Collection inventory
Adult Education Association (AEA-USA)/American Association for Adult and Continuing
Education (AAACE) Records
An inventory of
its records
at Syracuse University
The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.
Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
|
Revision history:
|
| 1989? |
Part II added (-) |
| 1992 |
Part III added (JOD) |
| Jun 2007 |
converted to EAD, updated (MRC) |
| 24 Aug 2015 |
correction to annual conference dates, box 43 (MRC) |
| 20 Jul 2017 |
fixed package 1 (MRC) |
| 23 May 2018 |
Membership directories added, Box 59 (MRC) |
|
|
Overview of the Collection
|
| Creator: |
Adult Education Association. |
| Title: |
Adult Education Association (AEA-USA)/American Association for Adult and Continuing
Education (AAACE) Records
|
| Dates: |
1924-1994 |
| Quantity: |
44 linear ft. |
| Abstract: |
The Adult Education Association of the U.S.A. (AEA-USA) was formed in 1951 by the
merger of the American Association for Adult Education (supported by the Carnegie
Corporation) and the Department of Adult Education of the National Education Association.
In 1982, the AEA-USA combined with the National Association of Public School Adult
Educators (NAPSAE) to become the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education
(AAACE). The collection contains material from both organizations.
|
| Abstract: |
Correspondents significant for their importance within the AEA-USA, the volume of
the material in the collection, or presence of their papers among the manuscript holdings
at Syracuse University include: Andrew Hendrickson, Glenn S. Jensen, Eugene I. Johnson,
Malcolm S. Knowles, Robert A. Luke, Lois McCarthy, Nicholas P. Mitchell, Hugh G. Pyle,
and Paul H. Sheats. Other prominent individuals in the field of adult education
whose correspondence is in the collection are: L.H. Adolphson, Leland P. Bradford,
Paul H. Durrie, Paul L. Essert, Cyril O. Houle, Herbert C. Hunsaker, Homer H. Kempfer,
A.A. Liveright, Fern Long, Howard Y. McClusky, Robert E. Sharer, Robertson Sillars,
Grace Stevenson, and Thurman White.
|
| Language: |
English
|
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Adult Education Association of the United States (AEA-USA)
The AEA-USA was founded in Columbus, Ohio, in May 1951 as the result of the joint
efforts of the American Association for Adult Education (supported by the Carnegie
Corporation) and the Department of Adult Education of the National Education Association.
These two organizations dissolved in 1951 and their memberships joined to form the
membership of the new organization with offices in Chicago, Illinois. The purpose
of the organization was to unite all professional and non-professional adult educators
in a single national organization to facilitate communication in the emerging field
of adult education. In accordance with this goal the AEA formed the subsidiary Council
of National Organizations for Adult Education (CNO) in 1952 in order "to establish
closer communication and exchange of experience between organizations and individuals
working in different fields."
Gradually the goals of AEA-USA expanded to encompass all activities designed "to further
the acceptance of education as a process continuing through-out life; to afford opportunities
to professional and non-professional adult educators to increase their competence;
to receive and disseminate information about adult education; to promote a balanced
development of educational services for adults; and to cooperate with adult education
agencies internationally." In order to lobby effectively for the moral and financial
support of adult education, the offices of the organization were moved to Washington,
D.C., in 1964.
AEA-USA offered general, student, professional, and organizational memberships. Member
services included periodicals, special publications, field service, consultation,
reference services, and the membership directory. Standing committees included Annual
Nominations and Elections, Membership and Field Services, Publications, Social Philosophy,
Finance and Development, and Legislative Policy. The wide areas of AEA interest were
also reflected in its commissions and sections. Commissions included the Commission
on Research in Adult Education, the Council of State Associations, the Commission
of Professors of Adult Education, and the Commission on Adult Basic Education, while
sections included Armed Forces Education and Training, Community College Adult Education,
Correctional Institutions, International Affairs, Liberal Adult Education, and Religious
Adult Education, among others.
Other activities of the organization included a clearinghouse of information, a referral
center, an annual national conference, publications, and its commissions, councils,
and special sections, which conduct research and hold workshops. The two regular publications
of the association were Adult Leadership (monthly) for general members and Adult Education (quarterly) for professional members.
American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE)
In 1982, the AEA-USA merged with the National Association of Public School Adult Educators
(NAPSAE) to become the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE),
which is the name under which the organization operates as of this writing. The AAACE's
mission statement is "to provide leadership for the field of adult and continuing
education by expanding opportunities for adult growth and development; unifying adult
educators; fostering the development and dissemination of theory, research, information,
and best practices; promoting identity and standards for the profession; and advocating
relevant public policy and social change initiatives."
AAACE maintains seven commissions that represent general areas of interest in the
field (e.g. International Adult Education, Adult Basic Education and Literacy), and
twenty-six units that represent specific focus areas (e.g. Correctional Institutions,
GED Test Administrators, History and Philosophy of Adult Education, Religious Education,
Special Learning Needs, Women's Issues, Status, and Education). As of this writing,
AAACE continues publication of Adult Education Quarterly and also publishes a second, practitioner-oriented journal, Adult Learning.
[June 2007]
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Adult Education Association (AEA-USA)/American Association for Adult and Continuing
Education (AAACE) Records consists of three separate accessions which have been processed to varying degress
and which are not integrated. Box numbering is sequential order across all three parts.
There is considerable overlap between the three parts in terms of both dates and
subject matter.
Part I, 1924-1968 (18 linear ft)
This accession is the most fully processed. It consists entirely of records relating
to the AEA-USA. It is divided into Correspondence, Organizational records, and Writings.
Besides correspondence, there is printed material including ditto and mimeographed
material, photocopy, published material, and newspaper clippings; one volume of trial
balance sheets; one journal; and typescript copy for periodical publications of
the AEA. The inclusive dates of these papers are ca. 1924-1968, but the bulk of the
material is dated 1951 to 1967. The few materials dated prior to 1951 were generated
by the American Association for Adult Education, a predecessor of the Adult Education
Association, which dissolved and transmitted its records to the AEA in 1951.
Correspondence, 1951-1968, includes incoming and outgoing letters, memoranda, and telegrams, arranged
chronologically. Correspondence dated only by year is found at the beginning of the
January folder for that year. Undated correspondence is placed at the end of the section.
The following correspondents, significant for their importance within the AEA, the
volume of their material in the collection, or the presence of their papers among
the manuscript holdings of Syracuse University, are heavily represented.
Hendrickson, Andrew
Jensen, Glenn S.
Johnson, Eugene I.
Knowles, Malcolm S.
Luke, Robert A.
McCarthy, Lois
Mitchell, Nicholas P.
Pyle, Hugh G.
Sheats, Paul Henry
Other prominent individuals in the field of adult education whose correspondence is
found among the papers of AEA are:
Adolphson, L. H.
Bradford, Leland P.
Durrie, Paul H.
Essert, Paul L.
Houle, Cyril O.
Hunsaker, Herbert C.
Kempfer, Homer H.
Liveright, A. A.
Long, Fern
McClusky, Howard Y.
Sharer, Robert E.
