Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Plastics Pioneers Association. |
| Title: | Plastics Pioneers Association Records |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1948-2022 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Records of the Plastics Pioneers Association (PPA) |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
The Plastics Pioneers Association (PPA), founded in 1948, is an organization of individuals who are persons of accomplishment in the field of plastics, including research, design, development, and sales/promotion. The PPA provides educational grants and scholarships that help students pursuing careers in the various fields of plastics and materials science; contributes to the growth and maintenance of the Plastics Collection at Syracuse University Special Collections Research Center; and supports educational programs such as the Plastivan which caters to school age children.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Plastics Pioneers Association Records contains administrative files and financial material.
Administrative files includes meeting agendas and minutes for its Annual, Fall, and Board of Governors meetings. Also, the series includes PPA membership rosters.
Financial/legal material comprises budgets, journals, and ledgers. Additionally, there is a Federal tax exemption application which includes the organization's bylaws and certificate of incorporation.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
Please note that the collection is housed off-site, and advance notice is required to allow time to have the materials brought to the Reading Room on campus.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings related to plastics. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a full listing of manuscript collections, and to Libraries Search for published items such as books, periodicals, etc.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Plastics Pioneers Association Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of the Plastics Pioneers Association (PPA), 2023.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 17 Jan 2025
Revision history: 16 Sep 2025 - collection processed (DTF)
Inventory
| Administrative files | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Meeting agendas 2012-2014 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Meeting agendas, minutes, budgets 2005-2022 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Membership rosters and information 2013-2015 | ||||||||||
| Financial/legal material | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Federal income tax exemption application and supporting materials 1991-1992 - removed from 3-ring binder, includes bylaws, certificate of incorporation, and legal correspondence | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | General fund journal 1948-1991 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | General ledger 1982-1992 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Miscellaneous 2006-2016 - budgets, cash disbursements, financial reviews, and treasurer's reports | ||||||||||