Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Wilson, Richard, 1920-1987
Title:	Richard Wilson Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1870-1987
Quantity:	15.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence, financial and legal material, memorabilia, fanzines, and writings including short stories, plays, novels, novellas, and miscellaneous items.
Language:	Bulk of collection is in English, with a few items in German and Japanese.
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Richard "Dick" Wilson (1920-1987) was an American journalist and science fiction author. His "Mother to the World" won the 1968 Nebula Award for best novelette.

Wilson graduated from high school at 15. He served in the U.S. Army Signal Corps during World War II, stationed in the South Pacific with the 339th Fighter Squadron/347th Fighter Group of the XIII AAF (now the Thirteenth Air Force). Following the war he worked for Transradio Press (1946-1951) and then for Reuter's (1951-1964). Later, he was director of the News Bureau at Syracuse University in Syracuse, New York.

Wilson's involvement with science fiction spanned most of his life. He was an early member of the Futurian Society, the influential New York City-based fan club founded in 1938, edited or co-edited seven fanzines in the late 1930s, published his first professional story in 1940, won a Nebula Award in 1968, and was instrumental in helping Syracuse University Libraries acquire the papers of many important science fiction authors and publishers in the 1970s.

Wilson was married twice: to Jessica Gould (1941-1944) and to Leslie Perri (1950-1967). Both were among the first female members of The Futurians and active in science fiction circles. Perri, born Doris Baumgardt, had previously been married to Frederik Pohl; she was also an author and artist, and a founding member of the Fantasy Amateur Press Association (FAPA). She and Wilson had one son, Richard David Wilson.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Wilson Papers consists of correspondence, financial and legal material, memorabilia, printed material, subject files, and writings of the American science fiction author and journalist.

Correspondence contains incoming and outgoing correspondence, almost all of which pertains to some aspect of science fiction. Notable names represented in the collection include author and editor Frederik Pohl; author, agent, and "superfan" Forrest J Ackerman; author, editor, and publisher Don Wollheim; editor and agent E.J. Carnell; author and editor Tony Boucher; author, editor, critic, and writer's workshop creator Damon Knight; editor and publisher Leo Margulies and wife Cylvia; author and editor Robert A.W. Lowndes; authors Cyril Kornbluth, David Kyle, and Wilson "Bob" Tucker, among others. There is also a sizable amount of correspondence with publishers (Ace Books, Ballantine Books) and science fiction magazines (Amazing, Analog, Galaxy).

Financial and legal material consists of royalty statements from several publishers, and a few author's contracts. There is also a partnership agreement pertaining to the research and writing of a history of the 339th Fighter Squadron/347th Fighter Group.

Memorabilia includes awards, clippings about Wilson and about Syracuse University's science fiction collections, convention material (including eleven WorldCons), family papers and photographs, and scrapbooks. There is also a substantial amount of material relating to Wilson's service during World War II, including ship and squadron newspapers, photographs, and Japanese-issued scrip for several occupied regions. There is also a special issue of James V. Taurasi's fanzine "Fantasy Times" entitled "Fantasy Times in France" (Taurasi served in the U.S. Army, 1942-1946). There are also two toy ray-guns and a tiny plastic toy missile mounted on a ring.

Printed material consists primarily of fanzines, in most cases only a few issues of any given title. Titles represented include Algol, Lobster Tails, and the fanzines of Mae Strelkov (Tink, Tong, and The Tunkunaku Event).

Subject files relate primarily to potential or actual writing projects, such as the 347th/339th Fighter Group of the XIII Army Air Force and flying saucers/UFOs. There is also some Reuter's material and a folder of material about Frederik Pohl.

Writings, which makes up almost half the collection, contains articles, books (both novels and novellas), plays, reviews (film and theater), and short stories by Wilson. Formats for a given title may include notes, research material, early drafts, later drafts, final drafts, galleys, and published versions. In many cases there is a typed note from Wilson giving the dates during which a piece was written and worked on. Miscellaneous items include one issue of Wilson's own fanzine, "Escape", and notes from several trials that he covered while working for Transradio Press, including that of Mildred Gillars, known as "Axis Sally." At the end of this series are a few items by others, including the final manuscripts for two novels by Ken Bulmer and a typed draft of a piece by H.P. Lovecraft.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent, and within that chronologically. Writings are subdivided by type (articles, books, reviews, etc.) and within that are arranged alphabetically by title. Within each title, material is roughly in the order it would have been produced -- i.e., notes and research material, followed by earlier drafts, later drafts, galleys, and published version. All other series are arranged alphabetically by type or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Folders in boxes 13 and 14 pertaining to the 339th Fighter Squadron/347th Fighter Group are closed to researchers pending review.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A few published books and magazines have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to Libraries Search to locate these items.

