Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Sheats, Paul H., 1907-
Title:	Paul Henry Sheats Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1925-1975
Quantity:	54 linear ft.
Abstract:	Files of the American educator (1907-1984). Personal files include oral history, correspondence from and about Theodor Wilhelm, memorabilia, photographs, material on Nazi education, student papers, speeches, selected writings, some audio-visual material, etc. There are organizational records for several California education organizations as well as a number of key national adult education organizations including the Adult Education Association of the U.S.A., Association of University Evening Colleges, Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges, National University Extension Association, UNESCO, and University Council on Education for Public Responsibility. There are also more than 40 subject and country files and information on meetings and conferences, and two audiorecordings.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Born on December 5, 1907 in Tiffin, Ohio, Paul Sheats (1907-1984) attended Heidelberg College in his hometown where he earned his A.B. in 1929. He went on to earn an M.A. from Columbia University in 1930, and a Ph.D. from Yale University in 1936. He was an instructor in government at New York State College for Teachers in Albany, an instructor in education at Yale, and an assistant professor of education at the University of Wisconsin. During World War II he served for a time as head of the adult section of the Office of War Information. Sheats has also been the education director of Town Hall in New York. In 1946 he joined the University of California as Associate Director of Extension and in 1949 he became a full professor, a position he held until his retirement in 1975. In 1957 he became Director of University Extension and was named Dean of Extension in 1958. He held this position until 1967 when he returned to teaching full-time. He was also a professor of education at University of California, Los Angeles.

In the course of his life he maintained memberships with several key adult education organizations. Sheats was President of both the National University Extension Association and the Adult Education Association. He served as the University Extension representative on the Executive Committee of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges. He also served on the Board of Directors of the National Training Laboratories and on the Adult Education Committee of the Master Plan Survey Team, which acted as architects for the Master Plan for Higher Education in California. For six years Dr. Sheats served on the UNESCO National Commission (at one time holding the office of Vice-Chairman), and he was a member of President Kennedy's Panel of Consultants on Vocational Education. In addition he held seats on the Boards of Directors for the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults and the National Training Laboratories.

Paul Sheats' articles appeared in the major adult education publications, and he authored or co-authored a number of books including Citizenship Throuqh the Social Studies (with R. W. Frederick), 1936; Forums for Young People (with J. W. Studebaker and C. S. Williams), 1937; Education and the Quest for a Middle Way, 1938; Forums on the Air, 1939; Adult education: the community approach, 1953; Adult Education (with R. Spence and C. Jayne), 1953; University of California Extension in a decade of transition, 1962; The case against the adult dropout, 1965; and Aging and the imagination, 1976.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Henry Sheats Papers are divided into seven series.

The papers in Personal files pertain to Paul Sheats, the person. The files begin with biographical information in the form of a transcript of an oral history. Correspondence, memorabilia and photographs follow. Next are files devoted to Sheats's activities and interests from the 1930s through the 1960s. Of note are the files for Nazi educational philosophy, public forums and university extension. The files continue with copies of speeches, interviews and reports authored by Sheats from 1946-1970. There are files with some of Sheats's writings, however, they are selective; five writing projects undertaken in the late 1960s and 1970, as well as four books which he authored and a doctoral dissertation by his wife, June Barth Dow. The personal files conclude with audio visual material such as slides and tapes.

Organizational records consists of files for organizations with which Sheats was affiliated. The organizations, appearing alphabetically in the files, are:

• Adult Education Association, 1961-1966 (includes material from the Special Conference on the War on Poverty, 1964)
• American Council on Education, 1963-1964
• Association of University Evening Colleges, 1953-1968
• California State Board of Education - Advisory Committee on Adult Education, 1967-1970
• Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, 1953-1969 (includes a history of the CSLEA by James B. Whipple)
• International Community College, 1970-1972
• National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges, 1958-1967 (The 1961 meeting is of special interest because it was the centennial of the Morrill Land-Grant Act. Sheats served as chairman of the organization's Division of Extension.)
• National Training Laboratories, 1947-1970
• National University Extension Association, 1949-1970
• Southern Regional Education Board - Adult Basic Education - Staff Development Project - Southeastern Region, 1969-1973
• Unesco, 1951-1974
• University Council on Education for Public Responsibility, 1962-1963
• University of California Extension, 1958-1967
• University of California, Los Angeles, 1971-1974
• Western Training Laboratory, 1952-1969
• Youth Opportunity Board of Greater Los Angeles, 1965

Paul Sheats attended over 70 meetings and conferences of note for which he kept records which comprise Meetings files. The meetings are arranged in alphabetical order by sponsor. Many adult education associations and universities are represented in these files.

During the course of 50 years, Sheats collected information about various components of adult education. He kept Subject files as a means for easy organization, containment, and access of this information. The collection has preserved this order, maintaining the same subject headings used by Sheats. Topics range from adult basic education to consumer education, from labor education to World War II. Topics have been subdivided if the bulk and nature of the material warranted such a division. Arrangement of the subject files is alphabetical.

The Geographical files are similar in nature to the subject files. Material about education from around the world is grouped primarily by country, however, some material is designated by geographic region. Countries represented here range from Africa to Yugoslavia.

The Printed material files are the most ambiguous division within the collection. This division was not used by Paul Sheats in his filing system, however, these materials could not readily be integrated within the existing framework of the collection. The material is filed alphabetically under author or title.

Recordings contains two LPs, each with two episode of an educational radio show.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The inventory reflects the intellectual organization of the material and gathers related material under the same heading(s), but because the material arrived in two distinct accessions separated by many years, material for a given topic may be physically located in more than one place. For this same reason, the organizational files from the two accessions are arranged slightly differently. The researcher will be well advised to review the entire inventory carefully to ensure that no relevant material is missed.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Henry Sheats Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Paul H. Sheats, 1968, 1985

