Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Manning, Reg, 1905-1986
Title:	Reg Manning Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1941-1969
Bulk Dates:	1954-1964
Quantity:	21.8 linear ft.
Abstract:	Approximately 2,600 original editorial cartoons syndicated through the McNaught Syndicate and published locally in the Arizona Republic and artwork for single panel cartoons, Little Itchy Itchy, The Little Savage, The Ordinary Americans and Oh Say Can You See--?. Correspondence, book illustrations and articles about Manning are also included.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Reginald Manning (1905-1986) was a Pulitzer Prize winning American editorial cartoonist.

Born April 8, 1905 in Kansas City, Missouri, Reg Manning moved to Phoenix, Arizona in 1919 with his brother and their widowed mother. While in high school, Manning received his only formal art training and drew cartoons. After graduation, he pursued freelance work for two years before being hired as an artist and photographer at the Arizona Republic in 1926 (then the Arizona Republican), replacing Webb Smith.

At first Manning drew few editorial cartoons and instead focused on a full page Sunday current events cartoon, "The Big Parade" which appeared from October 1926 through April 1948. It included a variety of elements commenting on local issues as well as other features including Traffic Jam, a safety cartoon, Ruff Riter, and the Snooper’s Dirt Diary. Manning wanted work as a comic strip artist but his editorial cartoons proved more popular and newspapers across the United States began to reprint them. In 1937 Manning became affiliated with the McNaught Syndicate and his cartoons would eventually appear in over 125 newspapers. Manning worked out of his home and with McNaught's mailing center in Arizona to produce six cartoons a week while he also contributed a weekly cartoon to the Arizona Republic. Manning's work was well known as having an openly conservative tone.

In 1951 Manning received the Pulitzer Prize for one of his cartoons about the Korean War, "Hats". Also in May of that year, "Reg Manning Day" was held at Arizona State University with Barry Goldwater as the master of ceremonies. This event honored 25 years of Manning's work. Manning traveled giving chalk talks to soldiers and spoke as part of several college and university lecture series. He also served on the board of the Desert Botanical Garden of Arizona and was a member of the National Cartoonists Society as well as the Arizona Press Club, the Phoenix Press Club and the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists. The United States Treasury Department gave Manning a citation for his efforts to promote savings bonds.

Manning also received over a dozen awards from Freedoms Foundation, the 1957 National Safety Council Award and the Abraham Lincoln Award in 1971 and 1972. Manning's b books include two books about Arizona, The Cartoon Guide to Arizona (1938) and What Kinda Cactus Izzat? (1941), a guide to desert plants in the southwest. He also illustrated From Tee to Cup (1954) and a compilation of his cartoons was published in 1980 as Best of Reg. His other artistic work included jewelry, stationary, watercolor paintings and fabric designs.

Manning worked for the Arizona Republic for over 50 years and reduced his work load in 1980. Reginald Manning died in Phoenix, Arizona on March 10, 1986.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Reg Manning Papers are divided into four series consisting of original cartoon artwork and illustrations, published material, biographical material and correspondence.

The Original Artwork series (1941-1964) contains primarily editorial cartoons published by the Arizona Republic and syndicated by the McNaught Syndicate but also single panel cartoons and book illustrations.

There are approximately 2,607 original editorial cartoons, 2,194 of which were syndicated and approximately 413 for local publication in the Arizona Republic. Typically a separate local cartoon appeared in the Arizona Republic, while Manning produced other cartoons specifically for the McNaught Syndicate. However, it appears several cartoons may have been used in both as they are labeled "Republic" but also bear a sticker from the McNaught Syndicate.

Several recurring characters and themes can be found in Manning’s work such as Uno Who, a man representing the average American taxpayer. Manning expressed thoughts about how the government works under the title "The Wizards of Washington". At the end of each year, Manning produced a cartoon tying together major events of the year and his April Fool's Day cartoons joked about unlikely events and political partnerships. Manning also regularly drew cartoons about fatal automobile accidents around the holidays to promote traffic and highway safety.

Manning's local cartoons addressed issues including struggles with California to obtain Colorado River water, property taxes, the appeal of Arizona as a snowbird destination, Arizona’s soaring population and the growth of Phoenix through annexation.

The cartoons were drawn with pen, ink and crayon on illustration board and measure approximately 11" x 14 1/2". Captions appear in heavy black ink at the top. Syndicated cartoons bear the name of the McNaught Syndicate. Manning mailed in cartoons several in advance of their scheduled publication. Please note, the date on the cartoon is the date on which it was scheduled to be mailed, not necessarily the publication date. Because Manning produced cartoons several days in advance, there are several cartoons in the collection that were not published, according to notations, because they were no longer timely. On some cartoons, Manning gave instructions to the syndicate to alter the cartoon depending on election outcomes. See cartoons from July 1960 for examples of this. Also of interest is a cartoon about John Glenn's space orbit which was to only be published if the mission was successful. The date of publication for cartoons appearing in the Arizona Republic is written on the local cartoons.