Our holdings include papers from a number of well-known science fiction authors. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for more information.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Wilson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Richard Wilson, 1967-1987.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1968
Revision history: 31 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 11 Nov 2021 - additions processed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Ace Books 1956-1957, 1965, 1970, 1978-1979 - Don Wollheim, Jim Baen
Box 1		Ackerman, Forrest 1958-1960, 1965-1977, 1981-1982
Box 1		Amazing 1953, 1961 - Howard Browne, Cale Goldsmith
		Amazing-Fantastic Publications
			See Malzberg, Barry.
Box 1		American-International Pictures 1960-1961 - regarding movie adaptation of Girls from Planet 5; includes Wilson's comments on screenplay
Box 1		Analog 1961, 1966, 1972-1973 - John Campbell, Ben Bova
Box 1		Anderson, Poul 1969 - includes photo of Anderson taken by Jay Kay Klein
Box 1		Ann Elmo (literary agency) 1955
		Arkoff, Samuel Z.
			See American-International Pictures.
Box 1		Arney, J. Ward 1943-1945
Box 1		Asimov, Isaac 1953-1954, 1960, 1966-1975
Box 1		Astounding 1953, undated - John Campbell
Box 1		Authentic Science Fiction Monthly 1953-1955 - H.J. Campbell
Box 1		A, misc
Box 1		Ballantine Books 1953-1965, 1968, 1975, undated (2 folders)
Box 1		Benton & Bowles, Inc. 1969 - about film rights to "Mother to the world"
Box 1		Biggle, Lloyd 1967-1970
Box 1		Blish, James 1957-1958, 1968
		Blish, Virginia Kidd
			See Kidd, Virginia.
		Boucher, Anthony
			See Mercury Publications.
		Bova, Ben
			See OMNI.
Box 1		Bruck, Arline S. 1944-1945
Box 1		Bulmer, Ken 1956
Box 1		Burbee, Charles 1945
Box 1		B, misc
		Campbell, John
			See Astounding, Analog.
Box 1		Cannon, Thurlow 1967, 1970
Box 1		Capitol Records 1951
Box 1		Carnell, E.J. 1955-1957 (2 folders)
Box 2		Carnell, E.J. 1958-1972 (4 folders)
Box 2		Carr, Terry 1971, 1979-1980 - most relates to him as editor of Universe
Box 2		Cogswell, Theodore 1960, 1963, 1967, 1970-1971
Box 2		Collier's 1953-1955, undated
Box 2		Collins, Christine H. 1944-1945
Box 2		Columbia Records 1951
Box 2		C, misc
Box 2		Dale Books 1977
Box 2		Day, Donald 1952 - Perri Press
Box 2		Dollens, Morris Scott 1970-1971 - includes some printed material with Dollens' art
Box 2		Doubleday 1955, 1965-1967, 1969, 1972 - Larry Ashmead, others
Box 2		Dowling, Eddie 1958, 1965
Box 2		Dunkelbarger, Janet 1970-1983 (2 folders)
Box 2		D, misc 1953
Box 2		Eastern Science Fiction Association
Box 3		Elliott, George P. 1970-1971
Box 3		E, misc
Box 3		Fantasy & Science Fiction 1952-1979 - includes editor Anthony (Tony) Boucher (2 folders)
Box 3		Fass, Martin 1952, 1955, 1965, 1967, 1981, undated
Box 3		First Fandom 1982
Box 3		F, misc
Box 3		Galaxy 1953-1972, 1978, undated (4 folders)
			See also Pohl, Frederik, above.
Box 3		Geis, Richard E. 1970-1974, 1977
		Gold, Horace
			See Galaxy.
Box 3		Goulart, Ron 1969
Box 3		Gray, James 1955
Box 3		Greenberg, Martin 1977-1981
Box 3		Grennell, Dean A. 1955 - editor of Grue
Box 3		Gunn, James 1972, 1977
Box 3		G, misc
Box 3		Hamilton, Edmond 1967
Box 3		Harbottle, Philip 1970, 1973, 1975
Box 3		Harrison, Harry 1953-1954, 1966-1967, 1969, 1972
Box 3		Horwitz, Howie 1966
Box 3		Hydra Club 1949 - New York City fan club
Box 3		H, misc
Box 4		Iadeluca, Robert 1975-1981, undated (2 folders)
Box 4		Institute of Twenty First Century Studies 1960
Box 4		Isaac Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine 1977-1981 - George Scithers, Jack Gaughan
Box 4		I, misc
Box 4		Jakes, John 1982
Box 4		Kidd, Virginia 1965-1966
Box 4		King, Harold 1956-1957
Box 4		The Kirmess [journal] 1962
Box 4		Knight, Damon 1956-1977 (2 folders)
Box 4		Kornbluth, Cyril 1943-1945, 1949-1954, 1958, 1966, 1968 - includes handwritten notes by Wilson on his memories of Kornbluth
			See also Transradio Press.
Box 4		Kyle, David 1942-1951, 1955, 1960, 1963-1973 (5 folders)
Box 5		Kyle, David 1973-1981, undated (2 folders)
Box 5		K, misc