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: -
Revision history: Oct 1969 - unspecified (AMV); Jan 1977 - unspecified (-); Aug 2006 - parts 1 and 2 inventories integrated, part 2 boxes renumbered (MRR); 14 Sep 2015 - updates to inventory structure/layout and box 98 (MRC); 17 Nov 2016 - recordings added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Personal files
		Biographical
Box 1			Oral History
		Correspondence
Box 1			Dr. Theodor Wilhelm 1936-1939
				See also European trip; Nazi educational philosophy
Box 1			Australia 1959-1960
Box 1			Sabbatical 1970
		Memorabilia
			Yearbooks
Box 1				Columbian High School, Tiffin, Ohio 1925
Box 1				Heidelberg College, Tiffin, Ohio 1929
Box 1				New York State College for Teachers, Albany, NY 1931
			Awards
Box 2				Delbert Clark Award in Adult Education 23 May 1970
Box 97				Adult Education Association of the U.S.A., President 1953-1954
Box 97				Adult Educators of Greater Los Angeles May 1975
Box 97				National University Extension Association, Julius M. Nolte Award 29 Apr 1975
		Photographs
Box 2			Debate Club, Tiffin, Ohio High School 1924
Box 2			Reception for President Johnson at UCLA, February 21 1964
Box 2			Vocational Education Panel at the White House, November 27 1962
Box 2		European trip records 1935
			See also Dr. Theodor Wilhelm; Nazi educational philosophy
Box 2		Nazi educational philosophy 1930s
			See also Dr. Theodor Wilhelm; European trip records
		Public forums
Box 2			Personal File 1930s-1940s
Box 2			Counseling 1930s-1940s
Box 2			Publications 1930s-1940s (3 folders)
Box 2			Publicity 1930s
Box 2			Reporting Projects 1930s
Box 2			Scheduling 1930s
Box 3			Short Programs 1930s-1940s
Box 3			Subjects and References 1930s
Box 3			Chattanooga, Hamilton County Public Forum Scrapbook 1936-1937 (2 folders)
			Town Hall
Box 3				Lecture Division 1940s
Box 3				Workshop Division 1940s
Box 3			American Platform Guild 1940s
Box 3			National Education Association 1940s
Box 3			New Tools for Learning 1940s
Box 4			University of Wisconsin 1930s-1940s
Box 4			Metropolitan Youth Council 1940s
Box 4			Office of War Information 1940s
		University Extension
Box 4			Reorganization 1964-1965, 1967-1968
Box 4			Resignation 1967
				See also Organizational records: University of California Extension
		Student papers
Box 4			Issues in Adult Education, 232B 1971
			Seminar on Research in Adult, Vocational, and Technical Education, 261G 1969
Box 4		University of Lethbridge Consultation 1967-1968
			See also Geographical files: Canada: University of Lethbridge
		Speeches, interviews, etc.
Box 4			Table of Contents, v. 1 and v. 2 1946-1947
Box 4			Volume 1, no's 1-33. 35-41
Box 5			Volume 2, no. 42-66
		Speeches, forms and reports
Box 5			Indices, v. 1-5 1954-1966
Box 5			v. 1, no. 1-38
Box 5			v. 2, no. 39-80
Box 6			v. 3, no. 80a-155, 158-165
Box 6			v. 4, no. 166-185
Box 6			v. 5, no. 186-208
Box 6			[Miscellaneous] 1961, 1967-1968, 1970
		Writings
			Administration of Adult Basic Education
Box 7				Outline
Box 7				Draft (2 folders)
			Encyclopedia of Education, "Continuing Education" (field article)
Box 7				Correspondence 1967-1969
Box 7				Outline and article 1969
			Foundation of Education, Chapter 27 - Learning Society 1970
Box 7				Drafts (3 folders)
Box 7				Proof
Box 7				Teacher's Manual draft
			Handbook of Adult Education in the U.S. - Introduction 1970
Box 7				Handwritten copy
Box 7				Draft
Box 7				Rough final draft
Box 7				Final Draft
Box 7				Master copy
			We Keep on Learning: The Growth of Adult Education in America
Box 7				Correspondence 1961, 1966
Box 7				Draft 1966
			Published works
Box 98				Adult Education: The Community Approach, by Paul H. Sheats 1953 (1 volume)
Box 98				Citizenship Education Through the Social Studies: A Philosophy and a Program by Robert Wendell Frederick 1936 (1 volume)
Box 98				Education and the Quest for a Middle Way, by Paul H. Sheats 1938 (1 volume)
Box 98				Handbook of Adult Education in the U.S., by Malcolm S. Knowles 1960 (1 volume)
			Dissertation
Box 98				Characteristics of Noncredit University Extension Students, by June Barth Dow 1965 - includes four loose sheets of typescript which appear to be part of an interview or conversation between Sheats and Dow, numbered 221 through 223 (1 volume)
		Audio-visual materials
			Records
Box 96				The People Act, Programs 9 and 10
Box 96				The Ways of Mankind, Program 7 and 8
			Slides
Box 96				Dr. Sheats 1973
			Tapes
Box 96				Unesco (4) (1 audiocassette)
Box 96				Aldous Huxley (2) (2 reel-to-reel audiotapes)
Box 96				Illich (1 reel-to-reel audiotape)
Box 96				Frank Jessup/UCLA Seminar (1 reel-to-reel audiotape)
Box 96				Learning to Be (1 videotape)
Box 96				Miscellaneous (2) (2 videotapes)