Also included is approximately 280 pieces of original artwork, 11" x 14 1/2" in size, from four different single panel cartoons, Little Itchy-Itchy (1945), The Little Savage (1946-1949), The Ordinary Americans (1954-1955), and Oh Say Can You See (1961-1963). Little Itchy-Itchy depicted the Japanese during World War II. The Ordinary Americans profiled average people holding various occupations. Oh Say Can You See--? illustrated patriotic themes. There are illustrations done in ink (traces of pencil are visible) from the book From Tee to Cup which measure approximately 14 1/2" x 23".

Correspondence (1954) contains letters from readers including ordinary citizens and businessmen. The correspondence is typically about Manning’s series, The Ordinary Americans. Correspondents include a miner who disagrees with Manning’s portrayal of salesmen, a unionized waitress and an 80 year old woman. Several copies of cartoons are attached to correspondence.

Biographical material consists of a typed biography of Manning as well as one photograph. Both are undated.

Published material (1954-1969) contains several newspaper and magazine articles about Manning and material related to From Tee to Cup.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Original artwork is divided into cartoons and illustrations. Editorial cartoons arranged chronologically but separated within each year by type of cartoon- those published locally in the Arizona Republic and syndicated cartoons. Panel cartoons are divided by title are also arranged in chronological order. Illustrations for From Tee to Cup are in page order number.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The following items have been removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books:

• From Tee to Cup (1954)
• Little Itchy Itchy, and other cartoons (1944)

• Best of Reg (1980)
• Reg Manning's desert in crystal : photographs of the artist's copper wheel (1973)

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than a hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Reg Manning Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Reg Manning, 1964, 1973, 1985.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: –
Date: 1967
Revision history: 1 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 26 Feb 2010 - added detailed inventory, index, scope and bio (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

