Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Gernsback, Hugo, 1884-1967
Title:	Hugo Gernsback Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1890-1995
Quantity:	30 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence, memorabilia, writings, and publications of the Luxembourg-American author, editor, publisher, and entrepreneur in the fields of amateur radio, electronics, and science fiction.
Language:	Majority in English; some items in Spanish, French, German, Russian, and Italian.
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Hugo Gernsback (1884-1967) was a Luxembourg-American author, editor, publisher, and entrepreneur in the fields of amateur radio, electronics, and science fiction. For his contributions to the latter, including creating the first magazine dedicated to the genre ( Amazing Stories, 1926), he has often been called "the father of science fiction." The Hugo Awards, presented at the annual World Science Fiction Convention, are named for him.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hugo Gernsback Papers consists of correspondence, Gernsback publications, memorabilia, subject files, and writings.

The relatively small amount of Correspondence is primarily from the mid-1950s, and is almost entirely incoming. Most relates to various endeavors of Gernsback's, such as his efforts to interest commercial fisheries in his patented hydraulic device and a letter to Latin American distributors regarding a Spanish-language edition of Radio-Electronics. Other correspondents include colleagues and collaborators such as Marc Lanval, David Sarnoff, and Austin Lescarboura, and fellow science fiction enthusiasts such as Sam Moskowitz.

Material relating to Gernsback publications includes a small amount of business records (advertisements, copyright and trademark registrations, form letters, and so on) and a considerable amount of printed material published by Gernsback under one or another of his company names. Most are "how-to" manuals for the amateur radio enthusiast; some are standalone titles ( 101 short wave hookups, How to build and operate short wave receivers, Radio trouble finder) while others were published as part of a named series (The Experimenter's Library, Radio Tinker's Library, etc.). There are also catalogs from Gernsback's Electro Importing Company and Radio Trading Co., milestone anniversary issues of Radio-Craft and Radio-Electronics, and a reprint of radio, telephone, and telegraphic equipment from the Montgomery Ward catalog. The miscellaneous material at the end of this series contains two pieces of artwork from the 1940s by science fiction illustrator Alex Schomburg, but otherwise mostly dates from the 1980s and 1990s and thus has little connection with Gernsback.

Memorabilia includes awards, clippings, photographs, and assorted other items, which together illustrate Gernsback's impact on amateur radio and on science fiction. Among the earliest items is a "Budding Electrician" certificate from the Carmelite Convent in Luxembourg, bestowed for installing "our electrical bell system, gratis" -- it is dated 1890, meaning that Gernsback would have been about six years old at the time. At the end of this series are a few artifacts, mostly unidentifiable but likely related to short wave radio construction.

The vast majority of material in the Subject files consists of photographs, either original or reproductions, of a wide range of home, commercial, and industrial electronics and technology. Many of the photographs have detailed typed captions. Other formats include negatives, color transparencies, drawings, sketches, and occasionally product literature, correspondence, and clippings. Subjects range from amplifiers, microphones, and tuners to spaceships, moon radio, and satellites. A few folders pertain to individuals (Nikola Tesla, Lee De Forest) while "Biographies" and "Portraits" contain brief descriptions and photographs, respectively, of important individuals in the field. These files, which have been preserved as originally arranged, undoubtedly served as reference/source material for Gernsback's magazines during his life, and continued to be used and added to after his death.

Writings contains articles, books, letters to the editor, manuals, speeches, stories, and miscellaneous items by Gernsback. Included here are his editorials for Amazing Stories, Electrical Experimenter, Everyday Science and Mechanics, Radio News, Radio & Television, Radio-Craft, Radio-Electronics, Science fiction Plus, Science and Invention, Science Wonder Stories, Short Wave Craft, Television News, and Wonder Stories. Many of his pieces predict, propose, or describe technology that was novel at the time but is common today, such as telemedicine ("Call the teledoctor"), desalination ("Miracle from the Sea"), text-to-speech ("A writing machine that responds to the voice"), and drones ("The radio-controlled television plane"). There are several editions of his novel Ralph 124C 41+, including a German edition, as well as his story "Scientific adventures of Baron Munchausen" as published in Amazing Stories. Also included are fifteen years of Forecast, Gernsback's annual holiday booklet in which he laid out his science and technology predictions for the coming year, and a number of his humorous/parody Christmas magazines.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is alphabetical by correspondent. Gernsback publications are subdivided into business records (alphabetical by format or topic) and printed material (alphabetical by title). Memorabilia is alphabetical by title or topic. Subject files remain in original order and with original titles. Writings are subdivided by type (articles, books, etc.) and within each type are alphabetical by title. The few writings by others, at the end of the series, are alphabetical by author's name.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The collection originally contained extensive runs of periodicals for which Gernsback was the editor, publisher, or both. These have been cataloged. Please refer to Libraries Search to locate these items.

Titles include: Air wonder stories, Amazing detectives, Amazing stories, Aviation mechanics, Electrical experimenter, Everyday mechanics, Everyday science and mechanics, The experimenter, Facts of life, Flight, Foto-craft, French humor, Gadgets, High sea adventures, Know yourself, Life guide, Light, Luz, Milady, Modern electrics, Moneymaking, Motor camper & tourist, New ideas for everybody, Pirate stories, Popular medicine, Practical electrics, Radio amateur news, Radio & television, Radio-craft, Radio-electronics, Radio electronics weekly business letter, Radio listeners guide and call book, Radio news, Radio program weekly, Radio review, Science and invention, Science fiction, Science wonder stories, Scientific detective monthly, Sexologia, Sexology, Short wave and television, Short wave craft, Superworld comics, Technocracy review, Television, Television news, Woman's Digest, Wonder stories, Your body, and: Your dreams.

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings related to science fiction and pulp-era publishing in both its manuscript and published holdings. Related corporate collections include Ace Books, Galaxy Publishing Company, Mercury Press, and Street and Smith. Individual collections include Forrest Ackerman, Anne McCaffrey, Piers Anthony, Theodore Cogswell, Murray Leinster, Neil R. Jones, Keith Laumer, Andre Norton, and Kate Wilhelm. Cataloged material includes magazines such as If and Astounding, as well as fanzines and conference programs. Please refer to Libraries Search to locate cataloged items, and to the SCRC Subject Index for a full list of related manuscript collections.