	Organizational records
		Adult Education Association
Box 99			Annual conference 1961
Box 99			Annual conference 1963
Box 99			Special conference 1961
Box 99			Special conference (on War on Poverty) 1964
Box 99			National Conference 1965
Box 99			Report on Current Business 1966
		American Council on Education
Box 99			Annual meeting 1963
Box 99			Annual meeting 1964
		Association of University Evening Colleges
			Annual meetings
				See Meetings, below.
Box 7			Committee on Minimum Data and Definitions 1960-1966 - reports
Box 100			Committee on Relationships with Other Organizations 1963
Box 7			Research Committee 1959
			Meetings
				Material is split between boxes 7, 8, 9, 99 and 100.
Box 7				15th Annual 1953
Box 7				18th Annual 1956
Box 7				19th Annual 1957
Box 8				20th Annual 1958
Box 8				21st Annual 1959
Box 8				22nd Annual 1960
Box 99				[22d] Annual meeting 1960 - organizational correspondence and general plans
Box 99				[22d] Annual meeting 1960 - reports and notes
Box 8				23rd Annual 1961
Box 99				[23d] Annual meeting 1961
Box 8				24th Annual 1962
Box 8				25th Annual 1963
Box 9				26th Annual 1964
Box 99				[26th] Annual meeting 1964
Box 9				27th Annual 1965
Box 99				[27th] Annual meeting 1965
Box 9				28th Annual 1966
				[28th] Annual meeting 1966
Box 99					Organizational correspondence and general plans
Box 99					Address and notes by Paul H. Sheats
Box 99					Reports and notes
Box 100				[29th] Annual meeting 1967
			Printed materials
Box 9				"From the Dean's Desk..." 1965, 1969
				Newsletters 1955-1963 - v. 3, no. 4; v. 4, no. 1, 3; v. 5, no. 7, 8; v. 6, no. 2, 6-8; v. 7, no. 1-8; v. 8, no. 1-8; v. 9, no. 1-8; v. 10, no. 1-8; v. 11, no. 1-8 (6 folders)
Box 10				Newsletters 1963-1968 - v. 12, no. 1-8; v. 13, no. 1-7; v. 14, no. 1-6; v. 15, no. 1-6; v. 16, no. 3-6 (5 folders)
Box 10				Who's Who in 1964
		California State Board of Education. Advisory Committee on Adult Education
Box 10			Correspondence 1967-1970
			Meetings
Box 10				[General] 1968
Box 10				Conference 1970
Box 10			Surveys 1968-1969
Box 10			Administrative and Operational Concerns Task Force 1969-1970
Box 10			Curriculum Task Force 1970
Box 10			Finance and Facilities Task Force 1969-1970
Box 10			Personnel Task Force 1969-1970
Box 10			Students Task Force 1969-1970
		Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults
Box 100			Annual Leadership Conference 1965
Box 11			Carnegie Corporation - Commonwealth Fund 1967
Box 11			Ford Foundation grants 1962
Box 11			History 1967
Box 11			Interim reports, 6th and 7th Oct 1953 - Sep 1954, Oct 1955
Box 11			Liberal education 1955
Box 11			University Extension 1962
Box 11			Speeches by John B. Schwertman, Director 1954-1955
			Meetings
Box 11				Board of Directors 10-11 Mar 1962
Box 11				Board of Directors 12 Mar 1964
Box 100				Board of Directors 1966
Box 100				Board of Directors Oct 1966 - workikng papers (2 folders)
Box 100				Board of Directors 1967
Box 11				Board of Directors 20 Mar 1967
Box 11				Board of Directors 15-16 Sep 1967
Box 11				Conference of Liberal Arts Deans 1954
Box 11				4th Leadership Conference for University Adult Educators 1956
Box 12				National Conference on the Urban University and Community Needs 1954
			Printed materials
Box 12				CSLEA Reports 1961-1968 (4 folders)
Box 12				Continuing Education for Adults 1961-1973 (4 folders)
Box 13				Notes and Essays on Education for Adults 1952-1962 - no. 1, 2, 4-11, 13-31, 34-36 (6 folders)
Box 14				Notes and Essays on Education for Adults 1963-1969 - no. 37-55, 57-59 (5 folders)
Box 15				Occasional Papers 1960s - no. 1, 2, 4-13, 15-17 (2 folders)
Box 15				Reports 1955, 1957-1958, 1960-1961 (2 folders)
Box 15				Research Reports 1961, 1963-1964, 1968 (3 folders)
Box 16				Reports 1953, 1957-1959
Box 16				Reprints 1956, 1957, 1959
		International Community College
			Board of Governors
Box 16				Correspondence 1970-1972
Box 16				Meetings 1971-1972
Box 16				Catalogs 1971-1972
Box 16			Printed materials, miscellaneous circa 1970s
		National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges
			Annual meeting
Box 16				72nd Annual 1958
Box 100				72nd Annual (cont.) 1958
Box 16				73rd Annual 1959
Box 16				74th Annual 1960
Box 100				74th Annual (cont.) 1960
				75th Annual 1961
Box 17					v. 1 and 2
Box 100					Organizational correspondence Dec 1960-Nov 1961 (2 folders)
Box 100					General plans
Box 101					Press releases
Box 101					Addresses
Box 101					Reports (2 folders)
				77th Annual 1963
Box 101					Organizational correspondence
Box 101					General plans
Box 101					Reports 2 folders
Box 17					Miscellaneous
				78th Annual 1964
Box 101					Organizational correspondence
Box 101					General plans
Box 101					Addresses and notes
Box 101					Reports (2 folders)
Box 17					Miscellaneous
				79th Annual 1965
Box 102					Organizational correspondence
Box 102					General plans
Box 102					Addresses
Box 102					Reports and resolutions
Box 17					Miscellaneous
				80th Annual 1966
Box 102					Organizational correspondence and general plans
Box 102					Addresses
Box 17				81st Annual 1967
Box 102			Executive Committee Meetings 1964-1966 May (8 folders)
Box 103			Executive Committee Meetings 1966, Sep
Box 103			Division of Extension Meetings 1964, 1966 (2 folders)
			Centennial Committee 1960-1962
Box 103				General plans and organizational correspondence
Box 103				Publications
Box 103				News articles
Box 103				Extension questionnaire
Box 103				Citizen Seminars
Box 103			Ad Hoc Committee on Membership Meeting Jul 1966
Box 103			Questionnaire on Administrative Problems and Practices 1963
Box 103			Newsletter 1963-1966 (3 folders)
Box 16			Task Force on the State University and Public Affairs 1964-1967
		National Training Laboratories
Box 17			College Leaders, 2d 1961
Box 17			Committee on Minority Group Affairs / Negotiating, Committee of Black Ad Hoc Committee 6 Sep 1969 - minutes
Box 17			Community Leadership Training, 2d 1961
Box 18			Community Leadership Training Reading Book 1969
Box 18			Conference on Executive Behavior and Organizational Effectiveness 1961
			Group Development [meetings]
Box 18				1st 1947
Box 18				2nd 1948
Box 18				3d 1949
Box 18				4th 1950
Box 19				4th (cont.) 1950
Box 19				5th 1951
Box 19				Reports 1951
Box 19				1st Session 1951
Box 20				2nd Session 1951
Box 20				6th 1952
Box 20				7th 1953
Box 20				Master file 1953
Box 21				Bulletins 1948, 1951, 1955 - no. 2-4, 6 (2 folders)
Box 21				Explorations in Human Relations Training: An Assessment of Experience 1947-1953
Box 104			Executive Committee Meeting Mar 1963
			Human Relations Training
Box 21				15th 1961
Box 21				17th 1963
Box 21				Applications, no. 1-3 1966
Box 21				Explorations, no. 2 1966
Box 21				News 1963-1968 - v. 7, no. 4; v. 9, no. 4; v. 10, no. 2-4; v. 11, no. 2-3, Index; v. 12, no. 4
Box 21				Reading Book, Rev. 1969
Box 21			Leadership Skills Workshop for Elementary School Principals, 1st 1958
Box 22			Management Work Conference, 7th 1961-1962
Box 104			National Board Meetings 1961-1963 (5 folders)
Box 22			NTL for Educators, 3d 1961
Box 22			Protestant Church Leadership Laboratory, 6th 1961
			Printed materials
Box 22				Conference planning 1940s-1950s
Box 22				Informational papers 1970s
Box 22				Interpersonal Process of Self-Disclosure: It Takes Two to See One, by Samuel A. Culbert 1967
Box 22				Framework for Examining Change, by Jack R. Gibb 1961
Box 22				Midwest Group for Human Resources newsletter 1968, 1969 - v. 1, no. 1; v. 2, no. 2
Box 22				Network News Apr 1969
Box 22				News and Reports 1968, 1969 - v. 2, no. 4; v. 3, no. 1-3
Box 22				Research Reprint Series 1961-1962 - no. 7, 9, 11
Box 22				Role Playing / Large Group Committee 1940s-1960s
Box 22				Selected Reading Series 1961 - no. 1-2
Box 23				Selected Reading Series 1962 - no. 5-6
Box 23				Social Change: Ideas and Applications 1971 - v. 1, no. 2
Box 23				Story of the Bethel Idea, by Stuart Chase 1957
Box 23				Subscription Service 1963-1964 - no. 1-4
