Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Russell, Bruce, 1903-1963.
Title:	Bruce Russell Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1891-1964
Quantity:	28 linear ft.
Abstract:	Primarily original artwork by Russell (particularly his editorial cartoons but also comic strips, sports and entertainment illustrations) and by nearly 100 cartoonists including: Carey Orr, Bill Mauldin, Herblock and Charles Schulz. The collection also includes correspondence; clippings of Russell's work; memorabilia including photographs and biographical information; idea files for specific topics containing clippings and printed material; and writings
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Bruce Alexander Russell (1903-1963) was a Pulitzer Prize winning American cartoonist who spent over 30 years at the Los Angeles Times.

Russell was born in Los Angeles on August 4, 1903, the son of Alexander and Flora (Saunders) Russell. In 1921 Russell graduated from Los Angeles Polytechnic High School and in 1926 he received a degree from the University of California at Los Angeles, where he had drawn cartoons for the university newspaper, The Daily Bruin, and for The California Grizzly. Russell began his professional career at the Los Angeles Evening Herald. His early work appeared in various national publications, among them College Humor and Collier's, as well as in The California Pelican, published in Berkeley. In 1927 Russell joined the Los Angeles Times art staff as a sports and theater cartoonist and also sketched for the paper's illustrated magazine. During this period he created the popular Associated Press comic strip Rollo Rollingstone, which ran from 1930 to 1933. In 1934 Russell became the editorial cartoonist for the Los Angeles Times, a position he retained until his death nearly thirty years later when he was replaced by Paul Conrad.

Russell won a Pulitzer Prize in 1946 for his cartoon "Time to Bridge That Gulch" that was published on November 30, 1945 and depicted the gap between the United States and Russia. Sigma Delta Chi presented him with the Distinguished Service Award in 1948, 1950 and 1951. He also received the Headliners' Award for editorial cartoons in 1949, and from 1949 to 1962 his work was annually recognized by the Freedoms Foundation award. His other honors include the Christopher Award (1953) and an award from the U.S. Treasury (1960 or 1958?). At UCLA, Russell was named the Edward A. Dickson Alumnus of the year in 1951. Russell was a member of the National Cartoonists Society and the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists.

On December 18, 1963 Bruce Russell died of a heart attack in Los Angeles, California.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bruce Russell Papers contain original artwork, correspondence, memorabilia, the artist's idea file, clippings and writings. The collection documents the Russell's career as a cartoonist and his work in several genres with material from the early 1920s through his death in 1963. It also includes original works by other cartoonists, often inscribed to Russell.

Cartoon clippings provides examples of Russell's published work. Items are arranged within categories that reflect the development of Russell's career: college and other early work, comic strips and features, editorial cartoons (mostly from the Los Angeles Times), Hollywood and theater, Los Angeles Times work (excluding editorial cartoons), and sports cartoons. Samples of his early work include clippings from The California Pelican, Southern Alumnus, and College Humor. His comic features include The Week in Review and Cartoonews, as well as the strips Good Old Chump and Rollo Rollingstone.

Editorial cartoons prepared daily for the Los Angeles Times between 1928 and 1963 form the largest part of the clippings section. Clippings of editorial cartoons from 1946 to 1963 are mostly cut from the Times editorial page and are substantially complete, arranged chronologically to the day. There is a gap between mid-July 1952 and December 1953.

As seen in both the clippings and the original drawings (see below), Russell's editorial work paralleled the generally conservative editorial viewpoint of the Los Angeles Times. Recorded by Russell's pen were two major wars and the harbingers of the war in Vietnam, the beginnings of space exploration, the emergence of new political leaders, among them the Californian Richard Nixon, and life in southern California as the area grew in economic and political influence. Besides the national and international events that provided topics for his editorial comment, there also recur in his cartoon work references to rising taxes and Los Angeles politics, as well as many public service themes: traffic safety, the scouting movement, U.S. savings bonds, and charitable fund drives. During these years he developed a number of stylistic devices: the shrouded skeleton, an oafish Mars, the impoverished taxpayer dressed in a barrel, Tweedledum and Tweedledee, punning cartoon titles, the personifications John Q. Public and Miss Democracy, map outlines of political boundaries used metaphorically, and, from World War II, a maniacal Hitler, a slovenly Mussolini, and a fierce stereotype of the Japanese.

Correspondence contains a small amount of both incoming and outgoing correspondence. Correspondents of interest include Richard Nixon, Eleanor Roosevelt, and staff at MGM and Collier's. Subjects include acceptance notices for submitted artwork, requests for original cartoons and notes thanking the artist for his cooperation in charitable drives.

The Idea file series contains folders of illustrations, mostly clippings, as well as sketches, photographs, and published cartoons, that constitute a working reference file used by Russell in his work. The subject headings as they appear on the folders are Russell's own, except for headings in brackets. There are folders for political figures and other notables, Russell trademarks such as Tweedledum and Tweedledee and his characterization of the Roman god Mars, and traditional symbols as the donkey and the elephant, bulls and bears, the eagle, Father Time, and Uncle Sam. There is also a folder of clippings of work by other cartoonists.

Memorabilia contains a variety of material, primarily related to Russell's career. Included here are his diploma from cartooning school before he entered the University of California, awards, photographs of Russell and his family, and autographed photographs of notables including California political figures Edmund ("Pat") Brown, Goodwin Knight, Norris Poulson, James Roosevelt, labor leader John L. Lewis, Edward R. Stettinius, Jr., Arthur E. Summerfield, Raymond Moley, Senator Harry L. Byrd, and the cartoonists Rube Goldberg and George McManus. Also included here is promotional material, clippings of articles about Russell, exhibition information, a copyright registration card and miscellaneous proofs.

Original drawings, which spans more then seventy years, is subdivided into drawings by Russell and drawings by others. Original artwork by Bruce Russell spans his professional career, from early sketches in the 1920s to some of his last editorial cartoons. Some pieces of his non-editorial work are signed with the name "Bruce Barr." Most of this work was done for the Los Angeles Times. There are over 650 finished drawings by Russell, including more than 240 editorial cartoons and over 300 drawings for the comic strip Rollo Rollingstone. There are also 50 pencil sketches for editorial cartoons. Also worth noting are Russell's Hollywood and theatre illustrations. A topical index to Russell's original editorial cartoon art may be found at the end of this inventory.

Original drawings by other artists contains more than 160 pieces of art by fellow cartoonists and artists. Many are inscribed to Russell. Among the editorial cartoonists represented are Gib Crockett, Herblock, Jim Ivey, Bill Mauldin, Carey Orr and Vaughn Shoemaker. Work by the cartoonists Al Capp, Rube Goldberg, Jimmy Hatlo, and George Herriman is also present, along with a color cell from a Woody Woodpecker animation and a Charles Schulz "Peanuts" strip from 1955. There are also several cartoons by unidentified artists.