Many of Gernsback's publications are available in digital format on the World Radio History website.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hugo Gernsback Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Hugo Gernsback, Harvey Gernsback, Gernsback estate, and Adria Coren, 1965-2005.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1978
Revision history: 17 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); Feb 2006 - added note regarding additions; Oct 2021 - fully processed, additions incorporated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Ackerman, Forrest J 1949-1950, 1957
Box 1		Adalia Ltd. 1953
Box 1		Aisberg, E. 1964
Box 1		Blair, William R. 1957
Box 1		Boucheron, Pierre 1945
Box 1		Commissioner of Patents 1961
Box 1		Cummings, Edward H. 1913, 1966 - includes tribute to Gernsback
Box 1		De Forest, Lee 1942-1961
Box 1		Dunn, Gordon E. 1954
Box 1		Editions Satellite 1958-1959
Box 1		Frederick Fell, Inc. 1950
Box 1		Hebert, Arthur A. 1937
Box 1		Henry Ford Museum undated
Box 1		Hoover, Herbert 1952
Box 1		Hydraulic fisheries queries 1957 - letters to various pipe manufacturers about a patented idea for using hydraulics to suck up fish
Box 1		IBM "Think" magazine 1962 - rejection letter
Box 1		Iceland Defense Force 1953
Box 1		Independent News Co. Inc. 1979
Box 1		Institut für Küsten- und Binnenfischerei [Institute for Inshore and Inland Fisheries] 1958-1965
Box 1		Johnson, Lyndon B. 1957
Box 1		Kennedy, John F. 1957
Box 1		Koninklijke Machinenfabrik 1963
Box 1		Lanval, Marc 1954
Box 1		Latin American distributors undated - letter regarding possible Spanish edition of Radio-Electronics
Box 1		Lescarboura, Austin 1959
Box 1		Luxembourg, Duchy of 1954, 1959
Box 1		Marx, Edmond 1958
Box 1		Menzel, Donald H. 1953-1958, 1970
Box 1		McMorrow, Berman, & Davidson 1957-1958
Box 1		Moskowitz, Sam 1964 - includes material related to "First Fandom" award given to Gernsback
Box 1		Musick, Dan 1964
Box 1		New magazine contest 1961 - letter to unidentified readers, regarding contest to name a new Gernsback magazine that would focus on the latest technological developments
Box 1		New York University (NYU) 1950, 1954, 1958 - mostly related to establishment of Gernsback Scholarship; includes photographs of first four recipients
Box 1		Philco Corp. 1955
Box 1		"Radio Amateur News" announcement 1919 - letter to unidentified readers, announcing new magazine
Box 1		Rommel, Allwine, & Rommel 1961, 1963 - patent/trademark attorneys
Box 1		Sarnoff, David 1935
Box 1		Scott Meredith 1962
Box 1		Steckler, Larry 1962
Box 1		U.S. Naval Communication Station 1960
Box 1		Watson-Watt, Robert 1963, 1973
Box 1		Miscellaneous

	Gernsback publications
		Business records
Oversize 1			Advertising broadsides 1907, undated
				See also Memorabilia : Photographs : Electro Importing Co. below.
				Electro Importing Company, 2 items: "Our new fall line" broadside with pictures of items, with New York and Brussels addresses; "A few views of our organization" broadside with photos of stockrooms, Gernsback, his offices, etc.
				Radio Trading Co., 1 item: "Radios for 1935 season" broadside with images and descriptions of items
Box 2			Business certificates 1940, 1987
Box 2			Copyright registrations 1926-1965 (2 folders)
Box 2			Credit memos from manufacturers 1969-1970
Box 2			Form letters
Box 2			Notarized receipts for stories 1929 - proofs of 3 stories, signed and notarized as received
Oversize 2			"Paleozoic Primitive Art" 1943 - includes Radio-Craft covers with captions, humorous comments on sales resistance; possibly a marketing presentation
Box 2			Science Fiction Plus 1952-1953 - payment records, printing contracts, tables of contents, stamps to advertise magazine, etc.
Box 2			Tape duplicating
Box 2			Trademark registrations 1909-1910, 1913-1914, 1929, 1935-1937, 1952-1953, 1955, 1963
		Printed material
Box 2			10 most popular short wave receivers: How to make and work them 1933
Box 2			101 short wave hookups [1932?]
Box 2			101 short wave hookups 1936
Box 2			150 radio hookups 1926 - "prepared by the staff of Radio News"
Box 2			ABC of television 1937
Box 2			Amplifier handbook and public address guide / Moe Asch 1940-1941
Box 2			"The Boy's Electric Toys" 1917 - full-page ad for kit; instruction book with activities
Box 2			Construction of induction coils and transformers / H. Winfield Secor 1910 - banner across top of front cover says "The Electric Library No. 3"
Box 2			The electrical experimenter - reproductions of miscellaneous pages
Box 8			Electro Importing Co. catalogs, bound [Volume 1] 1905-1912
				[unnumbered catalog] No. 3, 1906 No. 4, [1907?] No. 5, First Edition, 1908 No. 6, First Edition, 1909 No. 7, First Edition, 1910 No. 7, Second Edition, 1910 No. 8, First Edition, 1910 No. 9, Second Edition, 1911 No. 10 [First Edition, 1911] No. 10 Second Edition, 1912 No. 10S First Edition, 1911 [Spanish edition]
Box 8			Electro Importing Co. catalogs, bound [Volume 2] 1909-1912
				No. 4, Third Edition, 1910 No. 6, First Edition, 1909 No. 7, Second Edition, 1910 No. 9, Second Edition, 1911 No. 10, Third Second Edition, 1911 No. 10 Second Edition, 1912
Box 8			Electro Importing Co. catalogs, bound [Volume 3] 1908-1912
				No. 4, Third Edition, 1908 No. 6, First Edition, 1909 No. 7, Second Edition, 1910 No. 8, First Edition, 1910 No. 9, Second Edition, 1911 No. 10, Third Edition, 1911 No. 10, Second Edition, 1912
Box 8			Electro Importing Co. catalogs, bound [Volume 4] 1908-1912
				[unidentified catalog, cover missing] No. 5, First Edition, 1908 No. 6, Second Edition, 1909 No. 7, Second Edition, 1910 No. 8, First Edition, 1910 No. 9, Second Edition, 1911 No. 10, Third Edition, 1911 No. 10, Second Edition, 1912
Box 2			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 10S, First Edition 1911 - Spanish edition
Box 2			Electro Importing Co. Catalog [No. 11?] 1913
Box 2			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 12, First Edition 1914
Box 2			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 14A, "Electric Holiday Suggestions" [1914 or 1915]
Box 3			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 15, First Edition 1915
Box 3			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 16, First Edition 1916
Box 3			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 18, First Edition 1917 - cover has additional title "Wireless & Electrical Cyclopedia"
Box 3			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 18, Second Edition 1917 - cover has additional title "Wireless & Electrical Cyclopedia"
Box 3			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 19, First Edition 1918 - cover has additional title "Wireless & Electrical Cyclopedia"
Box 3			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 19, Second Edition 1918 - cover has additional title "Wireless & Electrical Cyclopedia"
Box 3			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 21, Second Edition 1919 - cover has additional title "Wireless & Electrical Cyclopedia"
Box 3			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 22, First Edition 1920 - cover has additional title "Wireless & Electrical Cyclopedia"
Box 3			Electro Importing Co. Catalog No. 23, Second Edition 1920 - cover has additional title "Wireless & Electrical Cyclopedia"
Box 3			Electro Importing Co. Catalog, unidentified 1917 - heavily marked up and with laid-in notes
Box 3			Electro Importing Co. mailings, miscellaneous - form letters, envelopes, etc.