Box 105			University - NTL Relationship Meeting Feb-Mar 1963
		National University Extension Association
Box 107			Board of Directors meetings 1960, 1962-1967 (10 folders)
			Committees
Box 108				Ad Hoc Committee Apr 1960
Box 108				Ad Hoc Committee on Constitution Revision, Organization, Structure and Fee Modification ("Eddy Committee") 1961-1967 (2 folders)
Box 108				Ad Hoc Committee on Organizational Problems 1963
Box 108				Ad Hoc Committee for the Study of the 1961 Position Paper and Future Directions of the Association, Meeting 16-19 Jul 1967
Box 108				Committee on American Indian Affairs
Box 108				Awards and Honors Committee 1962-1963
Box 108				Business and Affairs Committee 1962, 1964
Box 23				Committee on Community Organization 1949, 1953-1954, 1956, 1969
Box 108				Discussion and Debate Materials Committee 1961-1965
Box 108				Executive Committee 1965-1967
Box 108				Extension Services for the Armed Forces Committee 1963
Box 108				Finance Committee 1962
Box 108				Governmental Relations Committee 1964-1967
Box 108				Humanities Committee 1962-1963
Box 108				Committee on Inter-Association Relationships 1962-1964
Box 108				Inter-Organizational Cooperation Committee 1962
Box 108				Nominating Committee 1963-1967
Box 108				Professional Development Committee 1962-1963, 1965
Box 108				Publications and Public Information Committee 1963
Box 23				Committee on Reports 1961
Box 108				Research Committee 1963-1965
Box 108				Resolutions Committee 1962, 1963
Box 108				Terminal Education Committee 1962
Box 23				World Affairs Committee 1960
Box 108				World Affairs Committee 1962
Box 23			Community Development Division 1965-1966
Box 23			National Teacher Training Institute 1967
			Meetings
Box 23				43rd Annual 1958
Box 23				44th Annual 1959
Box 23				45th Annual 1960
Box 105				45th Annual (cont.) 1960
				46th Annual 1961
Box 105					Organizational correspondence
Box 105					General plans
Box 105					Newspaper clippings
Box 105					Speech
Box 105					Reports
Box 23					Miscellaneous
				47th Annual 1962
Box 106					Organizational correspondence
Box 106					General plans
Box 106					Speeches
Box 106					Reports
Box 24					Miscellaneous
				48th Annual 1963
Box 106					Organizational correspondence 1961-1963 (4 folders)
Box 106					General plans
Box 106					Reports
Box 24					Miscellaneous
Box 24				49th Annual 1964
Box 106				49th Annual, additional material 1964
				50th Annual 1965
Box 106					Correspondence, general plans, speech by Sheats
Box 106					Publications
				51st Annual 1966
Box 107					Correspondence, general plans, reports
Box 107					Publications
Box 24					Miscellaneous
Box 24				52nd Annual 1967
Box 107				52nd Annual (cont.) 1967
Box 24				Preparation of Extension Leaders 1947
			Printed materials
				Studies in University Extension Education 1944-1946 1951, 1953-1954 - no. 2-4, 6, 9, 11
Box 24				Miscellaneous 1940s-1970s
			Miscellaneous
Box 109				Division of Audio-Visual Communications 1963-1965
Box 109				Division of Conferences and Institutes 1962
Box 109				Division of Evening Colleges and Class Extension 1962-1964 (2 folders)
Box 109				Institute on the Federal Legislative Process 5 May 1961
Box 109				NUEA Work-Study Conference on New Educational Media 28-29 Apr 1962
Box 109				NUEA - Speech Association of America, Joint Symposium Dec 1962
Box 109				Position Paper 1960-1962
				Correspondence and drafts 1960, 1961-1962, undated (3 folders)
		Southern Regional Education Board, Adult Basic Education Staff Development Project, Southeastern Region
Box 24			Correspondence 1971-1972
Box 24			Proposal - Teacher Training 1971
Box 24			Graduate Program Reports 1971
Box 24			Reports 1969-1971
Box 25			Reports 1970s
Box 91			Reports (legal size) 1971
Box 25			State Reports 1971
Box 25			Speech, October 18 1971
			Meetings
Box 25				Graduate Program Development Jun 1970
Box 25				Graduate Program Development Oct 1971
				Planning of In-Service Workshops 1971
Box 25				Regional meeting, 2d 1970
Box 25				Regional meeting, 3rd 1970
Box 26				Regional meeting, 4th 1971
Box 26				Regional meeting, 5th 1972
Box 26				Regional meeting, 6th 1973
		Unesco
Box 26			Correspondence 1958-1962 (2 folders)
			Meetings
Box 26				Consultative Committee on Adult Education, 3d 1951
Box 26				Consultative Committee on Adult Education, 4th 1952
Box 26				Consultative Committee on Adult Education, 8th 1956
Box 26				Consultative Committee on Adult Education, 9th 1957
Box 26				Consultative Committee on Adult Education, 10th 1959
Box 26				Experts on Research in Literacy 1968
Box 26				General Conference, 7th 1952
Box 27				General Conference, 7th (cont.) 1952
Box 27				General Conference, 11th 1960
Box 27				International Advisory Committee for Out of School Education, 2d session 1970
Box 27				International Committee for the Advancement of Adult Education, 1st session 1961
Box 27				International Consultative Liaison Committee for Literacy, 2d session 1968
Box 27				Media 1959, 1961-1962
Box 27				Seminar on Methods and Techniques of Adult Education in International Organizations Concerned With Women's Interests 1959
Box 27				United States National Commission, 5th 1955
Box 27				United States National Commission, 8th 1961
Box 27				United States National Commission, 13th 1969
Box 27				World Conference on Adult Education, 1st 1949
Box 27				World Conference on Adult Education, 2nd 1960 (3 folders)
Box 28				World Conference on Adult Education, 3rd 1972
			Printed materials
Box 28				Adult Education Information Notes 1973-1974 - no. 1, 8
Box 28				Literacy: a Newsletter 1969-1970, 1974
Box 28				Literacy 1965-1971
Box 28				Miscellaneous 1950s-1970s (3 folders)
		University Council on Education for Public Responsibility
Box 29			Annual Meeting 1962
Box 29			Associate Members 1963
Box 29			Associates (Deans and Directors) 1962
Box 29			Board of Directors 1962
Box 29			Program Committee 1962
Box 29			Program Planning Committee 1962
		University of California Extension
			See also Personal files: University Extension
Box 29			Academic Senate Committee 1950s-1960s
Box 29			Dean's Administrative Council 1963
Box 29			University Extension Council 1964-1967
Box 29			Academic Plans 1950s-1960s
Box 29			Annual Reports 1962-1966
Box 30			Annual Reports 1966-1969
Box 30			Community Seminar Program 1964-1965
Box 30			Extension Reorganization 1960-1963 - v.1-2
			Meetings
Box 30				Approaches to Desegregation: The Superintendent's Perspective 1969
Box 30				Articulation Conference 1961
Box 30				Conference on Poverty in America 1965
Box 30				Conference on the Creative Person 1961
Box 31				Economic Growth Symposium 1964
Box 31				Fulbright Conference on American Higher Education 1956-1957, 1962-1963 (4 folders)
Box 31				Planning Conferences and Workshops 1955
Box 31			Memoranda, Grant and Contract 1964-1967
Box 32			Programs 1962-1963, 1966
Box 32			Reports 1950s-1960s
Box 32			Salary scales 1965-1967
Box 32			Statistical summaries 1964-1966
Box 32			Miscellaneous printed materials 1965
			Western Center for Community Education and Development
Box 32				Activity Reports 1967-1968
Box 32				Reports 1966-1968
Box 32				Western Center for Continuing Education in Hospitals and Related Health Institutions Regional Conference on Hospitalwide Education and Training 1968
		University of California, Los Angeles, Department of Education
Box 32			Committee on Changing Roles of Adolescents and Young Adults 1972-1973
Box 32			National Conference on Community Continuing Education 1973
Box 32			Miscellaneous printed materials 1953, 1971, 1974
		Western Training Laboratory
Box 32			Correspondence, administrative 1968-1969
Box 32			Correspondence, staff 1968-1969
Box 32			Budget 1968-1969
Box 33			Design papers 1960s
Box 33			Group Development meetings, 1st through 5th 1952-1956 (5 folders)
Box 33			Rosters 1969
Box 33			Miscellaneous Papers 1960s
		Youth Opportunity Board of Greater Los Angeles
Box 34			Community Development Evaluation Panel 1965
Box 34			Progress reports 1965