Sillars, Robertson
Stevenson, Grace
White, Thurman
Arrangement of the Organizational records follows, with occasional modification, the subject filing system of the AEA, a copy
of which can be found in Box 9. Subject headings used by the AEA were retained where
appropriate. New headings were created for materials which did not fit into existing
AEA categories. Major headings are arranged alphabetically. Material within these
headings is arranged either alphabetically or chronologically, depending upon the
nature of the material. Although any one folder may contain a variety of types of
materials, correspondence and printed material predominate. Major headings of importance
to the re-searcher and containing the largest amounts of material are:
American Association for Adult Education
Business and Finance
Committees
Conference
Files
Delegate Assembly
Membership
Project Task Force
Proposals
Publications
Sections
Notebooks
Box 6 contains some materials from 1924 to 1951 of the American Association for Adult
Education and of the Carnegie Corporation. Also part of the collection is some material
on the Council of National Organizations (CNO), a subsidiary of AEA-USA, and the
National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE), an independent organization
with which the AEA-USA merged in 1982.
Notebooks are arranged chronologically, following the pattern by which they were kept
by the AEA. The material includes minutes, memoranda, working papers, policy statements,
reports, proposals, and rosters. Undated pieces are placed at the end of the group.
The notebook material overlaps material in the other organizational records. For example,
papers relating to the AEA executive committee are found under Notebooks, as well
as under Committees. Additional materials of importance are the working papers and
minutes of the publication committee and the general office memoranda for 1952 and
1953.
Writings are arranged under the headings of articles, book reviews, copy for Adult Education
and Adult Leadership, and speeches. Articles were written by officers of the AEA and
are arranged alphabetically according to the authors' surnames. There is one folder
of book reviews, dated 1958. Copy is arranged
alphabetically by titles of the publications and chronologically within each title.
Speeches, both those delivered by AEA officers or by speakers at meetings sponsored
by the AEA, are arranged alphabetically by the speakers' surnames.
Part II, 1950-1994 (19 linear ft)
Part II consists of records from the AEA-USA and from the AAACE and has received only
minimal processing. Material in this accession covers the following topics: activities,
affiliations, annual reports, board of directors meeting minutes, budgets, commissions,
committees, conferences, constitution and bylaws, councils, delegate assembly, directories,
leadership rosters, manuals, mission statement, publications, sections, files of AAACE
president Wendell Smith, subject correspondence, task forces, and units/divisions.
Part III, 1952-1991 (7 linear ft)
Part III consists of historical files, office files, and publications; it spans the
complete life of AAACE and thus includes material from all three organizations involved
(AEA-USA, NAPSAE, and AAACE). Like Part II, Part III has received only minimal processing.
Historical files are divided into AAACE 1982-1986 and AEA 1965-1982; this material includes budgets,
conference material, constitutions and bylaws, proposals, published material, reports,
surveys, and other material. Office files are divided into AAACE 1983-1987 and AEA 1958-1982; these include reports, meeting
minutes (committee and Board of Directors), conference material, reports, publications,
correspondence, newsletters, and mailings, among other things. Publications contains AAACE monographs and periodicals, AEA monographs and periodicals, and NAPSAE
monographs and periodicals.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions:
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require
advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance
concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions:
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and
all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from
any
materials in this collection.
Related Material
The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing
education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index
for a complete listing of all adult education collections. In particular, see also
the following:
- Organizations
- Individuals
Subject Headings
Persons
Adolphson, L. H.
Bradford, Leland Powers, 1905-
Durrie, Paul H.
Essert, Paul L.
Hendrickson, Andrew, 1899-
Houle, Cyril Orvin, 1913-
Hunsaker, Herbert Cason, 1898-
Jensen, Glenn S.
Johnson, Eugene I.
Kempfer, Homer H.
Knowles, Malcolm Sheperd, 1913-
Liveright, A. A. (Alexander Albert), 1907-
Long, Fern, 1905-
Luke, Robert A.
McCarthy, Lois.
McClusky, Howard Y., 1900-1982.
Mitchell, Nicholas Pendleton, 1911-
Pyle, Hugh G.
Sharer, Robert E., 1900-
Sheats, Paul H., 1907-1984.
Sillars, Robertson.
Smith, Wendell L.
Stevenson, Grace Thomas, 1900-
White, Thurman J.
Corporate Bodies
Adult Education Association, Archives.
American Association for Adult and Continuing Education -- Archives.
National Association for Public School Adult Education.
National Association for Public and Continuing Adult Education.
National Education Association of the United States. -- Department of Adult Education.
Associated Titles
Adult education quarterly.
Adult leadership.
Subjects
Adult education -- United States.
Educators -- United States.
Genres and Forms
Agendas (administrative records)
Annual reports.
Articles.
Budgets.
Constitutions.
Correspondence.
Directories.
Manuals (instructional materials)
Memorandums.
Minutes (administrative records)
Reports.
Speeches (documents)
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Adult Education Association (AEA-USA)/American Association for Adult and Continuing
Education (AAACE) Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Adult Education Association of the U.S.A., 1968-1970.
Table of Contents
[Part I] Correspondence
[Part I] Organizational records
[Part I] Writings
[Part II]
[Part III] Historical files
[Part III] Office files
[Part III] Publications
Inventory
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
[Part I] Correspondence |
| Box 1 |
|
Correspondence 1951-1956 (Jun)
(7 folders)
|
| Box 2 |
|
Correspondence 1956 (Jul)-1958 (Mar)
(6 folders)
|
| Box 3 |
|
Correspondence 1958 (Apr)-1961
(9 folders)
|
| Box 4 |
|
Correspondence 1962-1965
(9 folders)
|
| Box 5 |
|
Correspondence 1966-1968, undated
(7 folders)
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
[Part I] Organizational records |
| Box 5 |
|
Adult Education Association of Greater Washington, D.C. 1963-1967 |
| Box 5 |
|
AEA Core Organizational Services 1954 |
| Box 5 |
|
AEA Direction Finding Process 1957-1959 |
| Box 5 |
|
AEA Handbook on Adult Education Organization 1955 |
| Box 5 |
|
AEA History 1951 |
| Box 6 |
|
AEA Policy Digest 1957 |
| Box 6 |
|
AEA Reorganization 1957 |
| Box 6 |
|
Adult Educational Needs 1956 |
| Box 6 |
|
Adult Education Week 1963 |
|
|
American Association for Adult Education |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Annual Meeting Programs 1927-1936 |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Carnegie Corporation Adult Education Memos 1924-1926 |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Directors' Annual Report 1949 |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Executive Board, Minutes and Records 28 Apr 1947 - 20 Dec 1948 |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Executive Board, Minutes and Records 15 Feb 1949 - 14 May 1951 |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Income Tax 1926-1949 |
| Box 6 |
|
|
Journal 1926-1951 |
| Package 1 |
|
|
Trial Balance Sheets 1926-1949 |
| Box 6 |
|
American Federation of Labor 1952-1955 |
| Box 6 |
|
Book of the Month Project 1961-1962 |
|