Box 3			The Experimenter's Library 1916, 1920 - no. 1-3 (3 volumes)
				No. 1 - How to make wireless sending apparatus No. 2 - How to make wireless receiving apparatus No. 3 - Design and construction of audion amplifying transformers, Edward T. Jones
Box 3			The Experimenter's Library 1922-1924 - no. 1-3
				No. 1 - Tips for the radio amateur constructor, E. Vail Church No. 2 - How to make radio-phone receiving sets, R. LaCault No. 2 - How to practical radio receiving sets, W.G. Many No. 3 - Radio questions answered, A.P. Peck (2 copies)
Box 4			The Experimenter's Library 1922-1924 - no. 4-14
				No. 4 - Radio frequency amplifiers and how to make them, John M. Avery No. 5 - Loud talkers and how to build them, H. Winfield Secor No. 6 - How to tune your radio set, Maurice L. Muhleman No. 7 - 100 radio hookups, Maurice L. Muhleman No. 8 - All about radio parts, Thomas W. Benson No. 9 - History and operation of the vacuum tube: The Aladdin's lamp pf radio, J.H. Morecroft No. 10 - The neutrodyne: All about it, Maurice L. Muhleman No. 11 - How radio is received, R.S. Ould No. 12 - How to locate troubles in your radio set, Thomas W. Benson No. 13 - Reflex radio receivers, P.E. Edelman No. 14 - The super-heterodyne: Theory and construction, F.F. Webb
Box 4			"Frozen" electricity: The electret 1949
Box 4			How to become an amateur radio operator, and secure a U.S. government license, by Lt. Myron F. Eddy 1932
Box 4			How to build modern loudspeakers, Clyde J. Fitch 1928
Box 4			How to build and operate short wave receivers 1937
Box 4			How to electrify your radio set, Victor Osgood 1927
Box 4			How to get best short wave reception, M. Harvey Gernsback 1935
Box 4			Montgomery Ward radio, telephone, and telegraphic equipment - reprinted (presumably from their catalog), with "Compliments of Radio-Electronics Magazine" on the front cover
Box 4			NEW, vol. A no. 1 Sep 1945
Box 4			Official short wave listener 1935-1936 - vol. 1 no. 5 and vol. 2 no. 4
Box 4			Radio amateur course, G.W. Shuart 1937 (2 copies)
Box 4			Radio news - reproductions of miscellaneous pages from magazine
Box 4			Radio reference annual 1938
Box 4			The Radio Tinker's Library 1924 (4 volumes)
				No. 1 - A guide for the radio builder, F.F. Webb No. 2 - The how and why of radio parts, Joseph H. Kraus No. 4 - How to build the famous one knob set, W.G. Many No. 5 - How to make a neutrodyne receiver, F.F. Webb
Box 5			The Radio Tinker's Library 1924 (2 volumes)
				No. 8 - How to make a resistance coupled amplifier, F.F. Webb The radio tinker's log book and broadcast guide, including radio broadcast map of the U.S.
Box 5			Radio Trading Co. catalogs 1932-1936 - no. 24, 25, 26, 27, 27SW, 28, 29, 31 (5 folders)
Box 5			The radio trouble finder 1926 - "compiled by the staff of Radio News"
Box 5			Radio-craft Feb 1931
Box 5			Radio-craft Jubilee Souvenir Issue 1938, 1987 (2 folders)
Box 5			Radio-Craft Library 1931-1941 - no. 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16, 18-20, 23-25; no. 1 is captioned "Radio Library" (18 volumes in 5 folders)
				No. 1 - Radio set analyzers and how to use them, L. Van der Mel No. 2 - Modern vacuum tubes and how they work, Robert Hertzberg No. 3 - The superheterodyne book, Clyde Fitch No. 4 - Modern radio hook-ups: The best radio circuits, R.D. Washburne No. 6 - Bringing electric sets up to date and modernizing radio receivers, Clifford E. Denton No. 7 - Radio kinks and wrinkles for service men and experimenters, C.W. Palmer No. 8 - Radio questions and answers, R.D. Washburne No. 9 - Automobile radio and servicing, Louis Martin No. 11 - Point-to-point resistance measurements, Clifford E. Denton No. 12 - Public address installation and service, J.T. Bernsley No. 13 - ABC of air conditioning, Paul D. Harrigan No. 14 - Pocket radio guide, N.H. Lessem No. 16 - Practical radio circuits, David Bellare No. 18 - Point-to-point resistance analysis, Bertram M. Freed No. 19 - Practical radio kinks and short cuts, B. Baker Bryant No. 20 - The cathode-ray oscilloscope: Theory and practical applications, Charles Sicuranza No. 23 - Practical public address, B. Baker Bryant No. 24 - Automobile radio principles and practice, B. Baker Bryant
Box 6			Radio-Craft Library 1931-1941 - no. 25-28 (4 volumes)
				No. 25 - Home-made radio test instruments No. 26 - Modern battery radio sets [2 copies] No. 27 - Modern radio servicing technique No. 28 - All about frequency modulation
Box 6			Radio-Craft Library 1946-1947 - no. 30, 35-37; no. 36 is captioned "Gernsback Library"; all titles are "prepared by the editors of Radio-Craft"
				No. 30 - Unusual patented circuits 1944-1946 No. 35 - Amateur radio builder's guide [2 copies] No. 26 - Radio test instruments No. 37 - Elementary radio servicing
Box 6			Radio-Electronics 1973-1981 - miscellaneous issues (2 folders)
Box 6			Radio-Electronics 50th Anniversary Issue 1979 - one as originally issues, one bound as commemorative volume (2 folders)
Box 39			Radio-Electronics tables of contents 1958-1981 - also includes front covers (6 folders)
Box 6			Short wave beginner's book 1933
Box 6			Short wave coil data book 1937
Box 6			Short wave guide 1936
Box 6			Short wave radio quiz book and kinks 1938
Box 6			Telefiction annual 1962 - vol. A, no. 1
Box 6			TV: It's a cinch! E. Aisberg 1957 - front cover has "Gernsback Library No. 62"
Box 6			Wireless blue book 1909-1910
Box 6			Fragments 1916, 1922 - reproductions of scattered pages, instructions for "radiumscope," etc.
Box 7			Uncertain 1927
				Two publications entitled "What radio set shall I buy?" and "The Radio Listener's Monthly Log Book." Publisher for both is The Consrad Co. Inc., but covers and interior are full of ads for other Gernsback publications so these are likely also his publications.
		Miscellaneous
Oversize 1			Artwork circa 1945
				Three original paintings, probably used as cover illustrations. Two are by comic book artist Alex Schomburg and date from the mid to late 1940s; one of these features remote-controlled tanks, the other depicts soldiers operating a "Gernsback television-controlled machine gun." The third is by an unidentified artist, in a more modern style, and depicts hands assembling an unidentified electronic item.