	Meetings files
		Adult Education Association of Michigan
Box 34			Annual 1966
		Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 34			A.I.D. Conference 1964
Box 34			Allerton Park Conference of Professors of Adult Education 1955
Box 34			Delegate Assembly 1973
Box 34			18th Annual 1968
Box 34			National Conference 1971
Box 34			National Conference, speech research 1971
Box 34			National Conference 1974
		Agency for International Development
Box 34			Adult Education in Developing Nations 1962
Box 34			Conference on Multidisciplinary Analyses of Alternatives to Traditional Education in Latin America 1973
		American Association of Junior Colleges
Box 34			Committee on Continuing Education 1966
		American Educational Research Association
Box 35			Annual meetings 1972, 1974, 1975 (3 folders)
		American Hospital Association
Box 35			Workshop on International Classification of Diseases, Adapted for Use in the United States (ICDA-8) 1969
		American National Red Cross
Box 35			National Convention 1972
		Association of Higher Education
Box 35			18th Annual meeting 1963
		California Community College Continuing Education Association
Box 35			1st Annual meeting 1970
		California Council on Adult Education
Box 35			Annual meeting 1969
		California State Department of Education
Box 35			Conference on Vocational Education 1965
Box 35			Santa Barbara Workshop in Adult Education 1958, 1960 (2 folders)
		Commission of Professors of Adult Education
Box 35			Ann Arbor Conference 1957
Box 36			Madison Conference 1959
Box 36			East Lansing Conference 1960
Box 36			Philadelphia Conference 1967
		Committee of Adult Education Organizations
Box 36			Wingspread 1969
		Community Development Society
Box 36			5th Annual 1973
		Ford Foundation
Box 36			Urban Extension Conference 1963
Box 36		Galaxy Conference 1969
		Hawaii State Department of Education
Box 36			State Conference 1963
		Highlander Research and Education Center
Box 36			1st Inter-American Adult Education Seminar 1962
		Institute of Lifetime Learning
Box 36			Institute Day 1967
		International Congress of University Adult Education
Box 36			World Conference 1970
		Los Angeles Junior High School Principals Association
Box 36			Improving Faculty Meetings 1974
		Michigan State University, Kellogg Center for Continuing Education
Box 37			9th Annual meeting 1966
Box 37			11th Annual meeting 1968
		National Association of Adult Educators
Box 91			Extraordinary Congress 1969
		National Association for Public School Adult Education
Box 37			Ad Hoc Committee on a Professional Development Program for Public School Adult Educators 1969
Box 37			International Conference, 17th annual 1968
		National Institute of Mental Health
Box 37			National Conference on Continuing Education 1967
		New York University
Box 37			40th Anniversary of School of Continuing Education 1975
		North American Conference on Adult Education
Box 37			1st meeting 1967
		Pennsylvania State College
Box 37			J. Orvis Keller Building Dedication 1966
		Purdue University
Box 37			Albert P. Marble and Midland-Ross Foundation Lecture in Continuing Education 1966
		Rutgers State University
Box 37			Interuniversity Seminar on Urban Extension 1966
		Santa Barbara City College
Box 37			50th Anniversary 1969
		Syracuse University
Box 37			Psychological Backgrounds of Adult Education 1962
Box 38			Sociological Backgrounds of Adult Education 1963
Box 38			University in Urban Society 1966
		Texas Christian University
Box 38			Fort Worth Week - Community and University 1969
Box 38		United States Department of Health, Education and Welfare
Box 38			Ideals of American Freedom and the International Dimensions of Education 1962
		United States International Cooperation
Box 38			Administration - Korea
Box 38			Inter-Regional Conference on Community Development and its Role in Nation Building 1961
		University of Akron
Box 38			50th Anniversary 1966
		University of Alberta
Box 38			Conference on Post Secondary and Continuing Education 1966
		University of California - San Francisco Medical Center
Box 38			Storage of Abilities: A Centennial Celebration 1968
		University of Chicago
Box 38			Application of Adult Education Concepts 1972
Box 38			Workshop for Administrators of University Adult Education 1966, 1968 (2 folders)
		University of Maryland
Box 38			4th World-Wide Armed Forces Education Conference 1962
		University of Pittsburgh, School of General Studies
Box 38			Board of Visitors 1973
		University of Tennessee
Box 38			Conference on Higher Adult Education in the South 1961
		Utah
Box 38			Governor's Conference 1965
		Utah State University
Box 38			Conference on Higher Education 1965
		Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education
Box 39			Annual 1964
Box 39			Western Regional Conference on Education Beyond the High School 1957
		World Confederation of Organizations of the Teaching Profession
Box 108			Annual Meeting 1961
Box 39			General Assembly, 10th
Box 108			General Correspondence 1959-1960, 1961
Box 108			International Conference on Adult Education, 1st 1959
Box 39			International Conference on Adult Education, 2nd 1961
Box 39			International Conference on Adult Education, 3rd 1962
Box 39			Seminar, 5th 1970
Box 39			Seminar, 6th 1971
Box 39			Seminar, 8th 1973

