Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Schweikher, Paul, 1903-1997.
Title:	Paul Schweikher Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1955-1966
Quantity:	16.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American architect. Correspondence, architectural drawings, designs, specifications, and project records relating to Schweikher's practice.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Robert Paul Schweikher (1903-1997) was born in Denver in 1903 and began his architectural training at the University of Colorado in 1921. After moving to Chicago in 1922, he enrolled in architecture and design classes at the The Art Institute of Chicago and then at the Armour Institute of Technology. While studying in Chicago, he also worked at the architectural firm of Lowe and Bollenbacher and, later, with David Adler. He completed his bachelor's degree at the Yale School of Architecture in 1929. After graduation, Schweikher spent a year in European study and travel, funded by a fellowship from Yale. Schweikher returned to Chicago in 1930 and worked for several local architects, including George Fred Keck and Philip Maher. His early reputation as an avant-garde architect was bolstered by his inclusion in the 1933 landmark exhibition on modern architecture at the Museum of Modern Art in New York City. In 1934, he became principal and senior partner in the firm of Lamb and Elting, renamed Schweikher and Elting in 1946. He left that partnership in 1953 to become chairman of the School of Architecture at Yale University, and also established a private practice of residential architecture. In 1958, Schweikher resigned his position at Yale to serve as head of the Deparment of Architecture at Carnegie Institute of Technology (now Carnegie-Mellon), retiring from that position in 1970. He subsquently moved to Arizona and opened a small private practice there. Schweikher died in Phoenix in 1997. (portions taken from Art Institute of Chicago interview with Schweikher)

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Schweikher Collection contains material relating to Schweikher's professional life during this period. General files, in alphabetical order, comprises correspondence and subject files for institutions and organizations (American Humanist Association, Carnegie Institute of Technology, Pennsylvania Democratic State Committee, Pennsylvania Society of Architecture, Southwestern Pennsylvania Regional Planning Commission, University of Buffalo), fellow architects (Donald Hisaka, Earl P. Carlin, Clovis Heimsath), and specific jobs (Court Place office building, Evanston Unitarian Church, Knoxville Branch Library, New Haven Teachers College, Watertown Library).

The Carnegie Institute of Technology subseries includes detailed material relating to Schweikher's tenure as head of CIT's Department of Architecture, such as course descriptions, curriculum, scholarships, salary and faculty meeting material. The Yale, CT subseries has similar material relating to Schweikher's tenure as chairman of Yale University's School of Architecture.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds the papers of a number of American architects. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a full listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Schweikher Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MPK
Date: Aug 1978
Revision history: 13 Oct 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 23 Oct 2006 - bio, scopecontent updated (MRR); 16 Jul 2012 - LCNAF updates (MRC); 9 Aug 2021 - Box 2, Box 17 empty/missing folders addressed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	General files
Box 1		Accounts payable
Box 1		Accounts receivable
		Albright
Box 1			Accounting
Box 1			Correspondence 1955-1958 (4 folders)
Box 1			Clippings
Box 1			Gallery
Box 1			Greek examples
Box 1			Original scheme
Box 1		Allegheny Redevelopment Authority
Box 1		American Academy in Rome
		American Humanist Association
Box 1			Miscellaneous
Box 1			Accounting
Box 1			Agreements
Box 1			Codes-sites
Box 1			Correspondence 1956-1958 (3 folders)
Box 1			Designs
Box 1			Estimates
Box 1			Outline specifications
Box 1			Program
Box 1		Architecture exhibit
Box 1		Architectural forum
Box 1		Argonne National Laboratory, IL
Box 1		Arts assembly
Box 1		Arts Club of Chicago
Box 1		B
Box 1		Beal, James H.
Box 1		Bennett, Edward H., Jr.
Box 1		Berg, Stanley E.