Box 7			Forest Mims 1990 - science writer; includes biographical sketch, photographs, negatives
Box 7			Hands On Electronics cover photos 1984-1989, undated - includes slides, color transparencies (3 folders)
Oversize 3			Historic Gernsback covers - All About Television, Science and Invention, Television News, Wonder Stories; all black-and-white reproductions, no originals
Box 7			Historic Gernsback covers - Amazing Stories, Modern Electrics, etc.; all black-and-white reproductions, no originals (2 folders)
Box 7			Illustrations for unidentified book, apparently about Gernsback - photographs, captions, text, paste-ups, layout pages, etc.
Box 7			Magazines, miscellaneous 1959, 1967
Oversize 3			"The Magic Course" cover layout - likely for a book by Byron Wels; Wels wrote for several Gernsback publications and was apparently also a practicing magician
Box 7			Popular Electronics, Tesla coil circa 1990-1995 - material for article, including photos, layouts, text, correspondence with Bill Evans
Box 7			Popular Electronics, miscellaneous - layouts, photos, etc.
Oversize 3			Popular Electronics, miscellaneous circa 1990-1995 - cover layouts, cover photos, etc.
Box 7			Special Projects (SP) logos - also includes some for "Hands On Electronics"
Box 7			Unidentified layouts, photos, etc.

	Memorabilia
Box 9		Amazing Science Fiction Stories, vol. 34 no. 9 Sep 1960 - contains profile of Gernsback, "Mr. Science Fiction"
Box 38		ARKANDE[?] awards 1957 - photocopies of certificates, in German, of what appear to be personal "Hugos" given by Gernsback; recipients are Clark Darlton (Walter Ernsting) and Erich Pabel Verlag
Box 9		Australian Science Fiction Convention, 3rd 1954 - proceedings, published by Futurian Society of Sydney
		Awards
Box 9			"Budding Electrician" certificate, Carmelite Convent, Luxembourg 1890 - for installing an "electrical bell system, gratis"
Box 9			"Father of Magazine Science Fiction," Science Fiction Fandom 1960 - photographs of special Hugo given to Gernsback at WorldCon
			First Fandom Award
				See Moskowitz, Sam.
Box 9			Helios Foundation 1954 - for "pionnier de l'education sexuelle"; photographs of award
Box 38			Helios Foundation 1953-1954 - issues of their publication Lumiere & Liberte
Box 9			Honorary Membership, Veteran Wireless Operators Association 1945 - VWOA Year Book, with several pages on Gernsback
Oversize 3			Member of Honour, L'Union internationale de la presse radiotechnique et électronique 1966
Box 9			Marconi Memorial Wireless Pioneers Medal, Veteran Wireless Operators Association 1950 - VWOA Year Book, with page on Gernsback
Box 9			Ordre Grand Ducal de la Couronne de Chêne [Order of the Oak Crown], Grand Duchy of Luxembourg 1954 - photoreproductions of certificate, press releases, etc.
Box 9			Radio Industry trophy and testimonial 1953 - includes photographs, program, and congratulatory letters from many significant individuals (e.g. David Sarnoff) (2 folders)
Box 9			Scroll, student engineers at New York University 1950 - program for event at which scroll was presented
Oversize 3			Scroll, student engineers at New York University 1950 - original scroll (matted but badly deteriorated) and reproductions (2 folders)
Box 9			Testimonial Dinner, United Jewish Appeal Electronic Distributors Division 1953 - program, news release, photographs of certificate
Oversize 3			UNIVAC 1964
Box 9		Biographical sketches - by Gernsback and others, including one item in Spanish
Box 9		Blick in die zukunft [Look into the future], Science Fiction Club Deutschland Sep/Oct 1958
		Clippings
			These include clippings from newspapers, Sunday inserts (e.g. American Weekly), magazines, trade journals, etc. Many of the newspaper clippings are essentially duplicates, being copies of syndicated columns that appeared in various newspapers across the country. The majority are American publications, but there are a few items from outside the United States.
Box 9			About Gernsback 1932, 1934, 1943-1953 - (5 folders)
Box 10			About Gernsback 1954-1960 (12 folders)
Box 11			About Gernsback 1960-1967, 1970-1971, 1990 (2 folders)
Box 11			About Gernsback undated - includes articles in Spanish, Swedish, French, and Italian, some with typed translations; typescript of article by Helen V. Tooker with corrections, evidently for a Puerto Rican publication
Oversize 1			About Gernsback 1957-1958, 1963, undated - includes reprint of newspaper[?] article on flying saucers, with Gernsback illustration and reference; feature story on Gernsback in Spanish edition of LIFE from 26 Jul 1963; one-panel color comic illustrating "pop-out TV" from unidentified newspaper
Box 11			About Sidney Gernsback (brother) 1953
Box 11			Miscellaneous
Oversize 1			Miscellaneous 1965 - photoreproduction of New York Times headline and photo about Russian spacewalk
Box 11		Engineering Society of Detroit, 19th annual meeting 1955
Box 11		Fantasy Times [fanzine] 1955-1956 - two issues that mention Gernsback
Box 11		Future Science Fiction Apr 1959 - includes editorial "Yesterday's World of Tomorrow" that discusses Gernsback and his novel Ralph 124C 41+
Box 11		Golden Atom [fanzine] 1955 - signed and inscribed to Gernsback by editor Larry Farsace
Oversize 1		"Great Prophet in Christmas Cards" - large-scale reprint of article about Gernsback by Clark Kinnaird, from King Features Syndicate; possibly a sales/marketing item targeted at local newspapers
Box 11		Guest book, "WRNY, the radio news magazine station" 1927-1928
Box 11		Henry Ford Museum 1957 - flier and reservation form for appearance by Gernsback
			See also Writings : Speeches : Fifty years hence, Henry Ford Museum.
Box 11		"Hugo Gernsback: Father of science fiction" by Sam Moskowitz 1959 - published by Criterion Linotype as "a birthday card to Hugo Gernsback"
Box 11		Kablegram No. 1 1958 - cover story, "Hugo Gernsback: 50 years as a publishing pioneer"
Box 11		Obituaries, Gernsback 1967
Box 11		The Original Science Fiction Stories Jan 1958 - contains poem by Isaac Asimov, criticizing "New Wave" science fiction and referencing Gernsback
		Photographs
Box 11			Gernsback - Gernsback as child, young man; at home, at work, at various events; Gernsback family home in Luxembourg (2 folders)
Oversize 3			Gernsback - Gernsback as young man; at work
Oversize 1			Gernsback, formal portrait
Oversize 4, 5			Gernsback and related - series of approximately 60 photographs, numbered and with detailed captions, covering Gernsback's life and career; many are stamped "Return to Harvey Gernsback" or "H. GERNSBACK"; some are stamped "USED IN LIFE JUL 26 1963" referring to a story on pp. 62-68 of that issue, entitled "Barnum of the Space Age: Amazing Hugo Gernsback and his space age scientific prophecies"
				See also Clippings : About Gernsback in Oversize 1 above.
