Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Title:	Movie Press Kit Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1976-1983
Quantity:	1.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Collection contains selected press kits from Warner Bros. and Twentieth Century Fox. Movies include The Star Chamber, Mr. Mom, All the President's Men. Format varies, includes audiocassette, videocassette, booklets.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

A press kit is a prepackaged set of promotional material. In the case of movies, press kits often include still shots from the film, a page with sketches and brief bios of main characters, a plot summary, and sample posters, contained in or printed on an illustrated custom folder or packet.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Movie Press Kit Collection contains selected press kits for programming for two movie studios, Twentieth Century Fox and Warner Bros. The Warner Bros. kit was prepared by Barla, Orloff & Associates, Los Angeles, CA.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided by movie studio.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of television- and movie-related collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. For other press kits, see the Television Press Kit Collection and the Cartoon Press Kit Collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Movie Press Kit Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Some press kits gift of Steven H. Scheuer.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: –
Date: unknown
Revision history: 9 Apr 2012 - updated search terms (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Twentieth Century Fox
Box 1		Making Love 1981
			Videotape contains production information, interview with Barry Sadler. Printed material includes a transcript of the Sadler interview, introductory letter, and a cast/credit list.
Box 1		Mr. Mom 1982, 1983
			Videotape contains trailer, behind-the-scenes footage, profiles of Michael Keaton and Teri Garr, selected interview sound bites, two promo clips, and a review clip. Folder of printed material includes a transcript of the Keaton and Garr profiles and a photocopy of an article from Cosmopolitan (May 1983). Also includes two slides with shots of Keaton and Garr together.
Box 1		Neil Simon's: I Ought to Be In Pictures 1981
			Videotape contains production information, questions and answers with Herb Ross, and feature on Dinah Manoff. Printed material includes a transcript of the Ross interview and a cast/credit list.
Box 1		The Star Chamber 1982
			Videotape contains production notes, review clip, interview(s) with Michael Douglas, behind-the-scenes footage, and trailer. Folder of printed material includes production notes and excerpt from Douglas interview.
Box 1		Taps 1981
			Videotape contains "The making of Taps," interviews with Stanley Jaffe, Timothy Hutton, Harold Becker, and Howard Jaffe, and a feature story, "Actors become cadets."

	Warner Bros.
Box 1		All the President's Men 1976
			Printed material includes production information booklet, foldout poster/flyer, short essay on "The Investigative Reporter and Cinematic Images," three letters from Katherine Orloff to Professor Scheuer. Four cassette tapes contain interviews with Dustin Hoffman, Robert Redford, Jason Robards, George Jenkins, Jack Warden, Walter Coblenz, Alan J. Pakula, and Gordon Willis.

Return to top