Box 5		Lang, Fritz 1971
Box 5		Lewis, Jack 1957-1958 - regarding his "Who's Who in Science Fiction"
Box 5		Linard, Jean and Anie 1958, undated
Box 5		Lowndes, Robert A.W. 1938, 1950-1959, 1968-1969
Box 5		L, misc
		Mahaffey, Bea
			See Palmer, Ray.
Box 5		Malzberg, Barry 1968, 1978 - editor, Amazing-Fantastic Publications
Box 5		Mangan, James T. 1956-1957
Box 5		Margulies, Leo and Cylvia 1941, 1954-1958 - owners/editors of King-Size Publications, Renown Publications
Box 5		McCaffrey, Anne 1969
			See also Science Fiction Writers of America.
Box 5		McComas, J. Francis 1968-1969, 1975-1976
			See also Fantasy & Science Fiction.
Box 5		Mercury Publications 1946, 1953-1958 - titles mentioned include Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, Venture Science Fiction
Box 5		Merril, Judy 1950, 1960-1969, 1971
Box 5		Miley, James D. 1973
Box 5		Miller, P. Schuyler 1967
Box 5		Moore, Roz and Bill 1968-1975
Box 5		Moskowitz, Sam 1966
			See also Science Fiction Plus.
Box 5		M, misc
Box 5		N, misc
		Olander, Joseph
			See Greenberg, Martin
Box 5		OMNI magazine 1979 - Ben Bova, Robert Sheckley
Box 5		O, misc
Box 5		Pace, Mary 1946
Box 5		Palmer, Ray 1953-1957 - Palmer Publications; titles mentioned include Mystic, Universe, Science Stories.
		Peters, George R.
			See Miley, James D.
Box 5		Playboy 1955-1957, 1969, 1982, undated
Box 5		Pohl, Frederik 1940, 1944-1954 - wife Dorothy; sometimes addressed to/signed by Pohl as "Ø" (phi, for Fred); includes remarks by Wilson about Pohl (4 folders)
Box 6		Pohl, Frederik 1955-1957, 1966-1977, 1980-1981, undated (2 folders)
Box 6		P, misc
Box 6		QM Productions 1967
Box 6		Quinn, James L. 1953, 1956 - Quinn Publishing, publisher of If
Box 6		Rappoport, Jack (Jacob L.) 1946-1949
Box 6		Regan, Michael Vincent 1970 - relates to Delphi Method project with SF authors; includes Jack Dann, Greg Benford
Box 6		Reuters 1952, 1954, 1964
			See also Subject files : Reuters.
Box 6		Rubin, Arthur 1944-1945
Box 6		R, misc
Box 6		Salinger, Pierre 1961
Box 6		Santessen, Hans 1956-1957, 1960, 1967, 1969-1970
Box 6		Science Fiction Plus 1953-1954 - Gernsback Publications; Sam Moskowitz
		Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA)
Box 6			Correspondence 1965-1978, 1981-1982 (3 folders)
Box 6			Directories 1973-1978, 1981
Box 6			SFWA Bulletin 1977-1978
Box 6			SFWA Forum 1967-1971 (2 folders)
Box 7			SFWA Forum 1974, 1976-1977, 1981-1982 (3 folders)
Box 7		Scithers, George 1958
Box 7		Shaw, Larry 1950-1958, 1963-1970, undated - Quinn Publishing; Royal Publications
Box 7		Skelton, Frank 1958
Box 7		Smith, E.E. ("Doc"), Mrs. 1966 - his widow
Box 7		Speer, Jack (Juffus) 1944-1945, 1969-1971
Box 7		Standard Magazines 1940-1941, 1954 - T.W. Raines
Box 7		Stern, George 1943-1945, 1954, 1964-1965
		Strelkov, Mae
			See Printed material : Fanzines.
		Sykora, Will
			See Hydra Club.
Box 7		Syracuse University Libraries, Manuscript Division 1964-1970, 1976, undated - includes one folder of published material (booklets, etc.) (3 folders)
Box 7		Szarat, Henry T. (Hank) 1944-1945
Box 7		S, misc
Box 7		Tappan Zee National Bank 1958-1960 - relates to exhibit of local authors; includes copy of Authors of Rockland County
Box 8		Timewell, Vin and Anne 1971-1973
Box 8		Transradio Press 1948-1952 - includes sheet with list of personnel
Box 8		Tsunoda, Waka 1968
Box 8		Tucker, Bob (Wilson) 1945-1949, 1952-1955, 1960, 1964-1965 - includes amusing floor plan for Tucker Fan Hotel and reprint of Tau Ceti newsletter from ChiCon I (1940 WorldCon)
Box 8		T-U, misc
Box 8		Van Houten, Ray 1955
Box 8		Veteran (magazine) 1946
Box 8		Vonnegut, Kurt 1966
Box 8		Walker, Dale 1967-1969, 1973, 1978
Box 8		Williamson, Jack 1965-1966
Box 8		Wilson, Jessica E. 1944-1945
Box 8		Wollheim, Donald A. 1967, 1971-1973
			See also Ace Books.
Box 8		WorldCon invitations 1959, 1969 - invitations to participate in 17th and 27th WorldCons
Box 8		WQED 1955
Box 8		Wylie, Dirk 1944-1945 - literary agent
Box 8		W, Y, misc
Box 8		Zelazny, Roger 1966
Box 8		Ziff-Davis 1953-1957, 1961, undated
Box 8		First name only and unidentified