Writings consists of notes about the comic strip Rollo Rollingstone and typed questions prepared for Russell's appearance before a State Department and Pentagon panel in 1963.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoon clippings are subdivided by type and within that arranged in roughly chronological order. Correspondence is arranged in chronological order. Idea files are alphabetical by subject. Original drawings are subdivided into those by Russell and those by other artists; within that, Russell's are further subdivided by type and then arranged alphabetically by caption, while those by other artists are arranged alphabetically by artist's last name.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists including many of whom's work is included in the original drawings series of this collection. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bruce Russell Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Photographs and cartoon clippings, gift of Miss Maxine Russell, 1964.

Original cartoons, cartoon clippings, and other items, gift of Mrs. Bruce Russell, 1966.

Five original Bruce Russell cartoons, gift of Miss Minnette L. Frohlich, 1971.

"Practice Ground for Three Chopsticks?", gift of Robert Payne, 2009.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 2 Oct 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 17 Nov 2010 - revised inventory (SK); 30 Mar 2015 - CartooNews, other adds (MRC); 29 Jul 2015 - rehoused in document boxes (MRC); 2 Mar 2017 - oversize items rehoused (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Cartoon clippings
		College and other early work
Box 1			Los Angeles Evening Herald work circa 1922
Box 1			Other circa 1922-1931 (2 folders)
		Comic strips and features
Box 1			Aunt Polly undated
Box 1			The Battle Front 1931
Box 1			CartooNews circa 1934 (4 folders)
				See also Original art : Comic sctrips and features : CartooNews below.
Box 1			Embarrassing Moments 1928-1932
Box 1			Good Old Chump 1925
Box 1			Hot Water 1934?
Box 1			Not Far From Broadway circa 1929
Box 1			Olde Tyme Almanack 1933-1934
Box 1			Review and Preview circa 1930
Box 1			Rollo Rollingstone 1931
				See also Original art : Comic sctrips and features : Rollo Rollingstone below.
Box 1			Starr, Reporter undated - proof sheet, dailies
				See also Original art : Comic sctrips and features : Starr, Reporter below.
Box 1			"The Week in Review" 1929-1933, undated (4 folders)
Box 1			"Wynndebagg, the Ipecac Candidate" 1934?
		Editorial cartoons
Box 2			Editorial cartoons 1928 - from the Los Angeles Times
Box 2			Editorial cartoons early 1930s - from the Los Angeles Times
Box 2			Editorial cartoons 1931-1940 - from the Los Angeles Times
Box 3			Editorial cartoons Jan 1941-Dec 1947 - from the Los Angeles Times
Box 4			Editorial cartoons 1948-1950 - from the Los Angeles Times
Box 5			Editorial cartoons 1951-Jul 1952, 1954 - from the Los Angeles Times
Box 6			Editorial cartoons 1955-1957 - from the Los Angeles Times
Box 7			Editorial cartoons 1958-1960 - from the Los Angeles Times
Box 8			Editorial cartoons 1961-Mar 1963 - from the Los Angeles Times
Box 9			Editorial cartoons Apr-Dec 1963, undated - from the Los Angeles Times
Box 10			Editorial cartoons undated - from the Los Angeles Times
Box 10			Editorial cartoons drawn for other publications or as donations 1930-1941
		Hollywood and theater illustrations
Box 1			Miscellaneous 1927-circa 1934 (3 folders)
Oversize 1			Miscellaneous, oversize 1927-circa 1934
		Los Angeles Times work
Box 2			"Among Ourselves" cartoons 1931
Box 2			Times Sunday Magazine covers 1932-1933
Box 2			Times Sunday Magazine illustrated pages 1933-1934
Box 2			Times Sunday Magazine illustrations 1932-1933
Box 2			Miscellaneous illustrations 1927-1933
		Sports features
Box 2			"Following the Ball with Bruce Russell" 1932-1933
Box 2			Small-format sports cartoons circa 1927
Box 2			"Sportoons" 1929
Box 2			Sports strips 1932
		Miscellaneous
Box 2			Miscellaneous illustrations 1927-circa 1934 (5 folders)

	Correspondence
Box 10		[General] 1922-1928
Box 10		[General] 1930-1934
Box 10		[General] 1942-1946
Box 10		[General] 1958
Box 10		[General] 1961-1963
Box 10		[General] undated

