Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Forrest J Ackerman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Dec 1967

Biographical History

"I regard myself as a sci-fi sponge that should be squeezed
for information and anecdotes as long as I'm here. So while I'm still around,
squeeze me."
-- Forrest J Ackerman

[The Special Collections Research Center extends its gratitude to John Coker of First Fandom for his assistance in ensuring the accuracy of this biographical sketch.]

Forrest J Ackerman (1916-2008) (no period after the middle initial) was an American magazine editor; science fiction author, anthologist, editor, and agent; an avid collector of science fiction and "monster movie" memorabilia; and a widely recognized expert on on science fiction, horror, and fantasy films. His efforts across a broad spectrum of the arts not only encouraged the organization and spread of science fiction and its fans, but also did much to foster the acceptance of science fiction as a respectable literary, art and film genre. He truly earned and lived up to the sobriquet "Mr. Science Fiction," bestowed on him in by Willy Ley in 1949.

Born in Los Angeles, California, Ackerman saw his first fantasy film in 1922 at age five and from that moment on his life and work was built around science fiction as fan, author, agent, publisher, editor and collector. In 1928 he created The Boys' Scientifiction Club and published his first fan letter in a professional magazine, and in 1934 he became a charter member of Hugo Gernsback's Science Fiction League. That same year, Los Angeles fans organized Chapter Four of the Science Fiction League; five years later they reorganized and became the Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society (LASFS) which still thrives today. As early as 1933 Ackerman was maintaining an active correspondence with more than one hundred fellow enthusiasts, and it is estimated that during his lifetime he corresponded with tens of thousands of people.

In 1939 Ackerman attended the First World Science Fiction Convention. He and his then-girlfriend Myrtle R. (Rebecca) Douglas, known as Morojo, attended as "visitors from the future," wearing "futuristicostumes" which Morojo had designed and made, inaugurating a tradition of fan costuming that continues to this day at science fiction conventions around the world. Ackerman missed only two WorldCons in the ensuing 70 years. In 1941 Ackerman helped found that National Fantasy Fan Federation (NFFF or NF3).

Ackerman's writing began almost as early as his fan activities -- in 1929, when he won a contest at the San Francisco Chronicle with his original story of a trip to Mars. Fifty of his stories were eventually published, including collaborations with A. E. van Vogt, Francis Flagg, Robert A.W. Lowndes, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Donald A. Wolheim and C.L. Moore, and his stories have been translated into six languages. He named and wrote the origin story for the title character of the Vampirella comic book series. In addition, he has ten non-fiction books (most on science fiction movies) and thirteen anthologies to his credit. His known pseudonyms include S.F. Balboa, Nick Beal, Walter Chinwell, J. Forrester Eckman, Jacques De Forest Erman, Laurajean Ermayne, Jone Lee Heard, Alus Kerlay, Alden Lorraine, Jack Parish, Spencer Strong, Fisher Trentworth, Allis Villette, Hubert George Wills, Weaver Wright, and Dr. Acula.

In addition to his own writing, Ackerman inspired or assisted many other future luminaries of the genre, including Ray Bradbury (whose first story was published by Ackerman), Ray Harryhausen, Charles Beaumont, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Stephen King (whose first story submission was to Ackerman's Spacemen magazine) and L. Ron Hubbard. He represented some 200 science fiction and fantasy authors, including Hugo Gernsback, L. Ron Hubbard, Andre Norton, A.E. van Vogt, and Jack Williamson, and was Ed Wood's "illiterary" agent. Ackerman is credited with having coined the term "sci-fi" in 1955.

Ackerman edited, published, or otherwise assisted a number of science fiction magazines over the years, creating and inspiring a legion of fans. In 1932, at the age of sixteen he became associate editor of The Time Traveller, the first-ever printed fanzine, and the next year became film editor of Science Fiction Digest. In 1939 he started his own fanzine, Voice of the Imagination, which ran for fifty issues, and later edited Famous Monsters of Filmland (1958-1983), Monster World (1961-1964), and Spacemen (1961-1964). He provided publishing assistance to The Daughters of Bilitis in the group's early days (that, and his several lesbian novels written under the name "Laurajean Ermayne," earned him the title of "honorary lesbian").

His love of the genre was not limited by national borders, as evidenced by his active contributions to film magazines from around the world, including the Argentinian La Cosa - Cine Fantástico, where he had a monthly column for over four years. In 1960, he introduced American readers to the longest science fiction series in history when he organized Ace Books' publication of an English translation of the German science fiction series Perry Rhodan.

