Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Peck, George,1797-1876.
Title:	George Peck Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1793-1878
Quantity:	4.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American Methodist Episcopal clergyman, author, and President of Cazenovia Seminary, a Methodist-supported school in Madison County, New York; includes correspondence, financial material, memorabilia, published material, and writings
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

George Peck (1797-1876) was an American Methodist Episcopal clergyman, author, and President of Cazenovia Seminary, a Methodist-supported school in Madison County, New York. Through his daughter Mary, he is the grandfather of American novelist and poet Stephen Crane.

Born on August 8, 1797 in Middlefield, New York, Peck was associated with the Methodist Episcopal Church throughout his life. He married Mary Myers on June 10, 1819 and the couple had five children: George Myers, Luther W., Mary, William Fletcher (died aged 7 months), and Wilbur Frank. Peck received his A.M. degree from Wesleyan University in 1835 and a D.D. from August College in 1840. He became president of Cazenovia Seminary in 1835, and was also the editor of the Methodist Quarterly Review and the New York Advocate. He died in Scranton, Pennsylvania on May 20, 1876.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Peck Papers consists of correspondence, financial material, memorabilia, published material, and writings.

Correspondence (1793-1878) includes personal, financial and business letters.

Financial material (1823-1876) consists mainly of receipts.

Memorabilia contains such articles as eyeglasses and a stereoscope card of Peck Hall.

Published material consists of advertisements, clippings, and copies of Methodist Quarterly Review and The Ladies' Repository.

Writings includes a set of diaries from 1852-1875, as well as articles, sermons and reports pertaining to the Methodist Episcopal Church for which Peck worked.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence and financial material are arranged chronologically. Memorabilia, published material, anmd writings are arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings related to Methodist church and clergy. For a complete listing of manuscript collections please refer to the SCRC Subject Index . For a complete listed of published material (monographs, periodicals, broadsides, etc.) please refer to Libraries Search .

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Peck Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CMV
Date: 11 Oct 1979
Revision history: 11 Mar 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 7 Jan 2014 - added Stephen Crane connection (MRC); 23 Jan 2025 - collection rehoused, descriptions updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		1793-1798, 1803, 1819-1842 (21 folders)
Box 2		1843-1850 (14 folders)
Box 3		1851-1865 (17 folders)
Box 4		1866-1878, Undated (10 folders)

	Financial papers
Box 6		Account books 1821-1871 (2 folders)
Box 6		Bank book 1863-1868
Box 6		Farm book 1867-1868
Box 4		Receipts 1823-1869 (6 folders)
Box 5		Receipts 1870-1876, undated (2 folders)
Box 6		Subscription book 1857
Box 6		Wyoming Camp Meeting Association stock record

	Memorabilia
Box 6		Bookplates
Box 6		Business cards
Box 6		Deed
Box 6		Eyeglasses
Box 6		Golden wedding anniversary poem and program 1869
Box 6		Leather pouch
Box 5		Peck family genealogy
Box 6		Penwiper
Box 6		Photographs
Oversize 1		Print of George Peck
Box 6		Railroad certificates
Box 6		Seeds
Box 6		Stereoscope card of Heck Hall, Garrett Biblical Institute

	Printed material
Box 6		Advertising flyer flyer for ‘The Golden Age”, a poem by Luther W. Peck
Box 5		Clippings 1838-1871
Box 5		Evangelical Alliance 1846
Box 5		The Ladies' Repository Jul 1843, Jun 1859, Apr 1860, Oct 1864 (4 folders)
Oversize 1		Map: Round Lake Camp Ground [New York], Third National Camp Meeting 1869
Box 6		Methodist Quarterly Review Apr 1862
Box 7		Methodist Quarterly Review Jul 1880
Box 7		Pamphlets 1832-1872
Box 6		Wyoming District Meeting records 1871-1873

	Writings
Box 7		Autobiographical sketch 1813
Box 7		Autobiography
Box 5		Camp meetings 1870
Box 7		Catholicity 1866
Box 7		Diaries 1846, 1852-1861 (10 volumes in 6 folders)
Box 8		Diaries 1862-1863, 1867-1868, 1872-1873, 1875 (7 volumes in 7 folders)
Box 8		Family record
Box 8		First Methodist Class at Ross Hill
Box 8		History of Sanford Charge
			A transcript of this document is available in the finding aids files.
Box 8		History of the Sheshequin Charge 1868
Box 8		Memoranda of circuit travels 1816-1818
Box 8		Report of the Committee on Pastoral Address
Box 8		The Seminary As It Relates to the Ministry
Box 5		Sermons and speeches
Box 5			National evils and their remedy 1841
Box 5			The past and the present 1866
Box 9		Sermon notes 1820-1834, 1849-1860 (5 folders)
Box 5		Miscellaneous by Peck 1821-1861
Box 5		Miscellaneous by others 1852-1858

Return to top