	Financial and legal material
Box 8		Ace Books 1960, 1964, 1966 - royalty reports
Box 8		AMCO Films 1959 - contract for The girls from Planet 5
Box 8		Ballantine Books 1953-1957, 1962 - royalty reports, contracts
Box 8		Copyright Office 1969
Box 8		E.J. Carnell 1954-1978, undated - royalty reports, Wilson's summary of income
Box 8		Doubleday 1978-1979 - royalty reports, copies returned, etc.
Box 8		Lancer Books 1967-1969 - royalty reports
Box 8		Lightning Publications 1946-1947 - partnership agreement with other AAF members about writing history of 339th Fighter Squadron/347th Fighter Group

	Memorabilia
		Awards
Box 8			Nebula for Best Novelette 1969 - photograph of Wilson, program, clippings, etc.
Box 8			Palawan Poetry-Prose award 1945, 1969 - photos, letters, copy of magazine
		Clippings
			See also World War II : Clippings and Scrapbooks, below.
Box 8			About Wilson [1926?], 1944-1945, 1955-1958, 1961-1962, 1965-1970, 1984
Box 9			About Syracuse University's science fiction collections 1967, 1970, 1973, 1975
Box 9			Miscellaneous 1955, 1958, 1961, 1967 (2 folders)
		Conventions
Box 9			LunaCon 1969-1971, 1974
Box 9			SFCon V 1982
Box 9			Star Trek 1973, 1975
Box 9			11th WorldCon (PhilCon II) 1953
Box 9			15th WorldCon (LACon I) 1957
Box 9			24th WorldCon (TriCon) 1966
Box 9			25th WorldCon (NYCon III) 1967
Box 9			26th WorldCon (BayCon) 1968
Box 9			27th WorldCon (St. LouisCon) 1969
Box 9			28th WorldCon (HeiCon) 1970
Box 9			31st WorldCon (TorCon II) 1973
Box 9			33rd WorldCon (AussieCon) 1975
Box 9			36th WorldCon (IguanaCon) 1978
Box 9			37th WorldCon (SeaCon) 1979
Box 9			Miscellaneous 1952-1955, 1958, 1961, 1964-1970, 1974, 1982, undated
Box 10		The Dome 1936 - Richmond Hill High School yearbook
		Family
			Felicitas K. Wilson (mother)
Oversize 2				College of Swedish Massage 1951 - diploma, class photograph
Box 12				Correspondence 1938, 1944-1945, 1947, 1953, 1956
Box 12				"Notes for essays" - typed and handwritten notes, fragments, drafts
Box 12				Photographs
Box 12				Miscellaneous 1919, 1944-1945, 1950-1951, 1955-1956 - marriage certificate, College of Swedish Massage and other certifications, U.S. Power Squadron certificate, etc.
			Richard Wilson (father)
Oversize 2				Jephtha Lodge No. 494 1918, undated - photographs, Master Mason certificates (2), membership cards
Oversize 2				World War I service recognition, 310th Infantry circa 1918
Box 12				Miscellaneous 1919, 1942, 1944 - honorable discharge from Army; membership cards; death and funeral documentation
			Julius Krause (maternal grandfather)
				Much of this material is in German.
Box 12				Manuscript, "Faith, greed, home" 1918 - typed draft
Box 12				Manuscript, "Gerold" undated - typed draft
Box 12				Manuscript, "Stars and stripes among the Persians and Koords" undated - handwritten and typed drafts
Box 12				Manuscript, "Verkauft" undated - handwritten and typed drafts and notes (2 folders)
Box 12				Miscellaneous 1891, 1894, undated - marriage certificate to Josephine Heller; citizenship certificate; items relating to Josephine's funeral; etc.