Over the years Ackerman amassed a comprehensive collection of science fiction, fantasy and horror film material amounting to some 300,000 items: books (including 500 editions of Frankenstein and Dracula), magazines, videos, photographs, clippings, manuscripts, autographs, toys, and movie memorabilia, including the head of The Creature from the Black Lagoon and a Martian death-ray machine from War of the Worlds. Until 2002 the collection resided in the 18-room "Ackermansion" in the Los Feliz district of Los Angeles; he later donated a number of items to the Seattle Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame, of which he was a board member. Among his friends were icons of the genre including Fritz Lang, George Pal, Bela Lugosi, Vincent Price, and Boris Karloff, and he made cameo appearances in more than fifty films.

Recognitions presented to him include a special Hugo Award for "#1 Fan Personality" (1953), two Ann Radcliffe (Gothic) Awards (1963 and 1966), Trixie Award (1972), the first Grimmy Award (1990), Bram Stoker Lifetime Achievement Award (1997), and numerous appearances as Guest of Honor at festivals and conventions around the world.

In 1951 Ackerman married Mathilde "Tillie" Wahrmann, whom he called Wendayne (after Peter Pan's Wendy). Wendayne became a fan herself, welcoming visitors from all over the world and co-hosting the weekly Ackermansion Open House for many years. A native German speaker, she was instrumental in bringing the Perry Rhodan series to English-speaking audiences, translating numerous volumes.

In recent years, public allegations made online have described Ackerman's behavior toward women as predatory and at least one online account describes Ackerman engaging in an act of sexual assault. While SCRC is not aware of descriptions or evidence of sexual assault in the collection, several pieces of correspondence do allude to Ackerman sending sexually explicit communications to women, which are characterized as unsolicited and lacking consent.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Forrest J Ackerman Papers consists of biographical material, Ackerman Agency records, correspondence, Famous Monsters files, fanzines, financial material, legal material, memorabilia, Perry Rhodan files, photographs, printed material, recordings of varous types, and writings by Ackerman, his wife Wendayne, and others. The collection can best be described as "sprawling," and the researcher is advised to review the entire finding aid to ensure locating all relevant material.

Biographical material contains FJA's early school records, extensive corespondence with his mother Carrol Cridland Ackerman and other family members, and miscellaneous items relating to the Wyman family, his maternal grandparents.

The Ackerman Agency series contains material related to the operation of the agency side of FJA's business in general, such as advertisements, publicity, and unidentified clients. (Material relating to specific clients is filed under the client's name in Correspondence, below.) The bulk of this series consists of requests for representation, primarily from authors but also a few artists.

Correspondence spans more than 70 years and covers every aspect of Ackerman's life as agent, author, editor, anthologist, and fan. Included here are publishers, organizations, authors, editors, actors, artists, filmmakers, directors, and friends from around the world.

Publishers and agents/agencies with significant material include Ace (publishers of the Perry Rhodan books), Bantam, Ballantine, Berkley, E.J. Carnell, Clark Publishing, Luigi Cozzi, Judy-Lynn and Lester del Rey, Dell, Doubleday, Galaxy, Georges Gallet, Greenleaf, Herbert Haussler, Leo and Cylvia Margulies, Moewig-Verlag, and others.

Notable individuals represented in the collection include John Aiken, Brian Aldiss, Kenneth Anger, Michael Aquino, Isaac Asimov, Charles Beaumont, Eric Temple Bell, Jerome Bixby, Robert Bloch and his wife Elly, Ray Bradbury, Leigh Brackett, Marion Zimmer Bradley, John W. Campbell, John Carpenter, Stanton Coblentz, Ray and Gabrielle Cummings, Paul Davids, L. Sprague de Camp, August Derleth, Morris Scott Dollens, Shel Dorf, Harlan Ellison, Walter Ernsting, E. Everett Evans, Edythe Eyde (Tigrina/Lisa Ben), Ralph Milne Farley, Philip Jose Farmer, Virgin Finlay, Hugo Gernsback and his wife Mary, Horace Gold, Don Glut, Theodore Gottlieb ("Brother Theodore"), James Gunn, Ray Harryhausen, L. Ron Hubbard, Boris Karloff and his daughter Sara Cotton, David and Ruth Kyle, Fritz Lang and his wife Lily Latte, Christopher Lee, Amelia Reynolds Long, Bela Lugosi, Mia May and her husband Joe, Ib Melchior, Leslyn Mocabee, Kris and Lil Neville, Andre Norton, Charles Nuetzel, George Pal, Ray Palmer ("RAP"), Frank Paul, Frederik Pohl, Conrad H. Ruppert, A.E. van Vogt, Jim Warren, Manly Wade Wellman, and Jack Williamson.

