Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Leon J. Galloway Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 Jan 2010

Biographical History

Leon J. Galloway was the principal of Hicksville High School in Hicksville, New York, a hamlet within the town of Oyster Bay on Long Island. He was a member of the Kiwanis Club in 1937 and the president of the club in 1942. He was also a Quaker.

Elias Hicks (1748-1830) was originally a member of the Society of Friends (Quakers) in Philadelphia. In the 1820s the group split, partially (though not entirely) over some of Hicks' views including denial of the virgin birth and emphasis on "the light within" over the literal text of the Bible. Followers of Hicks, among whom was Walt Whitman, were known as "Hicksites."

Limited information is available on the Saunders Family. William and Susan Saunders moved their family from London, England to Rochester, New York in 1850. The family members appearing in the collection are William Tyrie Saunders; his father William and mother Susan; his wife Elizabeth; his sisters Elizabeth and Alice; and brothers Charles, Frank, Herbert, and Phillip. In 1851, William Tyrie was a 20 year old engraver-on-wood apprentice in London. He stayed in London while his family moved to America. On 1 November 1851, he married Elizabeth Mary Crews at the parish church of St. Giles-in-the-Fields, London and eventually had six children with Elizabeth. William Tyrie's wood engraving business moved periodically around Lincolns Inn Fields within the Holborn neighborhood of London. William Tyrie died 15 March 1886 at the age of 55, Elizabeth followed her husband 3 May 1905 at the age of 71.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Leon J. Galloway Collection consists of material relating to the Confederate States of America, the Hicksite Quakers, the Saunders family, and some miscellaneous items.

Confederate States of America series includes correspondence from important individuals within the Confederacy, such as Jefferson Davis, Daniel Ruggles, Fitzhugh Lee, Pierre G.T. Beauregard, and many others. The series also includes currency from all states within the Confederacy, Galloway's collected notes on this series, portraits, printed material, and war bonds.

Hicksite Quakers consists of contracts between individuals and land surveys of Hicksville, New York; a letter by Elias Hicks to William B Trish; a handwritten manuscript by David Seaman; photo albums of Quakers with handwritten notes of individuals; and a book describing the Hicksite Quakers and their doctrines.

Within the Saunders family series are letters from William Tyrie Saunders and his family: his father William and mother Susan; his wife Elizabeth; his sisters Elizabeth and Alice; and brothers Charles, Frank, Herbert, and Phillip.

Miscellaneous series is divided into correspondence and memorabilia. Within correspondence are letters directed to Galloway, to the Middletown Monthly Meeting in Bucks County, Pennsylvania; from the executive chamber for the state of New York; and to the headmaster of the Friends Academy in Locust Valley, New York. In memborabilia, there are autograph books of Dr. Theron Wendell Kilmer and Fredrick Bulkley Tuttle. Kilmer was the nephew of Tuttle. Also, there are two first day of issue stamps.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by title, type, or topic, and within each folder chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a substantial amount of material in both manuscript and rare books holdings relating to Quakers and other mid-nineteenth century religious movements. Please refer to Libraries Search to locate printed/cataloged material and to the SCRC Subject Index for a listing of manuscript material.

Subject Headings

Persons

Aldridge family.
Beauregard, G. T. (Gustave Toutant), 1818-1893.
Belknap, William W. (William Worth), 1829-1890.
Benjamin, J. P. (Judah Philip), 1811-1884.
Blaine, James Gillespie, 1830-1893.
Bradley, Joseph H. (Joseph Habersham), 1802-1887.
Bragg, Braxton, 1817-1876.
Browne, William M. (William Montague), 1823-1883.
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889.
Doty family.
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894.
Fish, Hamilton, 1808-1893.
Hampton, Wade, 1818-1902.
Hardee, William Joseph, 1815-1873.
Hicks family.
Hicks, Elias, 1748-1830.
Hill, D. H. (Daniel Harvey), 1821-1889.
Lamar, L. Q. C. (Lucius Quintus Cincinnatus), 1825-1893.
Lee, Fitzhugh, 1835-1905.
Lee, Stephen D. (Stephen Dill), 1833-1908.
Longstreet, James, 1821-1904.
Mallory, Stephen R. (Stephen Russell), 1813-1873.
McLaws, Lafayette, 1821-1897.
Mott family.
Ruggles, Daniel, 1810-1897.
Saunders family.
Seaman family.
Seward, William H. (William Henry), 1801-1872.
Sherman, John, 1823-1900.
Smith, Gerrit, 1797-1874.
Stephens, Alexander H. (Alexander Hamilton), 1812-1883.
Taylor, Richard, 1826-1879.
Townsend family.
Willis family.

Subjects

Confederate States of America.
Hicksites -- United States -- History.
Quakers.
Society of Friends.

Places

Hicksville (N.Y.)
Jericho (Nassau County, N.Y.)
Lincoln's Inn Fields (London, England)
Oyster Bay (N.Y.)
United States -- Church history -- 19th century.
Westbury (Nassau County, N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Autograph albums.
Contracts.
Correspondence.
Engravings (prints)
Land surveys.
Manuscripts (documents)
Marriage certificates.
Paper money.
Photograph albums.
Photographs.
Postage stamps.
War bonds.
Wills.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leon J. Galloway Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Leon J. Galloway, 1978.

Table of Contents

Confederate States of America

Hicksite Quakers

Saunders family

Miscellaneous

Inventory