 21+22A (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_372)
					Side 1: 21 A ; Side 2: 21B+22A
Box 51				Book 5, Tape 21+22A (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_373)
					Side 1: 21 A ; Side 2: 21B+22A
Box 51				Book 5, Tape 21+22A (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_374)
					Side 1: 21 A ; Side 2: 21B+22A
Box 51				Book 5, Units 21-22 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_375)
Box 51				Book 5 Units 22 (con’t)-23 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_376)
Box 51				Book 5 Units 24-25 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_377)
Box 51				Book 6 Tape 26, 27A (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_378)
Box 51				Book 6 Tape 27-B-28 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_379)
Box 51				Book 6 Tape 27B ; Book 6 Tape 28 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_380)
Box 51				Book 6 Unit 29, Unit 30 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_381)
Box 51				Book 7, Units 31+32 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_382)
Box 51				Book 7, Unit 33A+33B (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_383)
Box 51				Book 7, Unit 33A+33B (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_384)
Box 51				Book 7, Unit 34 + 35 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_385)
Box 51				Book 7, Unit 34 + 35 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_386)
Box 51				Book 5 Unit 21A ; Book 5 Unit 21B, Unit 22A (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_387)
Box 40			[Right to Read] Philip PA ; Frank FA (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_407)
Box 40			[Right to Read?] Allen AA ; Philip Slide Tape - originally found with boxes of slides in a Right To Read box (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_408)
Box 40			[Right to Read?] LVA ESL Human Interest Story (for slides/tapes) May 1982 - originally found with boxes of slides in a Right To Read box (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_409)
				1st Part - Christiana Molony - France - (b) Liu Dai (Peoples Rep. China/ Talk on Peking-Beijing) 5/16/82, Colvin ; Lin Rui-Chang (Peoples Rep. China) talk on Status of Women - 5/16/82
			Root, Jane
Box 47				Dr. Jane Root to LVA Staff Sides 1 & 2 10/07/1974 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_151)
Box 47				Dr. Jane Root to Staff Sides 3 & 4 10/07/1974 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_152)
Box 47				Dr. Jane Root to Staff Sides 3 & 4 10/07/1974 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_153)
Box 47				Dr. Jane Root to Staff Sides 5 & 6 10/07/1974 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_154)
Box 47			Dr. Diane Sawyer - Nott. Reading Oct 1973 (Audio cassette; running time 40:00) (ID#: lva_155)
Box 47			Schizer, Boris: Rochester, NY; Istanbul, Turkey 10/25/1975 - 411 Conkey Ave., Rochester (467-2771) ; (shop) 36 St. Paul St. Room 212 - Rochester (325-2286) ; Istanbul, Turkey (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: lva_165)
			Tadros, Nada
Box 47				LVA tapes of Nada Tadros (Jordan) & Agnes Fox (Sides #1 & #2) - note: “Attention: Ruth Colvin (From one time, Recent exp[illegible] - not know [illegible])" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_175)
Box 47				LVA tapes of Nada Tadros (Jordan) & Agnes Fox (Sides #3 & #4) - note: “Attention: Ruth Colvin (From one time, Recent exp[illegible] - not know [illegible])" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_176)
Box 47				LVA tapes of Nada Tadros (Jordan) & Agnes Fox (Side #5) - note: “Attention: Ruth Colvin (From one time, Recent exp[illegible] - not know [illegible])" (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_177)
Box 48			To Read, To Speak, To Live! (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_179)
Box 47			New Years Day - Vietnamese Family 01/01/1976 - side No. 1: Uncle Bob, Aunt Ruth and the Pfam family from Viet Nam ; side No. 2: Instructional Workshop Session #2 - Section 6+7+8+9 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: lva_166)
			Waterman, Vurlean
Box 47				Mrs. Vurlean Waterman - from Dorothy Clark - 89 Hampton St. #104, Hartford, Connecticut 06120, (203) 247-4164. (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: lva_173)
Box 47				Vurlean Waterman, LVA (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_174)
			Workshop for Tutors, ESL
				See also related slides.