|
Business and Finance |
| Box 7 |
|
|
Advance Education Fund 1955 |
|
|
|
Advertising |
| Box 7 |
|
|
|
Accounts 1958-1959 |
| Box 7 |
|
|
|
Adult Leadership 1958
|
| Box 7 |
|
|
|
Delinquent 1959
|
| Box 7 |
|
|
|
Accounts - Adult Leadership and Adult Education 1957-1958
|
| Box 7 |
|
|
Annual audit 1954-1964
(11 folders)
|
| Box 7 |
|
|
Bowery Savings Bank 1955-1964 |
| Box 7 |
|
|
Budgets 1948-1965
(2 folders)
|
| Box 8 |
|
|
Constitution and Articles of Incorporation 1951-1966 |
| Box 8 |
|
|
Employee service records 1953-1957 |
| Box 8 |
|
|
Endowment Fund 1953-1962
(2 folders)
|
| Box 8 |
|
|
Exhibits 1954-1957 |
|
|
|
Filing system 1967 |
| Box 8 |
|
|
Financial statements 1951-1962
(4 folders)
|
| Box 8 |
|
|
Fund for Adult Education 1951-1965 |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Headquarters move 1963 |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Job descriptions undated |
| Box 9 |
|
|
McKinsey & Co., Management Consultant's Report 1953 |
| Box 9 |
|
|
New office space 1966-1967 |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Personnel & salary policy 1951-1952 |
|
|
Council of National Organizations |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Interrelationship of CNO & AEA 1953-1960 |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Policy papers 1966-1967 |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Program Guide 1954 |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults 1960
- Reports, Memberships, Correspondence
|
| Box 9 |
|
|
Commission of Professors of Adult Education 1960 |
|
|
Committees |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Adult Education Organizations 1967 Jan-Jul |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Area Projects 1952 |
| Box 9 |
|
|
Committee on Committees, Commissions and Sections 1952-1960 |
| Box 10 |
|
|
Conference and Consultation 1954 |
|
|
|
Education of the Foreign Born 1952 |
| Box 10 |
|
|
Executive Committee 1951-1958
(8 folders)
|
| Box 11 |
|
|
Executive Committee 1959-1965
(7 folders)
|
| Box 11 |
|
|
Field Development Committee 1955-1956 |
| Box 11 |
|
|
Finance and Development 1954, 1959-1962
(7 folders)
|
| Box 12 |
|
|
Future Activities 1956 |
| Box 12 |
|
|
Legislative Policy 1962-1966
(11 folders)
|
| Box 12 |
|
|
Membership and Field Services 1955, 1961-1964 (Jun)
(5 folders)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
Membership and Field Services 1964 (Jul)-1968
(4 folders)
|
| Box 13 |
|
|
NEA and AEA Joint Committee 1954 |
| Box 13 |
|
|
National Organizing Committee 1950-1951 |
| Box 13 |
|
|
Nominations and Elections 1955, 1959-1962
(5 folders)
|
| Box 14 |
|
|
Nominations and Elections 1963-1966
(4 folders)
|
| Box 14 |
|
|
Personnel Information Exchange 1955 |
| Box 14 |
|
|
Promotion Committee 1954 |
| Box 14 |
|
|
Publications 1954-1956, 1962-1966
(5 folders)
|
| Box 15 |
|
|
Resolution Committee 1953 |
| Box 15 |
|
|
Social Philosophy 1950-1957, 1960, 1962-1966
(7 folders)
|
| Box 15 |
|
|
Steering Committee 1955-1963 |
| Box 15 |
|
|
Structure 1960-1962 |
| Box 15 |
|
|
Study and Membership 1956 |
| Box 15 |
|
|
Wamcke Committee on Membership 1966-1967 |
|
|
Conference files |
| Box 15 |
|
|
Adult Education Satellite Conference 1966 Dec 13-14 |
| Box 15 |
|
|
American Library Association Adult Education Workshop Materials 1955-1956 |
| Box 15 |
|
|
Arizona Adult Education Association Meeting 1967 |
| Box 15 |
|
|
CNO Meeting 1959 |
|
|
|
CNO |
| Box 15 |
|
|
|
Experiment in Liberal Curriculum Development for National Organization Leadership
- Report to FAE 1959-1960
|
| Box 16 |
|
|
|
Experiment in Liberal Curriculum Development for National Organization Leadership
- Anthology of Readings 1960
|
| Box 16 |
|
|
Curbstone Conference 1955 |
| Box 16 |
|
|
Galaxy Conference of Adult Education Organizations 1967 Sep 17-18 |
| Box 16 |
|
|
Health Services and Community Organization 1965 |
| Box 16 |
|
|
Inter-Association Meetings 1962-1964 |
| Box 16 |
|
|
Local and Regional Workshop 1960 |
| Box 16 |
|
|
NAPSAE Conference 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956
(4 folders)
|
|
|
|
National conferences |
| Box 16 |
|
|
|
National Conference 1952, 1953
(2 folders)
|
| Box 17 |
|
|
|
National Conference 1954-1960
- includes pre-conference studies from 1955
(8 folders)
|
| Box 18 |
|
|
|
National Conference 1961, 1962, 1964, 1966, 1967, Jan-Oct
(7 folders)
|
| Box 19 |
|
|
|
National Conference 1967, Nov-Dec and undated
(2 folders)
|
| Box 19 |
|
|
National Congress on the Rights and Responsibilities of the Public in Commercial Broadcasting 1966 Dec 1-2 |
| Box 19 |
|
|
National Organizations and Agencies with a Primary Adult Education Function Conference 1960 |
| Box 19 |
|
|
North American Conference on Adult Education 1967 Oct 22-25 |
| Box 19 |
|
|
Regional Conference 1965, 1966
(2 folders)
|
| Box 19 |
|
|
Urban Affairs 1962 |
|
|
Delegate Assembly |
| Box 20 |
|
|
Members and materials 1951 |
| Box 20 |
|
|
Reports, handbook, notes, misc. 1952 Oct 22-23 |
| Box 20 |
|
|
Correspondence |
| Box 20 |
|
|
Working papers 1953 |
| Box 20 |
|
|
Roster 1953 |
| Box 20 |
|
|
Resolutions 1953-1954
- including correspondence on same
|
| Box 20 |
|
|
Resolutions 1953 Oct 28 |
| Box 20 |
|
|
Minutes 1953 Oct 26-29 |
| Box 20 |
|
|
Reports, handbook, correspondence, minutes, misc. 1954 Oct 9-10 |
| Box 21 |
|
|
Reports, memo, correspondence, misc. 1954 |
| Box 21 |
|
|
Correspondence 1955 |
| Box 21 |
|
|
Working papers 1955 |
| Box 21 |
|
|
Roster and attendance 1955 |
| Box 21 |
|
|
Resolutions 1955 |
| Box 21 |
|
|
Minutes 1955 |
| Box 21 |
|
|
Correspondence, resolutions, rosters 1956 |
| Box 21 |
|
|
Working papers 1956 |
| Box 21 |
|
|
Minutes 1956 |
| Box 22 |
|
|
Handbook 1957 |
| Box 22 |
|
|
Agenda, correspondence, reports, misc. 1957 |
| Box 22 |
|
|
Correspondence, reports, handbook, misc. 1958 |
| Box 22 |
|
|
Checklist, handbook, reports 1959 |
| Box 22 |
|
|
Handbook, index, reports 1960 |
| Box 22 |
|
|
Agenda, handbook, index, roster of participants 1961 |
| Box 22 |
|
|
Report 1962 |
| Box 22 |
|
|
Handbook, resolutions 1963 |
| Box 22 |
|
|
Agenda, report, resolutions, roster 1964 |
| Box 23 |
|
Founding Assembly, general materials 1949-1953, undated
(4 folders)
|
|
|
Long-range plans |
| Box 23 |
|
|
Three-Year Plan 1953 |
| Box 23 |
|
|
Ten-Year Plan 1954 |
| Box 23, 24 |
|
|
Five-Year Plan 1956
(3 folders)
|
|
|
Membership |
| Box 24 |
|
|
Adult education councils and associations 1959 |
| Box 24 |
|
|
Attitudes of non-members toward AEA 1953 |
| Box 24 |
|
|
Development program 1954-1955 |
| Box 24 |
|
|
Directory 1965-1967 |
| Box 24 |
|
|
Directory of national organizations 1954 |
| Box 24 |
|
|
Drive 1958 |
| Box 24 |
|
|
Form letters and promotional material 1952-1967
(2 folders)
|
| Box 24 |
|
|
Joint membership state associations 1952-1958 |
| Box 24 |
|
|
Lists 1956-1968 |
| Box 25 |
|
|
Mailing lists 1955-1956 |
| Box 25 |
|
|
Membership characteristics study 1956 Apr |
| Box 25 |
|
|
Promotion 1964-1965, 1966-1967
(2 folders)
|
| Box 25 |
|
|
Records 1954-1967 |
| Box 25 |
|
|
Recruitment activities 1956 |
| Box 25 |
|
|
Regional associations 1957 |
| Box 25 |
|
|
Response to Thurman White letters 1966 Jun-Oct |
| Box 25 |
|
|
State associations 1957, 1964-1967
(3 folders)
|
| Box 25 |
|
|
State coordinators 1953-1967 |
| Box 25 |
|
|
Surveys 1953-1955 |
| Box 25 |
|
|
Urban associations 1967 |
| Box 26 |
|
National Commission on Adult Literacy 1952-1956, 1957-1961
(2 folders)
|
|
|
Project Task Force |
| Box 26 |
|
|
General 1965 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
Colorado 1962-1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
Georgia 1962-1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
Illinois 1962-1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
Indiana 1962-1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
Iowa 1962-1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
Kansas 1962-1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