	Idea files
Box 11		Airplanes
Box 11		Ammunition
Box 11		Animals (3 folders)
Box 11		Armor
Box 11		Army (2 folders)
Box 11		Art
Box 11		Artype Catalog
Box 12		Automobiles
Box 12		Autos and airplanes
Box 12		Axes
Box 12		Ballet
Box 12		Barbers
Box 12		Barrels and baskets
Box 12		Baseball
Box 12		Basketball
Box 12		Bears
Box 12		Bells
Box 12		Bicycles
Box 12		Birds (2 folders)
Box 13		Boats
Box 13		Books
Box 13		Bottles
Box 13		Boxing
Box 13		Brooms
Box 13		Buildings (2 folders)
Box 13		Bulls
Box 13		Cameras
Box 13		Car and truck pictures (2 folders)
Box 13		Car and truck reference file
Box 13		Car and truck reference pictures
Box 13		Cards
Box 13		Cartoon clips
Box 13		Cartoon fantasies
Box 14		Cartoons
Box 14		Castro
Box 14		Cats
Box 14		Cavemen
Box 14		Children
Box 14		China
Box 14		Christmas
Box 14		Churches
Box 14		Churchill
Box 14		Circus
Box 14		Clocks
Box 14		Color cartoons
Box 14		Comic Strips
Box 14		Cooks
Box 15		Costumes (2 folders)
Box 15		Cowboys
Box 15		Cows
Box 15		Cuts
Box 15		Devil
Box 15		Dewey
Box 15		Dinosaurs
Box 15		Dishes
Box 15		Divers
Box 15		Diving
Box 15		Docks
Box 15		Doctors
Box 15		Dogs
Box 15		Donkeys
Box 15		Dragons
Box 15		Ducks
Box 15		Eagles
Box 15		Egypt
Box 15		Eisenhower
Box 16		Elephants
Box 16		Emblems
Box 16		Eskimos
Box 16		Factories
Box 16		Farming
Box 16		Father Time
Box 16		Firemen
Box 16		Fish
Box 16		Fishing and boats
Box 16		Flags
Box 16		Flowers
Box 16		Flowers, fruit, and food
Box 16		Food
Box 16		Football
Box 16		Foreign policy
Box 16		France
Box 16		Franco
Box 16		Furniture
Box 16		Garner
Box 16		Germany (2 folders)
Box 17		Giraffes
Box 17		Globes
Box 17		Graves
Box 17		Grindstones
Box 17		Guns
Box 17		Hands (2 folders)
Box 17		Hands and feet
Box 17		Hats
Box 17		Heroes of peace
Box 17		Hippopotamuses
Box 17		Hitler
Box 17		Homes
Box 17		Horses (2 folders)
Box 17		Idea clippings
Box 17		India
Box 18		Indians
Box 18		Insects
Box 18		International
Box 18		Iran and Turkey
Box 18		Jails
Box 18		Japan
Box 18		Kennedy (2 folders)
Box 18		Lambs
Box 18		Lamps
Box 18		Lighthouses
Box 18		Lincoln
Box 18		Lions
Box 18		Machinery
Box 18		Mailboxes
Box 18		Maps
Box 19		Mechanical
Box 19		Mexico
Box 19		Mice
Box 19		Microphones
Box 19		Middle East
Box 19		Miners
Box 19		Miscellaneous
Box 19		Missiles
Box 19		Money
Box 19		Monkeys
Box 19		Moose and deer
Box 19		Musical (2 folders)
Box 19		Nationalities
Box 19		Navy
Box 19		Nixon
Box 20		Notables (2 folders)
Box 20		Oil
Box 20		Peron
Box 20		Pigs
Box 20		Pilgrims
Box 20		Pirates
Box 20		Plows
Box 20		Policemen
Box 20		Political cartoons (2 folders)
Box 20		Political figures (1 of 2)
Box 21		Political figures (2 of 2)
Box 21		Poses
Box 21		Poses, action
Box 21		Punch
Box 21		Rabbits
Box 21		Railroads
Box 21		Reptiles
Box 21		Rollin Kirby cartoons
Box 21		Romans
Box 21		Roosevelt
Box 21		Roosters
Box 21		Royalty Safes
Box 21		Scales
Box 21		School
Box 21		Scientists
Box 22		Scouting
Box 22		Seals
Box 22		Seasons
Box 22		Ships
Box 22		Ships and railroads
Box 22		Shoes
Box 22		Skating
Box 22		Skeletons
Box 22		Skunks
Box 22		Snails
Box 22		Space capsules
Box 22		Spain
Box 22		Sports (2 folders)
Box 22		Squirrels
Box 22		Stage
Box 22		Stassen
Box 22		Statue of Liberty
Box 23		Steel and cranes
Box 23		Stevenson
Box 23		Stores
Box 23		Stoves
Box 23		Swords
Box 23		Taft
Box 23		Tanks
Box 23		Telephones
Box 23		Tigers
Box 23		Track and field
Box 23		Traps
Box 23		Trees
Box 23		Truman (2 folders)
Box 23		Turkeys
Box 23		Tweedledum and Tweedledee
Box 23		Uncle Sam
Box 23		Uniforms
Box 23		Ventriloquism
Box 23		Wagons
Box 23		Washington, George
Box 23		Washington, D.C.
Box 24		Washington, D.C. (cont.)
Box 24		Water
Box 24		Weather
Box 24		Windmills
Box 24		Winter
Box 24		Witches
Box 24		Wolves
Box 24		Women
Box 24		World

	Memorabilia
Box 25		Advertisements for Russell's work 1931, 1962-1963
Box 25		Association of American Editorial Cartoonists program 1961
Box 25		Awards 1953, 1960-1961, undated
Oversize 2		Awards (oversize) 1947-1963
		Biographical material [MISSING 3/2/17] 1930, 1935, 1951, 1953, 1963-1964
Box 25		Brochures promoting Russell's work 1930-1963 - press kits for syndication sales
Oversize 2		Brochures promoting Russell's work (oversize) 1930-1963 - press kits for syndication sales
Box 25		Christmas cards drawn by Russell undated
Box 25		Clippings about cartoonists
Box 25		Clippings about Bruce Russell 1931-1934, 1960-1963, undated
Box 25		Clippings of articles by Russell 1929, undated
Box 25		Clippings of cartoons by others 1930s
Box 25		Clippings that mention Russell 1932-1962, undated
Box 25		Diploma from the Federal School of Applied Cartooning 1921
Oversize 3		Donkey plaque undated
Box 25		Engraving plate and Mother's Day pin undated
Box 25		Exhibition clippings 1943
Box 25		Exhibition photographs 1937
Box 25		Exhibition programs 1938
Box 25		Invitations 1931, 1935 - Russell's wedding; sorority function
Box 25		Letters to the editor regarding Russell's work 1941, undated
Box 25		Obituary notices and cartoon tributes 1963
Box 25		Occasional artwork by Russell 1962, undated - miscellaneous printed material
Oversize 9		Photograph of Russell undated - working at desk
Box 25		Photographs of Russell undated
Box 25		Photographs of the Russell Family undated
Box 25		Photographs of others 1945, undated - signed and inscribed to Russell
Oversize 1		Photographs of others 1926-1962, undated - signed and inscribed to Russell; includes John Lewis
Box 25		Prize-winning cartoons 1952, undated - clippings
Box 25		Proofs of editorial cartoons 1960s
Box 25		Miscellaneous 1920s-1960s - printed material, photographs, press promotion of War Finance publication, clipping from George Herriman, copyright registration card
Oversize 9		Miscellaneous undated