	Original Artwork
		Editorial cartoons 11" x 14 1/2"
			Click here for a detailed inventory.
Oversize 1, Folder 1			1941 Jan, 1944 Nov, 1945 Mar-Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 1, Folder 2			1945 May-Aug, 1945 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 1, Folder 3			1947 Jun-Jul (local)
Oversize 1, Folder 4			1947 Mar-Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 1, Folder 5			1948 Feb, 1948 Apr-Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 1, Folder 6			1948 Nov-Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 1, Folder 7			1949 Mar (local)
Oversize 1, Folder 8			1949 Jan-Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 1, Folder 9			1949 Jul-Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 1, Folder 10			1949 Apr-Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 1, Folder 11			1949 Oct-Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 2, Folder 1			1950 Jan-Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 2, Folder 2			1950 May-Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 2, Folder 3			1950 Aug (local)
Oversize 2, Folder 4			1950 Sep-Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 2, Folder 5			1951 Jan-Feb, 1951 Apr, 1951 Jun, 1951 Aug, 1951 Nov (local)
Oversize 2, Folder 6			1951 Jan-Feb, 1951 Apr-May (syndicated)
Oversize 2, Folder 7			1951 Jun-Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 2, Folder 8			1951 Aug-Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 2, Folder 9			1951 Oct-Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 3, Folder 1			1952 Jan-Mar, 1952 May-Jul, 1952 Oct (local)
Oversize 3, Folder 2			1952 Jan-Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 3, Folder 3			1952 Apr-Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 3, Folder 4			1952 Jul-Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 3, Folder 5			1952 Oct-Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 3, Folder 6			1953 Jan, 1953 Mar, 1953 Jun, 1953 Sep-Oct, 1953 Dec (local)
Oversize 3, Folder 7			1953 Jan-Apr, 1953 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 3, Folder 8			1954 Jan, 1954 Mar-May, 1954 Sep-Nov (local)
Oversize 3, Folder 9			1954 Jan-Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 3, Folder 10			1954 May-Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 4, Folder 1			1955 Jan, 1955 Apr-May, 1955 Jul, 1955 Nov (local)
Oversize 4, Folder 2			1955 Jan-Mar, 1955 May-Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 4, Folder 3			1955 Aug-Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 4, Folder 4			1956 Feb-Apr, 1956 Jun-Dec (local)
Oversize 4, Folder 5			1956 Jan-Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 4, Folder 6			1956 Apr-May (syndicated)
Oversize 4, Folder 7			1956 Jun-Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 5, Folder 1			1956 Aug-Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 5, Folder 2			1956 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 5, Folder 3			1956 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 5, Folder 4			1956 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 5, Folder 5			1956 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 5, Folder 6			1957 Jan-May (local)
Oversize 5, Folder 7			1957 Jun-Sep (local)
Oversize 5, Folder 8			1957 Oct-Dec (local)
Oversize 6, Folder 1			1957 Jan (syndicated)
Oversize 6, Folder 2			1957 Feb (syndicated)
Oversize 6, Folder 3			1957 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 6, Folder 4			1957 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 6, Folder 5			1957 Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 6, Folder 6			1957 May (syndicated)
Oversize 6, Folder 7			1957 May (syndicated)
Oversize 6, Folder 8			1957 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 7, Folder 1			1957 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 7, Folder 2			1957 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 7, Folder 3			1957 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 7, Folder 4			1957 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 7, Folder 5			1957 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 7, Folder 6			1957 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 7, Folder 7			1957 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 7, Folder 8			1957 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 7, Folder 9			1957 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 7, Folder 10			1957 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 8, Folder 1			1957 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 8, Folder 2			1957 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 8, Folder 3			1958 Jan-May (local)
Oversize 8, Folder 4			1958 Jun-Sep (local)
Oversize 8, Folder 5			1958 Oct-Dec (local)
Oversize 8, Folder 6			1958 Jan (syndicated)
Oversize 8, Folder 7			1958 Feb (syndicated)
Oversize 9, Folder 1			1958 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 9, Folder 2			1958 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 9, Folder 3			1958 Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 9, Folder 4			1958 May (syndicated)
Oversize 9, Folder 5			1958 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 9, Folder 6			1958 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 9, Folder 7			1958 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 9, Folder 8			1958 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 10, Folder 1			1958 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 10, Folder 2			1958 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 10, Folder 3			1958 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 10, Folder 4			1958 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 10, Folder 5			1958 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 10, Folder 6			1958 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 10, Folder 7			1958 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 10, Folder 8			1958 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 11, Folder 1			1959 Jan-Apr (local)
Oversize 11, Folder 2			1959 May-Sep (local)
Oversize 11, Folder 3			1959 Oct-Dec (local)
Oversize 11, Folder 4			1959 Jan (syndicated)
Oversize 11, Folder 5			1959 Feb (syndicated)
Oversize 11, Folder 6			1959 Feb (syndicated)
Oversize 11, Folder 7			1959 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 11, Folder 8			1959 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 12, Folder 1			1959 Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 12, Folder 2			1959 Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 12, Folder 3			1959 May (syndicated)
Oversize 12, Folder 4			1959 May (syndicated)
Oversize 12, Folder 5			1959 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 12, Folder 6			1959 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 12, Folder 7			1959 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 12, Folder 8			1959 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 13, Folder 1			1959 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 13, Folder 2			1959 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 13, Folder 3			1959 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 13, Folder 4			1959 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 13, Folder 5			1959 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 13, Folder 6			1959 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 13, Folder 7			1959 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 13, Folder 8			1959 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 14, Folder 1			1959 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 14, Folder 2			1959 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 14, Folder 3			1960 Jan-Apr (local)