Kentucky 1962-1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
Louisiana 1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
Michigan 1962-1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
Missouri 1962-1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
New England 1962-1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
New Jersey 1962-1963 |
| Box 26 |
|
|
New York 1962-1963 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
North Carolina 1962-1963 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
North Dakota 1962-1963 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Ohio 1962-1963 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Oklahoma 1962-1963 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Pennsylvania 1962-1964 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Region IV (Maryland, Delaware, Virginia, West Virginia, District of Columbia) 1963 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Utah 1963 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Washington 1963 |
|
|
Proposals |
| Box 27 |
|
|
AEA - ALA Adult Education Resource Center 1952-1953 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
AEA Purposes and Structure 1955-1963 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
AEA Research 1956 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
AEA Self Study 1955 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Adult Education Policies Commission 1956 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Adult Education Program Stimulation Through Local School Districts 1956 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Adult Education Trends Study 1959 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Citizen Education Project 1958 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Citizen Involvement and Policy Making in Adult Education 1956 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Clinics for Citizen Evaluation of Communication Media undated |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Cooperative Program of Nation-wide In-Service Training for Educators of Adults undated |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Council of National Organizations 1951 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Development and Improvement of Adult Education 1955 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Development of Closer Cooperative Relationships among Adult Educators of the British
Commonwealth and the U.S. 1958
|
| Box 27 |
|
|
Development of Professional Training for Adult Education 1952 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Education for Aging 1952-1956 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Financing Adult Education Study 1956 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Fundamental Education for Adults 1956 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Graduate Studies in Adult Education 1955-1965 |
| Box 27 |
|
|
Information Services 1954-1955 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
In-Service Training for Adult Educators 1955-1956 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Intern Project 1952-1953 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Local Coordination and Field Services 1953 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
National Fund for the Promotion of Life-Long Learning 1955 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Personnel Development and In-Service Training in National Organizations 1958 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Personnel Information Exchange 1955 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Planning Facilities for Adult Education 1953 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Projecting the Role of a National Organization in the Development of Adult Education
as an Integral Part of Our Nation's System of Education 1959?
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
Promotional Policy 1955 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Relationships of Adult Educators Study 1955 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Services to Public Schools 1956 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Social Trends Affecting Adult Education 1956 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Strengthening Adult Education Leadership in the 1960's 1961 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Study Groups on the Meaning of Adult Education in American Life 1951 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
World-Wide Adult Education Workshop and Field Study Project 1954 |
|
|
Publications |
|
|
|
Adult Leadership
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
|
Report of first year 1952 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
|
Study 1953 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
|
Project report 1954 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Adult Leadership 1962-1963
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
Editorial programs of Adult Leadership and Adult Education 1956
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
General adult education brochure undated |
| Box 28 |
|
|
"Illustrations That Stick" 1954 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Lists of articles, miscellaneous circa 1967 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Newsletters 1959-1960, 1967
(2 folders)
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
Policy, staff organization, and responsibilities 1955 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Press releases and clippings 1952-1966 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
Reprints from Adult Education and Adult Leadership 1952-1955
|
| Box 28 |
|
|
Staff News Bulletin 1955-1956 |
| Box 28 |
|
|
"The Tool Kit" 1952-1953 |
|
|
Reports |
| Box 29 |
|
|
Annual 1952, 1954, 1955, 1957, 1960, 1961
(6 folders)
|
| Box 29 |
|
|
Progress 1952-1953 |
|
|
Sections |
| Box 29 |
|
|
Armed Forces Education and Training 1967 |
| Box 29 |
|
|
Business and industry 1958-1961 |
|
|
|
Community Development Division |
| Box 29 |
|
|
|
National University Extension Association (NUEA) 1959-1967 |
| Box 29 |
|
|
|
National Training Laboratories 1961-1963 |
| Box 29 |
|
|
Continuing Education of Clergy 1967 |
| Box 29 |
|
|
Continuing Education for the Professions 1967 |
| Box 29 |
|
|
Continuing Education for Women 1967 |
| Box 29 |
|
|
Correctional Institutions 1967 |
|
|
|
Education for the Aging |
| Box 29 |
|
|
|
General 1954-1959 |
| Box 29 |
|
|
|
Inventory of projects and programs 1967
(2 folders)
|
| Box 29 |
|
|
|
Philadelphia Conference 1967 |
| Box 29 |
|
|
|
Report on the National Pilot Institute on Education for the Aging 1967 |
| Box 29 |
|
|
|
United States Department of Health, Education, and Welfare 1967 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Home and Family Life 1953-1967 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
International Affairs 1967 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Junior and Community Colleges 1967 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Labor Education 1967 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Liberal Adult Education 1967 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Mass Media in Education 1967 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
National Institute of Labor Education Urban Task Force 1961-1963 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Public Affairs 1967 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Religious Adult Education 1967 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Residential Adult Education 1967 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Training, Education and Industry 1967 |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Training and Professional Development Adult Education Consultants 1956 |
|
|
Study of AEA |
| Box 30 |
|
|
[General] 1953 Nov |
| Box 30 |
|
|
Four Year Assessment 1955 |
| Box 30, 31 |
|
|
[General] 1959
(2 folders)
|
| Box 31 |
|
Television Discussion Program undated |