	Original drawings
		By Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			College and other early work 1926-1928, undated (6 items)
			Comic strips and features
Oversize 2				Big Boy undated (2 strips in 4 pieces)
Oversize 5				Boomer Biggins undated (17 items)
Oversize 4				CartooNews undated (6 folders)
					See also Clippings : Comic strips and features : Cartoonews above.
Oversize 5				Doctor Hooey undated (4 items)
Oversize 1				Hollywood Flash! undated - includes proof sheet (3 items)
Oversize 5				Rollo Rollingstone 1930, Feb-Jul
Oversize 6				Rollo Rollingstone 1930, Aug-Dec
Oversize 7				Rollo Rollingstone 1931, Jan-Jun
Oversize 8				Rollo Rollingstone 1931, Jul-Dec
Oversize 8				Rollo Rollingstone 1932, 1934, undated (17 items)
Oversize 8				Romantic Roscoe undated (3 items)
Oversize 8				Starr, Reporter undated (7 items)
					See also Clippings : Comic sctrips and features : Starr, Reporter above.
Oversize 4				Tidbits undated (12 items)
Oversize 2				Week in Review undated (4 items)
Oversize 12			Daily Double circa 1955 - editorial cartoons series (10 items)
			Editorial cartoons
Oversize 1				Miscellaneous pencil sketches for editorial cartoons undated
Oversize 13				A 1930, 1935, 1956, 1958, 1963, undated
					Adlai Stevenson stepped here (April 12 1956) Ah, the finish (circa 1935) All she'd need is the Smith vote (Nov. 10 1963) Alphabetical order (Nov. 15 1958) And a merry old soul is he! (undated) And start taking your coat off now (1930) And there aren't any holes in it (undated) Another moratorium? (undated) Another one of those child marriages! (undated) The assassin (undated) Aw, go on and get a shave! (July 16)
Oversize 13				B 1928, 1937, 1958, 1960, 1962-1963, undated
					Beard of the prophet (undated) The beard of the prophet (1937) Before you start for a summit... (Mar 6 1958) A black dachshund crossed her path (undated) Blank! (undated) Both: 'Well, what are you going to do about it?' (Dec. 26 1960) The Boys are at it again. 'Need any help?' (May 17 1928) Bumper crop (June 22 1962) But let's not put her out on a limb! (undated) But my heart belongs to big daddy (Aug. 10 1963) But there are some who didn't (undated)
Oversize 13				C 1929, 1936, 1959-1963, undated
					A cabinet, a crib and a big wastebasket (Nov. 30 1960) Calling out the class of '37! (1936) The car that parked overtime! (undated) The census is being taken! (undated) Cheshire cat (Aug. 3 1962) The chipsky on the shouldervitch! (undated) Christmas count up (Dec. 18 1961) The Christmas shoppers (undated) The classroom! (undated) The cloud with the silver lining! (undated) Cold facts (1929) ColumbU.S. (Oct. 12 1963) 'Come to order and fasten your clothespins' (May 29 1962) The comic valentine (undated) Coming lei day (July 19, 1959) The cooking's starting early! (undated) Court plaster (Oct. 11 1961) The crest of this wave can't be too high! (undated) Crowded off (undated)
Oversize 13				D 1952, 1961-1962, undated
					Dead eye (May 15 1961) The deadlines (Dec. 18 1962) Death's-Headline (Apr. 23 1962) Divorced (undated) The dog without a country! (undated) The 'don't care' hare and the Easter bunny (undated) Dove with a vulture's wings (circa 1952)
Oversize 13				E 1957-1958, 1961-1963, undated
					East Berlin? Got any extra bricks and barbed wire? (Aug. 19 1961) Eat, drink and be wary (March 8 1962) Emmy nomination for endurance (May 2 1963) End of the trial (Dec. 12 1961) An epitaph that's becoming more and more common (Feb. 1 1958) Equal partners (undated) The European shell game! (undated) Every new car has an old style satellite (Nov. 18 1957) Eyesocket to eyesocket (July 20 1963)
Oversize 13				F 1960, 1963, undated
					The 'Face the Russian Nation' program (Oct. 15 1960) The farmer in the dell (undated) Featherbedding deluxe...with maid service (Aug. 3 1963) The flower barrel (undated) Foot of clay (April 1 1963) The fourth at bridge! (undated) Frankenstein! (undated) Fright farmer (May 31 1963)
Oversize 14				G 1962, undated
					The gargoyle (Aug. 6 1962) Gazing into the decreasing roll! (undated) Gonna take a lot of rope, Jack! (1962) The grade's been made without a slip! (undated )
Oversize 14				H 1929, 1935, 1951, 1957-1958, 1962-1963, undated
					He can't be Napoleon Bonaparte--I'm Napoleon Bonaparte! (Nov. 1 1957) He didn't even get to first base! (1929?) He looks like a good dancer! (undated) He only eats once a year, but--! (undated) He wants to blow his own horn! (undated) The head man (undated) Heck, quints aren't unusual! (Sept. 21 1963) Here comes THE ambassador! (undated) Here, put these on, you guys (Oct. 25 1963) Herein lies Ethiopia! (circa 1935) He's putting on a show for us! (undated) The higher gov't costs ledge (May 28 1963) His "bridges" to dreamland (Sept. 21 1958) His entry! (undated) Hm! Stealing my stuff! (undated) Hole in his stocking (Dec. 11 1962) Homage ([1929]) How now, brown cow (Feb. 8 1951) How old fashioned! (undated) How to assure the proof of the pudding (undated) How to rope a fight mare? (Jan. 23 1962)
Oversize 14				I 1930, 1937, 1952, 1956-1957, 1960, 1962-1963, undated
					"If wishbones were horses!" (undated) "If you drink up and drive up--" (Dec 21 1960) "Ike's ark" (Sep. 20 1956) "I'll see you in 1938" (1937?) "In case of fire, keep cool!"(fire prevention week) (Oct 6) [Income balancing act] (Mar 2, 1937) [Inflation couch] (undated) "In hoc, signo vinces" (undated) "In the national unity cornfield" (Mar 9 1962) "In pursuit of the shooting dollar" (Mar 9 1957) "Indian sign" (Nov. 16 1963) "It used to be an exclusive business!" (undated) "It will just be a question of weight!" (undated) "It would be a dull day indeed" (undated) "It's a plate cracker!" (undated) "It's a round trip" (undated) "It's an old Southern costume" (Mar. 1 1952) "It's changed bearers!" (circa 1930)
Oversize 11				I 1958
					"If we get some ham, well have some ham and eggs--and we will get eggs." (Oct 20 1958)
Oversize 12				I 1937, undated - ink on heavy board
					[income balancing act] (Mar. 2 1937) [Inflation couch] (undated)
Oversize 14				J 1930, undated
					"Jack and the means talk" (undated) "Jack Sprat and wife!" (undated) "John's bull!" (undated) "Just from one piece of paper!" (circa 1930)
Oversize 14				K circa 1929
					"The key to the cellar" (circa 1929)
Oversize 14				L 1928, 1956, 1960, undated
					"Landing strip" (Dec. 17 1960) "The leading publisher" (undated) "Let me look into it.!" (undated) "Let's stuff this ballot box" (undated) "The lines of March" ([1928]) "The line's still busy" (undated) "The low, low form of Homo sapiens" (Dec. 29 1956) "The lowest thing on earth" (undated)
Oversize 15				M 1954-1957, 1961-1962, undated
					"Mahomet comes to the mountain" (undated) "Mahomet isn't going anywhere" (Nov. 15 1962) "The Maine stein song" (Sept. 15 1954) "Maybe we forgot the most important one of all" (July 25 1955) "Me, too!" (undated) "Measuring them up early" (undated) "Merry Christmas--" (undated) "Middle East, date line" (Nov. 11 1956) "Milwaukee's orbit!" (Oct. 11 1957) "Moonlight an the Ganges" (Dec. 19 1961) "More baking power'" (undated) "More spring training!" (undated) "My figure's improving!" (undated)
Oversize 15				N 1955, 1959, 1962-1963, undated