Oversize 6			Electro Importing Company 1910-1911 - "the first and original radio store in the world"; appear to be those used in advertising broadside, above
Box 11		Pins - lapel pins for Radio League, Short Wave League
Oversize 1		"Plan de Situation des terrains Gernsbacher M. & C.ie" undated - diagram of area of Luxembourg near the Place Adolphe and Boulevard de la Haute-Petrusse
Box 12		Radio Club of America Diamond Jubilee Year Book 1984 - bound volume
Oversize 8		Radio Club of America Fellowship award 1975 - large plaque, M. Harvey Gernsback
Oversize 1		Radio station license KE2XSX 1956 - photoreproductions of license to operate experimental station at Kingsbridge Armory in New York City, in connection with demonstration of early radio equipment for annual meeting of Institute of Radio Engineers
Box 12		Radio-Electronics 75th Anniversary 1983 - includes commemorative reprint of vol. 1, no. 1
Oversize 7		Scrapbook 1931-1935, 1951, 1967 - mostly clippings, some newsletters and other printed items (1 volume)
Box 12		Society of Wireless Pioneers Year Book 1973
Box 12		"Tell Tale Tail Lamp" invention 1907, 1909 - sketch, notarized description
Box 12		Trieste film festival catalog 1963 - exhibit catalog from first "Festival internazionale del film di fantascienza"
Box 12		Utopia Sonderband, no. 1 1955 - dedicated to Gernsback, signed by Walter Ernsting
Box 12		Utopia Sonderband, no. 2 [1955?] - contains article by Walter Ernsting, "Hugo Gernsback, der Vater der Science Fiction" and reproduction of signed/inscribed photograph on inside cover
Oversize 13		Miscellaneous artifact - homemade microphone, or detector of some sort?
			(1) Hollow brass tube mounted on stand, swivels up and down, similar to a table microphone stand; and (2) clear acrylic rod with large circular metal piece on the end. The two pieces are connected by two wires. One end of each wire is affixed to the brass tube. The other end of one is soldered to the circular metal piece; the other wire ends in a small alligator clip.
Oversize 14		Miscellaneous artifacts (18 items)
			(A) Discs (4) of unidentified material, approximately 3" in diameter (B) Discs (2) of similar unidentified material, broken (C) Vacuum tubes (2) with different interior structures; one on 2-prong base, the other with cloth-wrapped wires protruding (D) Metal disc with 2 strips of conductive tape [?] (E) Metal item, 4" long, label reads "Amperex Radiation counter GC151N" (F) Miscellaneous small loose items (6) (G) Disc of some sort of translucent plastic (H) Wax cylinder in wooden case labeled ELECTRO IMPORTING Co. NEW YORK
Oversize 15		Miscellaneous artifacts (5 items)
			(A) Discs (2) of similar unidentified material, approximately 8" in diameter (B) Homemade circuit board (C) Broken piece of disc similar to item A (D) Box labeled "ELECTRET COMPOUND A Mfg. by Geo. A. Miel, Co. Inc. Box 263 Lyndhurst, New Jersey," containing two blocks of the material

	Subject files
		The vast majority of material in this series consists of photographs, either original or reproductions. Many have detailed typed captions. There are also drawings, sketches, color positives and negatives, a few slides, and scattered pieces of product literature, correspondence, and clippings. Titles in this series are those given on the original folders; in the case of unlabelled folders or loose material, titles supplied during processing are indicated by square brackets [ ].
Box 12		Amplifiers
Box 12		Ancient TVs and radios (2 folders)
Box 12		[Animals] - mostly cats
Box 12		Antennas
Box 12		Antennas, radio
Box 13		Antennas, transmitting (2 folders)
Box 38		Antennas, transmitting
Box 13		Antennas, TV
Box 13		Atoms
Box 13		Audio, general
Box 13		Auto electronics (2 folders)
Box 13		Automation
Box 13		Batteries, dry and storage
Box 13		Betatron
Box 13		Biographies - brief bios of significant individuals, e.g. John Ambrose Fleming, David Sarnoff, etc.
Box 13		Biological [empty folder]
Box 13		Boating radio
Box 13		Broadcasting
Box 13		Burglar alarms
Box 13		Capacitors
Box 13		Carborundum
Box 13		Careers
Box 14		Careers
Box 14		[Cars] - includes slides
Box 14		CDs
Box 14		Censorship 1941-1943, 1946 - clippings, correspondence, etc; includes request from US military to classify photographs of Klystron (specialized linear-beam vacuum tube)
Box 14		Charts
Box 14		Chemicals
Box 14		Citizens band [CB] radio (2 folders)
Box 14		[Clocks]
Box 14		Communications [empty folder]
Box 14		Components
Box 14		Computing devices
Box 14		Controls, elect. precision
Box 14		CRT tubes [cathode-ray tubes]
			See also Tubes, C-R.
Box 14		Crystals
Box 14		de Forest [Lee] - photographs
Box 15		de Forest [Lee] - photographs, clippings, correspondence (2 folders)
Box 15		Depth sounders
Box 15		Digital instruments
Box 15		Dolby
Box 15		Electrets
Box 15		Electron microscope
Box 15		Electronic ignition
Box 15		Facsimile [fax machines]
Box 15		Fiber optics
Box 15		Fuel cells
Box 15		Future transportation
Box 15		[Games, computer]
Box 15		Geiger counters
Box 15		Gizmos
Box 15		Gould [Leslie]
Box 15		Halley's Comet
Box 16		Historical photos (3 folders)
Box 16		History of TV - includes corporate publications from RCA (3 folders)
Box 16		IC digital clock - includes correspondence with Larry Steckler
Box 16		Integrated circuits
Box 16		Jules Verne medal
Box 16		Lasers
Box 16		Light beam transmission
Box 16		Logic lab
Box 16		LTD Motor Services 1952-1955 - relates to car radios
Box 16		Manipulators
Box 16		MATV [Master Antenna] systems - includes product literature from various companies including RCA and Winegard (2 folders)
Box 17		MATV [Master Antenna] systems - includes product literature from various companies including RCA and Winegard (2 folders)
Box 17		Medical electronics
Box 17		Metal detectors and mine locators
Box 17		Microphones
Box 17		Microwave cooking
Box 17		Microwave equipment
Box 17		Mobile radio
Box 17		Moon photos
Box 17		Moon radio
Box 17		Music
Box 17		Old equipment - drawings and line art only, no photographs
Box 17		Oscilloscopes
Box 38		Oscilloscopes
Box 17		Patents [Gernsback]
Box 17			Hydraulic fishery 1955
Box 17			Physiophone/Osophone 1912, [1924?]