There are also many important names going back to the early days of fandom, including Abby Lu Ashley, Charles D. Hornig, Harry Bates, Charles Burbee, Walt (Walter J.) Daugherty and his wife Mary Ellen Rabogliatti, Walt Dunkelberger, Gary "JiJon" Edwards, Peggy and Helen Finn, First Fandom, Paddy Grattan, Myrtle R. (Rebecca) Douglas ("Morojo"), Patti Gray ("Pogo"), Francis Laney, Brad Linaweaver, A.H. Mellor (Albert Hischmellor), Linus Hogenmiller, Bob (Robert A.) Madle, Sam Moskowitz, Terri and Tom Pinckard, Don Reed, Phil Riley, Milt (Milton A.) Rothman, Trina Petit, Tetsu Yano, and many more.

Note: The miscellaneous material filed at the end of each letter (for example, 'B, misc') may contain items some researchers may find offensive, such as catalogs featuring sexually explicit videos. These are retained in order to provide a complete picture of Ackerman's correspondence.

Groups and organizations of note include the Academy of Science Fiction Fantasy and Horror Films, American International Pictures, the Boys Scientifiction Club, Church of Scientology, the Count Dracula Society, F & SF Book Co., Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society (LASFS), the National Fantasy Fan Federation (NF3), the New England Science Fiction Association (NESFA), numerous Esperanto organizations, and many more.

In two cases, the collection includes extensive personal papers unrelated to Ackerman: the Charles D. Hornig folders include correspondence with his family, and the Mia and Joe May folders contain s good deal of correspondence between Joe May and his family in Germany and Argentina. How or why FJA acquired the personal papers of these individuals is unknown.

Famous Monsters files include general correspondence, editorial files for each issue, and a considerable amount of fan mail.

Fanzines contains more than a thousand unique titles, many with multiple issues. Included here are the issuances of several amateur press organizations including APA-L and N'APA. Most date from the 1970s and 1980s but there are some much earlier.

Financial material contains bank account and tax information, as well as general personal expenditures (house, car, etc.).

Legal material includes estate information and correspondence with various attorneys relating to FJA's care of his mother Carrol and aunt Louise Hamell in her later years. The vast majority of this series, however, relates to the well-known lawsuit between Ackerman and Ray Ferry, colloquially known as "Forry v Ferry." This includes court papers, exhibits, testimony, and much more.

Memorabilia contains an eclectic assortment of material FJA accumulated during his lifetime, including awards, address lists, a considerable amount of artwork (much of it likely submitted to Famous Monsters, but some done simply as gifts to express the sender's affection), birthday souvenirs, clippings about Ackerman spanning more than seventy years, convention memorabilia and ephemera (including almost every WorldCon), guest books, index card files, many many lists of everything from paperback books to songs FJA knew by heart, correspondence with his various assistants through the years, posters, and an alphabetical run of subject files on everything from animation to zeppelins.

Perry Rhodan files include general correspondence, editorial files and manuscrips for each book issued in the series, and a considerable amount of fan mail.

Photographs form a substantial part of the collection, and span Ackerman's entire life from childhood and family to his last days. There are a number of albums, some compiled by FJA and others compiled for him, as well as twenty or so folders that FJA had sorted and labeled. The bulk of the photographs are, however, unidentified and undated. During processing, these were sorted into rough categories of FJA himself, family (including Wendayne), conventions/gatherings, early fandom, movie- and television-related (both stills from shows as well as actor photographs), writers/authors, and miscellaneous.

Printed material contains calendars, comic books, book and magazine covers, full issues of magazines, referece works (e.g. Futures past: A visual guidebook to science fiction history), special editions signed and/or inscribed to FJA, and clippings from various publications of stories by Ackerman Agency clients and/or authors of interest to FJA.

Recordings and media includes home movies from FJA's birthday celebrations (which were always large and public), home movies, documentaries, FJA as guest on various television shows, etc. Many of these appear in multiple formats, e.g. VHS and DVD. Included at the beginning of this series is "FJA archive home video collection inventory" which lists items with Ackerman's own ID numbers.

Writings by Ackerman is subdivided by type of material. Articles includes about himself (Ackerman was an inveterate self-promoter), about general topics, and about specific individuals such as Boris Karloff. Books includes his autobiographical publications (e.g., Forrest J Ackerman: Monster) as well as his books on various sci-fi topics such as King Kong and Lon Chaney. Many of Ackermans zines are well represented, including Imagination/Voice of the Imagination. There are also interviews, book reviews, screen treatments, speeches, stories, and much more. Note that Famous Monsters and Perry Rhodan do not appear here, as each of these has its own series in the collection as described above. There are also a small number of pieces by Wendayne.