					"National contract, national velvet!" (Nov. 18 1963) "Needed -- a moratorium on this death penalty!" (Jan. 12, 1963) "New frontier image" (Feb. 23, 1963) "New Hampshire dollar" (May 5 1963) "The new hat" (undated) "New mirage in the Stassen desert" (March 8 1959) "The new moon and the shadow!" (undated) "New Royal Canadian Mounted" (July 3 1962) "The new savings account" (undated) "Neither dead nor in the red" (Jan. 2 1962) "No exchanges" (Dec. 28 1955) "Not much time for him!" (undated)
Oversize 15				O 1930, 1956, 1961-1963, undated
					"Of course we are" (circa 1930) "Old McDonald had a farm" (undated) "Ole Mess" (Oct. 7 1962) "Only one day more!" (undated) "Our financial cousin" (April 7 1963) "Our man in Havana" (Sept. 16 1962) "Our man of the year, every year" (Dec. 29 1961) "Our two constant companions" (Sept. 21 1956) "Out of the ashes" (undated) "Overhanging cliff and rising tide" (May 13 1963)
Oversize 15				P 1958, 1961-1962, undated
					"Passing the baton" (undated) "Perch-mates!" (undated) "Perjurer's hour" (Nov. 13 1962) "Pie in the sky and the pie plate" (Oct. 15 1958) "Ping along with Mich." (Feb. 14 1962) "The pit and the pendulum!" (undated) "Plunk!" (undated) "Practice Ground for Three Chop Sticks?" (undated) - gift of Robert Payne, 2009 "Public menace no. 1" (Jan 8 1961)
Oversize 15				R 1930, 1955, 1957, 1960-1963, undated
					"The rain of law" (undated) "Ran into a fender" (Aug. 17 1961) "Readin', 'ritin', 'rithmetic, and remote control" (Feb. 11 1962) "Relegated to the New Frontier museum"(government spending) (Aug. 27 1962) "Remember now, no fishing" (undated) "Renewal tab (Feb.3 1957) "Returned to sender" (Mar. 11 1960) "A right and a left!" (undated) "A ring full" (undated) "Ringers" (Dec. 1930) "The routes to conquer our educational Everest" (May 25 1963) "Russian spelling" (Sept. 8 1955)
Oversize 11				R 1958
					"Recklessness pitching" (Apr 21 1958)
Oversize 16				S 1931, 1954, 1956, 1960, 1962, undated
					"Santa Claus with an empty bag" (Dec. 3 1962) "The school 'go!' " (undated) "Sewer gas" (Apr 2 1962) "Silenced" (death of Nicholas Longworth) (1931) "Simmer school" (Jul 17 1954) "So goes the tortoise" (Sept 12 1956) "Somebody's always standing with a pin!" (undated) "Sonny, are you serious?" (undated) "Still figuring" (undated) "The stop sign of prevention" (Jan 4 1954) "Strike one!" (undated) "Studio lot" (Feb 13 1960) "The swatting season" (undated)
Oversize 11				S 1958, 1961-1962
					"The seasons" (Oct 14 1961) "Self-framed" (Apr 7 1962) "Stop sign" (Jan 20 1958)
Oversize 16				T 1939, 1955-1958, 1960, 1962-1963, undated
					"Tailor made" (Sep 5 1962) "Test ban concessions extra nice today, sir!" (Aug 10 1962) "Test for a test ban" (Jul 28 1963) "Testing 1-2-3-4-5-6-7" (Feb 2 1957) "There'll be no deep freezes or vicuna coats" (Oct 19 1960) "This gun for hire" (Mar 10 1955) "This is a dizzy old world!" (undated) "Those forbidden dances!" (circa 1939) "Those hard-to-crack 'after Easter' eggs" (Apr 16 1958) "Time for Mohammed to go to the mountain" (Apr 27 1957) "The toll of traffic" (undated) "Too bad our No. 1 murderer can't be put there" (Mar 23 1963) Two horses that can't be doped" (undated) "Two soles with but a single thought" (Oct 28 1956) "Typical backing for backing a red" (undated)
Oversize 11				T 1959, undated
					"Teacher's pet" (Mar 2 1959) Traffic 3-D" (undated)
Oversize 16				U 1963, undated
					"Up we go into the high blue yonder" (Aug 31 1963) "Upholding Hitler's military policy!" (undated)
Oversize 16				W 1959, 1961, undated
					"The Washington 'wide open'" (undated) "Welcome to the club, Tom" (Apr 30 1959) "We're running a high temperature!" (undated) "What are we going to do about this auto strike?" (undated) "What does that last line say?" (undated) "What this country needs is another Lincoln!" (undated) "What to do with your old hat" (Mar 24) "What's your hurry?" (undated) "When doctors disagree" (undated) "Where we hang our economy hat" (undated) "Where's that strike ointment" (Jul 5) "Who said there's safety in numbers?" (undated) "Who was that lady I saw you with last night?" (undated) "Wind it up and it becomes lethal" (undated) "Wonder, sometimes, if I'm getting any signals out" (Mar 3 1959) "Won't be anyone left to sign a separate peace" (Aug 7 1961) "A worthy setting" (undated)
Oversize 16				Y 1960, 1962-1963, undated
					"Yep, everybody's in great form!" (Apr 13 1962) "Yep, the government must cut spending" (Nov 3 1963) "You and me both" (Oct 26 1963) "Your foot is getting too big for my mouth" (1960)
Oversize 16				Z 1956
					"Zoning problem" (Sep 16 1956)
Oversize 16				Untitled 1961-1962
					[Algerian peace] (1962) [employment] (1962) [Jimmy Hoffa] (Aug 30 1961)
Oversize 1			Hollywood and theater illustrations 1929, undated (2 folders)
Oversize 11			Hollywood and theater illustrations undated (1 item)
			Los Angeles Times work
Oversize 2				Cartoons circa 1928
Oversize 2				Times Sunday Magazine covers circa 1932 (3 panels)
Oversize 2				Miscellaneous illustrations 1932, 1957, undated
Oversize 11				Miscellaneous illustrations undated
Oversize 3			Sports cartoons undated (5 items)
Oversize 11			Sports cartoons Jul 30 (1 item)
Box 25			Fragments undated
		By others
			The following items are listed individually, but are not foldered individually. They are grouped by letter (e.g., "Original art by others, A-C").
Oversize 9			Alley, Cal. "Sugar cured." undated - editorial cartoon inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Baguez, Salvador. Untitled illustration (track runner) 9 Oct 1929 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Bardell, Wyn. Untitled illustration undated
Oversize 16			Bardell, Wyn. Untitled illustration (Hollywood?) undated
Oversize 9			Barndollar, "Overcoming interference" undated
Oversize 9			Barndollar, "Parking space" undated
Oversize 9			Barndollar, "Red poppies" undated
Oversize 9			Barndollar, (Russian marionettes) undated
Oversize 9			Barndollar, "What more could one want?" undated
Oversize 9			Barrow, Hank. "Trying to fill the bill" (world hunger) undated - editorial cartoon inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Bastian, Robert. "Anything you can do I can do louder" (atomic testing) 1960s - editorial cartoon inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Bastian, Robert. "Well, if you won't take it off, let's see what we can do with it on!" (hydrogen bomb tests) undated - editorial cartoon inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Batchelor, C.D. "A dad's idea of the perfect baby" undated
Oversize 9			Bates, Bill. "Ping" strip 1 Mar 1962 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
			Block, Herbert
				See Herblock.
Oversize 9			Bronstrup. "If bait counts, he's landed" undated
Oversize 9			Cam, Billy. "If you are looking for somebody, you will find 'em out in Hollywood trying to get into the movies" undated - Pen and ink cartoon
Oversize 9			Capp, Al. Untitled illustration with Li'l Abner characters undated - "Drawn specially for the Los Angeles Times."
Oversize 16			Carlisle, Tom. "There are no short cuts round the mountains." undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Crawford, Bill. "They fly so high they touch the sky" (disarmament) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Crenshaw, George. "Orville drowns out the commercials." 1958 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Criswell, Ralph. Untitled pen and ink illustration undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Crockett, Gib. "Balkan serenade" (Tito). May 15, no year - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Dalrymple, Louis. Untitled undated - pen and ink illustration