Box 17			Tandem bottle closure
Box 17		Patents [others] - mostly various bottle tops, presumably research for his own patent above
Box 17		Philharmonic Hall
Box 17		Photography
Box 17		Portraits, A-B - various individuals significant in the radio, television, and electronics industries
Box 18		Portraits, C-Z, unidentified, and groups - various individuals significant in the radio, television, and electronics industries (6 folders)
Box 18		Printed circuits
Box 18		Proximity fuses
Box 18		Public address systems
Box 18		Radar ovens
Box 18		Radar, LORAN [long range navigation]
Box 38		Radar, LORAN [long range navigation]
Box 18		Radio, car
			See also LTD Motor Services, above.
Box 18		Radio history - clippings
Box 19		Radio history - clippings (5 folders)
Box 19		Radio history - photographs (2 folders)
Box 19		Radio meteorology
Box 19		Radio parts and accessories (2 folders)
Box 19		Radio receivers (3 folders)
Box 20		Radio repair shops
Box 20		Radio schools
Box 20		Readouts
Box 20		Recorders, tape or wire (2 folders)
Box 20		[Recording]
Box 20		Recording studio
Box 20		Rectifiers
Box 20		Relays
Box 20		Remote control rockets
Box 20		Resistors
Box 20		Satellites
Box 20		SATV [satellite television]
Box 20		Service shops
Box 20		Signal Corps
Box 20		Snooperscope
Box 20		Sound
Box 20		Speakers (4 folders)
Box 20		Sputnik I
Box 21		Stereo
Box 21		Technicians and tech. assoc.
Box 21		Telegraphy
Box 21		Telemetering and remote control
Box 21		Telephones
		[Television]
			See folders starting with "TV" below.
Box 21		Tesla, Nikola - photographs and clippings (2 folders)
Box 21		Test equipment (5 folders)
Box 21		Test equipment, industrial lab
Box 22		Test equipment, industrial lab
Box 22		Test equipment, servicing (5 folders)
Box 22		Test instruments (2 folders)
Box 22		Thermo-electricity
Box 22		Tools (2 folders)
Box 22		Toys
Box 22		Transistors
Box 23		Transmitter equipment (3 folders)
Box 23		Transmitters, broadcast AM/FM
Box 23		Tubes
Box 23		Tubes, C-R (2 folders)
			See also CRT tubes [cathode-ray tubes].
Box 23		Tubes, industrial
Box 23		Tubes, receiving (2 folders)
Box 23		Tubes, special
Box 23		Tubes, transmitting (2 folders)
Box 24		Tuners
Box 24		Turntables
Box 24		[TV cameras]
Box 24		TV color history (2 folders)
Box 24		TV components (2 folders)
Box 24		TV GE [General Electric]
Box 24		TV industrial
Box 24		TV patterns and call letters
Box 24		TV raster troubles (3 folders)
Box 24		TV receiver boosters
Box 25		TV scope patterns (3 folders)
Box 25		TV sets
Box 25		TV test patterns
Box 25		TV tubes
Box 25		Ultrasonics
Box 25		VHF
Box 25		Video, ancient
Box 25		Video cassette recorders [VCRs] - includes product information from manufacturers (2 folders)
Box 38		Video cassette recorders [VCRs] - includes product information from manufacturers
Box 26		Video disc systems - includes product information from manufacturers (3 folders)
Box 38		Video disc systems - includes product information from manufacturers
Box 26		Video tape recorders
Box 26		Visie-Talkie - one of Gernsbacks "April Fool" items
Box 26		Voice of America
Box 26		Wamoscope [WAve-MOdulated oscilloSCOPE]
Box 26		Wave form photos (3 folders)
Box 26		X-ray
Box 26		[Unidentified photos, negatives, etc.] (3 folders)

	Writings
Box 27		List of Gernsback publications - spanning 1908-1953, includes "one-shots"
		Articles
Box 27			Amazing Stories editorials 1926-1929 - first folder has list of dates/titles; formats include originals, reproductions, and photocopies (3 folders)
Box 27			Amazing Stories guest editorial 1961
Box 27			Atom-electronics 1954 - includes clippings from publication in Turkish and German papers
Box 27			Atomelectronics in 1980 1955 - includes reprint of editorial along with clipping of publication in Radio Times of India
Box 27			Atomic energy and radio, in Radio-Craft Oct 1945
Box 27			Atomic gun in 1915, in Radio-Electronics 1945 - reprint of 1915 editorial with added commentary
Box 27			The automobile of the future, in Motor Critic vol. IV No. 2 1955 - related to Gernsback's speech to the Engineering Society of Detroit
Box 27			Berlin to New York in less than one hour, in Everyday Science and Mechanics Nov 1931
Box 27			Call the teledoctor, in The American Weekly 6 Mar 1955
Box 27			Can we radio the moon? 1946 - reprint of 1927 editorial with added commentary
Box 27			Crystron lapel radio (writing as Mohammed Fips), in Radio-Craft Apr 1947
Box 27			Electric gyro-cruiser, in Electrical Experimenter Feb 1916
Box 27			Electrical Experimenter editorials 1915-1920 - first folder has list of dates/titles; formats include originals, reproductions, and photocopies (3 folders)
Box 27			Electricity and gold fishes, in Electrical Experimenter Dec 1917
Box 27			Electro-magnetic brakes for aeroplanes, in Electrical Experimenter Jun 1918
Box 27			Electrocuting whales, in Practical Electrics Jul 1924
Box 27			Electronic alarms, in Radio Times of India Dec 1955
Box 27			The electronic duel, in Esquire May 1955
Box 27			Electronic test paper 1963 - typescript with corrections
Box 27			Everyday Science and Mechanics editorials 1930-1936 - first folder has list of dates/titles; formats include originals, reproductions, and photocopies (3 folders)
Box 27			La exploracion de Marte, in Más Allá (Argentina) vol. 2 no. 15 Aug 1954 - full issue and copies of cover art
Box 27			Express super-liner, in Everyday Science and Mechanics Oct 1933
Box 27			Extra service, in Radioman Feb 1954
Box 27			The flame tank, in Everyday Science and Mechanics Jan 1936
Box 27			Forty years of home radio, in Radio-Craft Jan 1945
Box 27			Fifty years of home radio, in Radio-Electronics Mar 1956 - reprint
Box 27			Have you a white elephant on your hands? In Swap & Sell Mar 1938
Box 27			Hearing through the teeth, in Science and Invention Nov 1923
Box 27			How to feed 10 billion people May 1953 - clippings from various US newspapers
Box 27			How long do books last? - typescript
Box 27			The hypnotone, in Everyday Science and Mechanics Apr 1934
Box 27			Inventions wanted [1960?] - typescript drafts; also includes booklet with same title from National Inventors Council
Box 27			Magnesium paper substitute [1955] - typescript; rejection note from Coronet magazine
Oversize 1			Magnesium paper substitute - mounted illustrations for article
Box 28			The magnetic storm, in Electrical Experimenter Aug 1918
Box 28			Making the most of the moon, in American Weekly Dec 1952
Box 28			Man vs moon Jun 1961 - handwritten draft
Box 28			Miracle from the sea, in Family Weekly 11 Sep 1960 - handwritten draft; published clipping
Box 28			Monstrous machines of the next war, in Everyday Mechanics Oct 1934
Box 28			New Ideas editorials Nov 1937 - vol. 1 no. 1 only
Box 28			Nikola Tesla, father of wireless, in Radio-Craft Feb 1943
Box 28			The not-so-mighty human race 1954
Box 28			Official Martian report, AD 2222 - typescript
Box 28			One hundred years hence, in Everyday Science and Mechanics Sep 1932
Box 28			Our airships cannot be moored to skyscrapers, in Everyday Science and Mechanics May 1932
Box 28			Our feeble senses, in Science Digest Apr 1954
Box 28			The Physiophone, in Electrical Experimenter Apr 1920
Box 28			Probleme der Farben-TV [Problems of color tv], in Radio Service 1954
Box 28			PsItTaFaCtS 1962 - handwritten draft, noted as "for Journal of the Institute of Twenty-First Century Studies"
Box 28			The Radio League of America, in Electrical Experimenter Dec 1915 - reprint
Box 28			Radio News editorials 1919-1929 - first folder has list of dates/titles; formats include originals, reproductions, and photocopies (2 folders)
Box 28			Radio & Television editorials 1940-1941 - first folder has list of dates/titles; formats include originals, reproductions, and photocopies (2 folders)
				See Writings by others : Radio & Television editorials for 1939 items.