Box 1		Bethany College, WV
Box 1		Blue Cross
Box 1		Boston Redevelopment Authority
Box 1		Broughton, Philip
Box 1		Building Research Advisory Board
Box 1		Burhans, Dr. and Mrs. Ernest
Box 1		Burdett, Robert
Box 1		C
Box 1		C.I.A.M. - Chermayett
Box 1		Carnegie Institute of Technology (2 folders)
		Carnegie Institute of Technology
Box 2			Annual reports
Box 2			Art and Civilization
Box 2			Basic Design School
Box 2			Basic Design Symposium
Box 2			Budget [empty folder]
Box 2			Committees
Box 2			Competitions
			Correspondence
Box 2				Prior to appointment
Box 2				[After appointment] 1956-1966 (8 folders)
Box 2			Course descriptions
Box 2			Critical reviews
Box 2			Curriculum 1956-1963 (2 folders)
Box 2			Department announcement
Box 2			Design
Box 2			Development program
Box 2			Exhibition
Box 2			Faculty meeting
Box 2			Joint planning project
Box 2			Memorandums
Box 2			Museum research
Box 2			Municipal Sports Center
Box 2			Planning
Box 2			President Guyturd
Box 2			Programs 1963-1965
Box 2			Salary
Box 2			Scholarships and grants
Box 2			Scholarships and fellowships
Box 2			Statements of expense
Box 2			Student activities
Box 2			Student curricular memoranda
Box 2			Successor to President Warren
Box 2			Trustees list
Box 2			Undergraduate curriculum
Box 2			Urban Design
Box 2			Urban Center Proposal
Box 2			Visiting critics and lectures 1956-1966 - first folder is empty; possibly just used as divider since has no dates (5 folders)
Box 2			Visits and travel for C.I.T. by Schweikher
Box 3		Calendar
Box 3		Earl P. Carlin - correspondence
Box 3		Carnegie Institute
		Carnegie Tech Campus Activities Building
Box 3			Accounting
Box 3			Agreements
Box 3			Correspondence
Box 3			Estimate
Box 3			Notes
Box 3			Specifications
Box 3		Campus activities building
Box 3		Carver, Norman F.
Box 3		Catholic University of America, DC
Box 3		Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
Box 3		Civil Rights Title VII
Box 3		Calvin J. Collins
Box 3		Collins - general
Box 3		Concrete panels
Box 3		Competitions - Roosevelt Memorial
Box 3		Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences
		Connecticut, University of
Box 3			Nuclear Reactor
Box 3		Consultants correspondence
Box 3		Contributions
		Court Place Corporation
Box 3			Sachnoff
Box 3			Notes
		Court Place office building
Box 3			Accounting
Box 3			Agreement
Box 3			Specifications
Box 3		Cox, Felix O.
Box 3		Duquesne University, PA (4 folders)
Box 4		Duquesne University (2 folders)
Box 4		E.D.A.
		East Liverpool
Box 4			Trinity United Presbyterian
			First Presbyterian Church
Box 4				Correspondence
Box 4				Designs
Box 4				Publicity
Box 4		Eichorn, Robert
Box 4		Eisler Nurseries
Box 4		B.K. Elliot Co.
Box 4		Elting, Winston
Box 4		John Slade Ely
Box 4		Erie Arts Center (2 folders)
		Evanston Unitarian Church
Box 4			General
Box 4			Correspondence 1956-1957 (3 folders)
Box 4			Designs
Box 4			Miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 5		Europe trip
Box 5		Exhibitions (3 folders)
Box 5		F
Box 5		Fitch, Elliot G.
Box 5		Ford Foundation
Box 5		G
Box 5		G.D.T. House
Box 5		Galleries
Box 5		Gates Presbyterian Church
Box 5		General correspondence
Box 5		General services administration
Box 5		Gensert - miscellaneous correspondence
Box 5		Gettle, Stanley
Box 5		Goodspeed - miscellaneous
Box 5		Hoag, E. Keith
		Hagerstown, Md.
Box 5			Hospital
Box 5			Library
Box 5		Hays - Office supplies
Box 5		Hazard, Leland
Box 5		Heimsath, Clovis
Box 5		Hisaka, Donald M. (2 folders)
Box 5		Hoffman, Julius
Box 5		Hospitals
Box 5		House and home
Box 5		Hoyt, Edward S.
Box 5		Humanist
Box 5		Roy Hunt, Jr.