Oversize 14, Folder 4			1960 May-Aug (local)
Oversize 14, Folder 5			1960 Sep-Dec (local)
Oversize 14, Folder 6			1960 Jan (syndicated)
Oversize 14, Folder 7			1960 Feb (syndicated)
Oversize 14, Folder 8			1960 Feb (syndicated)
Oversize 15, Folder 1			1960 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 15, Folder 2			1960 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 15, Folder 3			1960 Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 15, Folder 4			1960 Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 15, Folder 5			1960 May (syndicated)
Oversize 15, Folder 6			1960 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 15, Folder 7			1960 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 15, Folder 8			1960 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 16, Folder 1			1960 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 16, Folder 2			1960 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 16, Folder 3			1960 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 16, Folder 4			1960 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 16, Folder 5			1960 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 16, Folder 6			1960 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 16, Folder 7			1960 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 16, Folder 8			1960 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 17, Folder 1			1961 Jan-Mar (local)
Oversize 17, Folder 2			1961 Apr-Jul (local)
Oversize 17, Folder 3			1961 Aug-Dec (local)
Oversize 17, Folder 4			1961 Jan (syndicated)
Oversize 17, Folder 5			1961 Jan (syndicated)
Oversize 17, Folder 6			1961 Feb (syndicated)
Oversize 17, Folder 7			1961 Feb (syndicated)
Oversize 18, Folder 1			1961 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 18, Folder 2			1961 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 18, Folder 3			1961 Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 18, Folder 4			1961 Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 18, Folder 5			1961 May (syndicated)
Oversize 18, Folder 6			1961 May (syndicated)
Oversize 18, Folder 7			1961 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 18, Folder 8			1961 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 19, Folder 1			1961 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 19, Folder 2			1961 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 19, Folder 3			1961 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 19, Folder 4			1961 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 19, Folder 5			1961 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 19, Folder 6			1961 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 19, Folder 7			1961 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 19, Folder 8			1961 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 20, Folder 1			1961 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 20, Folder 2			1961 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 20, Folder 3			1961 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 20, Folder 4			1961 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 20, Folder 5			1962 Jan-May (local)
Oversize 20, Folder 6			1962 Jun-Jul (local)
Oversize 20, Folder 7			1962 Aug-Sep (local)
Oversize 20, Folder 8			1962 Oct-Dec (local)
Oversize 21, Folder 1			1962 Jan (syndicated)
Oversize 21, Folder 2			1962 Jan (syndicated)
Oversize 21, Folder 3			1962 Feb (syndicated)
Oversize 21, Folder 4			1962 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 21, Folder 5			1962 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 21, Folder 6			1962 Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 21, Folder 7			1962 May (syndicated)
Oversize 21, Folder 8			1962 May (syndicated)
Oversize 22, Folder 1			1962 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 22, Folder 2			1962 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 22, Folder 3			1962 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 22, Folder 4			1962 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 22, Folder 5			1962 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 22, Folder 6			1962 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 22, Folder 7			1962 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 22, Folder 8			1962 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 22, Folder 9			1962 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 22, Folder 10			1962 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 23, Folder 1			1962 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 23, Folder 2			1962 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 23, Folder 3			1962 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 23, Folder 4			1962 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 23, Folder 5			1963 Jan-Feb (local)
Oversize 23, Folder 6			1963 Mar-Apr (local)
Oversize 23, Folder 7			1963 May-Jul (local)
Oversize 23, Folder 8			1963 Aug-Oct (local)
Oversize 24, Folder 1			1963 Nov-Dec (local)
Oversize 24, Folder 2			1963 Jan (syndicated)
Oversize 24, Folder 3			1963 Jan (syndicated)
Oversize 24, Folder 4			1963 Feb (syndicated)
Oversize 24, Folder 5			1963 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 24, Folder 6			1963 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 24, Folder 7			1963 Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 24, Folder 8			1963 Apr (syndicated)
Oversize 24, Folder 9			1964 May (syndicated)
Oversize 24, Folder 10			1964 May (syndicated)
Oversize 25, Folder 1			1963 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 25, Folder 2			1963 Jun (syndicated)
Oversize 25, Folder 3			1963 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 25, Folder 4			1963 Jul (syndicated)
Oversize 25, Folder 5			1963 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 25, Folder 6			1963 Aug (syndicated)
Oversize 25, Folder 7			1963 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 25, Folder 8			1963 Sep (syndicated)
Oversize 25, Folder 9			1963 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 25, Folder 10			1963 Oct (syndicated)
Oversize 26, Folder 1			1963 Nov (syndicated)
Oversize 26, Folder 2			1963 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 26, Folder 3			1963 Dec (syndicated)
Oversize 26, Folder 4			1964 Jan-Apr (local)
Oversize 26, Folder 5			1964 Jan (syndicated)
Oversize 26, Folder 6			1964 Feb (syndicated)
Oversize 26, Folder 7			1964 Mar (syndicated)
Oversize 26, Folder 8			1964 Apr (syndicated)
		Cartoons (single panel) 11" x 14 1/2" (280 items)
Oversize 27			Little Itchy Itchy 1945 (17 items)
				Click here for a detailed inventory.
Oversize 27			The Little Savage 1946-1949 (79 items)
				Click here for a detailed inventory.
Oversize 28			Oh Say Can You See--? 1961-1963 (122 items)
				Click here for a detailed inventory.
Oversize 27			The Ordinary Americans 1954-1955 (72 items)
				Click here for a detailed inventory.
		Illustrations
Oversize 29			From Tee to Cup circa 1954 - pages 1, 4-7, 9-19, 23-43, 45-47, 55-57, 59-60, 62-63, 66-69, 71-72, 74-79, 81-87, 90-95, 100-112 (49 items)

