Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Colette Roberts Artist Interviews

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1980

Biographical History

Colette Jacqueline Roberts (1910-1971) was a French-born artist, teacher, critic and gallery director. Born in Paris, she studied at the École du Louvre, the Academy Ranson, and the Institut d’Art et Archéologie. She moved to the United States during World War II and became a U.S. citizen shortly thereafter, becoming an active part of the New York art world. In addition to her own work, she wrote and lectured on modern art and fostered cultural exchange efforts between her native and adopted countries. As gallery director of the Grand Central Moderns, she gave many unknown artists their first major exposure (among them sculptor Louise Nevelson). In 1960, Roberts received the Palmes Académiques award from the French government for her work as chair of the French section of the American Red Cross, and she was a writer-in-residence at the MacDowell Colony.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Colette Roberts Artist Interviews consists of thirty-seven interviews with notable artists, among them Will Barnet, Victor Candell, Ezio Martinelli, Louise Nevelson, Man Ray, Hedda Sterne and Reuben Tam.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged in alphabetical order. All interviews consists of a single tape unless otherwise noted.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Researcher access to the tapes requires advance notice in order to produce a working copy.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

All interviews have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Special Collections Research Center has substantial holdings related to art and artists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Barnet, Will, 1911-2012.
Blaine, Nell, 1922-1996.
Candell, Victor.
Cavallon, Giorgio.
Copeland, George, 1882-1971.
Cunningham, Ben, 1904-1975.
Dawson, Fielding, 1930-2002.
Duchamp, Marcel, 1887-1968.
Gottlieb, Adolph, 1903-1974.
Guerrero, José, 1914-1991.
Hayter, Stanley William, 1901-1988.
Hultberg, John.
Lam, Jennett, 1911-
Lichtblau, Charlotte, 1925-
Lichtenstein, Roy, 1923-1997.
Lindner, Richard, 1901-1978.
Mallary, Robert, 1917-
Man Ray, 1890-1976.
Manso, Leo, 1914-1993.
Moy, Seong.
Narotzky, Norman, 1928-
Nevelson, Louise, 1899-1988.
Parsons, Betty.
Rattner, Abraham.
Roberts, Colette, 1910-1971.
Rosenborg, Ralph.
Seley, Jason, 1919-
Solomon, Hyde, 1911-
Sterne, Hedda, 1916-2011.
Tam, Reuben.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Art, Modern -- 20th century -- Interviews.
Artists -- Interviews.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century -- Interviews.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, Modern -- 20th century -- Interviews.
Women art critics -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Interviews.
Sound recordings.

Occupations

Art critics.
Artists.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Colette Roberts Artist Interviews,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Interviews

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

All interviews have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.