| Box 31 |
|
Staff meeting minutes 1955-1956 |
|
|
Notebooks |
| Box 31 |
|
|
Operation Committee meeting minutes 1951 May-1953 Apr |
| Box 31 |
|
|
Council of National Organizations News for Adult Education 1952-1962 |
| Box 31 |
|
|
Publications Committee meeting minutes 1952-1953
(4 folders)
|
|
|
|
|
1952 Sep 20
1953 Mar 20
1953 Apr 10-11
1953 Nov 21-23
|
| Box 31 |
|
|
Adult Education Association memoranda 1952, 1953
(2 folders)
|
| Box 31 |
|
|
Publication Committee meeting minutes 1954
(4 folders)
|
|
|
|
|
Feb 13-14, Apr 24-25, Sep 16-17, Nov 9 |
| Box 31 |
|
|
Executive Committee meeting 1954 Apr 2-4 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Executive Committee meeting workbook 1954 Sep 9-11 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Adult Education Association Conference on Adult Education 1954 Nov 7-9 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Publication Department, current operating policies 1955-1959 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Public relations material 1955, undated
(2 folders)
|
| Box 32 |
|
|
Publication Committee meeting minutes 1955
(4 folders)
|
|
|
|
|
Jan 8-9, May 8-9, Oct 15-16, Nov 13 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Executive Committee meeting workbook 1955 Feb 19-21 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Publications Department, current operating policies Adult Leadership 1955 Apr-Dec
|
| Box 32 |
|
|
Executive Committee meeting workbook 1955
(2 folders)
|
|
|
|
|
May 13-15, Sep 9-11 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Where Has the AEA Been and Where Should It Go: A Four Year Assessment 1955 Nov 1 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Executive Committee meeting workbook 1955 Nov 15-17 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
C.N.O., Public Relations Committee 1956-1962 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
An Assessment of the AEA's First Five Years and a Program for the Next Five, Spring 1956 |
|
|
|
Executive Committee meetings |
| Box 32 |
|
|
|
Workbook A 1956 Mar 8-11 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
|
Workbook B 1956 Mar 8-11 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Publications Committee meeting minutes 1956 May 17-18 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
An Analysis of AEA's Administration 1956 Jul 12 |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Project Proposal: Major Social Trends Affecting Adult Education 1956 Oct |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Roster of Adult Education Councils and Associations 1956 Nov |
| Box 32 |
|
|
Adult Education Policies Commission proposal 1956 Nov 1
- appendices 1-5
(2 folders)
|
| Box 33 |
|
|
Report of the Consultative Meeting on Direction Finding 1957 Aug 3-4 |
| Box 33 |
|
|
Publications Committee meeting minutes 1957 Nov 13 |
|
|
|
Council of National Organizations |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Population Study Proposal 1959 Mar-Apr |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Project Development Committee 1960-1962 |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Volunteer Staff Relations Committee 1960-1961 |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Steering Committee 1961 Oct 11 |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Television and Radio Committee 1962 Mar-May |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Young Adult Committee 1962 Mar 27 |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Planning Committee Meeting 1962 Mar 28 |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Reorganization Committee 1962 May 4 |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Proposal to the Fund for Adult Education from the AEA undated
- preliminary draft
|
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Publication Department current operating policies, department files undated |
| Box 33 |
|
AEA Publication Notes undated |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
[Part I] Writings |
|
|
Articles |
| Box 33 |
|
|
Burr, Elbert W., "Values of AEA Membership" 1958 Apr |
| Box 33 |
|
|
Knowles, Malcolm S., "The Group Process in Adult Education" undated |
| Box 33 |
|
|
Luke, Robert A., "The Cost of Adult Under-Education" 1956 Oct |
| Box 33 |
|
|
Luke, Robert A., "The Purposes of the AEA as They Relate to the Populations It May
Serve," 1957
|
| Box 33 |
|
|
Stevenson, Grace T., "AEA's Responsibilities in a World of Change" 1958 Jan |
| Box 33 |
|
|
Stevenson, Grace T., "Origins of the Community Adult Education Council Idea," undated |
| Box 33 |
|
Book reviews ca. 1958 |
|
|
Copy |
|
|
|
Adult Education
|
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1958, Apr-Nov
(2 folders)
|
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1958, Sep - 1959, Jan |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1959 |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Advertising Copy 1959 |
| Box 33 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1959 Mar-Aug |
|
|
|
Adult Leadership
|
| Box 34 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1955, Fall |
| Box 34 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1956, Fall |
| Box 34 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1957, Fall |
| Box 34 |
|
|
|
Future issues 1958 |
| Box 34 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1957, Mar-Dec
(2 folders)
|
| Box 34 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1958, Spring, Winter
(2 folders)
|
| Box 34 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1959-1960 |
| Box 34 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1959, 1963 |
| Box 34 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1959, Jan-Sep
(4 folders)
|
| Box 35 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1959, Oct-Dec
(2 folders)
|
| Box 35 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1962, Fall |
| Box 35 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1964, Mar-Dec |
| Box 35 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1965
(2 folders)
|
| Box 35 |
|
|
|
Miscellaneous 1966
(2 folders)
|
|
|
Speeches |
| Box 35 |
|
|
Arnold, Mrs. Dexter Otis "Assignment for the Sixties: To Strengthen the Arm of Liberty" 1962 Jul 5 |
| Box 35 |
|
|
Blakely, Robert J. "Adult Education Needs a Philosophy and a Goal" 1952 Oct |
| Box 35 |
|
|
Dale, Edgar, "Something to Grow On" 1958 Nov 18 |
| Box 35 |
|
|
Darley, Dr. Ward "The Implications of Population Trends to Health" 1956 |
| Box 35 |
|
|
Durrie, Paul H. Address at National Conference 1952 |
| Box 35 |
|
|
Fletcher, C. Scott "The Free University or Liberal Arts College: Its Role in Education
for Freedom and Responsibility" 1961 Feb 20
|
| Box 35 |
|
|
Hanna, John A. Address at National Conference 1952 |
| Box 35 |
|
|
Holden, John B. "Wanted! More Community Representatives" 1954 Dec 1 |
| Box 35 |
|
|
Houle, Cyril O. "Developing Goals for Public School Adult Education" 1959 Nov 4 |
| Box 35 |
|
|
Jensen, Glenn Ideas for Presidential Address 1963 |
| Box 35 |
|
|
McMurrin, Sterling M. Statement Before the Sub-Committee on Education, Committee on
Labor and Public Welfare, U.S. Senate 1962 July 27
|
| Box 35 |
|
|
Weaver, John C. "The Facts and Philosophy of Graduate Extension Education," 1958 Nov 10 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
[Part II] |
|
|
Activities |
| Box 36 |
|
|
Adult Basic Education Regional Conferences Project 1965-1966 |
| Box 36 |
|
|
Adult Basic Education Survey Project 1970-1971
(21 folders)
|
| Box 36 |
|
|
American Indian Development 1950s
(23 folders)
|
| Box 37, 38 |
|
|
Latin America Adult Education Survey 1965
(66 folders)
|
| Box 38 |
|
|
National Adult and Continuing Education Week 1985-1986, 1988
(21 folders)
|
|
|
Affiliations |
| Box 38 |
|
|
Ad Hoc National Advisory Organizations - Advisory Committee on Consumer Interests |
| Box 38 |
|
|
Adult Education Association of Greater Washington, D.C. |
| Box 39 |
|
|
Adult Education Association of Greater Washington, D.C.