			Eduard Krause (maternal great-grandfather) - almost certainly Eduard Friedrich Heinrich Krause (1816-1882), printer and co-founder of the Berlin Craftsmen's Association
Oversize 2				Printed material circa 1870-1900
					RESTRICTED: Originals of newspapers are VERY fragile. Do not handle. Use photocopies (in box).
					Zum jubilaeum ihres hochverehrten Meisters und Freundes EDUARD KRAUSE dargebracht vom personal der druckerei (1870) - quarto-size commemorative publication, in English "For the jubilee of esteemed master and friend Eduard Krause, offered by the staff of the print shop"
					Der Schlaraffia Zeyttungen no. 540 and 544 - newsletter of the Schlaraffia Society, a men's society founded in Prague in 1859 for purposes of friendship, art and humor (undated, probably circa 1890-1900;
					National Zeitung No. 411 (1882)
Oversize 2			Unidentified - formal portrait photographs of men and women, not identified but presumably family
Box 10		Fantasy Calendar from Gnome Press 1950
Box 10		"Jack and Jill" play 1965, 1968, 1985 - clippings, letter, program from a performance, etc.
Oversize 1		Missile ring, toy - small plastic ring with toy missile on it
Oversize 2		Photograph of Wilson by Jay Kay Klein
		Poster, "Spaceman Rose" by Josh Kirby
Oversize 1		Ray guns, toy circa 1950 - 2 plastic ray guns
		World War II
Box 12			Clippings 1943-1945 - by Wilson, mostly letters home published in various outlets; about Wilson; miscellaneous
Box 12			Currency - scrip issued by occupying Japanese forces as replacements for local currency in Philippines, Netherlands East Indies, Sarawak, etc.
Box 12			Humor, miscellaneous - cartoons, joke articles/essays, etc.; includes photoreproduction of several cartoons done by Milton Caniff especially for the 339th Fighter Squadron and signed/inscribed to Wilson and the men
Oversize 1			Maps circa 1943 - printed on silk, likely used by/belonged to pilots
Box 12			Official communications 1942-1945 - Wilson's draft notice, official orders, transfer orders, etc.
Oversize 2			Oldsmobile ad, featuring the "Gremlin" of the 339th
Box 12			Ship and squadron newspapers 1944-1945
				"The G.I Afloat," unspecified ship "The Mariner", unspecified ship, vol. 1 no. 1-3, 5-8 "The Stateside Express," USS Wharton, no. 1-17 "Sun Setter," XIII AAF Fighter Command, 5 issues, most incomplete, and packet of typescript revisions "Voice of A-2," Casual Squadron A-2, no. 1 "The Tropic-Optic," 38th Air Service Squadron, vol. 2 no. 4
Box 13			Miscellaneous - photographs, cancelled checks, leaflet dropped on Japanese announcing end of war, issue of "Fantasy Times in France" by James V. Taurasi, other items
		Scrapbooks - clippings, book jackets, reviews, etc., relating to science fiction books and movies
Box 10			"Science fiction films and plays" 1937
Box 10			"Science fiction scrapbook" 1937-1938
Box 10			"Fantasy films of 1938" 1938-1939
Box 10			"Off-trail plays" 1938-1939
Box 10			"Off-trail plays" 1939
Oversize 2		"Yankee Hobo in the Orient" map - printed version of map drawn by author John Patric to go with his book; signed and inscribed
Box 10		Miscellany - membership cards, press pass, artwork, etc.