	Biographical Material
Box 1		Photograph and typed biography undated

	Correspondence
Box 1		Incoming correspondence 1954

	Published material
Box 1		Articles
			Arizona Republic 75th Anniversary section - May 16, 1965 Front page of Arizona Republic with "Ordinary Americans" cartoon- January 11, 1954 Front page of Arizona Republic with "Ordinary Americans" cartoon- January 18, 1954 "L.B.J. & Reg"- May 28, 1954 Review of Manning's book What is Arizona Like from Arizona Highways- February 1969
Box 1		Clipping of color cartoon from the Arizona Republic 1963 Jul 4
Box 1		From Tee to Cup illustrations 1954 - with note of explanation from Manning

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, For example: B1= Box 1

• abortion : B20
• Acheson, Dean : B2; B19
• Adams, Sherman : B9; B26
• Adenauer, Konrad : B4; B7; B12-B13; B18-B19; B21-B22; B24-B25
• Afghanistan : B12
• AFL-CIO : B1; B4-B11; B19-B20
• Africa : B4-B5; B8-B10; B12; B14-B18; B24-B26
• airline industry : B10-B11
• Alabama : B18; B24
• Alaska : B9; B11-B12; B26
• Albania : B19
• Aleman, Miguel : B1
• Algeria : B4; B7; B9; B13-B14; B16; B18; B21-B22; B25
• American Indians : B2; B5; B11; B23
• Americans for Democratic Action : B15; B26
• anti-missile systems : B8; B26
• anti-Semitism : B14
• Argentina : B3; B9; B12; B19; B21; B25-B26
• Arizona National Guard : B2; B4; B8; B11; B17; B20
• Arizona State Legislature : B2-B3; B5; B8; B11; B14; B17; B20; B23; B26
• Arkansas : B9-B10
• armed forces : B1-B2; B4-B9; B11; B13-B16; B17-B22; B24; B26
• arts and culture : B20
• Ashurst, Henry : B20
• Asia : B3-B5; B12; B15-B17; B26
• Atlantic Pact : B1
• Attlee, Clement : B2; B4
• Australia : B5; B9
• Austria : B4-B5
• auto industry : B7; B9-B10
• automation : B12; B21; B26
• aviation : B4-B6; B8-B9; B11
• Baker, Bobby : B26
• bakers' union : B7-B8
• banking industry : B5-B6
• Batista, Fulgencio : B7; B9
• Bay of Pigs invasion : B18; B24
• Beck, Dave : B6-B7
• Belgium : B14; B17-B18
• Ben Bella, Ahmed : B22; B24-B25
• Benson, Ezra Taft : B6; B8-B9; B15-B16
• Berlin Wall : B21-B22; B26
• birth control : B24
• black market : B2
• Bowles, Chester : B16; B19-B20; B22
• Brandt, Willy : B18-B19
• Brazil : B18-B21; B25
• Britain : B1-B14; B17-B19; B21-B26
• Brown Sr., Edmund Gerald "Pat" : B10; B12-B14; B18-B19; B22
• Bulganin, Nikolai : B4-B9
• Bunche, Ralph : B1; B24
• business : B2; B5; B9-B10; B11; B18-B22; B25
• Butler, Paul M. : B10-B11; B15
• Byrd, Robert : B8
• California : B1-B2; B4-B7; B9; B14; B16-B17; B19; B22-B24; B26
• Cambodia : B26
• Canada : B6-B7; B9; B12; B16; B21; B24-B26
• capitalism : B1; B7; B12-B13; B26
• Castro, Fidel : B11-B26
• Castro, Raul : B16; B24
• censorship : B10; B18-B19
• census : B14-B15; B17; B20
• charity : B3-B4; B14; B17; B20; B23
• children : B1; B7; B12; B21
• Chile : B15
• China : B1-B4; B6-B7; B9-B26
• Churchill, Winston : B1-B4
• cities : B16
• civil defense : B19
• civil rights : B4; B7; B14-B15; B18; B20; B22-B23; B25-B26
• coal industry : B1; B24
• Cold War : B2; B4; B6; B10; B14-B16; B26
• college students : B6; B8; B13; B15; B19; B26
• colonialism : B19; B26
• Colorado River : B1-B5; B8; B14; B17; B20; B23
• Columbus, Christopher : B3; B7; B10; B16; B22; B25
• common market : B19-B20; B22-B25
• communism : B1-B7; B9-B21; B23-B26
• Congo : B15-B19; B21; B23-B24
• Congress : B1-B26
• construction industry : B11; B14; B20; B23
• consumers : B5; B8; B17-B18
• Cormier, Lucia : B16
• corruption : B2-B3; B11
• crime : B3-B8; B12; B14; B16; B19-B21; B23; B25-B26
• Cuba : B6-B7; B9; B11-B17; B19-B26
• Cyprus : B4; B9-B10; B26