Box 5		I
Box 5		Illinois, University of
Box 5		Indiana State Board of Registration for Architects
Box 5		Institute for Applied Technology
Box 5		International Congress on Religion
Box 5		International Union of Architects
Box 5		Interoffice correspondence
Box 5		Interoffice notes
Box 5		Izenour, George
Box 5		J
Box 5		Job record sheets
Box 5		Juries, speaking engagements
Box 5		K
Box 5		Kansas City Hospital (2 folders)
Box 5		Kassler, Kenneth
Box 5		Keller house
Box 5		Keller notes
Box 5		Kipplinger Washington Letters
Box 5		Koppers Arhitectural Student Design Competition
		Knoxville Branch Library
Box 6			Accounting
Box 6			Areas
Box 6			Consultants fees
Box 6			Correspondence
Box 6			Drawings (2 folders)
Box 6			Inquiries
Box 6			Landscaping
Box 6			Original specifications
Box 6			Requisitions
Box 6			Shop drawings
Box 6			Supervisions
Box 6		L
Box 6		Law architecture
Box 6		LaTrobe, Pennsylvania
Box 6		Letterheads
Box 6		Life magazine
Box 6		Lunning, Fredrick
Box 6		M
Box 6		Macho Pacho
Box 6		Maine State Cultural Building
Box 6		Maldonado, Tomas
Box 6		Marcus, Edward
Box 7		Maryville, F.A.C.
		Maryville
Box 7			Chapel
Box 7			Correspondence
Box 7			Furniture
Box 7			Organ
		Maryville College
Box 7			Chapel
Box 7			Dormitory (3 folders)
Box 7			Fine Arts Center
Box 7			Furniture
Box 7			Master plan
Box 7			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 7			Program notes
Box 7		Maryville master plan
Box 7		Materials and methods
Box 7		A.H. Mathias and Co.
Box 7		Matthews, Jas. H.
Box 7		Mellon Institute
Box 7		Membership cards
Box 7		Memoranda - interoffice
Box 7		Memphis competition
		Metcalf
Box 7			Agreement
Box 7			Biographical data
Box 7			Correspondence
Box 7			Laurel General Hospital
Box 7			Photographers
Box 7			Somerville Hospital
Box 7			Tufts University
Box 7		Mercy Hospital
		Methodist Church
Box 7			Brownsville, Pa.
Box 7			Orchard Park, N.Y.
Box 7		Michigan, University of
Box 7		Miles Farnsworth decision
Box 7		Mining, Strip
Box 8		Miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 8		Monk, Peter Miller (2 folders)
Box 8		Charles Moore
Box 8		N
Box 8		National Council of Architectural Boards
Box 8		National Council of the Arts in Education
Box 8		National Observer
Box 8		Nelson Walker Associates
		New Haven Teachers College
Box 8			Accounting
Box 8			Agreement
Box 8			Correspondence
Box 8			Designs
Box 8		New York State University construction performance criteria development
Box 8		O
Box 8		Office
Box 8		Oregon Shakespearean Festival
Box 8		Olivetti Underwood
		Paid Bills
Box 8			Blueprinting, 1957-1960 (4 folders)
Box 9			Business 1958-1962 (3 folders)
Box 9			Personal 1956-1962 (5 folders)
Box 9		Pan American Health Organization
Box 9		Parents committee
		Park Forest
Box 9			Accounting (7 folders)
Box 9			Agreements
Box 9			Faith United Protestant Church
Box 9		Payroll information
Box 9, 10		Payroll time sheets
Box 10		Leonard D. Passell
Box 10		Pennsylvania Democratic State Committee
Box 10		Pennsylvania Society of Architecture
Box 10		Pennsylvania State University
Box 10		Petrilli Studios
Box 10		Peru Trip
Box 10		Pittsburgh Plan for Art
Box 10		Pittsburgh Regional Committee for U.N. Urbanization Seminar
Box 10		Pittsburgh Theological Seminary
Box 10		Presbyterian Church (4 folders)
Box 10		Princeton (2 folders)
Box 10		Print Panels
Box 10		Progressive Architecture
Box 10		Publications
Box 10		R
Box 10		William Rea
Box 10		Records, business (3 folders)
Box 11		Rizner - general
Box 11		Homer R. Rizner House
Box 11		Robie House
Box 11		R. Roberts
Box 11		Rogovy House
Box 11		Roselle Property
Box 11		Rosenblum (2 folders)
Box 11		S
Box 11		Saalman, Howard
Box 11		Merle Sachnoff
Box 11		Saint Christopher's Episcopal Church
Box 11		Saint Vincent's College
Box 11		Salem College
Box 11		Schenectady
Box 11		Scholl, Jack
Box 11		Seton Hill College, PA
Box 11		Schwartz, Ken
Box 11		Schweikher, Fredrick
		Schweikher, Paul
Box 11			Accounting
Box 11			Correspondence
Box 11			House
Box 11			Research
Box 11			Skills
Box 11			Subscriptions
Box 11			Time cards
Box 11			Visiting program
Box 11			Washington, D.C.