	Printed material
		Fanzines
Box 10			Algol 1972 - no. 18
Box 10			The Chief Procurer Speaks 1977 - vol. 3 no. 5
			Escape
				See Writings : Miscellaneous : Wilson fanzine, "Escape".
Box 11			Fantasy Times 1952-1953 - vol. 3 no. 4; vol. 7 no. 4, 9
				See also Memorabilia : World War II : Miscellaneous.
Box 11			The Gridley Wave 1965 - no. 17
Box 11			The Hamm Court Herald 1970 - no. 1, no. 3
Box 11			Heroine's Showcase Art Portfolio 1979 - no. 2
Box 11			The Innavigable Mouth 1957-1958 - no. 3, no. 4
Box 11			Lobster Tails [1980] - no. 8, no. 9
Box 11			Mae Strelkov Trip Report 1976
Box 11			Maya 1975 - no. 7
Box 11			Nucleus [1977?] - vol. 1 no. 1, 2, 3
Box 11			Science Fiction Forum 1957 - vol. 1 no. 1, 2
Box 11			Science Fiction Newsletter 1937-1938 - vol. 1 no. 1-26; vol. 2 no. 1-26
Box 11			Science Fiction Review 1982 - no. 43
Box 11			Shangri L'Affaires 1946-1947 - no. 32, no. 35
Box 11			SFS Refractions 1982 - 3 issues
Box 11			The Skylee Sun 1971 - no. 1
Box 11			Synapse [1969-1970?] - 3 issues
Box 13			Tink; Tong; Tunkunaku Event 1973-1974 - three different titles, all by Mae Strelkov
Box 11			The Vinegar Worm 1967 - vol. 2 no. 10 (reprint)
Box 11			The Vombus [?] 1937 - incomplete; editors listed as James V. Taurasi and Richard Wilson; possibly related to Voice of the Imagination, known as VOM
		Newsletters
Box 11			First Fandom 1968, 1971 - published by First Fandom; no. 1, 2, 5; also includes First Fandom Magazine no. 15
Box 11			The Realist 1963-1966 - published by The Realist Association; no. 44-46, 50, 54, 60, 63, 64, 73, 86 (2 folders)
Box 13			Renaissance 1970 - published by the Second Foundation; vol. 2 no. 4
		Publishers
Box 11			Miscellaneous - Borgo Press, Gregg Science Fiction, Hyperion, Pocket, Pulp Press, more (2 folders)
Box 11		Miscellaneous