	Subject files
Box 39		Administration 1960s-1970s
		Adult Basic Education
			See also Subject files: Teacher training.
Box 40			Alabama State University 1970s (2 folders)
Box 40			Appalachian Adult Basic Education Demonstration Center 1969
Box 40			Appalachian Adult Education Center 1970s
Box 40			California 1960s-1970s
Box 40			Columbia University 1970
Box 40			ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education 1968
Box 40, 41			Florida State University 1968 (3 folders)
Box 41			Illinois 1965
Box 41			Indiana University 1970
Box 41			National Advisory Committee on Adult Basic Education 1968
			National Multimedia Center for Adult Basic Education
Box 93				Cross-referenced index for abstracts (4 folders)
Box 93				Abstracts - 000189, 000193-000195, 000598, 000701-000800, 000901, 001000-001600
Box 94				Abstracts - 001601-002500
Box 95				Abstracts - 002601-003100
Box 41			National Association for Public School Adult Education circa 1965
Box 41			National University Extension Association 1966-1968 (4 folders)
Box 42			Nevada 1969-1970
Box 42			North Carolina State University 1960s-1970s
Box 42			Northern Illinois University 1967
Box 42			Ohio State Board of Education 1967
Box 42			Ohio State University 1967-1969 (3 folders)
Box 42			University of Chicago 1971
Box 42			University of Massachusetts 1970
Box 43			University of Missouri 1972
Box 43			University of Washington 1965
Box 43			White Plains Adult Education Center 1973
Box 43			Miscellaneous 1960s-1970s
		Aged
Box 43			Bibliographies
Box 43			California Governor's Conference on Aging 1951, 1960, 1967 (3 folders)
Box 44			Conferences 1950s-1960s
Box 44			Florida State University Leadership Development Institute 1969, 1971, 1972
Box 44			Guideposts to Effective Action in Aging 1960 - Case Study, no. 1, 3, 6-10
Box 44			Ohio State University 1964
Box 44			National Institutes of Health 1950s-1960s
Box 45			Older Workers 1950s
Box 45			University of Chicago 1961
Box 45			White House Conference on Aging 1961 (2 folders)
Box 45			Miscellaneous 1950s-1960s
Box 45		Behavioral Science 1940s, 1960s-1970s
Box 45, 46		Civic Education 1939, 1950s-1960s (3 folders)
		Community Development
Box 46			Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 46			Agency for International Development 1950s-1960s
Box 46			American Association of Junior Colleges 1960s
Box 46			American Council for the Community 1951-1952
Box 46			Association for the Study of Community Organization 1960s
Box 46			Cerritos College 1974-1975
Box 46			Colorado State University 1971-1973 (2 folders)
Box 47			Columbia University Teachers College 1949
Box 47			Committee for Economic Development 1960s-1970s
Box 47			Community Action Program 1960s
Box 47			Community Development Review 1956-1963 - no. 3; no. 6; v. 4, no. 1-4; v. 5, no. 1-4; v. 6, no. 1-3; v. 7, no. 1; v. 8, no. 1
Box 47			Community Service News 1945, 1947 - v. 3, no. 3; v. 5, no. 3, 5;
Box 48			Community Service News 1949-1951 - v. 7, no. 3-5; v. 8, no. 3; v. 9, no. 4
Box 48			Earlham College Community Dynamics Annual Reports 1948-1951, 1953
Box 48			Earlham College, miscellaneous 1950s-1960s
Box 48			Economically Disadvantaged 1960s-1970s
Box 48			General Federation of Women's Clubs 1950s-1960s
Box 48			Indiana University - Purdue University 1950s-1960s (2 folders)
Box 48			International 1958
Box 48			Michigan State University 1950s
Box 48			Mississippi State University 1950s-1960s
Box 48			Montana State University 1950s
Box 48			New York State Citizens' Council 1956
Box 49			New York University 1954
Box 49			Northern Illinois University 1967
Box 49			San Bernardino Valley College 1950s
Box 49			Southern Illinois University 1950s-1970s (2 folders)
Box 49			Texas Technological College 1957
Box 49			United Nations 1950s-1960s
Box 50			University of California Extension 1950s-1960s
Box 50			University of Kentucky 1950s
Box 50			University of Michigan 1950s
Box 50			University of Virginia 1940s
Box 50			University of Washington 1950s-1960s
Box 50			University of Wisconsin 1969
Box 50			Washington University 1960s
Box 50			Wayne State University 1960s
Box 50			West Georgia College 1960s-1970s
Box 50			Miscellaneous 1930s-1950s
Box 51			Miscellaneous 1960s-1970s (3 folders)
Box 51		Community Education 1940s
Box 51		Consumer Education 1969 - bibliography; miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 51		Counseling 1960s
Box 51		Curriculum 1958
		Developing Countries
Box 51			Bibliography 1965
Box 52			Miscellaneous 1964
Box 52		Evaluation 1950s-1970s
Box 52		Family 1940s-1960s
Box 52		Finance 1930s-1960s (2 folders)
Box 52		Goals 1960s
Box 52		Graduate programs 1950s-1970s
Box 53		Graduate programs 1950s-1970s
		Group dynamics discussion leadership
			Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 53				Leader's Digest 1950s - v. 1, 2
Box 53				Leadership Pamphlets 1955-1957 - no. 2, 3, 5, 7
Box 53			Autonomous Groups Bulletin 1945-1953 - v. 1, no. 1-3; v. 2, no. 2, 4; v. 3, no. 4; v. 4, no. 1-4; v. 5, no. 1-4; v. 6, no. 1-4; v. 7, no. 1-4; v. 8, no. 1-3 (4 folders)
Box 54			Autonomous Groups Bulletin 1953-1957, 1960 - v. 8, no. 4; v. 9, no. 1-4; v. 10, no. 1, 2, 4; v. 11, no. 2-4; v. 12, no. 1, 3, 4; v. 15, no. 3, 4 (3 folders)
			Leadership Resources Inc.
Box 54				Bibliographies 1968
Box 54				Learning About Leadership Series 1961
Box 54				Looking into Leadership 1961
Box 54				Management series 1968
Box 54			Miscellaneous 1930s-1940s (3 folders)
Box 55			Miscellaneous 1950s (5 folders)
Box 56			Miscellaneous 1960s-1970s (3 folders)
Box 56			Miscellaneous undated
Box 56		History 1930s-1940s, 1960s
Box 56		Industry 1950s-1960s
Box 56		Innovation 1960s-1970s
Box 56		Labor education 1950s
			See also Subject files: Vocational education
Box 57		Labor education 1960s-1970s
			See also Subject files: Vocational education
Box 57		Learning 1950s-1970s
		Liberal education
			Fund for Adult Education
Box 57				Lectures 1950s
Box 57				Occasional Papers 1950s - no. 1-3
Box 57				Reports 1950s-1960s
Box 57				Miscellaneous 1956
Box 57		Libraries 1950
Box 57		Lifelong Learning 1970s
		Literacy
			International Institute for Adult Literacy Methods
Box 57				Literacy Discussion 1971 - v. 2, no. 1
Box 58				Literacy Documentation 1972 - v. 1, no. 3-4
Box 58				Literacy Work 1972, 1974 - v. 1, no. 5; v. 3, no. 4
Box 58				Miscellaneous 1971
Box 58			Puerto Rico 1955
Box 58			World Education Inc. 1971
Box 58			Miscellaneous 1950s-1960s (3 folders)
Box 59			Miscellaneous 1970s
		Mass media
Box 59			Mass Media/Adult Education, pubilshed by Adult Education Association of the U.S.A. 1967-1969 - nos. 1-10, 23
			Television
Box 59				Chicago Junior City College 1950s-1960s
Box 59				Juvenile Delinquency 1964
Box 59				Rural Family Development 1970s
Box 59				University Council on Education for Public Responsibility 1966
Box 59				Miscellaneous 1950s-1960s
Box 60			Miscellaneous 1950s-1960s
Box 60		Methodology 1940s-1960s
Box 60		Minorities 1960s-1970s
		Open University
Box 60			Wisconsin 1970s
Box 60			Miscellaneous 1960s-1970s
Box 60		Participation studies 1950s-1960s
		Population
Box 60			Agency for International Development 1972
Box 60			California 1960s
Box 61			California 1960s
Box 61			Miscellaneous 1970s
		Program planning
Box 61			American Association for the United Nations 1940s
Box 61			Miscellaneous 1940s-1970s
Box 61		Psychology of adults 1940s-1960s
		Public school
Box 61			Bibliography 1967
			California
Box 61				Administration 1960s
Box 61				California Council for Adult Education 1971
Box 61				Citizen Unity Committee and the former Morale Committee of the Schenectady County Consolidated County War Council 1942-1943
Box 61				Handbook 1973
Box 61				Salaries 1950s, 1974-1975 (2 folders)
Box 61				Statements 1967-1969
Box 62				Studies 1940s-1960s
Box 62				Teacher Training 1950s-1960s
Box 62				Miscellaneous 1940s-1960s
				Los Angeles
Box 62					Annual Reports 1950s-1960s
Box 62					Belmont Community Adult School 1960s
Box 62					Counseling 1958
Box 62					Curriculum 1968-1969
Box 62					Division of Career and Continuing Education 1970s
Box 63					Division of Career and Continuing Education (cont.) 1970s
Box 63					Evaluations 1960s-1970s
Box 63					Gerontology Office 1950s-1960s
Box 63					Goals 1968
Box 63					Handbooks 1971
Box 63					Studies 1950s-1960s
Box 63					West Valley Occupational Center, n.d. undated
Box 63					Miscellaneous 1960s
Box 64			Curriculum
Box 64			Illinois 1966
			National Association for Public Continuing and Adult Education
Box 64				Administrative Swap Shot 1970-1974 - v. 17, no. 2-5; v. 18, no. 1-5; v. 19, no. 1, 3; v. 20, no. 1-6; v. 21, no. 1, 2
Box 64				Almanac 1974
Box 64				Pulse of Public Continuing and Adult Education 1970-1974 - v. 11, no. 3, 4, 8; v. 12, no. 1, 2, 4-7; v. 13, no. 4-7; v. 14, no. 1-3, 5, 6, 8; v. 15, no. 2
Box 64				Techniques for Teachers of Adults 1974-1975 - v. 15, no. 2, 3, 5, 6
Box 64			National Association of Public School Adult Educators 1950s
Box 64			National Education Association 1950s
Box 64			Miscellaneous 1950s-1970s
		Religious education
Box 64			Indiana University - Purdue University 1954
Box 64			Miscellaneous 1950s-1970s
		Research
			American Educational Research Association
Box 64				Directories 1969, 1974-1975
Box 64				Miscellaneous 1969
Box 64			Antioch College 1959-1960
Box 65			Knox, Alan B. 1960s
Box 65			Kreitlow, Burton W. 1960s
Box 65			Mountain Plains Region 1967-1971
Box 65			Stanford University 1966
Box 65			University of California 1963
			Washington University
Box 65				University College Research Publications 1966 - no. 9, 10
Box 65				Miscellaneous 1960s
Box 65			Miscellaneous 1950s-1970s
		Residential education
Box 66			Bibliography 1968
Box 66			Directories 1960s
Box 66			Miscellaneous 1956
Box 66		Science and technology 1960s-1970s
Box 66		Socio-technical systems 1960s-1970s
		Staff development
Box 66			Bibliography 1973
Box 66			Miscellaneous 1969
Box 66		Teacher training 1940s-1970s (2 folders)
			See also Subject files: Adult Basic Education
		Testing
Box 66			College Entrance Examination Board 1960s-1970s
Box 66			Miscellaneous 1968-1969
		University extension
Box 67			History and overview 1920s-1970s (3 folders)
Box 67			Administration 1950s-1960s
Box 67			Cooperative extension 1950s-1970s
Box 67			Policy statements 1960s
Box 67			Professional upgrading 1960s
Box 67			Programs and faculty participation 1950s
Box 67			Title I Programs 1960s-1970s
Box 67			[California] University of California 1940s-1950s
Box 68			Florida Board of Regents 1967
Box 68			Florida Institute for Continuing University Studies 1963
Box 68			[Illinois] University of Chicago, 1892-1930
Box 68			Indiana 1961
Box 68			Iowa 1961
Box 68			Michigan 1951, 1970
Box 68			[Missouri ] University of Missouri 1967
Box 68			New Jersey Association for Adult Education 1963
Box 68			[New Jersey] Rutgers State University 1950s-1960s
Box 68			[New York] City College 1970s
Box 68			New York University 1966-1967
Box 68			[New York] University of the State of New York Bulletin 1 Dec 1948 - no. 1357
Box 68			Oregon 1966-1968
Box 68			[Virginia] University of Virginia 1944
Box 68			Washington undated
Box 68			[Wisconsin] University of Wisconsin 1950s
Box 68		Urban extension 1950s-1960s
Box 69		Urban extension 1960s-1970s
		Vocational Education
			See also Subject files: Labor education.
			B'nai B'rith Career and Counseling Services
Box 69				Explorations, parts 1 and 2 1974
Box 69				Resources 1974
			Chartering Process
Box 69				Report 1968
Box 69				Instructional Manual 1968
Box 69			National Advisory Council on Vocational Education 1960s-1970s
			Panel of Consultants on Vocational Education
Box 69				Report 1963
Box 69				Summary Report 1963
Box 70				Appendix 1, 3 1963
Box 70			University of California, Los Angeles 1960s-1970s (2 folders)
Box 70			Miscellaneous 1950s-1970s
		Women
Box 70			Bibliography 1967
Box 70			College of San Mateo 1970
Box 70			Radcliffe Institute 1968
Box 70			Miscellaneous 1960s-1970s
		World education
Box 70			International Congress of University Adult Education 1962
Box 70			International Council for Adult Education 1975
			World Confederation of Organizations of the Teaching Profession
Box 70				Echo 1971-1975 - v. 20, no. 2; v. 21, no. 2-4; v. 22, no. 1-4; v. 23, no. 1, 3
Box 70			World Education Inc. 1974
Box 71			Miscellaneous 1950s
		World War II
Box 71			Office of War Information 1940s (4 folders)
Box 91			Office of War Information (legal size) 1940s