Oversize 9			Day, Robert. Untitled cartoon on Rube Wolf 1927
Oversize 16			Day, Robert. Sunday Stage theater cartoon undated
Oversize 9			Day, Robert. "Yes, and we're doing most of the shaking" undated
Oversize 9			Dodge, A.B. Untitled illustration circa 1931 - pen and ink , inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 16			Dodge, A.B. Untitled theater illustration undated - pen and ink
Oversize 9			Dowling, Dan. "Dr. Truman's message to the farmers" (farm vote) 11 Mar 1952 - editorial cartoon inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Doyle, Jerry. Untitled editorial cartoon on Hitler undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 11			Ehrhart, S.D.. Untitled 9 Dec 1903 - pen and ink illustration
Oversize 9			Egli, Leo. "And the sky's the limit" 1938
Oversize 9			Engelhardt, Tom. "Charmer" (Mme. Nhu), 1 Nov 1963 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Evans, Ray. "Relief--mostly for the politicians" (pork barrel projects) 31 May 1932 - editorial cartoon, inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Ewing, A.L. Untitled illustration undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Ewing. Untitled drawing (metropolitan street scene) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell,
Oversize 9			Ficklen, Herc."Walking man, European version" (Russia against Finland) 1939? - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Fischer, Jo. Untitled caricature undated - pen and ink, inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 11			Fisher, Dudley T., Jr. "Jolly Jingles." 6 Mar 1932 - Oversized, colored panel. Inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Fitzpatrick, D.R. "Used to be ain't is" (U.S. China policy) 16 Jun 1957 - editorial cartoon, inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Flowers, Don. Untitled ink illustration 1931 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 16			Forsythe, Vic. "Little upset in plans" 1930 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Fox, Fontaine. "Mickey (Himself) McGuire" 1924 - Single cartoon panel, inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Fox, Fontaine. "Forty years ago--and now he's president" (Taft) 19 Feb 1909
Oversize 9			Gale, "Another ringside seat" (League of Nations vs. armaments) 1927 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Gale. "Is he coming out of lt?" (Bolshevism) undated
Oversize 9			Gale. "The Knickerbocker Kids, No.3" undated
Oversize 9			Gale. "The Knickerbocker Kids, No.4" undated
Oversize 9			Gale. "The Knickerbocker Kids, No.5" undated
Oversize 9			Gale. "The Knickerbocker Kids, No.6" undated
Oversize 16			Gallaway. Untitled illustration 15 Sep 1899 - pen and ink
Oversize 9			Garbatt. Untitled horse-racing illustration undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Glackens, L.M. Untitled Puck illustration 12 Mar 1907
Oversize 9			Goldberg, Rube. "Collared!" (The Cairo Plan against Japan) Jan 1944 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Goldberg, Rube. "They thrive an it" (dictators) Dec 1956 - editorial cartoon, inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Griffin, Sydney B. Untitled 21 Sep 1891 - pen and ink illustration
Oversize 9			Hackney, Rick. Untitled (grassroots politics) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Hanny, William. "You can't trust a ball fan to do anything right" (baseball) circa 1915
Oversize 9			Hatlo, Jimmy. "They'll do it every time" (manners) undated - Single panel
Oversize 9			Hatlo, Jimmy. "They'll do it every time." (a drunk) undated - single panel
Oversize 9			Hatlo, Jimmy. "Dedicated to music week." undated - Large panel, inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Herblock. "Nightmare nostrum" (Mussolini) 18 Oct 1937? - inscribed to Bruce Russell,
Oversize 16			Herblock. "Go away" (the Republicans' farm problem) 1955 - inscribed to Joe Sherwood
Oversize 9			Herriman, George. "Strangers outside the old gate." undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Hitt, Oscar. "The merry widow." 25 May 1931 - colored cartoon panel, inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Hix, Elsie. "Hix's strange as it seems." 7 Sep 1949 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 16			Hubenthal, Karl. Untitled (Red Chinese aggression) circa 1950 - editorial cartoon inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Hubenthal, Karl. Untitled (Truman and MacArthur) 1951 - editorial cartoon inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 16			Hungerford, Cy. Caricature of Bruce Russell undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Hungerford, Cy. "The champ loses his reputation." undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 16			Hutton, Hugh. Caricature of William Penn undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 16			Ireland. "Do I have to adopt that, too?" (Uncle Sam's dependencies) undated
Oversize 9			Ivey, Jim. "No thanks--just looking" (Nixon) 3 Jan 1960 [1961?] - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Ivey, Jim. "'Chaff! " Straw in the wind'" (Richard Nixon and Pat Brown) undated
Oversize 9			Ivey, Jim. "Chivalry is dead" (Goodwin Knight and Richard Nixon) 1962? - inscribed to Gov. Knight
Oversize 9			Ivey, Jim. "The 'great-leap-forward'" (Chinese economic failures) 1960
Oversize 9			Ivey, Jim. "Happy birthday to you" (Berlin Wall) undated - "Pocket Cartoon" series
Oversize 9			Ivey, Jim. "Nouveau riche" (Soviet space efforts) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Ivey, Jim. "Slowest gun in the West" (Kennedy) undated - "Pocket Cartoon" series
Oversize 9			Ivey, Jim. Untitled cartoon (U.S. and Soviet Union space projects) 1962 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Jenkins, Burris, Jr. Untitled (boxer Ben Jeby) undated
Oversize 10			Jensen, Cecil. "Bad year for mosquitoes, ain't it?" (Hitler) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Knott, John. Untitled cartoon (hitchhiking conquistador) 1936 - inscribed to Bruce Russell, from Polish Daily News
Oversize 10			Krawiec, Walter. "In Bretton Woods" (European reconstruction) 10 Jan 1946 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Kuhn, Charles. "Always in the background" (threat of war) 1946 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Kuhn, Charles. "Yep, the days are getting shorter" (voter resentment against the Democrats) 1946 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Lantz, Walter. Color Woody Woodpecker animation cell undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell from "Walter Lantz and Woody Woodpecker."
Oversize 10			Lawton. "The hired gun" (Truman) undated
Oversize 16			Levering, Albert. Untitled (parlor scene) 1911 - pen and ink illustration
Oversize 10			Lichty, George. "That settles it, Roscoe!... We're going on vacation right now while we still have something to come back to..." 23 Apr 1955 - "Grin and Bear It" panel on do-it-yourselfers, inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 16			Little, Tom. "Something to do more than think about" (school enrollment) undated
Oversize 10			Long, Scott. "Sales promotion" (Stalin) - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Loring, Paule. "Tender-hearted pop says no" undated