Box 28			The radio-controlled television plane, in The Experimenter Nov 1924
Box 28			Radio-Craft editorials 1929-1942 - first folder has list of dates/titles; formats include originals, reproductions, and photocopies (6 folders)
Box 29			Radio-Craft editorials 1943-1948 - formats include originals, reproductions, and photocopies (2 folders)
Box 29			Radio-Electronics $1400 prize contest 1964? - handwritten draft
Box 29			Radio-Electronics April Fool articles 1952, 1954-1955, 1957-1958, 1960-1965, undated - handwritten drafts, clippings of published versions; some also have related clippings, photographs, etc. (12 folders)
Box 29			Radio-Electronics editorials 1948-1956 - handwritten drafts, clippings of published versions; some also have related clippings, photographs, etc. (13 folders)
Box 30			Radio-Electronics editorials 1957-1962 - handwritten drafts, clippings of published versions; some also have related clippings, photographs, etc. (16 folders)
Box 31			Radio-Electronics editorials 1963-1965, undated - handwritten drafts, clippings of published versions; some also have related clippings, photographs, etc. (9 folders)
Box 31			Radioelectronics in 1980, in Radio-Electronics Jul 1954 - 25th anniversary of magazine
Box 31			Recent aerial developments, in Electrical Experimenter Jun 1919
Box 31			Richtung elektronik - junger Mann! [Go electronic, young man!],in Radio Service 1952
Box 31			Round trip to the moon, in American Weekly Apr 1955
Box 31			Science fiction plus editorials 1952-1953 - handwritten drafts, typed drafts, clippings of published versions
Box 31			Science fiction that endures 1961 - handwritten draft, noted as written for the 35th anniversary of Amazing Stories
Box 31			Science and Invention editorials 1920-1929 - first folder has list of dates/titles; reproductions and photocopies (4 folders)
Box 38			Science and Invention editorials 1920-1929 - originals
Oversize 3			Science and Invention editorials 1921, 1924, undated - reproductions only
Box 31			Science Wonder Quarterly editorials 1929 - list and vol. 1 no. 1 only
Box 31			Science Wonder Stories editorials 1929-1930 - first folder has list of dates/titles; formats include originals, reproductions, and photocopies (3 folders)
Box 31			Se construiran baterias atomicas y opacaran era de la electricidad [Atomic batteries will be built and the age of electricity will be overshadowed], in Venezuelan newspaper 13 May 1954
Box 31			A sensational radio invention, in Transistor Research Bulletin Jun 1954 - reprint of 1924 editorial with added commentary
Box 32			Sex publishing 1958 - typescript, noted as "article for Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior"
Box 32			Sexology articles 1952, 1954-1955, 1958, 1961-1963 - most are handwritten drafts, no published items; includes several film reviews (11 folders)
				Articles are: Announcing intimate questions (1963); Congolese rape of the Belgians (1961); Genealogy of Sexology (1955); Hands (1958); Last Year at Marienbad [review] (1962); Lolita [review] (1962); Male sexual decline (1952); Sex psychosemantomania (1954); Sodom and Gomorrah [review] (1963); A study in vicarious sex (1962). There is also one folder of article ideas.
Box 32			Short Wave Craft editorials 1930-1936 - first folder has list of dates/titles; formats include originals, reproductions, and photocopies (3 folders)
			Short Wave and Television editorials
				See Writings by others : Short Wave and Television guest editorials
Box 32			Signaling to Mars, in Modern Electrics 1909
Box 32			Suspended gravitation, in Electrical Experimenter Feb 1920
Box 32			Technocracy Review editorials 1933
Box 32			Television editorials 1928 - vol. 1 no. 2 only; reproduction
Box 32			Television News editorials 1931-1933 - includes list of dates/titles; formats include originals, reproductions, and photocopies
Box 32			Television and the telephot, in Modern Electrics Dec 1909
Box 32			Television in USA, in Radio Service [in German] 1952
Box 32			Two-wheeled autos, in American Weekly Nov 1955
Box 32			Vest-pocket seven-tube superhetero-ultradyne (writing as Mohammed Fips), in Radio-Craft May 1933
Box 32			Westinghouse recollections, in Engineering Contours vol. 5 no. 1 Jan 1960 - includes full issue
Box 32			What is sex? in Esquire May 1956
Box 32			[Why I forecast the future] [1960?] - reprinted in 2 holiday advertising booklets from Knoxville Journal and Providence Journal
Box 32			Wonder Stories editorials 1930-1936 - includes list of dates/titles; formats include originals, reproductions, and photocopies (3 folders)
Box 32			Wonder Stories Quarterly editorials 1930-1933 - first folder has list of dates/titles; formats include originals and photocopies (3 folders)
Box 33			A writing machine that responds to the voice, in Electrical Experimenter Apr 1916
Box 33			Unidentified editorials circa 1945
		Books
Box 33			Collected works of Mohammed Ulysses Fips 1986
Box 33			Experimental electricity course, with H.W. Secor 1916
Box 33			Experimental electricity course, with H.W. Secor 1918
Box 33			Experimental electricity course, with H.W. Secor 1919
Box 33			Ralph 124C 41+, first edition 1925 - hardback, published by The Stratford Company (Boston)
Box 33			Ralph 124C 41+, second edition, US 1950 - hardback, published by Frederick Fell (New York); forewords by Lee de Forest and Fletcher Pratt
Box 33			Ralph 124C 41+, second edition, UK 1950 - paperback, published by Fantasy Books / Withy Grove Press (London)
Box 33			Ralph 124C 41+, Utopia-Großband Nr. 52 1957 - digest-size German publication, with forewords by Forrest Ackerman, Walter Ernsting, and Gernsback; includes extra covers and note from Walter Ernsting, "Please sign the books and forward to Forry [Forrest Ackerman]. Keep the covers for own use. WE."