• Czechoslovakia : B21; B24
• de Gaulle, Charles : B9-B26
• democracy : B2; B12; B14
• Democratic Party : B1-B26
• demonstrations : B10; B19; B25-B26
• demonstrations : B15; B25-B26
• Diem, Ngo Dinh : B25
• Dirksen, Everett : B14; B18; B20; B22
• disarmament : B6-B7; B10; B13; B15; B21
• Dominican Republic : B11; B13; B18; B20; B24
• Dulles, John Foster : B3-B12
• economy : B1; B6; B9; B18-B19
• Ecuador : B25
• Eden, Anthony : B3; B5
• education : B3; B7-B8; B10-B11; B17-B19; B25
• Egypt : B1-B6; B8; B19
• Eichmann, Adolf : B18
• Eisenhower, Dwight : B1-B18; B20-B22; B25-B26
• Eisenhower, Milton : B18
• elderly : B4; B16
• elections : B10; B12; B15-B17; B19-B20; B22-B23; B25-B26
• electricity needs : B17; B23
• En-lai, Chou : B6; B26
• Erhard, Ludwig : B24; B26
• espionage : B1; B6; B16; B21
• Estes, Billie Sol : B4-B5; B22
• Europe : B1-B3; B6; B17; B24; B26
• Fannin, Paul : B14; B16-B17; B20; B23; B26
• farming : B6; B9-B13; B15-B19; B21-B26
• fashion : B17
• Federal Bureau of Investigation : B7
• Federal Communications Commission : B9; B12
• Food and Drug Administration : B22
• foreign aid : B6; B8-B9; B12-B14; B16-B17; B19; B21; B23-B26
• foreign policy : B2-B3; B7; B15; B17-B19; B24; B26
• forest fires : B9; B11; B17; B20; B23
• Formosa : B2-B3; B8; B10; B16
• France : B2-B14; B16; B18-B19; B21-B22; B26
• Franco, Francisco : B2; B8; B26
• freedom of the press : B11; B15-B16; B19; B23; B25
• freedom : B2; B4; B8-B9; B12; B15; B18
• Freeman, Orville : B18-B19; B22; B24-B25
• Frondizi, Arturo : B12; B21
• Fulbright, J. William : B19; B24-B26
• Germany : B1-B4; B7-B16; B18-B22; B25
• Glenn, John : B20-B21; B26
• Goddard, Sam : B20
• gold reserve : B16; B25
• Goldwater, Barry : B3-B4; B10-B11; B17-B21; B23-B26
• Gomulka, Władysław : B9-B10; B22
• Goulart, João : B20-B21
• government (in general) : B1-B2; B6; B9; B12; B14-B15; B19-B24; B26
• government spending : B10; B18-B21; B23-B26
• graduates : B1; B3-B4; B9; B18; B21; B24
• Greece : B1; B4; B9-B10; B26
• Gromyko, Andrei : B6-B7; B9; B12; B15; B18-B19; B22; B25
• Guantanamo : B15; B17; B26
• Guatemala : B3
• Guevara, Che : B14-B16
• Guinea : B17
• Haiti : B24
• Halleck, Charles : B18
• Hammarskjold, Dag : B10; B16-B19
• Harriman, W. Averell : B4; B10; B18-B19; B25-B26
• Hawaii : B5; B9; B11-B12
• Hayden, Carl : B4; B6; B10; B17; B20; B22-B24; B26
• healthcare : B8; B11; B15; B17; B21
• Herter, Christian : B12-B13
• Hirohito : B1
• Hitler, Adolf : B1; B4
• Hoffa, Jimmy : B7; B10; B12; B18-B20; B25-B26
• holidays : B1-B6; B8; B10-B20; B23-B26
• Hoover, Hebert : B17; B20
• House Un-American Activities Committee : B1
• housing : B19-B20; B23
• Hsiu Chuan, Wu : B24
• Humphrey, Hubert : B12-B15; B19; B22; B24; B26
• Hungary : B1; B5-B7; B9-B10; B12; B18; B23; B25
• Hussein : B6
• Iceland : B5; B10; B12
• Illinois : B16
• India : B3-B7; B11-B14; B19-B24
• Indonesia : B9-B10; B14; B17
• industry (general) : B1; B10; B12; B17; B19-B21; B24
• inflation : B2-B3; B6-B7; B9-B10; B12; B21-B22
• integration : B4-B7; B9-B10; B14; B24
• Iran : B2-B3; B10
• Iraq : B5; B8; B10-B12; B18; B24
• Israel : B1; B4; B6; B10-B11; B14; B18-B19; B24-B25
• Italy : B7; B11; B15; B24-B25
• Japan : B1-B3; B6-B7; B19; B21
• John Birch Society : B18; B25
• Johnson, Lyndon Baines : B10-B19; B22; B26
• Jordan : B6-B9; B24
• journalism : B1; B3; B10; B13; B16; B18-B19; B22-B25
• judicial system : B2-B3; B14; B17; B26
• justice : B8; B14
• juvenile delinquency : B2; B4-B6; B8; B13; B26
• Kai-shek, Chiang : B2-B3; B10
• Kefauver, Estes : B4; B14
• Kennedy, Caroline : B24
• Kennedy, Jacqueline : B17; B24-B25