Oversize 10			Loring, Paule. "We are prepared for the worst" (air raids on Japan) 14 Jun 1945
Oversize 10			Maples, Harold. "Courage boy" (Alaska statehood) undated
Oversize 10			Maples, Harold. "Not much room left" (federal spending) undated
Oversize 10			Maples, Harold. "This is going to be interesting" (labor racketeering) 1 Feb 1959
Oversize 10			Maples, Harold. "Will our dream boat get home?" (government spending) undated
Oversize 10			Marcus, Ed. The 'blue' horizon" (Hitler's Russian offensive) 18 Oct 1942 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Mauldin, Bill. "Fallout" (Khrushchev) 1961 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Mauldin, Bill. Untitled sketch (G.I. Joe) circa 1945 - pen and ink, inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Maxwell, G.T. "But when he got up close...!" (a Roosevelt third term) circa 1940
Oversize 16			McGee, Ernie. Untitled (restaurants strip) undated
Oversize 10			McNerney, Gene. Untitled illustration undated - pen and ink, inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 9			Eam. "Script." undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			McNerney, Gene. "Buy and buy and buy and let him pay and pay and pay" undated - Illustration for Liberty Magazine
Oversize 10			Messner, Elmer. "A dangerous plaything" (Spanish Civil War) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Mullin, Willard. Untitled (neckwear) undated - color cartoon
Oversize 10			Murphy, J.E. "Interned for forty days" (Lent) 24 Mar 1916 - inscribed to A.M. Moore
Oversize 10			Myers, Fred. Cartoon self-portrait 7 May 1928 - with note to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Nichols, Nick. Untitled strip 1930 - probably titled "Oh, boy, are we going to have fun!"
Oversize 16			Nolley, Lance. "Samson and Delilah" (the Kellogg-Briand Pact) circa 1928
Oversize 10			Norris, L. "Don't mind 'er. She's just found out 'er sex can orbit in space and topple governments, all in one week." 19 Jun 1963
Oversize 10			Opper, F. Untitled illustration 10 Mar [no year] - pen and ink
Oversize 10			Orr, Carey. "Head salesman reports to the general manager" (Soviet diplomacy) 21 Jan 1959 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Orr, Carey. "The old claim seems to be about played out" (bleak Republican future in 1931) 1931 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Page, Grover. "Adolf has ceiling problems too" (Hitler) undated
Oversize 10			Page, Grover. "High ball" 29 Dec 1943
Oversize 10			Page, Grover. "But what's holding up the secret weapon?" (German secret weapon) circa 1944
Oversize 10			Paprocki, Tom. "Flying high." 1930 - sports cartoon, inscribed to Bruce Russell.
Oversize 10			Parrish, Joe. "The man who hitched his wagon to a star" (New Deal utopian schemes) 1936 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Pease, Lute. "The face of stone" (WPA strike) circa 1930s - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Pletcher, Eldon. "Strictly from hunger?" (Soviet agricultural failures) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Pratt, Newton. "Hurricane Babel" (civil rights filibuster) undated
Oversize 11			Pughe, J. S. "Begosh" (bull with football player) Oct 1907 - Puck illustration, pen and ink
Oversize 10			Pughe, J. S. Untitled illustration (farmer) 7 Oct 1901 - pen and ink
Oversize 10			Pughe, J. S. Untitled illustration (banquet) 16 Sep 1907 - pen and ink
Oversize 10			Ray, S. J. "When things get too badly out of hand at home...." undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Roth, Ben. "What this country needs is a good five dollar cigar" (John L. Lewis) 1947 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Russell, Bruce, Jr. Untitled illustration (American eagle) undated
Oversize 11			Schulz, Charles. "Peanuts" strip (Davy Crockett) 27 Jun 1955 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Seibel, Fred O. "Spirit of '43" (wartime shortages) 21 Dec 1943 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Shanks, Bruce. "Egg hunt" (federal budget cuts) 17 Apr 1956 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Shanks, Bruce. "The No. 1 obstacle to peace." 28 Feb 1957 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Shanks, Bruce. "Thanksgiving '56" 21 Nov 1956 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 11			Shoemaker, Vaughn. "End of the trail?" (Truman) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 16			Shoemaker, Vaughn. Untitled caricature undated
Oversize 10			Shoemaker, Vaughn. "The unappreciative guest" (F.D.R.'s "Soak the rich" program) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Shuman, Ray. Untitled illustration (café scene) 1931 - pen and ink, inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 16			Smith, Dorman H. Untitled cartoon (Boulder Dam) undated
Oversize 10			Stampone, John. "This is where we came in" (post-World War II tensions) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Svoboda, V. A. "We should worry about having no turkey." 1946 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Svoboda, V. A. "The crusader" (food conservation) 1946 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 16			Tashlin, Frank (Tish Tash) "News note - Bruce Russell takes vacation. Tish Tash will pinch-hit for next two weeks." 19 Apr 1936 - color panel
Oversize 10			Taylor, C. J. Untitled illustration undated - pen and ink
Oversize 10			Thomas, Burt. "Retreating supermen" (soldiers along the front) 1943 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 11			Van Buren, Raeburn. "Abbie an' Slats" strip 2 May1943 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Vic. Unidentified caricature (man smoking a cigar) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Warren, L.D. "Vest pocket war" (Chiang vs. Mao) 3 Nov 1954 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Werner, Charles G. Untitled cartoon (Congressional legislation) 1944 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 16			Wheeler, "Kate's Kwerie" comic strip
Oversize 16			Willard, Frank. "Mistaken Identity" comic strip Jan 11 [no year]
Oversize 10			Willard, Frank. "Wild men I have known" 1917 - inscribed to A.M. Moore
Oversize 10			Yardley, Moco. "The rewooing of poor Butterfly"(John Foster Dulles and Japan) Mar 1951 - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Zimmerman, Eugene (ZIM). Untitled illustration (man on stoop reading calling card) undated - pen and ink
Oversize 10			Unidentified. "The Loner" (Defeated Liberalism in Texas) undated - inscribed to Bruce Russell
Oversize 10			Unidentified. "...as the clock strikes two!" (hobo in a hallway) 1908 - pen and ink; possibly by Jay "Ding" Darling
Oversize 10			Unidentified. Untitled illustration (crowd of spectators on a street) undated - pen and ink
Oversize 10			Unidentified. Untitled illustration (two men with wreaths) undated - pen and ink
			Unidentified. "Hope!" (China) [MISSING 3/2/17] 1932 - inscribed to Bruce Russell from Leo
Oversize 10			Unidentified. Untitled cartoon (Demosthenes lecturing the head of NATO) undated - captions in modern Greek and an attached sheet of explanation in French
Oversize 10			Unidentified. Untitled illustration from Puck (typist in a tub, huge thermometer with Santa Claus on top) 1910 - pen and ink
Oversize 10			Unidentified fragment. Editorial cartoon, "The Hog in the Manger" (municipal spending) undated

