Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Wollheim, Donald A. |
| Title: | Donald A. Wollheim Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1959-1969 |
| Quantity: | 1.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Papers of the American author, science fiction writer (1914-1990). Collection contains typescript manuscripts for fiction and non-fiction works, primarily novels in his Mike Mars series. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Donald A. Wollheim (1914-1990) was an award-winning science fiction writer, editor, publisher, and fan. Wollheim's first story was published when he was nineteen, and despite his many other activities he continued to be published regularly for more than thirty years. He wrote under numerous pen names, including David Grinnell, Arthur Cooke, Millard Verne Gordon, Martin Pearson, Braxton Wells, Graham Conway, and Lawrence Woods. In addition to his writing, Wollheim the organizer of the first science fiction convention in 1936, publisher of numerous fanzines, and founder of the Fantasy Amateur Press Association. He was also a founding member of The Futurians, alongn with Isaac Asimov, Frederik Pohl, Cyril Kornbluth, James Blish, Damon Knight and many other notable names in science fiction.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Donald A. Wollheim Papers consists entirely of his writings, almost all in manuscript form. Most are novels in the Mike Mars series, published initially under the name David Grinnell.
Arrangement of the Collection
Manuscripts are subdivided into fiction and non-fiction, then arranged alphabetically by title.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to science fiction and fantasy authors, editors, organizations, and events. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Donald A. Wollheim Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Finding Aid Information
Created by: -
Date: Jul 1967
Revision history: 14 Dec 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC);
12 Oct 2021 - additions, rehoused (MRC)
Inventory
| Writings | |||||||||||
| Fiction | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Destiny's orbit 1961 - first draft | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Mike Mars, Astronaut [Mike Mars #1] 1959 - first draft | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Mike Mars, Astronaut [Mike Mars #1] - setting copy, with edits and corrections (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Mike Mars at Cape Canaveral [Mike Mars #3] 1960 - first draft | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Mike Mars at Cape Canaveral [Mike Mars #3] - setting copy, with edits and corrections (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Mike Mars in orbit [Mike Mars #4] 1960 - first draft | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Mike Mars in orbit [Mike Mars #4] - setting copy, with edits and corrections (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Mike Mars flies the dyna-soar [Mike Mars #5] [1961] - first draft | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Mike Mars flies the dyna-soar [Mike Mars #5] - setting copy, with edits and corrections; has alternate title "Mike Mars' space rescue" (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Mike Mars, South Pole spaceman [Mike Mars #6] 1962 - first draft; has alternate title "Mike Mars and the South Pole Rocket" | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Mike Mars, South Pole spaceman [Mike Mars #6] - setting copy, with edits and corrections (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Mike Mars and the mystery satellite [Mike Mars #7] 1962 - first draft | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Mike Mars and the mystery satellite [Mike Mars #7] - setting copy, with edits and corrections (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Mike Mars around the moon [Mike Mars #8] 1963 - first draft | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Mike Mars around the moon [Mike Mars #8] - illustrations and captions | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Mike Mars around the moon [Mike Mars #8] - setting copy pp. 1-75, with edits and corrections | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Mike Mars around the moon [Mike Mars #8] - setting copy pp. 76-123, with edits and corrections (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Two dozen dragon eggs 1969 - paperback edition, Powell Sci Fi | ||||||||||
| Non-fiction | |||||||||||
| Box 3 | The wizard of wireless [working title; published as Advancing the electronic age: Lee De Forest - typescript draft with edits and corrections | ||||||||||