Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Robinson, William B., 1908-1969. |
| Title: | William B. Robinson Cartoons |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1950-1968 |
| Bulk Dates: | 1965-1968 |
| Quantity: | 1.75 linear feet |
| Abstract: | American editorial cartoonist. Collection contains original editorial cartoons created for the Indianapolis News. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
William Busby "Robbie" Robinson (1908-1969) was an Irish-American editorial and comic strip cartoonist.
William B. Robinson was born in Belfast, Ireland on May 25, 1908. Three years later, he came to the United States and received citizenship in 1920. From 1926 to 1928 Robinson was enrolled at Butler University and from 1928 until 1931 he studied at the John Herron Art School. Robinson worked as the editorial cartoonist at the Indianapolis News from 1948 until 1969.
In addition to his editorial cartoons, he created the nationally syndicated panel comic strip Josephine, which ran for 12 years. Robinson also enjoyed vocal music and was one of the earliest members of the Indianapolis Symphonic Choir.
Robinson, a Sigma Delta Chi member, was president of the Indianapolis Press Club and also received several Freedom Foundation Awards. He died on October 31, 1969.
John E. "Jack" Innis, for whom one of the cartoons was drawn, was Republican Party Chairman for Marion County, Indiana in the 1950s and foreman of the pressroom for the Indianapolis Star and Indianapolis News.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The William B. Robinson Cartoons consist of original editorial cartoons about national and international politics, as well as one item created for a personal friend, Jack Innis. Most are drawn on illustration board with ink and graphite.
Arrangement of the Collection
Cartoons are arranged in chronological order and foldered by year.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
William B. Robinson Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Bulk of collection gift of William B. Robinson, 1966-1967, 1969.
1950s items, gift of Nina Innis, 2020.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: –
Date: Jan 1967
Revision history: 3 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC);
23 Sep 2009 - added detailed inventory and index, revised bio (SK);
19 Feb 2020 - added 2 items, 1958 and undated (MRC)
Inventory
| Cartoons | |||||||||||
| Click here for a list of specific dates. See below for an index to the cartoons. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Editorial cartoons 1950s - both are signed and inscribed to Jack Innis; one item was drawn personally for him as a gift (2 items) | ||||||||||
| Gift of Nina Innis, 2020. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1, Folder 1 | Editorial cartoons 1965 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1, Folder 2 | Editorial cartoons 1966 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1, Folder 3 | Editorial cartoons 1967 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1, Folder 4 | Editorial cartoons 1968 | ||||||||||
Index to cartoons
The following is a list of prominent people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.
B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.
- Agnew, Spiro T. : B1F4
- Asia : B1F2-B1F3
- Congress : B1F1; B1F3
- Czechoslovakia : B1F4
- Dayan, Moshe : B1F3
- Eisenhower, Dwight : B1F4
- elections : B1F2
- Europe : B1F2
- Germany : B1F2
- Great Society : B1F3
- Hitler, Adolph : B1F2
- Humphrey, Hubert : B1F2; B1F4
- Israel : B1F3
- Johnson, Lyndon Baines : B1F2-B1F3
- labor : B1F4
- McNamara, Robert : B1F3
- Meany, George : B1F4
- Medicare : B1F2
- Nixon, Richard M. : B1F4
- peace : B1F3
- Percy, Charles H. : B1F3
- police : B1F4
- Powell, Adam Clayton : B1F2-B1F3
- Republican Party : B1F4
- Rockefeller, Nelson : B1F3
- Romney, George W. : B1F3
- Ronald Reagen : B1F3
- Soviet Union : B1F4
- space exploration : B1F3-B1F4
- taxes : B1F3-B1F4
- Vietnam War : B1F1-B1F2; B1F4
- voting : B1F2; B1F4
- War on Poverty : B1F3-B1F4
- Warren Commission : B1F2
- Zedong, Mao : B1F2