Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

James B. Whipple Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: EEA
Date: Jul 1991

Biographical History

James B. Whipple was the assistant and associate director of the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) from 1953 until it ceased to exist in 1968. At that time he, along with Peter E. Siegle and Freda H. Goldman, formed a partnership for consulting called New Directions for Education (NDE), which existed from 1968-1973. In this capacity, Whipple became heavily involved in major planning projects for higher education, including state plans in Rhode Island and Massachusetts. Later he became Assistant Professor of History at Bunker Hill Community College in Massachusetts.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection is predominantly reports, report drafts, working papers and other writings that resulted from Whipple's role as a consultant. In connection with these projects, there is also correspondence, memoranda, outlines and proposals. There is some material from his work with CSLEA as well as some from his other professional activities as speaker and educator. There is a picture of James Whipple in the NUEA Spectator, found in Box 3.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into five parts:

CSLEA: Dated from 1953-1968, most of this portion is about the project, Liberal Education for Executives
New Directions for Education: This encompasses the bulk of the collection, 1968-75. Following business papers, the material is filed alphabetically by project. The state plans are filed chronologically
Other Professional Activities: A variety of activities from the 1950s to 1978 are represented
Personal: Few odd papers for Whipple's personal life are in the collection
Publications: These include a small sample of material for which Whipple wrote prefaces or to which he contributed.

Reports and papers authored by Whipple are tagged with the parenthetical (JBW).

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Several monographs and pamphlets were removed from the archive and placed in the general collection of the Syracuse University Libraries:

Alter, Henry C. Of Messages and Media: Teaching and Learning by Public Television. Boston, Mass.: Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, 1968.
Carey, James T. Forms and Forces in University Adult Education. Boston, Mass. : Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, 1961.
Gordon, Morton. Daytime School for Adults. A New Program Dimension at University of California, Berkeley. Boston, Mass.: Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, 1967.
Miller, Harry L. Participation of Adults in Education. Boston, Mass.: Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, 1967.
Ohliger, John. Listening Groups: Mass Media in Adult Education. Boston, Mass.: Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, 1967.
Cleon, Sally. Changing Patterns in Continuing Education for Business. Boston, Mass.: Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, 1967.
Wedemeyer, Charles A. and Childs, Gayle B. New Perspectives in University Correspondence Study. Boston, Mass._ Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, 1961.

The library also holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. Most closely related to the James B. Whipple Papers are the following:

Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA)
Fund for Adult Education (FAE)
University Council on Education for Public Responsibility (UCEPR)

Subject Headings

Persons

Goldman, Freda H.
Siegle, Peter E.
Whipple, James B., Archives

Corporate Bodies

Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults
New Directions for Education

Subjects

Adult education
Educational planning
Educators, United States

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Memorandums.
Outlines.
Reports.

Occupations

Educational consultants.
Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James B. Whipple Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of James B. Whipple, 1983.

Table of Contents

Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA)

New Directions for Education

Other professional activities

Personal

Publications

Inventory