Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Schnier, Jacques, 1898-1988. |
| Title: | Jacques Schnier Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1962-1968 |
| Quantity: | 3 folders |
| Abstract: | Manuscripts, published material, correspondence of the Romanian-born sculptor and muralist. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Jacques Schnier (1898-1988) was a modernist sculptor, mural painter and teacher.
Schnier came to the United States from Romania as a child in 1903 and was raised in San Francisco. After graduating from Stanford in 1920 with a degree in engineering, Schnier worked as an engineer at the Hawaii Sugar Plantation Company until 1923. Leaving his engineering career behind, he earned a masters in sociology from the University of California Berkeley in 1939, but the art classes he took inspired him to pursue art and sculpture instead.
Schnier worked as a professor of sculpture at UC Berkeley from 1936 to 1966, founding their sculpture department with both undergraduate and graduate degree programs, while publishing books about artists, art history, and psychoanalysis, on which he also conducted research. Schnier was a successful artist himself, winning numerous awards for his own work and being commissioned to create several public statues, including the bas-reliefs for the Golden Gate International Exposition in 1939-1940.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Jacques Schnier Papers consist of correspondence, memorabilia, and writings of the Romanian-born sculptor and muralist.
Correspondence consists of two business letters to Schnier.
Memorabilia contains a contemporary dance promotional poster, which pictures a sculpture by Schnier.
Writings contains three papers by Schnier.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many sculptors and painters; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Jacques Schnier Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Jacques Schnier, 1968.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 21 Sep 2009
Revision history: 12 Sep 2022 - collection processed (GU)
Inventory
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Miscellaneous, incoming 1968 | ||||||||||
| Memorabilia | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Poster promoting contemporary dance 1967 | ||||||||||
| Writings | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Papers, typed 1962-1966 - three drafted manuscripts about sculpting and casting techniques, intended for publication at University of California Berkeley. | ||||||||||