Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records

An inventory of their records at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: --
Date: --

Biographical History

The National University Extension Association (NUEA) was formed in 1915. NUEA's focus was originally on establishing standards for correspondence schools and distance education, though its scope expanded considerably through the years. When it shifted to a division structure and gained 501(c)(3) nonprofit status in the 1950s, correspondence study was only one of five charter units. In 1980 NUEA reorganized itself away from the division structure to a more national focus; to reflect this, the name was changed to the National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA). In 1996 the word "National" was dropped as membership had expanded internationally, and the name became University Continuing Education Association (UCEA). In 2010 the word "Professional" was added to reflect members who were new to higher education, and the name became University Professional and Continuing Education Association (UPCEA). In 2024 this title was dropped and the initialism, UPCEA, became the official name of the organization.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records consist of three separate accessions, in the form of parts 1-3, which have not been integrated. Information is linked among the sections, but the researcher is advised to review each part to ensure locating all relevant information.

Part 1 of the NUEA records is divided into three subseries: Administrative files, Project Head Start, and Subject files. Administrative files comprise board of directors' materials, committee files, correspondence, and contains reports of the Secretaries of the Association, minutes, corporate affairs, and transcripts of meetings. There are also subject files within correspondence that concerns annual meetings and new members. Project Head Start materials are detailed records of the special program funded by the Office of Education. It includes university contracts, correspondence, university orientation and training program materials, financial reports, required evaluation reports on the success or failure of the project at each of the participating universities, and general material relating to the program -- its development, progress, and completion, with computer analyses documenting the completed report. NUEA subject files includes financial records and conference, division, and project materials.

Part 2 of the NUEA Records supplements the first accession and is divided into three subseries: Administrative files, Manuals and publications, and Teacher Training Institutes. Administrative files comprise business materials, committee files, conferences, division materials, Job Corps Driver Education Training, Project Head Start, a small number of miscellaneous items. The subseries contains correspondence, minutes, legislation, lists, rosters, programs, proposals, memoranda, and reports. There are also numerous lists of participants, professional resources, and materials. Manuals and publications contain mostly Project Head Start materials and a few other items. U.S. Office of Education, Adult Basic Education, Teacher Trainer Institutes (abbreviated as USOE-ABE-TTI) material is of a federally funded continuing education program, administered by the NUEA, and held in various colleges and universities around the country. It includes photographs, correspondence, forms, curricula, financial materials, grants, university and regional records, and other administrative files.

Part 3 of the NUEA Records is the most recent accession and is divided into four subseries: Administrative files, Biographical sketches, Conference/convention materials, and Publications. Administrative files comprise committee files, division materials, manuals, a small number of miscellaneous items. The subseries includes minutes, correspondence, memos, proceedings, membership information, surveys, notes, by-laws, and reports. Biographical sketches feature profiles of continuing educators in the field (including NUEA presidents) and contains photographs, resumes, correspondence, and some writing samples. Conference/convention materials contain mostly proceedings of annual gatherings and some reports, correspondence, minutes, and a few items from other miscellaneous continuing education meetings. Publications include the NUEA journals (Spectator and Continuum), booklets, a book, brochures, newsletters, continuing education job recruiter announcements, and a few miscellaneous materials.

Arrangement of the Collection

Part 1 of this collection is arranged alphabetically, the only exception being the subseries group Correspondence-general, which is arranged chronologically. Part 2 is arranged alphabetically, the only exception being the subseries U.S. Office of Education, Adult Basic Education, Teacher Trainer Institutes (USOE-ABE-TTI), which is grouped chronologically by year firstly and within those years materials are arranged alphabetically. Part 3 is arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Spectator issues 1966-1971, 1974 and Innovations in Continuing Education, Award-Winning New Programs series 1977, 1979 transferred to serial department for cataloging. They are accessible via Libraries Search .

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of all adult education collections. See also the records of NUEA's successor organizations, the National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA) Records and the University Continuing Education Association (UCEA) Records.

The following may also be of interest:

Subject Headings

Persons

Bentley, Harold W.
Bower, Warren
Broady, Knute O. (Knute Oscar), 1898-1974
Canada, John R.
Charters, Alexander N.
Cochran, Lee W. (Lee William)
Drazek, Stanley J. (Stanley Joseph)
Eddy, James R. D.
Eley, Lynn W.
Gustafson, Ben G., 1903-1982
Jenusaitis, Edmund
Keller, J. Orvis (John Orvis), 1893-1963
Kitchens, John, 1922-
Lawshe, C. H. (Charles Hubert), 1908-2000
Liveright, A. A. (Alexander Albert), 1907-
McMahon, Ernest Edward
Mitchell, Nicholas Pendleton, 1911-1980
Nolte, Julius M. (Julius Mosher), 1894-1964
Pitchell, Robert J.
Powell, Elizabeth
Riley, B. C. (Bert Clair), 1891-1962
Schram, Lloyd W.
Sheats, Paul H., 1907-1984
Sloan, Denver
Verhaalen, Roman J.
White, Thurman J.

Corporate Bodies

Adult Basic Education Teacher Trainer Institutes (U.S.)
Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults.
National University Continuing Education Association (U.S.)
National University Extension Association -- Archives.
National University Extension Association. -- Division of Correspondence Study.
Project Head Start (U.S.)

Subjects

Adult education.
Federal aid to child development.
Teachers, Training of.
University extension -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Contracts.
Correspondence.
Financial reports.
Journals (Publications)
Lists.
Manuals (instructional materials)
Memorandums.
Minutes (administrative records)
Newsletters.
Notes (documents)
Photographs.
Proceedings.
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Part 1 and 2, gift of National University Extension Association (NUEA), 1966, 1969-1970, 1974.

Part 3, gift of University Continuing Education Association (UCEA), 1998, 2000.

Table of Contents

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Inventory