• Kennedy, John F. : B7; B11-B26
• Kennedy, Joseph P. : B16
• Kennedy, Robert F. : B16; B18-B19; B22; B24-B26
• Kennedy, Ted : B16; B21-B22
• Khedda, Ben : B22
• Khrushchev, Nikita : B4-B26
• King Saud of Saudi Arabia : B6
• Knight, Goodwin : B6-B7; B10; B19
• Knowland, William : B6-B7; B9-B10
• Korea : B7; B15; B22; B25
• Korean War : B2-B3
• Kuwait : B18-B19
• labor : B9; B12; B16; B21
• Laos : B13; B16; B18; B21-B22; B24-B25
• Latin America : B3; B6; B8; B13-B14; B16-B19; B21-B26
• Lebanon : B9
• left-wing extremists : B25
• Lewis, John : B1-B2
• liberty : B2; B7
• Lilienthal, David E. : B1
• Lincoln, Abraham : B1; B11
• Little Rock : B9-B10
• Lodge Jr., Henry Cabot : B16; B26
• Lodge, George C. : B22
• Long, Earl : B12
• Lumumba, Patrice : B16-B17
• MacArthur, Douglas : B2; B19; B26
• MacMillan, Harold : B6; B9-B13; B15; B17-B18; B20-B25
• Makarios III : B26
• Malaysia : B25
• Malenkov, Georgy : B3-B4
• Malinovsky, Rodion : B15
• Mansfield, Mike : B19; B22
• Marshall Plan : B1
• Massachusetts : B21-B23
• Mateos, Adolfo López : B11
• Matheson, Mac : B17
• McCarthy, Joseph : B3-B4
• McCormacK, Eddie : B21-B22
• McCormack, John : B20-B22; B26
• McFarland, Ernest : B3-B5; B8
• McNamara, Robert : B12; B22-B24; B26
• Meany, George : B11; B19; B22; B26
• Medicare : B20-B23
• Menon, Krishna : B22-B23
• Mexico : B1; B3; B20; B22; B26
• Middle East : B2-B7; B9-B12; B14; B19; B22; B25
• Mikoyan, Anastas : B11; B14; B19
• Mills, Wilbur : B22
• mining : B18
• Mississippi : B22; B26
• Molotov, Vyacheslav : B3-B4; B6-B7; B10; B21
• Mongolia : B7
• Monroe Doctrine : B15
• morality : B21
• Morocco : B8; B25
• Morse, Wayne : B12; B14-B15; B22; B26
• Murrow, Edward R. : B17
• Mussolini, Benito : B1; B4
• Nasser, Gamal Abdel : B4-B7; B9-B14; B17-B19; B23-B24
• national debt : B1; B3; B7; B17-B18; B22-B26
• nationalism : B2; B11-B12
• NATO : B3-B6; B8-B14; B22-B24; B26
• natural disasters : B2; B12; B15; B26
• nature : B4-B5; B8; B11; B20; B25
• Nazism : B14; B18
• Nehru, Jawaharlal : B3-B5; B12-B14; B18; B20-B23
• Nepal : B13
• neutrality : B4; B13; B18-B19; B21
• New Deal : B1
• New Guinea : B21
• New York (State) : B10-B11; B23-B24; B26
• New York City : B8; B17; B19; B24; B26
• Nhu, Ngo Dinh : B25
• Nixon, Pat : B3
• Nixon, Richard M. : B3; B5-B16; B18-B19; B22; B24-B26
• North Borneo : B26
• nuclear weapons : B1-B7; B9-B10; B12-B15; B18-B26
• oil : B2; B5-B11; B18; B26
• Olympics : B5; B26
• organized crime : B7; B9; B22
• Oswald, Lee Harvey : B26
• pacifism : B9; B17
• Pakistan : B10; B13; B19; B21-B23; B26
• Palestine : B1; B24
• Panama Canal : B14; B26
• Panama : B12; B26
• Peace Corps : B19; B24
• peace : B1-B2; B5-B6; B9; B12; B18; B21-B22; B25
• Pennsylvania : B8-B9; B22
• Peron, Juan Domingo : B3-B4; B9; B25
• Peru : B9
• Petkov, Nikola : B1
• Philippines : B9; B11; B19; B22
• Poland : B4-B7; B9; B21; B24
• police : B8; B24
• polio : B17
• politicians : B4; B13; B15
• pollution : B3; B8; B20; B23; B26
• population : B4; B6; B11; B14; B17; B20; B23-B24
• Portugal : B20
• Presley, Elvis : B6
• prisons : B8
• Proxmire, William : B11-B12
• Pyle, John Howard : B3
• Qasim, Abd al-Karim (Kassem) : B11-B12; B19
• Quadros, Jânio : B18-B19; B21
• quiz shows : B11; B13
• race : B16
• racism : B7; B12; B15
• railroad industry : B13; B22; B25-B26
• Rayburn, Sam : B10-B11; B13-B20
• religion : B15-B16
• Republican Party : B1-B26
• Reuther, Walter : B8; B10-B11; B13; B16; B18; B26
• Ribicoff, Abraham : B21-B22
• right to work law : B4; B7-B9
• right-wing extremists : B25
• Rockefeller, Nelson : B10-B15; B17; B19; B23-B26