Box 11		Sert, Jose Luis
Box 11		Sheps - Casten
Box 11		Sillman, Sewell
Box 11		Smith, Hinchman and Grills
Box 11		Smith, Milton
Box 11		Smith Supplies
Box 11		Snowden, Mrs. C.L., Jr.
Box 11		Somerville, Mass. Hospital
Box 11		Southwestern Pennsylvania Regional Planning Commission
Box 11		Mrs. Dorothy N. Sproul House
Box 11		Sproul House, 1962
Box 11		Sproul-Loomis Street (Tree House)
Box 11		Summers, Gene R.
Box 11		Swank, Dean Earle R.
Box 11		T
Box 12		Tange, Kenzo
Box 12		Tax - personal income
Box 12		Teaching-Education, A.I.A.
Box 12		Toledo, Ohio
Box 12		Teaneck - Grace Lutheran
Box 12		Telephone and T.A.S. (Paid Bills)
Box 12		Thiel College, PA
Box 12		Three Rivers Art Festival
Box 12		Travel, train, air, hotels, rates, times
		Thompson, G.D.
Box 12			Accounting
Box 12			Contractors accounting
Box 12			Correspondence
Box 12			Furniture bills
Box 12			New shop drawings
Box 12			Memoranda
Box 12		Travel assignments
Box 12		U
Box 12		Uniontown Library, PA
Box 12, 13, 14		University of Buffalo (17 folders)
			Folders are numbered I through XVIII (1-18), but there is no XV (15). Based on the dates of the contents, nothing is missing -- it appears that XV (15) was inadvertently skipped in the numbering sequence.
Box 14		University of Florida
Box 14		Univeristy of Minnesota
Box 14		University of Vermont
Box 14		Upton House
Box 14		Urban Development of Pittsburgh (2 folders)
Box 14		Urban Transportation Planning
Box 14		Urban Design Proposed Program
Box 14		V
Box 14		Mies Van Der Rohe
		Vassar, NY
			Accounting, general
Box 14				1st Scheme (2 folders)
Box 14				2nd Scheme (3 folders)
Box 14		Agreements
Box 14		Correspondence 1954-1959 (9 folders)
Box 14		Designs
Box 15		Estimates
Box 15		Publications
Box 15		Victorian Society
Box 15		W
Box 15		Ward, John B.
		Watertown Library
Box 15			Accounting
Box 15			Agreements
Box 15			Correspondence
Box 15			Designs
Box 15			Presentation, 1956-1957 (3 folders)
Box 15		Philip M. Weber - accountant
Box 15		Wechsler, R.L.
Box 15		Western Reserve University, OH
Box 15		Whyte, Lancelot Law
		Wilkinsburg Housing
Box 15			Accounting
Box 15			Merle Sachnoff
Box 15			Specifications
Box 15		Dr. Craig Wright
Box 15		Y
		Yale, CT
Box 15			General 1950s - 60 (21 folders)
Box 15			Account Engineering Bldg 1955-56
Box 15			Alumni Association
Box 15			Architecture 1950-56
			Department of Architecture
Box 16				Budget 1953-54
Box 16				Faculty communications 1954, undated
Box 16				Miscellaneous notes 1953-54
Box 16				Prospecture faculty 1955
Box 16				Student communications 1954-56
Box 16				Visiting critics 1955-56, 1963
Box 16			Education, 2nd & 3rd years 1954-55
Box 16			Long range plan 1954-55
Box 16			News bureau 1954-55
Box 16			University Press 1962-63
Box 16			Research Center 1954-56 - Accounting

Return to top