	Subject files
Box 13		339th Fighter Squadron/347th Fighter Group 1944-1945 - miscellaneous material
			RESTRICTED: This material is closed to researchers pending review.
Box 13		347th Fighter Group 1943-1945 - lists of achievements; AR 345-105 reports; award recommendations, narrative history, press releases, roster and casualty lists, (7 folders)
			RESTRICTED: This material is closed to researchers pending review.
Box 14		347th Fighter Group 1943-1945 - miscellaneous official documents; personal accounts (2 folders)
			RESTRICTED: This material is closed to researchers pending review.
Box 14		FBI 1949-1950
Box 14		Flying saucers / UFOs 1947-1973, undated - clippings (5 folders)
Box 14		Flying saucers / UFOs 1947, 1950, 1967-1968 - magazines, including a comic book (2 folders)
Box 14		Pohl, Frederik 1945, 1966-1968 - clippings, correspondence about, etc.
		Reuter's
Box 14			Commemorative items 1950, 1962
Box 14			Official communications 1953-1956
Box 14			Style notes 1951

	Writings
		Articles
Box 15			Aunt Fritzi 1986 - clipping of published article about Fritzi Kelly, Wilson's aunt
Box 15			Albert Finney 1964 - drafts, letter to Movie Times accompanying submission
Box 15			Flying saucer series 1950 - drafts; first article is by Wilson, others are by Douglas Grahame, Dan Edelstein, Cyril Kornbluth, Wallace R. Fanning; includes a few items of correspondence with Fanning
Box 15			Invasion of the Beatles 1964 - notes, drafts, research material
Box 15			Military, miscellaneous 1944-1946 - drafts and clippings of published items, including some in Wilson's high school magazine The Dome
Box 15			Reuters, miscellaneous 1943, 1952, 1958-1961 - drafts, final submitted copy
Box 15			Tops in Pops column 1951 - written while Wilson was at Transradio Press; drafts and tear-sheets or clippings of published columns from The Daily Gazette
Box 15			Miscellaneous 1948, 1953, 1983
		Books
			Both novels and novellas are filed here, including seven folders of material for Wilson's Nebula Award-winning novelette "Mother to the World."
			At the sign of the Boar's Head Nebula [working title: Saffron]
Box 15				Notes, foldered (4 folders)
Box 15				Notes, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 16				"Old carbons, early drafts, shorter version"
Box 16				Early drafts (6 folders)
Box 16				Draft 1966
Box 16				"30,000 word version" 1969 (3 folders)
Box 17				"Original copy" (2 folders)
Box 17				Final[?] draft
Box 17				"Finished copy" - appears to actually be partial drafts (2 folders)
			The far king
Box 17				"Working folder"
Box 17				Early draft, handwritten
Box 17				"Pre-July 1976 ms"
Box 17				Typescript
Box 18				"Penultimate draft"
Box 18				Final draft
Box 18				Setting copy
Box 18				Proofs / galleys
			The girls from Planet 5
Box 18				Final, incomplete - contains pp. 65-251 (2 folders)
Box 18				Published editions 1955, 1957, 1962 - Ballantine hardcover, 1955, signed; Ballantine paperback, 1957, signed; Hachette, 1962 (Le Rayon Fantastique 92), signed
Box 18				Musical comedy version outline
			I thought I heard him play
Box 18				Synopsis
Box 18				Notes (3 folders)
Box 19				Draft (4 folders)
			The kid from Ozone Park
Box 19				Published edition, Drumm booklet #27 1987
			The 19th century spaceship
Box 19				Drafts and notes (3 folders)
Box 19				Final draft (2 folders)
			Super city
				See also Miscellaneous : "First drafts incorporated in published works".
Box 19				Notes, miscellaneous pages, corrections
Box 19				Draft, pp. 1-75
Box 20				Draft, pp. 76-149
			30 day wonder
Box 20				Notes
Box 20				Quotes for chapter headings
Box 20				Draft, mostly handwritten (7 folders)
Box 20				Final manuscript, pp. 1-150 (2 folders)
Box 21				Final manuscript, pp. 151-233
Box 21				Printer's copy (3 folders)
Box 21				German edition, Utopia zukunfts roman #373
			Those idiots from Earth
Box 21				Published edition, Ballantine paperback 1957
			Time out for tomorrow [collection]
Box 21				Published edition, Ballantine 1962
		Plays
			Another time - based on short story "Voice of the diaphragm"
Box 21				Drafts - handwritten and typed
			Jack and Jill
Box 21				Course notes, Drama 135 1964
Box 21				Outlines
Box 21				Drafts A-D (4 folders)
Box 21				Notes, fragments, miscellaneous revisions
Box 22				Final
Box 22				Submitted to WCAU "Repertoire Workshop" 1967
		Reviews
Box 22			"Fantasy Stage and Screen" columns
Box 22			Film, miscellaneous
Box 22			Theater, miscellaneous
		Stories
			Unless otherwise noted, material for a given story consists of handwritten and/or typed drafts.
Box 22			An abundance of good things 1953
Box 22			The archetype
Box 22			The best possible world 1959
Box 22			Beyond duty pre-1944
