Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Kenyon, William, 1753-1826. |
| Title: | New York City Merchant's Ledger |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1784-1802 |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1800-1802 |
| Quantity: | 1 volume. |
| Abstract: | Record of sales of goods, ships and banking transactions, by an unnamed New York City merchant. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Internal evidence, supported by various books of New York State history, strongly suggests that this ledger was kept by William Kenyon (1753-1826). Born in England, Kenyon emigrated to New York in 1774 where he became a merchant, dry goods importer, and landowner in early New York City. He acquired Haerlem Heights, the former estate of Col. Roger Morris, when loyalist Morris was dispossessed of his lands following the American Revolution. Kenyon’s wife was Abigail Bowne Kenyon, whose family (the Bownes of Flushing) had original land holdings in the Nine Partners patent. His brother James Kenyon was the fourth largest cotton importer in Liverpool.
Special Collections Research Center is grateful to researcher Ramin Ganeshram for identifying the ledger's creator.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The New York City Merchant's Ledger consists of a single volume of 488 pages, along with 20 loose pages. The loose pages date from 1784-1791, while the bound ledger spans the years 1800-1802. Internal evidence, supported by various books of New York State history, strongly suggests that the ledger was kept by William Kenyon (1753-1826). The volume details his day-to-day financial transactions: sales of goods to individuals and to shipowners, and also sales of the vessels themselves.
There is no index to either ships or individuals, but it is nevertheless possible to trace specific names through the volume as many were consistent customers. Some of the names which recur are Peter Schermerhorn, James and William Kenyon, and the brigs Friendship, Venus and Aurora. Other surnames of interest to students of early New York history include Wynkoop and Van Sinderen.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Special Collections Research Center has numerous other ledgers, day books and other financial records of New York merchants. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
New York City Merchant's Ledger,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unspecified, 1969.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: -
Date: 1970
Revision history: 17 Oct 2018 - rehoused (MS);
28 Aug 2023 - creator identified as William Kenyon (MRC)