| Return to finding aids search |
Day at Night Recordings
An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University
Finding aid created by: IRP
Date: 10 Jun 2025
|
|
|
| Return to finding aids search |
Finding aid created by: IRP
Date: 10 Jun 2025
|
|
|
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Day, James |
| Title: | Day at Night Recordings |
| Dates: | 1973-1974 |
| Quantity: | 0.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Ten videotapes of the television show Day at Night |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Day at Night was a public television interview series of 130 episodes which aired from 1973-1974, hosted by James Day (1918-2008). Day was an American public television station and network executive, on-air interviewer, co-founder of KQED in San Francisco, president of the New York City television station WNET, the final president of the National Educational Television (NET), and Chairman of the Advisory Board for City University Television in New York (CUNY TV). The show featured interviews with notable cultural and political figures conducted in the mid-1970s. Some of the interviewees in this collection include Ozzie Nelson, Art Linkletter, E.G. Marshall, Sam Levenson, Burr Tillstrom, and Tennessee Ernie Ford.
The Day at Night Recordings consists of ten dubbed video interviews with prominent television and radio figures exploring issues important to society. Discussed are philosophical topics such as the optimistic outlook of life versus nostalgia, religion, and immigration. The interviewees talk about their professional roles in the radio and television industry, the challenges and the transformation of journalism and news reporting into entertainment broadcasting.
Arranged alphabetically by the interviewee's last name.
Access Restrictions:
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.
Use Restrictions:
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Recordings from the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.
Special Collections Research Center has extensive collections relating to radio, television, and film history. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.
Additional Day at Night interviews are held by CUNY TV.
Persons
Day, James, 1918-2008.
Ford, Tennessee Ernie, 1919-1991.
Levenson, Sam, 1911-1980.
Linkletter, Art, 1912-2010.
Marshall, E. G., 1914-1998.
Minow, Newton N. 1926-2023.
Nelson, Ozzie, 1906-1975.
Smith, Howard K. (Howard Kingsbury), 1914-2002.
Terkel, Studs, 1912-2008.
Tillstrom, Burr.
Winters, Jonathan.
Associated Titles
Day at night (Television program)
Subjects
Popular culture -- United States.
Television -- History.
Television -- Social aspects.
Television broadcasting -- United States.
Television journalists -- United States.
Genres and Forms
Interviews.
VHS.
Video recordings (physical artifacts)
Videocassettes.
Videotapes.
Occupations
Television producers.
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Day at Night Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
The Day at Night Recordings were originaly accessioned as part of the All About TV Recordings. In 2025, the tapes were made into their own collection based on the fact that they represented a separate and distinct show program, hosted by James Day.
Recordings
Note on alternate formats:
Recordings from the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.
| Recordings | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Ford, Tennessee Ernie 6 May 1974 - singer (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: day_at_night_001) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Levenson, Sam 3 Apr 1974 - humorist and author (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: day_at_night_002) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Linkletter, Art 30 Jan 1974 - radio and television host (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: day_at_night_003) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Marshall, E.G. [Everett Eugene Grunz] 20 Dec 1973 - actor (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: day_at_night_004) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Minow, Newton 12 Feb 1974 - attorney and chairman of the Federal Communication Commission (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: day_at_night_005) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Nelson, Ozzie 21 Jan 1974 - actor, musician, filmmaker (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: day_at_night_006) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Smith, Howard K. 5 Apr 1974 - journalist, radio reporter, political commentator (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: day_at_night_007) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Terkel, Studs 15 Feb 1974 - writer, historian, actor, broadcaster (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: day_at_night_008) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Tillstrom, Burr 15 Feb 1974 - puppeteer (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: day_at_night_009) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Winters, Jonathan 27 Nov 1973 - comedian, author, television host (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: day_at_night_010) | ||||||||||