	Geographical files
Box 71		Africa 1960s-1970s
		Australia
Box 71			Aborigines 1969-1970
Box 71			Australian Association of Adult Education 1960s-1970s
Box 72			Australian National University 1960s-1970s
Box 91			Australian National University (legal size) 1960s-1970s
Box 72			Canberra University College 1950s-1960s
Box 72			Council of Adult Education 1940s-1970s
			Duncan, W. G. K.
Box 91				Adult Education in Australia 1944
Box 91				Appendices A-H 1944
Box 91				Appendices J-R, and Index 1944
Box 91				Adult Education in New South Wales 1944
Box 72			Kormilda College 1969-1970
Box 72			Special Schools Bulletin 1968-1971 - v. 5, no. 6; v. 6, no. 2-5; v. 7, no. 2-6; v. 8, no. 1;
Box 72			Tasmania Adult Education Board 1950s-1970s
			University of Adelaide. Department of Adult Education.
Box 72				Annual Reports 1950s-1960s
Box 72				Pamphlets 1950s-1960s
Box 72				Miscellaneous 1950s
Box 73			University of Melbourne 1950s
Box 73			University of New England 1950s-1970s
Box 91			University of New England (legal size) 1950s-1960s
Box 73			University of Queensland 1968, 1970
			University of Sydney
Box 73				Aboriginal Family Education Centers 1969-1971
Box 73				Department of Adult Education 1968-1970
Box 73				Department of Tutorial Classes 1950s
Box 73				Extension Board 1950s
Box 73			University of Western Australia 1950s-1970s
Box 92			University of Western Australia (legal size) 1950s-1960s
Box 73			Wangaratta Centre for Continuing Education 1970
Box 92			Wangaratta Centre for Continuing Education (legal size) 1960s-1970s
Box 74			Workers' Educational Association 1950s, 1970s (2 folders)
Box 74			Miscellaneous 1950s-1970s
Box 92			Miscellaneous (legal size) 1950s-1960s
		Brazil 1961
		Canada
			Canadian Association for Adult Education
Box 74				Bibliographies 1950s-1970s
Box 74				Learning for Living 1950s - no. 1-7, 10, 11 (2 folders)
Box 74				Miscellaneous 1950s-1960s
Box 75			Canadian Institute of Adult Education 1966-1967
Box 75			Center for Community Studies 1950s-1960s
			Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Box 75				Bibliography 1971
Box 75				Comparative studies 1971
Box 75				Degree research 1968-1969
Box 75				Non-degree research 1960s-1970s
Box 75				Women 1969
Box 75			McGill University 1969-1970
Box 75			St. Francis Xavier University 1955
Box 76			Thomas More Institute 1960s
			University of British Columbia
Box 76				Annual Report 1967-1968
Box 76				Occasional Papers in Continuing Education 1968-1973 - no. 1-8
Box 76				Niemi, John A. 1970s
Box 76				Miscellaneous 1950s-1970s
Box 76			University of Lethbridge 1960s
				See also Personal files: University of Lethbridge Consultation
Box 76			University of Montreal 1960s
Box 76			Miscellaneous 1958
Box 77			Miscellaneous 1960s-1970s (2 folders)
Box 77		China 1960s-1970s
Box 77		Czechoslovakia 1967
Box 77		Denmark 1930s-1960s
		Europe
Box 77			European Bureau of Adult Education Notes and Studies 1957-1966 (2 folders)
Box 78			Miscellaneous 1940s-1960s
Box 78		Finland 1968
		France
			Centre Universitaire de Coopération Économique et Sociale Centre
Box 78				Activity Report 1970
Box 78				Programs 1960s-1970s
Box 78			Miscellaneous 1956
		Germany
Box 78			Bibliography 1969
Box 78			Volkshochschulen 1950s-1960s
Box 79			Miscellaneous 1930s-1950s (2 folders)
Box 79		Greece 1957, 1960s (3 folders)
Box 79		Hong Kong 1960s
Box 79		Hungary circa 1968
		India
Box 79			Association of Voluntary Agencies for Rural Development 1960-1961
Box 79			National Fundamental Education Centre 1958, 1960
Box 92			National Fundamental Education Centre (legal size) 1961
			University of Rajasthan
Box 80				News 1967, 1968-1969 - v. 5, no. 3; v. 6, no. 1, 2; v. 7, no. 1-4
Box 80				Reports 1960s
Box 80				Miscellaneous 1940s-1960s
Box 92				Miscellaneous (legal size) 1950s-1960s
Box 80		Israel 1950s-1970s
Box 80		Italy 1950s-1960s
Box 80		Japan 1950s-1960s
		Kenya
Box 80			Board of Adult Education 1971
Box 80			Kenya Journal of Adult Education 1972-1974 - v. 1, no. 1; v. 2, no. 2; v. 3, no. 1, 4
Box 81		Korea 1960-1961
Box 81		Latin America 1960s-1970s
Box 81		Liberia 1965
Box 81		Middle East 1960s-1970s
Box 81		Nepal, n.d.
		Netherlands
Box 81			International Bulletin of the Leidsche Onderwijsinstellingen-Leiden-Holland 1965-1970
Box 81			Miscellaneous 1956
		New Zealand
Box 81			Auckland Headmasters' Association 1960s-1970s
Box 92			Council of Adult Education 1959
			National Council of Adult Education
Box 81				Annual Reports 1955-1973
Box 81				Newsletters 1966-1970
Box 81				Miscellaneous 1960s
Box 92			University of Auckland 1960s-1970s
Box 82			Victoria University of Wellington 1950s-1970s (3 folders)
Box 92			Victoria University of Wellington (legal size) 1969-1970
Box 82			Miscellaneous 1950s-1970s (3 folders)
Box 82		Nigeria 1960s-1970s
Box 82		Norway 1950s-1960s
		Philippines
Box 82			Community school 1952
Box 83			Family planning 1970s
Box 83			Fulbright Program 1940s-1950s
Box 83			Miscellaneous 1940s, 1960s
		South Africa
Box 83			Apartheid 1950s
Box 83			Institute of Citizenship 1950s
Box 83			University of Cape Town 1950s
Box 83			University of South Africa 1959
Box 83		South East Asia 1942
Box 83		Sweden 1930s-1970s
Box 83		Taiwan 1950s-1960s
		Tanzania
			Institute of Adult Education - Dar Es Salaam
Box 84				Studies in Adult Education 1973-1974 - no. 5, 8-10, 16, 18
Box 84				Miscellaneous 1960s-1970s
Box 92				Miscellaneous (legal size) 1960s-1970s
Box 84			Miscellaneous 1960s
		Thailand
Box 84			International Workshop for Evaluation Specialist on Non-Formal Education for Functional Literacy and Family Life Planning 1974 (2 folders)
Box 84			Miscellaneous 1960s-1970s
Box 84		Turkey 1950s-1960s
Box 84		U.S.S.R. 1950s-1960s
		United Kingdom
Box 84			Edinburgh University 1960s
Box 84			National Foundation for Adult Education 1947-1948
Box 84			National Institute of Adult Education 1950s-1960s
Box 92			National Institute of Adult Education (legal size) 1960s
Box 85			Ruskin College 1950s-1960s
Box 85			Universities Council for Adult Education 1960s
Box 85			University of Birmingham 1960s
Box 85			University of Glasgow 1960s
Box 85			University of Keele 1960s
Box 85			University of London 1960s
Box 85			University of Manchester 1960s-1970s
			University of Oxford - Delegacy for Extra-Mural Studies
Box 85				Annual Reports 1955-1957, 1960, 1965-1966
Box 85				Rewley House Papers 1956-1966 - v. 3, no. 5, 6, 8-10; v. 4, no. 1-3 (3 folders)
Box 92				Miscellaneous 1967
Box 92			University of Nottingham 1960s
Box 86			Workers Educational Association 1940s-1960s
Box 86			Miscellaneous 1950s-1960s (3 folders)
Box 86		Uruguay 1969
Box 86		West Indies 1950s-1960s
Box 86		Yugoslavia 1962