• Romney, George W. : B22-B23; B25
• Roosevelt, Eleanor : B15; B18
• Roosevelt, Theodore : B9-B10; B17-B18
• Rusk, Dean : B17-B19; B21-B22; B24-B26
• Russia : B1-B26
• Ruth, Babe : B19
• Salt River : B8; B20; B23
• Saudi Arabia : B10; B18; B24
• savings bonds : B6
• schools : B2; B5-B11; B14; B19-B20; B23; B25-B26
• science : B4; B8; B10; B12
• Scranton, William : B23; B26
• Searles, Dick : B8
• SEATO : B9; B18
• secrecy : B12; B15
• segregation : B7
• Senner, George F. : B23-B24
• Shepilov, Dmitri : B5-B6
• shipping industry : B1; B12; B19
• Shriver, Sargent : B26
• Sihanouk, Norodom : B26
• Smith, Margaret Chase : B16; B26
• social security : B17; B19; B21-B22
• socialism : B2; B7; B11; B19; B21-B22
• South America : B9-B16; B18-B19
• Soviet Union : B6-B7; B9; B12-B13; B15-B16; B18; B20-B22; B24; B26
• space exploration : B6-B10; B12-B13; B16; B18-B23; B25-B26
• Spain : B14; B26
• sports : B4; B6-B10; B13-B14; B16-B17; B19-B20; B22-B25
• Sputnik : B7-B8
• Stalin, Joseph : B1-B7; B19-B22
• Stassen, Harold : B6-B10; B26
• state fair : B4-B5; B11; B17; B20
• steel industry : B1; B3; B7; B10; B12-B14; B19; B21; B24
• Stevenson, Adlai E. : B3-B5; B7-B8; B12-B15; B17-B19; B23; B26
• stock market : B6-B7
• strikes : B1; B4; B7; B10-B13; B18-B21; B24-B26
• students : B6; B10; B18; B23
• Sudan : B9
• Suez Canal : B2-B3; B5-B6
• Sukarno : B9; B21; B26
• Supreme Court : B7; B10-B11; B18; B23-B24; B26
• Symington, Stuart : B12-B15
• Syria : B5; B7-B9; B19; B24
• Taft Hartley Act : B1; B11; B19
• Taft, Robert : B2-B3
• Tanganyika : B26
• taxes : B1-B3; B5-B26
• Teamsters : B6-B7; B10; B19
• technology : B26
• telephone industry : B4
• television : B9
• terrorism : B21-B22
• Texas : B3; B9; B16; B21; B24
• Thailand : B21
• Thant, U. : B22-B26
• Tibet : B11-B13; B18
• Tito, Josip Broz : B1; B4-B7; B9; B11-B13; B16; B22-B25
• tourism : B3; B9; B13-B15
• trade : B3; B5-B7; B9-B10; B12-B14; B16; B21; B25-B26
• traffic fatalities : B1-B12; B14-B20; B22-B23; B26
• transportation : B3; B5; B7; B9; B11-B14; B17; B20; B22-B23; B26
• Trujillo, Rafael : B11-B13
• Truman, Harry S. : B1-B5; B7-B8; B10; B14-B17; B20
• Tshombe, Moise : B24
• Tunisia : B8-B9; B19
• Turkey : B4-B7; B9-B10; B15; B26
• U.S. Constitution : B2-B3; B7
• U.S. Flag : B2; B4; B9; B12; B22; B25
• U.S. Postal Service : B2; B6-B10; B13; B15; B19; B21; B23; B25
• Udall, Stewart : B14; B16-B18; B20; B23-B24
• Ulbricht, Walter : B19; B25-B26
• unemployment : B8-B10; B16-B19; B22; B26
• unions : B1; B3; B6-B13; B16; B21-B22; B24-B25
• United Arab Republic : B17-B19
• United Arab Republic : B17-B19; B24
• United Auto Workers : B9
• United Nations : B1-B10; B14-B26
• universities : B8; B11; B20
• urban affairs and housing : B21
• utility bills : B9
• Vandenberg, Arthur : B1; B4
• Venezuela : B9; B25
• Vietnam War : B25-B26
• Vishinsky, Andrey : B1
• voting : B3; B5; B8; B10; B13-B16; B18; B20; B23-B24
• Wagner, Jr., Robert F. : B17
• Wallace, Henry : B1
• War on Poverty : B26
• war : B2; B9; B12; B15; B22
• Warren, Earl : B3; B11; B18
• Washington D.C. : B18; B25
• Washington, George : B3; B8; B14; B17; B24
• water safety : B7
• water shortage : B1-B5; B8; B14; B17; B20; B23; B26
• weather : B1-B2; B4-B6; B8-B9; B11; B14; B17; B20-B21; B23-B25
• Wilson, Harold : B4; B7; B24-B25
• World War II : B1; B4; B10; B12; B16; B18; B22; B25
• World's Fair : B9
• Yalta : B1-B2
• Yates, Sidney R. : B22
• Yemen : B23-B24
• Yugoslavia : B1; B7; B9; B21
• Zanzibar : B26
• Zedong, Mao : B3; B9-B13; B15-B18; B20; B22-B26
• Zhukov, Marshal : B7
• Zorin, Valerian : B21

Return to top