Writings by others includes items submitted by Ackerman Agency clients, unsolicited items sent as part of a request for representation, items submitted to various publications (e.g. Famous Monsters), as well as (possibly) items acquired by FJA as being of interest. It being impossible to determine the reason each of these items was sent or how it was acquired, this series has been subdivided into type of material (articles, books, poetry, screenplays, etc.) and then arranged by author.

Arrangement of the Collection

Biographical material is arranged with Ackerman's own material first (e.g. school papers), followed by other family members in alphabetical order by name. Ackerman Agency material, Financial material, Legal material, and Memorabilia are each arranged alphabetically by type or topic. Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by name of correspondent. Famous Monsters and Perry Rhodan material is arranged alphabetically by subtopic (e.g. "Fan mail" and "Editorial correspondence"). Fanzines are arranged alphabetically by title. Photographs are arranged with FJA's own titled albums first, followed by untitled albums, followed by FJA's titled folders, followed finally by loose photographs which were subdivided during processing into very general categories. Printed material, Writings by FJA, and Writings by other are each arranged alphabetically by type (Articles, Books, etc.) and within each type alphabetically by author or title. Recordings and media are subdivided in to general categories and within each category arranged alphabetically by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has substantial science fiction related holdings both in its manuscripts collections and in Rare Books. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a listing of related manuscript collections and search the Classic Catalog for a complete list of books.

Ackerman also donated material to Eastern New Mexico University and the University of Wyoming. Please refer to those institutions for more information on their holdings.

Subject Headings

Persons

Ackerman, Forrest J.
Andruschak, Harry.
Anger, Kenneth.
Aquino, Michael A.
Asimov, Isaac, 1920-1992.
Beaumont, Charles, 1929-1967.
Ben, Lisa, 1921-2015.
Bixby, Jerome, 1923-1998.
Bloch, Robert, 1917-1994.
Bradbury, Ray, 1920-2012.
Bradley, Marion Zimmer.
Byrne, Stuart J.
Carnell, John, 1912-1972.
Carpenter, John, 1948-
Chaney, Lon, Jr., 1906-1973.
Christofferson, Eddie.
Coblentz, Stanton A. (Stanton Arthur), 1896-1982.
Cozzi, Luigi.
Cummings, Ray.
De Camp, L. Sprague (Lyon Sprague), 1907-2000.
De la Ree, Gerry.
Dollens, Morris Scott, 1920-1994.
Dorf, Shel.
Dunkelberger, Walt, 1913-1962.
Edwards, G. John.
Ellison, Harlan.
Ernsting, Walter, 1920-2005.
Estes, Oscar G.
Farmer, Philip Jose.
Gallet, Georges H.
Gernsback, Hugo, 1884-1967.
Glut, Donald F.
Gold, H. L. (Horace Leonard), 1914-1996.
Hageland, Albert van.
Hallam, Atlantis (Samuel Benoni Atlantis)
Hallind, Kristina, 1945-
Harryhausen, Ray.
Hefner, Hugh M. (Hugh Marston), 1926-2017.
Heinlein, Robert A. (Robert Anson), 1907-1988.
Hornig, Charles D., 1916-1999.
Hubbard, L. Ron (La Fayette Ron), 1911-1986.
Hull, Cortlandt.
Jarman, Peter (Peter J.)
King, Stephen, 1947-
Kyle, David A.
Landis, John, 1950-
Laney, Francis Towner, 1914-1958.
Lang, Fritz, 1890-1976.
Langdon, Verne.
Long, Amelia Reynolds, 1904-1978.
Lowndes, Robert A. W. (Robert Augustine Ward), 1916-1998.
Margulies, Leo, 1900-1975.
May, Joe, 1880-1954.
May, Mia, 1884-1980.
Melchior, Ib.
Moskowitz, Sam.
Neville, Kris, 1925-1980.
Nolan, William F., 1928-2021.
Norton, Andre.
Novotny, Norbert.
Nuetzel, Charles.
Obbagy, Bill.
Pal, George.
Palmer, Ray, 1910-1977.
Petaja, Emil, 1915-2000.
Pinckard, Terri.
Pinckard, Tom.
Pohl, Frederik.
Ptacek, Gloria Lee.
Reed, Donald A.
Riley, Philip J., 1948-
Robbins, Trina.
Robinson, Frank M., 1926-2014.
Romer, Jean-Claude.
Ruppert, Conrad H., 1912-1997.
Saha, Arthur W.
Scardino, Carol.
Scognamillo, Giovanni, 1929-
Silverberg, Robert.
Siodmak, Curt, 1902-2000.
Sneary, Rick.
Spiegl, Walter.
Stone, Graham, 1926-
Stone, Leslie F. (Leslie Francis), 1905-1991.
Temple, William F. (William Frederick), 1914-1989.
Trimble, Bjo.
Tucker, Wilson, 1914-2006.
Unger, Julius.
Urban, Helen M.
Varno, Martin.
Vincent, Harl.
Waite, Ronald A., 1956-
Warner, Harry, 1922-2003.
Warren, James, 1930-
Wasso, John.
Waxman, John W.
Wellman, Manly Wade, 1903-1986
Williams, Lucy Chase.
Williamson, Jack, 1908-2006.
Wollheim, Donald A.
Yano, Tetsu, 1923-2004.
van Vogt, A. E. (Alfred Elton), 1912-2000.

