Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Royster, Vermont, 1914-
Title:	Vermont Connecticut Royster Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1931-1971
Quantity:	14.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American journalist, former editor of the Wall Street Journal. Correspondence and invitations (1931-1971); subject files; manuscriptdrafts and typescript for A Pride of Prejudices; articles, newpaper columns (1964-1971), and editorials (1948-1970); speeches (1959-1971); material relating to the American Society of Newpaper Editors; clippings, photographs, and press releases. Includes letters of Dwight D. Eisenhower, Barry Goldwater, Richard Nixon, and others.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Vermont Connecticut Royster (1914-1996) was a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and editor of The Wall Street Journal from 1958 to 1971.

Born in Raleigh, North Carolina, Vermont C. Royster graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1935. In 1936 he was hired as a reporter by The Wall Street Journal, where a sixty-year career took him from staff reporter to Washington correspondent to the editor's chair (1958-1971). At the time of his death in 1996 he held the post of editor emeritus. He also commanded a U.S. Navy destroyer during World War II.

Among Royster's awards were two Pulitzer Prizes, the William Allen White Award, and the Presidential Medal of Freedom. He also served as president of the American Society of Newspaper Editors.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Vermont Connecticut Royster Papers consist of two parts which have not been integrated.

Part I

Part I contains five series: correspondence; clubs, associations, and committees; writings; published material; and general files. Items of interest in this collection include several typewritten and signed letters by such persons as former U.S. President Dwight David Eisenhower, former U.S. Senator Barry Goldwater from Arizona, former U.S. Senator Robert F. Kennedy, and former U.S. President Richard M. Nixon.

Part II

Part II contains correspondence (primarily with readers of The Wall Street Journal), subject files, manuscripts, and published material. Published material contains items both by and about Royster, including some of his poetry.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence relating to invitations, speaking engagements, and other professional matters are arranged chronologically; the remaining correspondence is alphabetical by correspondent. Clubs, associations and committees are alphabetical by organization name. Writings and published material are subdivided by type and within that are arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of numerous notable journalists; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Vermont Connecticut Royster Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Vermont C. Royster, 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MPK
Date: Nov 1978
Revision history: 29 May 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); 16 May 2012 - box numbers updated (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence (Part I)
		General
Box 1			Undated
Box 1			1962-1965 (17 folders)
Box 2			1965-1967 (15 folders)
Box 3			1968-1969 (7 folders)
Box 3		Invitations and meetings 1961-1971 (9 folders)
Box 3		Speaking engagements 1962-1967 (8 folders)
Box 4		Speaking engagements and trips 1962-1971 (4 folders)
Box 4		Speaking invitations, declined 1968-1971 (3 folders)
		"Thinking Things Over"
Box 4			1964-1969 (8 folders)
Box 5			1970-1971 (3 folders)
Box 5			Papal Encyclical
		Trips
Box 5			European
Box 5			Far East
Box 5			India
Box 5			Middle East
			Russia
Box 5				Correspondence
Box 5				Reports and articles
Box 5				Testimony
Box 5		Miscellaneous, 1970-1971
Box 5		Advice, requests for
		Articles, outside
Box 5			Declined
Box 5			Published
Box 5		Biography, Sawney Web
		Business
Box 5			Conferences
Box 5			Ventures
Box 5		CED (Committee for Economic Development)
Box 5		Chapel Hill appointment
Box 5		Comments and questionnaires
Box 6		Companies
Box 6		Congratulatory letters (2 folders)
Box 6		Dateline Magazine
Box 6		De Gaulle, General of France
Box 6		Director and Senior Vice President 1970
Box 6		Dow Jones averages
Box 6		Dwight D. Eisenhower
Box 6		Barry Goldwater
Box 6		Government personnel
Box 6		Individuals - includes 1 letter, Robert F. Kennedy
Box 6		Lyndon Johnson
Box 6		John F. Kennedy - includes 1 letter, Robert F. Kennedy
Box 6		Richard M. Nixon (17 letters, 1 photocopy)
Box 6		North Carolina Law Review
Box 6		Presidency of ASNE (American Society of Newspaper Editors)
Box 6		Recommendations and endorsements
Box 6		Reprints
Box 6		Retirement (2 folders)
Box 6		Romney, George
Box 6		Governor Scranton
Box 6		Television radio appearances

	Clubs, associations, and committees (Part I)
		ASNE (American Society of Newspaper Editors)
Box 6			Backstop program
Box 6			The Bulletin
Box 6			Canadian officials
			Committees
Box 6				Appointments
Box 6				Bulletin Advisory
Box 6				Editorial Future
Box 6				Education For Journalism
Box 6				Ethics
Box 6				Freedom of Information
Box 6				International Communication
Box 6				Membership
Box 6				Nominations
Box 6				Press and Bar (2 folders)
Box 6				Program
Box 6			Convention references
			Correspondence
Box 6				Canadian
Box 7				General
Box 7				Presidents
Box 7			DSM Dues
Box 7			Guests
Box 7			Hall Party
Box 7			Hilton Hotel
Box 7			Judges
Box 7			Lists of Canadian newspapermen
			Meetings
Box 7				Banquet
Box 7				Fall Board
Box 7				Montreal Board
Box 7				Queen Elizabeth
				Reception
Box 7					Sunday
Box 7					Monday
Box 7					Tuesday (4 folders)
Box 7					Wednesday (4 folders)
Box 7					Thursday (2 folders)
Box 7			Newspapers, lists of Canadian
Box 7			Social activities
Box 7			Speakers (non-participating)
Box 7			Staff memos
Box 7			Trips
Box 7			Working Program
Box 7		DECO (Destroyer Escort Commanding Officers of World War II)
Box 7		Economic Club
Box 7		International Press Institute
Box 7		National Conference of Editorial Writers
Box 7		North Carolina Society
Box 7		Overseas Press Club
Box 7		University of North Carolina Alumni Association (4 folders)
Box 7		Recess Club
Box 7		Sigma Delta Chi
Box 7		Silurian Society
Box 7		University Club
Box 7		Webb School