(5 folders)
|
| Box 39 |
|
|
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations 1974-1975 |
| Box 39 |
|
Annual Reports 1951-1982
(29 folders)
|
| Box 39 |
|
Board of Directors 1983-1988
(9 folders)
|
| Box 39 |
|
Budgets 1958-1963
(6 folders)
|
|
|
Commissions |
| Box 39 |
|
|
Adult Basic Education 1966-1972
(2 folders)
|
| Box 40 |
|
|
Adult Basic Education 1973-1974, 1983-1986
(2 folders)
|
| Box 40 |
|
|
Minority Groups 1974 |
| Box 40 |
|
|
National Commission for Adult Literacy 1956-1967 |
| Box 40 |
|
|
Planning Adult Learning Systems, Facilities and Environments 1968-1974
(4 folders)
|
| Box 40 |
|
|
Professors of Adult Education 1964-1970, 1983-1984
(3 folders)
|
| Box 40 |
|
|
Research 1964, 1973, 1983
(2 folders)
|
| Box 40 |
|
|
Status of Women 1972-1973 |
|
|
Committees |
| Box 40 |
|
|
Action Now 1969-1972
(2 folders)
|
| Box 40 |
|
|
American Family 1973-1974 |
| Box 40 |
|
|
Constitutional Revision 1970 |
| Box 40 |
|
|
Consumer Education 1969-1974 |
| Box 40 |
|
|
Continuing Education Development Project 1973 |
| Box 40 |
|
|
Development 1977-1983 |
| Box 40 |
|
|
Executive 1951-1964
(14 folders)
|
| Box 41 |
|
|
Executive 1965-1982
(23 folders)
|
| Box 41 |
|
|
Five Year Goals 1979 |
| Box 41 |
|
|
Future Conferences 1971, 1973-1974
(2 folders)
|
| Box 41 |
|
|
Human Rights and Social justice 1983-1987 |
| Box 41 |
|
|
Legislative Policies 1966-1968
(2 folders)
|
| Box 42 |
|
|
Legislative Policies 1969-1971, 1973-1974
(7 folders)
|
| Box 42 |
|
|
Long Range Financing 1973-1974 |
| Box 42 |
|
|
Mainline 1969-1970 |
| Box 42 |
|
|
Membership 1965-1968, 1970-1974
(5 folders)
|
| Box 42 |
|
|
Nominations and Elections 1967, 1970-1974
(6 folders)
|
| Box 42 |
|
|
Nontraditional Study 1973-1974 |
| Box 42 |
|
|
Organization Restructuring 1980 |
| Box 42 |
|
|
Organizational Renewal 1973-1974 |
| Box 42 |
|
|
Personnel Policies undated |
| Box 42 |
|
|
Public Information 1974 |
| Box 42 |
|
|
Publications 1966-1968, 1970, 1973-1974
(4 folders)
|
| Box 42 |
|
|
Resolutions 1970-1974
(2 folders)
|
| Box 42 |
|
|
Steering 1953, 1955-1957, 1961, 1963-1964
(7 folders)
|
| Box 43 |
|
|
Steering 1965-1982
(19 folders)
|
|
|
Conferences |
| Box 43 |
|
|
Annual 1958, 1963-1966
(22 folders)
|
| Box 44 |
|
|
Annual 1965-1968, 1973-1975, 1978, 1984, 1986-1987
(17 folders)
|
| Box 44 |
|
|
Conference rosters |
| Box 44, 45 |
|
|
Galaxy Conference 1969
(8 folders)
|
| Box 45 |
|
|
Health Services and Community Organization 1965 |
| Box 45 |
|
|
Leadership and Legislative Seminar 1987-1988
(2 folders)
|
| Box 45 |
|
|
Legislative Seminar 1973 |
| Box 45 |
|
|
Legislative Workshop 1974 |
| Box 45 |
|
|
Metroplex Assembly 1963-1964 |
| Box 45 |
|
|
National Adult Education Conference 1980-1982, 1986
(4 folders)
|
| Box 45 |
|
Constitutions and bylaws |
|
|
Councils |
| Box 45 |
|
|
Affiliate organizations 1973-1974 |
| Box 45 |
|
|
National organizations for adult education 1973 |
| Box 45 |
|
|
State associations 1963-1969 |
| Box 45 |
|
Delegate Assembly 1951-1977
(28 folders)
|
| Box 46 |
|
Delegate Assembly 1978-1982
(5 folders)
|
| Box 46 |
|
Directories 1965, 1981, 1986
(3 folders)
|
| Box 46 |
|
Leadership rosters 1979-1988 |
|
|
Manuals |
| Box 46 |
|
|
AAACE Development, Proposal, and Consultation 1983 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Development 1979 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Fiscal Policies 1980 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Membership Tips 1981 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Orientation Manual for Leaders undated |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Policies and Procedures 1972 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Policy and Procedures, proposed 1979-1982 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Policy and Procedures 1984-1985, 1988
(2 folders)
|
| Box 46 |
|
Mission statement 1986 |
|
|
Publications |
| Box 46 |
|
|
AEA Reporter 1978-1980 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Federal Support for Adult Education: A Directory 1966 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Handbook of Adult Education 1970
(2 folders)
|
| Box 46 |
|
|
Lifelong Learning 1980-1983
(4 folders)
|
| Box 46 |
|
|
Priorities in Adult Education 1969-1972 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Publications Department Binder |
|
|
Sections |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Adult Psychology undated |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Adult Religious Education 1969-1973 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Armed Forces Education 1973-1974 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Community College 1974 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Community Development 1973-1974 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Continuing Education for the Professions 1973-1974 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Continuing Education for Women 1973-1974 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Correctional Institutions 1974 |
| Box 46 |
|
|
Education for Aging 1973-1976
(3 folders)
|
| Box 47 |
|
|
Education for Aging 1970, 1972-1979
(20 folders)
|
| Box 47 |
|
|
Graduate Students 1970-1974, 1982-1987
(2 folders)
|
| Box 47 |
|
|
Home and Family Life Education 1970-1974 |
| Box 47 |
|
|
International Affairs 1970-1974 |
| Box 47 |
|
|
Labor Education 1970-1973 |
| Box 47 |
|
|
Liberal Adult Education 1970-1973 |
| Box 47 |
|
|
Mass Media in Adult Education 1968-1974 |
| Box 47 |
|
|
Residential 1966-1970 |
| Box 47 |
|
|
Training and Professional Development 1969-1974 |
|
|
Smith, Wendell files |
| Box 48 |
|
|
Adult Education Foundation 1981 |
| Box 48 |
|
|
Annual reports 1981-1982
(2 folders)
|
| Box 48 |
|
|
Articles 1980-1981
(2 folders)
|
| Box 48 |
|
|
Awards 1981-1982 |
| Box 48 |
|
|
Board of Directors 1983
(2 folders)
|
| Box 48 |
|
|
Budgets 1979-1982 |
| Box 48 |
|
|
Commissions, Committees and Sections 1978-1983
(21 folders)
|
| Box 49 |
|
|
Commissions, Committees and Sections 1978-1982
(3 folders)
|
| Box 49 |
|
|
Conferences 1973, 1976-1981
(31 folders)
|
| Box 50 |
|
|
Conferences 1980-1982
(40 folders)
|
| Box 51 |
|
|
Conferences 1982-1984
(16 folders)
|
| Box 51 |
|
|
Consolidation and Merger 1981-1982
(21 folders)
|
| Box 51 |
|
|
Delegate Assembly 1976-1979
(4 folders)
|
| Box 51 |
|
|
Directory 1981 |
| Box 51 |
|
|
Dues 1980 |
| Box 51 |
|
|
Elections 1980-1983
(5 folders)
|
| Box 51 |
|
|
Executive Director search and national office staffing 1980-1982 |
| Box 51 |
|
|
Fiscal policies 1981 |
| Box 51 |
|
|
Ideas 1981, 1983 |
| Box 51 |
|
|
Ideological Program Units 1982 |
| Box 51 |
|
|
Insurance 1981 |
| Box 51 |
|
|
International Council for Adult Education 1979-1982
(2 folders)
|
| Box 51 |
|
|
Leadership Interest Inventory 1980-1981 |
| Box 51 |
|
|
Leadership rosters 1977-1981 |
| Box 51, 52 |
|
|
Lifelong Learning Leaders Retreat 1982
(23 folders)
|
| Box 52 |
|
|
Luke, Robert 1981 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Membership 1976-1983 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Membership recruitment 1981-1982 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education (NAPCAE) 1981 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Policies and Procedures Manual 1972 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Projects 1973, 1978-1980
(2 folders)
|
| Box 52 |
|
|
Proposals 1980-1981 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Publications 1976-1983
(6 folders)
|
| Box 52 |
|
|
Ridlehuber, Tom 1982 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Task Force on Cooperation 1980-1981 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Washington meeting 1981 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Whaples, Gene 1982-1983 |
|
|
Subject correspondence |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Aker, George 1970-1972 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Arizona State University Conference 1968 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Arlington County Adult Education Advisory Committee 1967-1968 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Association of Hospital and Institution Libraries 1966-1967 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Benjamin Franklin Living Memorial 1966-1967 |
| Box 52 |
|
|
Business correspondence 1966-1972
(3 folders)
|
| Box 53 |
|
|
Business correspondence 1974
(3 folders)
|
| Box 53 |
|
|
Clearinghouse on Adult Education 1986 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
