Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Russell, Marie. |
| Title: | Marie Russell Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1918-1928 |
| Quantity: | 0.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Correspondence, almost all from Della (Audella) Hyatt, and a few items of printed material |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Della (Audella) Beebe Hyatt (1840-1932) was an American painter. She studied with Boston painter William Morris Hunt but much of her life was spent in Annisquam, Massachusetts. Her husband was paleontologist Alpheus Hyatt (1838-1902) and their daughter was noted sculptor Anna Hyatt Huntington (1876-1973)
Nothing could be learned of Marie Russell. Her addresses on the envelopes include Southampton in Long Island, and Park Avenue in New York City. Based on the content of the letters in the collection, she was a close friend of Della Hyatt ("My dear Marie," "My blessed Marie," "My old pal") and visited her several times over the years.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Marie Russell Papers contains correspondence and a few items of printed material. Correspondence is all incoming, and almost entirely from Della (Audella) Beebe Hyatt. Three or four are signed "Hyatt" (likely Della's husband Alpheus) or "A.V.H." (possibly Della's daughter Anna Vaughn Hyatt, later Anna Hyatt Huntington). Printed material consists of clippings and a program for a statue dedication/unveiling.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
The Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections related to members of the Hyatt-Mayor-Beebe-Huntington families. See the SCRC Subject Index for the finding aids of individual family members.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Marie Russell Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Date and source of acquisition unknown.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: LDC
Date: 28 Feb. 2008
Revision history: 20 Mar 2008 - converted to EAD (LDC);
18 Jun 2024 - processed (MRC)
Inventory
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Hyatt, Della 1918-1928, undated (8 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Miscellaneous 1919, 1922, undated - from Anna Vaughn Hyatt and someone who signs only as "Hyatt" | ||||||||||
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Clippings 1920-1922 - about Anna Vaughn Hyatt (later Anna Hyatt Huntington) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Program, "Inauguration de la statue de Jeanne d'Arc" 13 Aug 1921 - signed and inscribed by Anna Vaughn Hyatt to "My Dear Friend Marie" | ||||||||||