Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Kate Wilhelm Papers

A description of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MPK
Date: 25 Oct 1978

Biographical History

Kate Wilhelm (1928- ) is an American author, science fiction short story writer, playwright, and novelist. Over her career she has written science fiction, fantasy, mysteries, drama, humor, stage productions, and radio plays, and her novels and stories have been translated to more than a dozen languages. Both she and her husband, science fiction author Damon Knight, influenced and assisted hundreds of aspiring writers through their classes, lectures, workshops, and other teaching opportunities in the United States, South America, and Asia. The two were instrumental in establishing the Clarion Writer's Workshop and the Milford Writer's Conference, which have launched the careers of numerous award-winning writers.

Wilhelm has won one Hugo (for her novel Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang) and three Nebula Awards, and her stories been nominated more than twenty times for Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Awards.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kate Wilhelm Papers consist of writings and miscellanea. Writings contains books, plays, and short stories, including the book Mate in Four, co-authored with Damon Knight. Miscellaneous contains advertising, clippings, correspondence, notes, personal material, and various publications, as well as a degree from the British Interplanetary Society.

Arrangement of the Collection

Writings are subdivided alphabetically by type and within that arranged alphabetically by title. Miscellaneous is arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Damon Knight Papers. In addition, our holdings include papers from a number of other well-known science fiction authors; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for more information.

Subject Headings

Persons

Wilhelm, Kate -- Manuscripts.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Science fiction -- Women authors.
Science fiction, American.
Women authors, American.
Women dramatists, American.
Women novelists, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.
Playwrights.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kate Wilhelm Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Writings

Miscellaneous

Inventory