Box 48				Orientation, Listening Comp., Testing: Workshop For Tutors, ESL - Segment A (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_191)
Box 48				Orientation, Listening Comp., Testing: Workshop For Tutors, ESL - Segment A (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_192)
Box 48				Getting Started: Workshop For Tutors, ESL - Segment B (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_193)
Box 48				Getting Started: Workshop For Tutors, ESL - Segment B (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_194)
Box 48				Visual Aids: Workshop For Tutors, ESL - Segment C (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_195)
Box 48				Visual Aids: Workshop For Tutors, ESL - Segment C (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_196)
Box 48				Teaching Language Skills: Workshop For Tutors, ESL - Segment D (Master Synch Tape) - Slide 1 on screen when tape starts. (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_197)
Box 48				Teaching Language Skills: Workshop For Tutors, ESL - Segment D (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_198)
Box 48				Special Techniques: Workshop for Tutors, Segment E (Auto) (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_199)
Box 48				Special Techniques: Workshop for Tutors, Segment E (Auto) (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_200)
Box 48				Other Cultures, Citizenship: Workshop for Tutors, Segment F (Auto) (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_201)
Box 48				Other Cultures, Citizenship: Workshop for Tutors, Segment F (Auto) (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_202)
Box 48				Survival Skills: Workshop For Tutors, ESL - Segment G (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_203)
Box 48				Survival Skills: Workshop For Tutors, ESL - Segment G (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_204)
Box 48				Goals And Lesson Plans: Workshop For Tutors, ESL - Segment H (Master Synch Tape) - Slide 1 on screen when tape starts. (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_205)
Box 48				Goals and Lesson Plans: Workshop for Tutors, ESL - Segment H (Auto) (Audio cassette) (ID#: lva_206)
Box 46			[unidentified] F-1 (Audio cassette; running time 18:04) (ID#: lva_132)
Box 46			[unidentified] F-2 (Audio cassette; running time 19:52) (ID#: lva_133)
Box 46			[unidentified] G-2 (Audio cassette; running time 9:58) (ID#: lva_134)
Box 46			[unidentified] Seg. 5 (Audio cassette; running time 28:46) (ID#: lva_135)
Box 46			[unidentified] Seg. 6 (Audio cassette; running time 25:00) (ID#: lva_136)
		Films
			Films listed without a box number should be requested using the ID number, for example "lva_394."
Reel			WYES-TV: "It Takes Only Two", print 4/22/1964 - telerecording (16mm film; running time 35:00) (ID#: lva_394)
				Film credits: "Literacy Project of the United Church Women, WHEN-TV Public Affairs Presentation".
Reel			WYES TV: "It Takes Only Two", Neg 4/22/1964 - telerecording (16mm film) (ID#: lva_393)
				Leader note: "#24366".
Reel			WYES TV: "Literacy Volunteers", Sections 5 & 6, R 4, A Roll, Neg undated - telerecording (16mm film) (ID#: lva_391)
				Leader note: "4041 H-W [Holland-Wgman] Head Roll 4, Pict 900-15, Track 750-1."
Reel			Literacy Volunteers, Session 2, Section 4, R 3, Neg. undated - telerecording (16mm film) (ID#: lva_390)
Reel			Literacy Volunteers, Session 3, Sections 7, 8, 9, R 5, Neg. undated - telerecording (16mm film; running time 35:00) (ID#: lva_392)
Reel			WHEN-TV: Literacy Volunteers, Session 1, Section 1, R 1, Neg. undated - telerecording (16mm film; running time 30:00) (ID#: lva_388)
				This is a literacy workshop with voluntary teachers, Mrs. Robert Colvin; Mrs. Martin Headle, Mrs. Ida Lamoy, presenting English lessons with Cyrillic alphabet transcription. Leader notes: "R 1; 4041 Holland Wegman, Roll 1A, Session 1, Section 1, Less 2, B & C (Negative).
Reel			Literacy Volunteers, Sessions 2 & 3, R 2, Neg. undated - telerecording (16mm film) (ID#: lva_389)
				Leader notes: "Pict. 900-15, Track 750-1; Sec. half of R 2."
Reel			[Literacy Volunteers, Session 4, Section 10 & 11] Neg. undated - telerecording (16mm film; running time 25:00) (ID#: lva_106)
				Leader notes: "4041 Holland Wegman, Section 10 & 11, R 6; Roll 2, Session 4."
		Filmstrips
Box 41			Basic Reading Tutor Training Workshops (6 rolls)
		Slides
			Slides were extremely difficult to identify. In the inventory below, everything written on a slide box has been transcribed.