COMPACT: Education Study of the American States 1964-1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Conference on TV and World Affairs 1968 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Conservation Foundation 1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Correspondence schools 1968 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Council for Adult and Experiential Learning (CAEL) 1986 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
ERIC Clearinghouse / Roger DeCrow 1967-1969 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Evening Student Personnel Association 1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Foreign Policy Association 1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Higher adult education surveys 1968 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Higher education general information survey 1967-1969 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Hospital libraries 1964-1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Johnson, Eugene 1962-1963 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Johnson, Lyndon 1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Kellogg Grant 1982 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Kettering Foundation 1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Klein, Philip 1970-1971 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Koinonia Foundation 1967-1968 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Literacy Position Paper 1987 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Literacy Summit 1987 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Luke, Robert A. 1981-1982 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Martin Luther King Foundation 1968 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Mary Holmes Community College 1968 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Migrant Workers in the State of Washington 1966-1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Military / GED 1987 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Mind, Inc. 1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Mott Foundation 1986-1987 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
National Association of Trade and Technical Schools 1967-1968 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
NAPSAE / ABE Clearinghouse 1967-1969 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
National Governors' Association Task Force on Adult Literacy 1986-1987 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
National Research Conference on Smoking Behavior 1966 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
National Rural and Small Schools Consortium 1986 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
National Science Foundation Proposal 1966 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
New Institutional Forms for Adult Education / Roy Ingham 1966 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
New Jersey Adult Leadership Institute 1968 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Office of Economic Opportunity Proposal 1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Pacific Northwest Council on Theological Education undated |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Pagano, Jules / Congratulatory Letters 1969-1970 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Proposal for World Conference of Directors of Adult Associations in Hawaii 1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Sackett, Duane H. 1971 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Satellite television 1966-1967 |
| Box 53 |
|
|
Sork, Thomas J. 1978-1979
(2 folders)
|
| Box 53 |
|
|
Symposium on Communities of Tomorrow (USDA) 1967 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Technical Advisory Committee on Adult Literacy 1966-1967 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Tidewater Regional Conference 1967-1968 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Town and Country Alliance 1968 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Town Meeting Conference 1967 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Washington Newsletter 1966-1969 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
World Peace Foundation 1967-1968 |
|
|
Task forces |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Innovation in Public Affairs Education 1967-1968
(2 folders)
|
|
|
Units and divisions |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Adult Competency Education 1982-1984 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Adult Learners with Disabilities 1983-1984 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Aging 1994 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Armed Services 1986 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Business and Industry 1983-1984 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Colleges and Universities 1984 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Community-Based Education 1983-1984 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Continuing Education for the Professions 1982-1986 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Cooperative Extension Service 1983-1985 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Correctional Institutions 1986-1987 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Human Resource Development Practitioners 1984 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
International Adult Education 1984-1986 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Library Services 1985 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Life Skills Programs and Curricula 1984-1985 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
National Council of Administrators of Adult Education 1983-1984 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Professional Development 1982-1983 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Religious Adult Education 1983-1984 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Special Populations and Issues 1983 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Theory, research and Evaluation 1982-1984 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Volunteers and Volunteerism 1983-1985 |
| Box 54 |
|
|
Women's Issues, Status and Education 1982-1985 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
[Part III] Historical files |
|
|
AAACE, 1982-1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
NEA-R Notebook |
| Box 55 |
|
|
National Awards Breakfast for the 1989 Outstanding Adult Learner |
| Box 55 |
|
|
NAEC Progress Report 1983 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
NAEC 1983-1984
(2 folders)
|
| Box 55 |
|
|
Budget/Financial Statements 1985-1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
National Adult Continuing Education Week 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Commemorative posters for AAACE undated |
| Box 55 |
|
|
AAACE Annual Report 1983-1984 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Congressional Report 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
AAACE Bylaws undated |
| Box 55 |
|
|
AETNA Institute for Corporate Educaiton 1980 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Adult Literacy Research Conference 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Adult Literacy Initiative 1985 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Financial review 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Strategic planning 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
COABE 1987 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Samset, Sidney, Bankers Life Insurance 1984-1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
AAACE Plan of Consolidation 1982 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Airlie House Conference 1981-1983 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Collaboration and Cooperation in Lifelong Learning 11/4/84 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Educational Funding Committee 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Education and Training for American Competitiveness Act 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
English Language Proficiency Survey 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Elections AAACE 1984-1985 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Ellison, Art 1986
- testimony
|
| Box 55 |
|
|
