Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Title:	Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1805-2002
Quantity:	5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Miscellaneous printed material and correspondence relating to cultural life in Central New York. Theatres, clubs, musical performances, academic commencements, local politics, sporting events, etc.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection contains printed materials, photographs, correspondence, and memorabilia relating to cultural life in Central New York. The aspects of cultural life represented include clubs and organizations, events, politics and government, religion, and miscellaneous daily life.

Clubs and organizations contains correspondence, pamphlets, records, and memorabilia relating to organizations operating in Central New York. Objects of interest include membership information and fabric ribbons from various Masonic lodges, information sheets for teaching positions, and communications from groups advocating for women’s suffrage.

Events contains invitations, tickets, posters, and other printed materials relating to sports games, entertainment, dances, social gatherings, and other miscellaneous events. Many local theaters are represented, most extensively the Wieting Opera House and Bastable Theatre. Other items of interest include a scrapbook for the Charlie Brown band, concert programs of Melville Clark, and dance tickets for 1920s fraternity-hosted fundraising dances.

Landmarks include postcards, photographs, and stereograph cards of Central New York buildings and landscapes.

Politics and government includes certificates of appointment for legal practice, correspondence relating to various local government offices, election materials, and legal documents such as liquor license applications, land sale records, and contracts. Politicians represented include Lee Alexander, James M. Hanley, and John F. Kennedy.

Religion contains endorsements and recommendations from seminaries and theological colleges, programs for religious meetings, and correspondence relating to religious life.

Miscellaneous contains local history booklets, correspondence relating to aspects of daily life such as travel and family, advertisements and informational pamphlets, and photographs. Objects of interest include the Onondaga County history portfolio, correspondence regarding British author Israel Zangwill, and a scrapbook containing advertisements, arts, and clippings.

Please note that this collection contains material that some researchers may find objectionable due to racist content. This material is preserved and retained with the collection for its historic and research value.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically. Correspondence and programs from the various theaters are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the following:

Dave Salmon Inc. Collection of Syracuse Cultural Ephemera
Portfolio Club Records
Society for New Music Archive
Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records
Nancy Ann White Correspondence

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Central New York Cultural Ephemera Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Core collection of theatre material purchased with funds from Library Associates.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 1 Nov 2007
Revision history: 20 Dec 2010 - additions (MRC); 12 Jul 2010 - additions (MRC); 7 Dec 2009 - additions (MRC); 19 Oct 2009 - additions (MRC); 19 Mar 2009 - additions (MRC); 3 Dec 2008 - additions (MRC); 10 Jul 2008 - adds (MRC); 26 Mar 2008 - adds (MRC); 6 Oct 2011 - adds; inclusive dates updated (MRC); 15 Oct 2012 - adds; minor reorg. (MRC); 16 January 2024 - additions; reorganization (SAB)

Return to top

Inventory

	Clubs and organizations
Box 1		Daubers Club 1941-1942
Box 1		Independent Order of Odd Fellows 1848, 1848, 1909
Box 1		Knights Templar and Masons 1870-1932
Box 1		Medical Societies 1876, 1904, 1906
Box 1		New York State Agricultural Society 1873
Box 1		Schools and teacher associations 1858, 1874, 1904
Box 1		Syracuse University Flying Club 1929 (2 folders)
Box 1		Veteran Associations 1886-1913
Box 1		Women's Political Organizations 1890-1917, 1964, 1970
Box 1		Young Men's Christian Association 1899
Box 1		Miscellaneous 1886-1968

	Events
Box 1		Academic celebrations and commencements 1834, 1876-1923
Box 1		Athletics 1914-1929, 2002
Oversize 1		Athletics undated
Oversize 1		Auction announcements 1895, 1911
Box 1		Circus 1913 1938
Box 1		Dances 1871-1950
Oversize 1		Dances 1896, 1914, undated
Box 1		Gatherings 1848-1948
		Music
Box 2			Brochures and posters 1892-1947
Box 2			Charlie Brown (band) scrapbook 1924-1930
Box 2		State and county fairs 1896-1949
		Theater and film
Box 2			Bastable Theatre circa 1895-1922 (2 folders)
Box 2			B. F. Keith's Theatre 1914, 1923, undated
Box 2			Cortland Opera House 1892
Box 2			Crescent Theatre circa 1895-1922
Box 2			Empire Theatre 1901-1922
Oversize 1			Grand Opera House undated
Box 2			Temple Theatre 1916, 1925, 1928, undated
Box 2			Valley Theater 1910-1915
Box 2			Wieting Opera House 1892-1914 (3 folders)
Box 3			Wieting Opera House 1914-1929, undated (7 folders)
Oversize 1			Wieting Opera House undated
Box 3			Miscellaneous 1887-1914
Oversize 1			Miscellaneous posters 1892, 1896, undated
Map-Case 102			Miscellaneous posters undated

	Landmarks
Box 3		Postcards and photographs 1906, 1912, undated
Box 3		Stereograph cards circa 1880s

	Politics and government
Oversize 1		Certificates of appointment 1825, 1830
Box 3		Correspondence 1819, 1831
Box 3		Elections 1847-1969
Box 3		Legal documents 1812-1890
		Officials
Box 4			Alexander, Lee 1972-1973
Box 4			Hanley, James M. 1968-1969
Box 4		Onondaga County Democratic Committee 1958, 1961-1963, 1968 - includes promotional material related to local celebration of John F. Kennedy's inauguration and presidency, as well as a Kennedy "In Memoriam" page in a 1964 March for Democrats booklet.

	Religion
Box 4		Correspondence 1832-1865, 1895, 1923, 1944
Box 4		Endorsements and recommendations 1869, 1872
Box 4		Meetings and session programs 1847-1920

	Miscellaneous
Oversize 1		Clipping 1857 - page from Harper's Weekly titled "Reaping at Syracuse"
Box 4		Correspondence 1805-1960 (2 folders)
Box 4		Local history booklets 1915, undated
Oversize 1		Musical score undated
Oversize 1		Onondaga County history portfolio 1857 - series of colored plates on Onondaga County history published by the Onondaga Savings Bank
Box 4		Pamphlets and advertisements 1885, 1933, undated
Box 4		Photographs undated - photograph of an unidentified man in boxing gear, C. Hoyt at Seneca Turnpike, and birth announcement of F. Ames
Oversize 2		Scrapbook - bound volume; originally held banking accounts, but pages have been pasted over with advertisements, clipping, pictures, etc.

Return to top