Box 41			"Additional Training Techniques for Special Reading Problems" (BK3, BRW-K3) (3 boxes)
			"Basic Reading Tutor Training Workshop"
Box 41				Segment F(a). "Assessment and Goal Setting" 1987 (2 boxes)
Box 41				Segment F(b). "Goal Analysis and Lesson Planning" 1987 (2 boxes)
Box 41				Segment G(2) 1987 (2 boxes)
Box 41				Miscellaneous 1987 (1 box)
Box 43			Basic Reading Workshop (3-ring binder)
Box 43			Basic Reading Workshop Segment K1 (3-ring binder)
Box 43			"Comp. & Study" (BL-2, BL-3) (2 slide carousels)
Box 41			"Comprehension and Study Skills" (BL3 and Part 2) (2 boxes)
Box 42			ESL (3-ring binder)
Box 42			"ESL Overview" (1 slide carousel)
			ESL Workshop
Box 41				"ESL-A" (2 boxes)
Box 41				"ESL-B" (2 boxes)
Box 41				"ESL-C" (2 boxes)
Box 41				"ESL-D" (2 boxes)
Box 41				"ESL-E (2 boxes)
Box 41				"ESL-F" (2 boxes)
Box 41				"ESL-G" (2 boxes)
Box 41				"ESL-H" (2 boxes)
Box 41				"Seg.5 F1" (1 box)
Box 41			"Flora" (2 boxes)
Box 42			Goals and Lessons Plans; Assessment and Goal Setting; Teaching Language Skills; Formal Assessment; Goal Analysis and lesson Planning (3-ring binder)
Box 41			"Human Interest Stories" (3 boxes)
Box 41			Intercultural Communication (E1) (1 box)
Box 42			Language Experience; Sight Words; Word Patterns (3-ring binder)
Box 41			"PR. To Read, to Speak, to Live" (1 box)
Box 41			Teacher Training Workshop ("BRW Replacement A, B, C) 1976 (1 box)
			Tutor Training Workshop
Box 41				Segment A. Introduction (BA) (2 boxes)
Box 41				Segment B. The Experience Story (Language Experience) (BB) (4 boxes)
Box 41				Segment C. Sight Words (BC) (2 boxes)
Box 41				Segment D. Learning to Read by…Phonics (BD) (2 boxes)
Box 41				Segment E. Learning to Read by…Word Patterns (BE) (4 boxes)
Box 41				Segment G. Applying all techniques (BG) (2 boxes)
Box 41				Segment I. Lesson Plans and Goals (BI) (2 boxes)
Box 41				Segment J. Student Motivation and Reinforcement (BJ) (4 boxes)
Box 41			Miscellaneous slides (2 boxes)
		Videorecordings
			American Library Association (ALA)
Box 52				American Library Association - meeting at the Chicago Sheraton Plaza - TAPE #1 - Dr. Anna Marie Larson 09/25/1975 (1/2 inch videotape) (ID#: lva_089)
Box 52				American Library Association - meeting at the Chicago Sheraton Plaza - TAPE #2 - Dr. Anna Marie Larson 09/25/1975 (1/2 inch videotape) (ID#: lva_090)
Box 52				American Library Association - meeting at the Chicago Sheraton Plaza - TAPE #3 - Dr. Anna Marie Larson, Mrs. Jinx Crouch 09/25/1975 (1/2 inch videotape) (ID#: lva_091)
Box 52				Reel #I ALA 09/26/1975 (1/2 inch videotape) (ID#: lva_092)
Box 52				Reel #II ALA 09/26/1975 (1/2 inch videotape) (ID#: lva_093)
Box 52				Reel #III ALA - American Library Assoc. Tape #3 09/26/1975 (1/2 inch videotape) (ID#: lva_094)
Box 52				Reel #IV ALA "CYR" 09/26/1975 (1/2 inch videotape) (ID#: lva_095)
Box 52				Reel #V ALA 09/26/1975 (1/2 inch videotape) (ID#: lva_096)
Box 52			Basic Reading - Introduction (U-matic; running time 28:20) (ID#: lva_100)
Box 53			Basic Reading Tutor Training Workshop "Introduction" 03/31/1983 (1 inch videotape: SMPTE Type C; running time 28:20) (ID#: lva_107)
Box 52			[Tutor Training Workshop, Segment 6] Goals & Lesson Plans 07/12/1985 (U-matic; running time 60:00) (ID#: lva_099)
Box 52			LVA Field Service Copy (U-matic; running time 12:00) (ID#: lva_101)
Box 53			LVA - Sub Master - "Basic Reading - Intro" (1 inch videotape: SMPTE Type C; running time 28:30) (ID#: lva_105)
Box 53			Lang. Exp. Approach (Revised) 12/28/1984 (1 inch videotape: SMPTE Type C; running time 28:18) (ID#: lva_108)
			Literacy Volunteers Awards Ceremony
Box 52				Lit Vol Awards Ceremony Fri. Oct. 4. #1 - Dorothy Clark - Discussion on pins, Tutor (BR & ESL) Award, Administrative Award ; D. Clark - Intro to RJ Colvin Awards. (U-matic: SP) (ID#: lva_102)
Box 52				Lit Vol Awards Ceremony Fri. Oct. 4. #2 - Ends - Dorothy Clark Summarizing Ruth J. Colvin Awards - Includes Tutor Awards (no student) (U-matic: SP) (ID#: lva_103)
			Literacy Workshop, San Francisco July 3, 1975
Box 52				Literacy Workshop, San Francisco, Tape I 07/03/1975 - J. Nelson, J. Coleman, B Wedgeworth (1/2 inch videotape) (ID#: lva_097)
Box 52				[Literacy Workshop, San Francisco] A.L.A. Lit. Tape #2 07/03/1975 (1/2 inch videotape) (ID#: lva_098)
Box 53			Public Affairs, Literacy Volunteers Of America, Inc. 08/12/1977 (2 inch videotape: Quad; running time 2:30) (ID#: lva_104)
				Cut 1 - Basic Reading Prog. - tutor ; 2 - General ; 3 - Basic Reading Prog. - student ; 4 - ESL Prog. - student ; 5 - ESL Prog. - tutor

Return to top