Legal status of NEA/USA undated |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Executive Director search 1984 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Thinking Back - Looking Forward by Robert A. Luke 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Status of Continuing Education for Selected Professions 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Statistics 1985 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Rural Education 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Readership Survey 1985 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) 1985 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Mawby speech, Wisconsin 11/85 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
ICAE: A Survey of Member Organizations 1984 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
FYI 1985, 1986
(3 folders)
|
| Box 55 |
|
|
AAACE Conference 1986 |
| Box 55 |
|
|
Literacy Management Information |
|
|
AEA |
| Box 56 |
|
|
Adult Leadership 1952-1957, 1960-1961, 1975-1977, 1978-1979
(4 folders)
|
| Box 56 |
|
|
Lifelong Learninq 1973-1979
|
| Box 56 |
|
|
Adult Education Materials 1952-1965, undated
(2 folders)
|
| Box 56 |
|
|
NEA Conference 1981 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA/NAPSAE Plan of Consolidation Adult Education Materials 1979-1981 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
Sears Proposal 1980-1981 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
Sears Final Report 1980-1981 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA Directory 1965 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
Old Annual Reports 1952-1981 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
Annual Report 1974-1975 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
Annual Report 1979 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
Steering Committee Meeting, St. Louis, Missouri 1980 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
Proposal [for] Development and Funding AEA/USA Adult and Continuing Education Learning
Center 1978
|
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA Endowment Fund 1960-1962, 1982 |
|
|
|
AEA History: Recruitment Letter 1965-1967, undated |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA Research Proposal 1970
- history
|
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA History: Joint Membership 1965 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA Union 1975
- history
|
| Box 56 |
|
|
Adult Basic Education Study, AEA History 1965-1966 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA History: AEA Clearinghouse on Adult Education in Latin America |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA History: Conference of Adult Education Association 1964 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
Conference of Adult Education Associations: Model of Information Retrieval System 1964 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA Constitution 1977 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA Building Fund 1978 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA History: Legislation 1966 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA History: Annual Report 1955 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA History: Organizational Services Contract with U.S. Office of Education 1965 |
| Box 56 |
|
|
AEA History: Proposal to National Endowment for the Arts 1970, 1973 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
[Part III] Office files |
|
|
AAACE 1983-1987 |
| Box 57 |
|
|
Annual Reports Apr 1983 |
| Box 57 |
|
|
Board of Directors 1982: Nov |
| Box 57 |
|
|
Board of Directors 1984: Feb, Apr, Nov
(3 folders)
|
| Box 57 |
|
|
Board of Directors 1985: Nov
(2 folders)
|
| Box 57 |
|
|
Board of Directors 1987: Apr, Oct
(2 folders)
|
| Box 57 |
|
|
Executive Committee 1983: Feb, Nov/Dec
(2 folders)
|
| Box 57 |
|
|
Executive Committee 1984: Feb, Apr, Jul, Nov
(5 folders)
|
| Box 57 |
|
|
Executive Committee 1985: Aug |
| Box 57 |
|
|
Executive Committee 1986: Feb, Apr, Jul, Oct
(7 folders)
|
| Box 58 |
|
|
Executive Committee 1987: Feb, Jul
(2 folders)
|
| Box 58 |
|
|
Conferences 1983: Apr, Nov
- includes Executive Director's Notebook
(3 folders)
|
| Box 58 |
|
|
Conferences 1987: Oct
- program
|
| Box 58 |
|
|
Division reports Oct. 1987 |
|
|
AEA 1958-1982 |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Legislative Report 1961-1964
(9 folders)
|
| Box 58 |
|
|
Facts and Fiqures 1963
(3 folders)
|
| Box 58 |
|
|
Public Information Project |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Publications Readership Survey |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Education About Education
(2 folders)
|
| Box 58 |
|
|
Selected references on adult education, Division of Adult Education |
| Box 58 |
|
|
NAEC News 1968
(3 folders)
|
| Box 58 |
|
|
NAEC Clearinghouse brochures |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Legislative summary 1961 |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Holiday message 1958 |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Christmas dreetings 1963 |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Literacy packet 1962 |
| Box 58 |
|
|
NAPSAE-AEA European tour 1965 |
| Box 58 |
|
|
NAPSAE European Tour brochures |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Pipe Lines letters |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Automotive Safety Foundation Questionnaire, Adult Writing Classes |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Adult Elementary Education, Research Project (Wanda M. Wilcox) 1963 |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Guidance Services Survey (Mrs. Bernice Hamberg) 1964 |
| Box 58 |
|
|
State associations |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Letters to congressmen and senators |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Adult Basic Education Act 1962 |
| Box 58 |
|
|
Miscellaneous mailings |
| Box 58 |
|
|
NAPSAE posters 1959-1963, undated
(6 folders)
|
| Box 58 |
|
|
NAPSAE promotion packet 1961, undated
(4 folders)
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
Idea file 1959-1964
(43 folders)
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
Public School Adult Education 1957-1960
(16 folders)
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
Aids 1954-1955
(4 folders)
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
Helps 1953-1955
(5 folders)
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
Aids, helps 1955-1957
(10 folders)
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
Napsack, President's Newsletter
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
News sheet 1958-1960
(11 folders)
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
News From NAPSAE 1958
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
Legislative Flash! 1966-1967
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
Legislative Report 1967
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
Adult Education Legislation
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
[Part III] Publications |
|
|
AAACE monographs |
| Box 59 |
|
|
Membership directories 1984-1988 |
| Box 59 |
|
|
AAACE Adult Education Series 1988
(4 items)
|
| Box 59 |
|
|
Miscellaneous monographs 1983-1991
(11 items)
|
| Box 60 |
|
|
Miscellaneous monographs 1983-1991
(2 items)
|
|
|
AAACE periodicals |
| Box 60 |
|
|
AAACE Newsletter 1983-1987
|
| Box 60 |
|
|
Adult Basic Education 1991
|
| Box 60 |
|
|
Adult Education 1961-1967, 1981-1983
|
| Box 60 |
|
|
Adult Education Quarterly 1983-1991
|
| Box 60 |
|
|
Adult Learning (supersedes Lifelong Learning) 1989-1991
|
| Box 60 |
|
|
Adult Literacy & Basic Education 1979, 1989
|
| Box 60 |
|
|
Lifelong Learning (superseded by Adult Learning) 1977-1989
|
| Box 61 |
|
|
Online 1987-1992
|
|
|
AEA monographs |
| Box 61 |
|
|
AEA Professional Development Series 1981
(3 items)
|
| Box 61 |
|
|
AEA Handbook Series in Adult Education 1980-1981
(10 items)
|
| Box 61 |
|
|
Leadership Pamphlets undated |
| Box 61 |
|
|
Adult Education: Theory and Method 1962, 1965, undated
(4 items)
|
| Box 62 |
|
|
Current Information Series 1970-1971
(3 items)
|
| Box 62 |
|
|
Membership Directory 1981 |
| Box 62 |
|
|
Annual Reports 1979, 1980 |
| Box 62 |
|
|
Miscellaneous monographs 1956-1985, undated
(18 items)
|
|
|
AEA periodicals |
| Box 62 |
|
|
Adult Education Dissertation Abstracts 1935-1962, 1963-1967
|
| Box 62 |
|
|
The Leader's Digest 1953-1955
|
|
|
NAPSAE monographs |
| Box 62 |
|
|
Miscellaneous 1952-1981, undated |
|
|
NAPSAE periodicals |
| Box 62 |
|
|
Administrators Swap Shop 1973-1974
|
| Box 62 |
|
|
NAPSAE Exchange 1981
|
| Box 62 |
|
|
Techniques 1973-1981
|