	Writings (Part I)
		Books
			A Pride of Prejudices 1949
Box 7				Correspondence (3 folders)
Box 8				Rough Draft (12 folders)
Box 8				Typescript (2 folders)
Box 8			Journey Through the Soviet Union - galley
Box 8		Articles and news stories
Box 8		Articles offered 1968
		Columns
Box 8			"Thinking Things Over" 1964-1971 (8 folders)
		Editorials, clippings of
Box 8			1948-1950
Box 9			1951-1970 (13 folders)
		Speeches and speaking engagements
Box 9			Miscellaneous
Box 9			1959, 1962-1971 (20 folders)
Box 10		Story suggestions 1968, 1970-1971 (2 folders)
Box 10		Reprints of articles and speeches (2 folders)
Box 10		Letters to the editor 1968
Box 10		Complaints, news and editorial 1967-1970 (2 folders)

	Published material (Part I)
		Articles
Box 10			"Provocative Premiere"
Box 10			"Eggheads in Action"
Box 10			"The Epermanis Story"
Box 10			"'Prosperity' Paradox Along Route 40"
Box 10			"Self Portrait of a Man Who Happened to be President"
Box 10			"Sherman Adams: The Sad Part of the Story"
Box 10			"Taft Phenomenon"
Box 10			"Adlai E. Stevenson"
Box 10			"Law and Men" in The World of the Wall Street Journal (Introduction)
Box 10			"Billie Sol and the Sugar"
Box 10			"A Lesson in Vigilance"
Box 10			"How to Pick a Pocket or Two"
Box 10			"Inflation and Business"
Box 10			"Price of Indulgence"
Box 10			"The Public Be Damned"
Box 10			"Chronic Distress"
Box 10			"Russia's People"
Box 10			"Hiding a Railroad Wreck"
Box 10			"Dilemma of the Airwaves"
Box 10			"Pawns and Gambits in a Long Game"
Box 10			"A Lesson from the U-2"
Box 10			"The Just and the Unjust"
Box 10			"The Moral Issue in Mississippi"
Box 10			"Some Thoughts on American Business"
Box 10			"The Dream and the Reality"
Box 10			"A Tale of Our Times"
Box 10			"Some Shop Talk About a Strike"
Box 10			"A Sense of Purpose" in The New World of The Wall Street Journal
		Speeches
Box 10			"The Future of The Newspaper--The Darwinian Theory of Journalism" in Greater Communications Effectiveness

	General files (Part I)
Box 11		Clippings 1950-1968 (3 folders)
Box 11		Photos
Box 11		Plaque
Box 11		Press releases
Box 11		Printed material
Box 11		Writings by others

	Correspondence (Part II)
Box 12		Personal, incoming, B-T
Box 12		re: Articles submitted (Wall Street Journal) 1961-1963
Box 12		re: Books 1962-1963
Box 12		re: Criticisms and complaints (Wall Street Journal) 1962
Box 12		Invitations 1961-1963
Box 13		re: Letters to the Editor (Wall Street Journal) 1962-1963 (3 folders)
Box 13		re: Pulitzer Prize with dictated replies 1953 (2 folders)
		Readers of the Wall Street Journal
Box 14			November 1962-September 1963
Box 15			October 1963-December 1963 (3 folders)
Box 15			March 1964
Box 15		re: Reprints 1963-1964
Box 15		re: USSR trip 1963-1964

	Subject files (Part II)
Box 16		Awards and certificates
Box 16		Far Eastern trip 1959
Box 16		Headlines: declaration of war 1939
Box 16		Notes
Box 16		Photographs
Box 16		Press releases
Box 16		Programs and meetings
Box 16		Pulitzer Prize material 1949, 1951 (2 folders)
Box 16		Radio program, "The American Forum"
Box 16		Wall Street Journal

	Manuscripts (Part II)
Box 16		Articles
Box 16		Essays, University of North Carolina period 1931
Box 16		Journals, Russian Journey no. 1, 2 1962
Box 17		Interviews, Khrushchev 13 Jul 1962
Box 17		Plays, University of North Carolina period 1931-1935
Box 17		Short stories, University of North Carolina period 1931-1935

	Published material (Part II)
		Articles
Box 17			About Royster
Box 17			By Royster
		Books
Box 17			In Hoc Anno Domini / Royster
Box 17			Journey Through the Soviet Union / Royster
Box 17		Magazine, The Masthead, edited by Royster
		Clippings
Box 17			About Royster
Box 17			By Royster
Box 17		Poems
Box 17		Speeches

Return to top