Corporate Bodies

Academy of Science Fiction Fantasy and Horror Films.
Ace Books.
American International Pictures (1956-1980)
British Science Fiction Association.
Church of Scientology of California.
Count Dracula Society (U.S.)
Doubleday & Company, Inc.
F & SF Book Co.
Fantasy Amateur Press Association.
Greenleaf Publishing Co. (Evanston, Ill.)
Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society.
National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (U.S.)
National Amateur Press Association.
National Fantasy Fan Federation.
ONE, Inc.
Science Fiction Writers of America.
Shasta Publishers.
Southern Fandom Confederation.
Syracuse University. -- Library.
United States. -- National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
University of California, Los Angeles.
University of California, Riverside.
University of Wyoming. -- Library.
Walt Disney Company.
Warner Bros. Pictures (1969- )
Washington Science Fiction Association.
World Science Fiction Convention.
World Science Fiction Society.

Associated Titles

Famous monsters of filmland.
Metropolis (Motion picture : 1927)
Perry Rhodan (New York, N.Y.)
Playboy (Chicago, Ill.)
Spacemen.
Voice of the imagination.

Subjects

Amateur films.
Authors, American.
Cinematography -- Special effects.
Editors -- United States.
Esperanto -- Societies, etc.
Esperanto -- Study and Teaching.
Fan magazines.
Fan mail.
Fantasy fiction, American.
Film festivals.
Horror films.
Lesbian pulp fiction.
Lesbians in literature.
Literary agents.
Monsters in mass media.
Monsters in motion pictures.
Motion pictures.
Novelists, American.
Science fiction -- History and criticism.
Science fiction -- Periodicals.
Science fiction -- Societies, etc.
Science fiction conventions.
Science fiction fans.
Science fiction, American.
Science in popular culture.
Space flight -- Fiction.
Space flight in art.
Vampires -- Fiction.

Places

Los Angeles (Calif.)

Genres and Forms

Lists (document genres)
Address books.
Advertisements.
Audiocassettes.
Badges.
Bibliographies.
Booksellers' catalogs.
Business cards.
Calendars (documents)
Character toys.
Civil court records.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Comic books.
Contracts.
Correspondence.
DVDs.
Drawings (visual works)
Fanzines.
Film stills.
Floppy disks.
Galley proofs.
Genealogies (histories)
Indexes (reference sources)
Interviews.
Invitations.
Itineraries.
Layouts (printed matter)
Legal documents.
Limited editions.
Magazines (periodicals)
Manuscripts for publication.
Newsletters.
Notes (documents)
Obituaries.
Permissions.
Phonograph records.
Photograph albums.
Photographs.
Poetry.
Postage stamps.
Posters.
Programs (documents)
Reviews (documents)
Sales catalogs.
Scrapbooks.
Screenplays.
Scripts (documents)
Short stories.
Sound recordings.
Speeches (documents)
Tape reels.
Tax records.
U-matic.
VHS.
Video recordings (physical artifacts)
Videocassettes.
Visitors' books.

Occupations

Authors.
Editors.
Literary agents.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Forrest J Ackerman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bulk of collection, gift of Forrest J Ackerman and Forest J Ackerman Estate, 1967-2010.

Some items, gift of A.E. van Vogt, 1981, 1982; and G. Thomas Pinckard, 1973.

A very few items, purchased, 2021.

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Ackerman Agency

Correspondence

Famous Monsters

Fanzines

Financial material

Legal material

Memorabilia

Perry Rhodan

Photographs

Printed material

Recordings and media

Writings [by FJA]

Writings by Wendayne

Writings by others

Inventory