Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

John H. Crider Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DMB
Date: 29 Nov 1978

Biographical History

John H. Crider (1906-1966) was an American newspaper journalist, editor, and author. While at the Boston Herald he won the 1949 Pulitzer Prize for Journalism for distinguished editorial writing.

Born in Mount Vernon, New York, Crider attended the Virginia Military Institute and the Pulitzer School of Journalism at Columbia University. He was one of two seniors in the School of Journalism who were the first students to be given a part-time job on the city staff of the New York Times during their senior year. He was a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University (1940-1941).

Crider served on the news staff of the New York Times for 19 years. The last ten were spent with its Washington Bureau where he covered the White House during the latter years of Franklin D. Roosevelt's presidency. From 1946 to 1951 Crider was editor-in-chief of the Boston Herald, where his editorial writing won several award including a Pulitzer Prize (for "distinguished editorial writing") in 1949. He also appeared on two regular television programs in Boston and for a time was a CBS news analyst for that city.

In 1959 Crider was a member of the United States delegation to the Atlantic Conference in London where a paper of his, proposing an economic program for the NATO nations, was an important item on the agenda.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John H. Crider Papers consist of biographical material, memorabilia, printed material, subjects files, and writings.

Memorabilia contains photographs and Crider's war correspondent license for 1956.

Subject files include correspondence, photographs, news clippings, and miscellaneous printed material. Notable correspondents include Dwight D. Eisenhower, Lyndon B. Johnson, and Robert Frost. Also included in the collection is a signed letter from Horace Greeley, owned by Crider.

Writings contains articles, books, editorials, essays, speeches, and miscellaneous other writings.

Arrangement of the Collection

Subject files are arranged alphabetically. Writings are subdivided by type and arranged within that by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several manuscript collections of noted journalists and war correspondents. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Crider, John Henshaw, 1906-, -- Archives.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Journalism -- Authorship.
Journalists -- United States.
Newspaper editors -- United States.
Newspapers -- Sections, columns, etc. -- Editorials.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Editorials.
Essays.
Manuscripts for publication.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John H. Crider Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Biographical data

Memorabilia

Printed material

Subject files

Writings

Inventory