Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Harriet Whitney Frishmuth Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Aug 1967



Biographical History

Harriet W. Frishmuth (1880-1980) was an American sculptor. Born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, on September 17, 1880, she studied art in Paris under Rodin and Injalbert, in Berlin under Euchteitz and at the Art Students' League under Borglum and McNeil, where she was awarded the St. Gaudens first prize. Her work has been exhibited at the National Academy of Design, the Academy of Fine Arts in Philadelphia, the Salon in Paris, the San Francisco Exposition (1939-1940) and the National Association of Women Painters and Sculptors.

Frishmuth received several awards from the National Academy of Design, a prize from the Grand Central Art Galleries, an honorable mention from the San Francisco Exposition and the Joan of Arc Silver Medal from the National Association of Women Painters and Sculptors.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harriet Whitney Frishmuth Papers consists of artwork originals and reproductions, audiovisual material, biographical material, correspondence subject files, financial and legal material, memorabilia and writings.

Artwork originals includes plaster and bronze models of her sculpture as well as sketches and paintings.

Artwork reproductions consists of a fairly complete photographic record of Ms. Frishmuth's work.

Audiovisual material includes audiotapes and a transcript of reminiscences compiled for an article in The Courier (1971) and amateur films of vacation trips.

Biographical material is some short biographical sketches and obituaries.

Correspondence-subject files include both personal and business correspondence as well as information on various galleries and organizations with which Ms. Frishmuth was associated.

Financial and legal material includes records of sales and foundry orders as well as copyright certificates and tax returns.

Memorabilia includes a caricature of Harriet Frishmuth by Matias Santoyo, awards and certficates, catalogs of shows and galleries, clipppings, photographs, postcards from vacations, printed material scrapbooks of family history and Ms. Frishmuth's sculpture and miscellaneous souvenirs.

Writings contains two vacation diaries and an essay.


Arrangement of the Collection

The Harriet Whitney Frishmuth Papers are arranged by category of material and alphabetically within each category.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Nothing in the round (i.e. three-dimensional) may be reproduced. This includes medals.

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A few books have been removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging.

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than 60 sculptors, including Anna Hyatt Huntington, James Earle Fraser and his wife Laura Gardin Fraser, and Brenda Putnam. Please see the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Alpert, Sidney A.
Aronson, Charles N., 1913-
Barté, Leon.
Borglum, Gutzon, 1867-1941.
Brownell, Herbert, 1904-1996.
Chrysler, Walter P. (Walter Percy), 1909-1988.
Deltiel, Desha.
Frishmuth, Harriet Whitney, 1880-1980.
Huntington, Anna Hyatt, 1876-1973.
Putnam, Brenda, 1890-1975.
Watson, Thomas J., 1914-1993.
Wilson, Edith Bolling Galt, 1872-1961.

Corporate Bodies

Allied Architects of Los Angeles.
American National Red Cross.
Brookgreen Gardens.
Grand Central Art Galleries.
National Academy of Design (U.S.)
National Sculpture Society (U.S.)
New York World's Fair (1939-1940 : New York, N.Y.)
Roman Bronze Works
The Gorham Company

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Women artists -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

16mm (photographic film size)
8mm (photographic film size)
Awards.
Bank statements.
Bas-reliefs (sculpture)
Bills of sale.
Blueprints (reprographic copies)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Commemorative sculpture.
Copper engravings (printing process)
Correspondence.
Daguerreotypes (photographs)
Diaries.
Glass plate negatives.
Models (representations)
Oil paintings (visual works)
Photographs.
Receipts (financial records)
Scrapbooks.
Sculpture (visual works)
Sketches.
Sound recordings.
Watercolors (paintings)

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harriet Whitney Frishmuth Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority of collection gift of Harriet Frishmuth, 1967-1980.

Some memorabilia gift of Ruth Talcott, 1985.

"Dorothea" bronze relief and plaster relief, and plaster bust of infant gift of Bettina Huffman, 2010.


Table of Contents

Artwork originals

Artwork reproductions

Audiovisual material

Biographical material

Correspondence-subject files

Financial and legal records

Memorabilia

Writings


Inventory