	Printed material
		See also Organizational records series above, which includes significant printed material.
Box 86		About Adult Education in Los Angeles, ed. by Gloria Houston 1971
Box 86		Adult and Continuing Education Today 1974-1975 - v. 4, no. 24; v. 5, no. 2
		Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 86			Adult Education Monographs 1956-1958 - no. 1, 2, 4
Box 86			Articles 1955, 1957, 1968
Box 86			Dateline 1974 - v. 1, no. 5, 7
Box 86			Federal Support for Adult Education Directory 1966
Box 86		Adult Education Defined and Described, by Wayne L. Schroeder circa 1970
Box 87		Adult Education Process and Procedure, by Paul Bergevin, John McKinley and Robert M. Smith 1961
Box 87		Adult Education Services of State Departments of Education, by John B. Holden 1959
		Adult Educators of Greater Los Angeles
Box 87			Open Channels 1971-1975 - v. 1, no. 4; v. 2, no. 2, 4; v. 3, no. 5, 7; v. 6, no. 1
		American Council on Education
Box 87			Fact Book on Higher Education 1963
		California
			Senate Interim Committee on Adult Education
Box 87				Partial Report 1951
Box 87				11th Report 1953
Box 87			State Department of Education Bulletin 1942, 1951, 1953-1955, 1957 - v. 11, no. 2; v. 20, no. 4; v. 22, no. 6; v. 23, no. 5; v. 24, no. 8, 16; v. 26, no. 12, 13 (2 folders)
Box 87			Handbook on Adult Education in California, Rev. Ed. 1966
Box 87		California Going, Going...: Our State's Struggle to Remain Beautiful and Productive, by Samuel E. Wood and Alfred E. Heller 1962
		Commission of Professors of Adult Education
Box 87			Adult Education: A New Imperative for Our Times 1961
Box 87		Comparative Adult Education, Bibliography and Resources
Box 87		Continuing Education and the Problem of Excellence, by John B. Schwertman 1955
Box 88		Coordinating Council for Higher Education 1960s - reports (3 folders)
Box 88		Cross Cultural Interaction Skills: A Digest of Recent Recent Training Literature, by Roger DeCrow 1969
Box 88		Educational Alternatives: Crisis in the Hemisphere, by Thomas J. LaBelle circa 1971
Box 88		Educational Strategies for the 1970s, by Philip H. Coombs 1970
Box 88		Environmental Quality and the Citizen: A Teaching Guide for Adult Education Courses Related to the Environment, by Bernard L. Clausen and Ross L. Iverson [1972]
Box 88		Field of Adult Education and Implicit Functions for the Division of Adult Education 1969
Box 88		Ford Foundation Letter 1973 - v. 4, no. 2
		Global Dimensions in U.S. Education: The Community, by William C. Rogers 1972
Box 88		Hospital Personnel Development: A Manual for Trainers 1967 - drafts, Chapters 2-5
Box 88		Identifying Educational Needs of Adults, by Homer Kempfer 1951
Box 88		Improving Your English Skills, by Leonard S. Bennett, et al. 1974
Box 88		Invitation to Learning 1952 - v. 2, no. 1
Box 88		Landmarks and New Horizons in Continuing Education 1971 - no. 1
		National Advisory Council on Adult Education
Box 88			Federal Activities in Support of Adult Education 1972
Box 88			National Organizations and Voluntary Associations With Adult Education Concerns in the United States 1971
Box 89			Reports 1971-1973
Box 89			State Demographic Data 1973
		National Education Association. Division of Adult Education Service.
Box 89			Staff Papers 1970
		New York Adult Education Council
Box 89			"Adult Education for Everybody" 1954
Box 89			20th Anniversary Yearbook of Adult Education 1953
Box 89		Next 30 Years: Concepts, Methods and Anticipations, by F. E. Emery circa late 1960s
Box 89		Noncredit Activities in Institutions of Higher Education: Registrations by Florence B. Kemp 1967-1968, 1972
		North Carolina State University at Raleigh, Department of Adult and Community Education
Box 89			Bibliography of Doctoral Dissertations 1967-1974
Box 89		Practice of Public Relations: Case Studies by 20 Professionals, ed. by Dr. Kenneth Owler Smith 1968
Box 89		Selected Approaches to Adult Education, by Homer Kempfer and Grace S. Wright 1950
Box 89		Social Action in Social Studies: Toward a Rationale, by Fred M. Newmann 1972
Box 89		Syracuse University, University College 1950s-1960s - speeches
		Texas
Box 89			Continuing Education: Thrust for Relevance Proposed State Plan for Adult and Continuing Education, 2nd draft 1974
Box 89		Trans-action 1964-1965 - v. 1, no. 4-6; v. 2, no. 1, 2, 4-6; v. 3, no. 1 (2 folders)
		United States Department of the Interior, Office of Education
Box 89			Bulletin 1932 - no. 12
		University of California at Riverside
Box 90			Annual Report 1968-1969
		University of Chicago
Box 90			Continuing Education Report 1965-1967, 1969 - nos. 1-16, 19
		University of Missouri
Box 90			President's Committee on Communication, Abridged Report 1968
		University of Southern California
Box 90			"Status Report on the Organization and Functions of the College of Continuing Education" 1974
		World Education Inc.
Box 90			Evaluation Report 1973
Box 90		Youth as Socio-Cultural Systems in American Society, by Thomas J. Labelle 1972

	Recordings
		The People Act, Episode 9: Farm Families Organize to Create a Real Community / The People Act, Episode 10: A Lumber Area Maps Out a New Future (1 phonodisc, 33 1/3 rpm) (ID#: sheats_ph_001)
		The Ways of Mankind, Episode 7: Legend of the Long House / The Ways of Mankind, Episode 8: You Are Not Alone (1 phonodisc, 33 1/3 rpm) (ID#: sheats_ph_002)

Return to top