	Writings
Box 25		Notes on Rollo Rollingstone circa 1931
Box 25		Questions for State Department Panel and Pentagon Panel circa 1963

Return to top

Topical index to cartoons

This topical index only covers Russell's original editorial cartoon art. It does not include the editorial cartoon clippings, nor the original editorial cartoon art by other artists.

• Adenauer, Konrad : R
• airline industry/air safety : I; L; T
• Algeria : Untitled
• Austria : M
• baseball : M
• black market : H
• Brown, Pat : N; R
• business : E
• Butler, Paul : Y
• Byrd, Richard E. : C
• California : C; I; R; W
• campaigns : B; G; I; O; P
• Canada : N
• Castro, Fidel : E
• census : I
• China : N; P; T
• citrus industry : G
• class warfare : W
• Communism : B; C; E; O; T; W
• Congress : A; S; T; W; Y
• crime : A; L; S; S; T; W
• Cuba : E; O
• death penalty : S
• Democratic party : B; I; M; Y
• dictators : T
• divorce : D
• Dollfuss, Engelbert : M
• drought : F
• drugs : G
• education : A; H; R; S
• Eichmann, Adolf : E
• Eisenhower, Dwight D. : I
• employment : Untitled
• England : J; M; O; R
• Estes, Billie Sol : B; C
• ethics : T
• Ethiopia : H
• Europe : J
• farmers : B; F; O
• fascism : F
• fire/fire prevention : I; L; O
• floods : C
• Foch, Ferdinand : H
• football : M
• Foreign Service : W
• France : B; H
• gambling : N; S
• Georgia : I
• Germany : B; D; E; U; W
• Goldberg, Arthur : T
• Goldwater, Barry : O; Y
• government, cost of : F; H; I; R; S; Y
• handicapped : D
• health care : N; S
• Hiss, Alger : P
• Hoffa, Jimmy : C; H; N; Untitled
• holidays : A; C; D; H; R
• Hollywood Bowl : A; H
• home ownership : W
• Hoover, Herbert : C; H; J; K; L; M; N; R
• Illinois : A
• income : I
• India : M; T
• inflation : I; T
• Italy : L
• Kefauver, Estes : I; P
• Kennedy, John F. : C; G; T
• Khrushchev, Nikita : A; H
• kidnaping : L
• Kuchel, Thomas : W
• labor : C; P
• Lewis, John L. : C
• Lindbergh, Charles : C
• Longworth, Nicholas : S
• Macmillan, Harold : O
• Maine : M; S
• March of Dimes : S
• McCarthy, Joseph : R
• Menon, V.K. Krishna : T
• Mexico : A
• Michigan : P
• Middle East : M
• militarism : C; D; F; I; J; L; N; P
• Monroe Doctrine : H; O
• Morse, Wayne : W
• Mussolini, Benito : H
• Nazis : D; U
• Nehru, Jawaharlal : M
• Nevada : D
• New Deal : O
• New Hampshire : N
• newspapers : D
• Nicaragua : O
• nuclear power : O
• nuclear weapons : O; S; T
• Obregón Salido, Álvaro : A
• oil : K
• Olympics : H
• peace : B; Untitled
• Philadelphia : N
• pollution : P
• population : B; M
• prisons : S
• Prohibition : I; S
• revolutions : T
• Rockefeller, John D. : O; Y
• Romney, George : P
• Roosevelt, Franklin Delano : I; M; P; W
• Russia : A; C; F; P; R
• science : S
• Smith, Margaret Chase : A
• socialism : R
• South Pole : C
• space program : C
• Spain : I; N; S
• Stassen, Harold E. : N; W
• Stevenson, Adlai : A; H; P; T
• strikes : J; P; W
• Suez Canal : Z
• Supreme Court : M; P; T
• Taft, Robert A. : W
• taxes : A; B; C; D; H; M; O; T; U; W; Y
• television : E
• Tennessee : I
• Texas : S
• The Pilgrimage Play (movie) : I; W
• traffic fatalities : B; C; D; E; I; L; M; N; R(1); R(2); T; W
• treaties : A; N; T
• Truman, Harry S. : D
• U.S. Postal Service : D
• unemployment : I
• United Nations : F
• voting : L; R
• wages : G
• weather : A; C; F; H; S; W
• World War II : D; E

Return to top