Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Hal Clement Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Biographical History

Harry Clement Stubbs (1922-2003), better known as Hal Clement, was an award-winning American science fiction author, writing primarily "hard" science fiction short stories and novels. He also painted under the name George Richard.

Born May 30, 1922 in Somerville, Massachusettes, Clement graduated from Harvard University in 1943 with a B.S. in astronomy, having published his first short story the year before, and from Boston University in 1947 with an M.A. in Education. Clement served with the 8th Air Force in World War II and flew 35 combat missions over Europe; after the war, he served in the United States Air Force Reserve and eventually retired with the rank of colonel. He taught chemistry and astronomy for many years at Milton Academy in Milton, Massachusetts. He and his wife Mary Elizabeth had three children.

Clement was named a Grand Master by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) in 1998, and in 1996 he retroactively received a 1946 Hugo Award for his short story "Uncommon Sense." The Hal Clement Award for Young Adults for Excellence in Children's Science Fiction Literature is presented in his memory each year at the World Science Fiction Convention (better known as Worldcon).

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hal Clement Papers consists of artwork, correspondence, memorabilia, printed material and writings.

Artwork consists of a number of paintings of stars, planets, and other astronomical subject matter, ranging from large canvases to small matted pieces.

Correspondence contains letters from family, friends and colleagues. Of particular interest are two letters from editor John W. Campbell, in which he discusses challenges facing genre authors and the author/editor relationahips; a letter from Isaac Asimov, whose tone suggests they were good friends; and a letter from L. Sprague De Camp in which he talks about his current projects including a Conan novel.

Memorabilia includes, among other things, items from Clement's time in the military in Washington, DC and Albuquerque, New Mexico; awards from science fiction fans and conventions; a number of photographs and slides (most of which are unidentified); and an engagement calendar from 1956.

Printed material consists of clippings about Clement and others, and assorted maps and National Forest Service publications.

Writings contains drafts of both fiction and non-fiction, including novels, short stories, book reviews, and speeches. In a few cases there are notes, calculations, sketches and so on relating to a given project. Many of the drafts show annotations, corrections and edits.

Arrangement of the Collection

Generally alphabetical by type or title; within correspondence, items within each folder are arranged chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

35mm roll in Oversize 3 is fragile, do not unroll. Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Edition of Ice World and three-volume set, The Essential Hal Clement, have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to Libraries Search to locate these items.

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of science fiction and fantasy authors as well as an extensive collection of early science fiction and fantasy magazines and 'zines and a large book collection. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of manuscript collections; for more information on the magazines, 'zines, and books please contact the repository listed above.

Subject Headings

Persons

Asimov, Isaac, 1920-1992.
Campbell, John W., Jr. (John Wood), 1910-1971.
Clement, Hal, 1922-2003.
De Camp, L. Sprague (Lyon Sprague), 1907-2000.
Simak, Clifford D., 1904-1988.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

16mm (photographic film size)
35mm (photographic film size)
8mm (photographic film size)
Color transparencies.
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Filmstrips.
Manuscripts for publication.
Negatives (photographs)
Paintings (visual works)
Photographs.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hal Clement Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Correspondence from James Pawlak and all writings (except for four folders, identified in the collection), gift of Harry C. Stubbs, 1968, 1970.

All other material purchased, 2013. Dealer stated the material was acquired at an estate auction after the death of Mary Stubbs, Hal's widow.

Table of Contents

Artwork

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Printed material

Writings

Inventory