Box 22			The big fix 1953-1955
Box 22			Box 1956-1963
Box 22			Boy 1956
Box 22			The care and feeding of vampires
Box 22			The Carson effect 1959-1963
Box 22			Christmas party [alt title: Time out for tomorrow] 1953
Box 22			The day they had the war 1965-1970
Box 22			Deny the slake 1953-1956, 1970 - notes, drafts, published version in Special Wonder Volume 2
Box 22			Deserter 1955
Box 22			Don't fence me in 1953, 1955
Box 22			The eight billion 1956-1965 - notes, research material, drafts, published version in Fantasy & Science Fiction (3 folders)
Box 22			88 beats 266 1952
Box 23			The evil ones - notes, draft
Box 23			Four star planet
Box 23			Friend of the family 1953
Box 23			Frostbite 1951, 1956
Box 23			Gone past [alt title: Back from 1984] 1979-1980 - notes, drafts, editor's manuscript (4 folders)
Box 23			Grand prize 1956
Box 23			Green eyes 1957, 1969
Box 23			The hoaxters 1952
Box 23			Honor 1953
Box 23			The inhabited 1952
Box 23			Inside story 1953-1954
Box 23			It's cold outside 1953 - includes list of submissions
Box 23			Just call me Irish
Box 23			The largess in Manrun 2 [published as Kill me with kindness] 1957-1958 (2 folders)
Box 23			Lonely road [1953?]
Box 23			Love 1951
Box 24			A man spekith [working title: Space disc jockey] 1967-1969 - notes, research material, drafts (6 folders)
Box 24			Man without a planet [alt. title: Willie]
Box 24			Man working 1957-1958
Box 24			The Martian princess 1951
Box 24			The message
Box 24			Mother to the world - notes, miscellaneous pages, drafts (3 folders)
Box 25			Mother to the world - drafts, published version in Orbit (4 folders)
Box 25			9-9-99 1967-1968
Box 25			Outside Earth
Box 25			Press conference 1952
Box 25			The purple boat [working title: The scientists' daughter]
Box 25			QRM 1956
Box 25			Revolt of the masses [alt title: The locus focus] 1956
				See also Miscellaneous : "First drafts incorporated in published works".
Box 25			The rhyming invader 1962 - published version, in Kirmess
Box 25			See me not 1957 (3 folders)
Box 25			Soft hands 1945
Box 25			The sons of Japheth 1956
Box 25			The South Waterford Rumple Club 1957-1968 - notes, research material, drafts (2 folders)
Box 26			The story writer 1971-1972, 1978 - notes, research material, drafts, typescript and cover letter submitted to Ace Books (9 folders)
Box 26			Those idiots from Earth 1957
Box 26			Transitory island
Box 26			Tug hill 1967 - notes, research material
Box 27			Tug hill 1967 - drafts (4 folders)
Box 27			Tunnel under the world 1951-1953
Box 27			Two very nice people 1945
Box 27			The ubiquitous you [alt title: The in-betweens] 1952-1956
Box 27			The Venus papers 1956-1957
Box 27			The voice of the diaphragm 1956
				See also Plays : Another time.
Box 27			Wasp 1953-1954
Box 27			The watchers in the glade 1960-1963, 1967 - notes, research material, drafts, published version in 9th Galaxy Reader (4 folders)
Box 27			Wide open ship - galleys
Box 27			You and eye
		Miscellaneous
Box 27			"First drafts incorporated in published works"
Box 27			George Pal interview 1980 - notes, research material, drafts
Box 27			The singing handout, in College and University Journal 1965
Box 27			Syracuse University's science fiction collections 1966-1967 - notes, drafts, etc.; includes galleys for published version in Worlds of Tomorrow
			Trial notes - trials Wilson covered for Transradio Press
Box 28				Coplon, Judith 1949
Box 28				Gillars, Mildred (aka "Axis Sally") 1949
Box 28				Klock, Bernard 1952 (2 folders)
Box 28				Unidentified
Box 28			Wilson fanzine, "Escape" 1939-1940 - vol. 1, no's 3, 6, and 7
		By others
Box 28			Blish, James, et al. / Criticism: Who needs it? 1968 - published by SFWA
Box 28			Blish, James, et al. / Paranoia and science fiction 1967 - published by SFWA
Box 28			Bloch, Robert / An index to Unknown and Unknown Worlds 1955 - published by Sirius Press
Box 28			Bulmer, Kenneth / Dacre's last battle - writing as Nelson Sherwood; typescript draft with corrections (2 folders)
Box 28			Bulmer, Kenneth / The fatal fire - typescript draft
			Edelstein, Dan
				See Articles : Flying saucer series.
			Fanning, Wallace B.
				See Articles : Flying saucer series.
			Grahame, Douglas
				See Articles : Flying saucer series.
			Kornbluth, Cyril
				See Articles : Flying saucer series.
Box 28			Lovecraft, H.P. / Notes on writing weird fiction - typescript draft
			Pohl, Frederik
				See also Articles : Flying saucer series.
Box 28			Strauss, Erwin S. / The index to the S-F magazines 1966-1967 - self-published
Box 28			Williamson, Jack / Science fiction comes to college 1970-1971 - raw material for report on college courses on SF
Box 28			Unidentified

Return to top