Box 33			Ralph 124C 41+, Crest edition 1958 - paperback, published by Fawcett World Library (Chicago); foreword by Fletcher Pratt
Box 34			Ralph 124C 41+ 1911 - reprints of excerpts as published in Modern Electrics
Box 34			Ralph 124C 41+ - photoreproductions of illustrations
Box 34			Ralph 124C 41+ - preface to second edition; handwritten draft and typescript
Box 34			Wireless course, with A. Lescarboura and H.W. Secor 1915 - red softcover
Box 34			Wireless course, with A. Lescarboura and H.W. Secor 1915 - blue hardcover, bound upside-down
Box 34			Wireless course, with A. Lescarboura and H.W. Secor 1921 - red hardcover
Box 34			Wireless course, 12th edition, with A. Lescarboura and H.W. Secor 1923 - black softcover
Box 34			The wireless telephone, 1st edition 1910 - dark blue hardcover
Box 34			The wireless telephone, 2nd edition 1911 - beige paper covers; includes reproduced front matter pages
		Forecast
			Forecast was Gernsback's annual holiday booklet, in which he laid out his science and technology predictions for the coming year. These were often covered in newspapers and magazines, with varying degrees of seriousness (see Memorabilia : Clippings about Gernsback, above). For most years, the material includes handwritten drafts, photographs, clippings used as reference, layouts, and final published booklets.
Box 34			Forecast 1952-1955 (4 folders)
Box 35			Forecast 1956-1966 (11 folders)
Box 38			Forecast 1966 - layout material (photos, illustrations, etc.)
		Forewords and prefaces
Box 35			Illustrated Sex Atlas, "The reason for this book" 1962 - handwritten draft
Box 35			Television [book] 1927
		Letters to the editor - all clippings, unless otherwise noted
Box 35			Advertising Age, on pay television Jun 1955
Box 35			LIFE, on the mechanical bed Dec 1945
Box 35			Newsweek, on mooring of dirigibles Jul 1951
Box 35			Popular Science, on electric harpoon Apr 1953
Box 35			Scientific Monthly, on the Schuss-yucca Nov 1952
Box 35			Twilight Zine (MIT SF Society) 1961 - handwritten draft only
Box 35			Unasked Opinion (FAPA #62) 1952 - includes transcription of Gernsback's speech at WorldCon X
		Manuals
Oversize 9			Official auto-radio service manual [and] complete directory of all automobile radio receivers, full installation and service guide 1935 - edited and published by Gernsback
Oversize 9			Official radio service manual and complete directory of all commercial wiring diagrams [1931?] - edited and published by Gernsback; includes several supplements
Oversize 10			Official radio service manual [and] complete directory of all 1931-1932 radio receivers 1932 - edited and published by Gernsback; includes several supplements
Oversize 11			Official radio service manual [and] complete directory of all 1933-1934 radio receivers 1934 - edited and published by Gernsback
Oversize 11			Official radio service manual [and] complete directory of all 1934-1935 radio receivers 1935 - edited and published by Gernsback
Oversize 12			Official short-wave radio manual: Complete experimenter's set building and servicing guide [and] full directory of all short wave receivers 1935 - edited and published by Gernsback
		Poetry and music
Oversize 3			Rǒd, Weis, Blo: Marche Luxembourgeoise 1901-1903 - published sheet music, reproductions, related clippings
Oversize 1			Rǒd, Weis, Blo: Marche Luxembourgeoise [1901-1903] - published sheet music (damaged)
Box 35			Spring poem [humorous] 1907 - typescript carbon
		Speeches
Box 35			Concrete science fiction, Eastern Science Fiction Association 1961-1962 - typescript and 2 copies as published in Telefiction Annual
Box 35			Evolution of radio, Radio Club of America 1960 - as printed in their Proceedings
Box 35			Fifty years hence, Henry Ford Museum 5 Apr 1957 - typescript
Box 35			"Ford Museum slides" 5 Apr 1957 - presumably accompanied speech
Box 35			Future of radio, RCA Institute 19 Dec 1930 - typescript carbon
Box 35			Future of radioelectronics, Purchasing Agents Association 12 Apr 1955 - typed draft with corrections
Box 36			Future transportation, Engineering Society of Detroit 1955 - handwritten draft, typescript, related clippings
Box 36			Impact of science fiction on world progress, WorldCon X 1952 - typescript
Box 36			[Lescarboura testimonial dinner] 1961 - handwritten draft, typescript carbon
Box 40			"NYU slides" Apr 1958 - lantern slides, presumably from a speech at New York University
Box 36			Prophets of doom, MIT Science Fiction Society 1963 - typescript
Box 36			Science fiction vs reality, MIT Science Fiction Society 1960 - typescript, galley proofs, illustrative photographs
Box 36			Your electronic future, National Electronic Distributors Association 1958 - typescript, typescript carbon
		Stories
Box 36			Scientific adventures of Baron Munchausen - original pages from serialization in Amazing Stories, with handmade cover
Box 36			Scientific adventures of Baron Munchausen - photocopied set
Box 36			Scientific adventures of Baron Munchausen - reproductions of scattered pages
		Miscellaneous
Box 36			Christmas magazines 1944-1946, 1949, 1966 - humorous annual publications, e.g. Radio-Cracy, Quip, Newspeek
Box 36			Documentation of the learn-while-you-sleep method 1950 - printed brochure, illustrative photograph
Box 36			Evolution of modern science fiction 1952 - typescript drafts, published booklet; appears to be a bibliography of science fiction stories published in Gernsback's various magazines
Box 36			Inventing as a business 1933 - typescript with printed cover
Box 36			Know yourself: Life mysteries explained 1938-1939 - Gernsback was presumably the editor (4 issues in 2 folders)
Box 36			Letter announcing new magazine 1961 - handwritten draft; magazine described as digest of science for the layman
Box 36			"Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction" endorsement Sep 1957 - printed on inside front cover; 2 copies of full issue
Box 36			Radio-Electronics news releases - written in third person, but as Gernsback was the editor and owner these are considered to be by him
Box 36			Science Fiction Plus 1952 - humorous/parody booklet
Box 37			Space travel: When and how 1953 - survey by Gerry de la Ree of "leading men of science and science fiction"; Gernsback is named as contributor
Box 37			The wireless screech 1909-1910 - parody magazine
Box 37			Miscellaneous - notes, fragments, etc.
		Writings by others
Box 38			Dunninger, Joseph, "The art of thought reading" 1956 - 2 printed copies; Dunninger wrote for Science and Invention, among other monthly magazines; and some of his books (though not this one) were published by Gernsback
Box 37			Fitch, Clyde, "The staccatone" 1924 - includes second article on same topic, with no byline
Box 37			Gibbs, Angelica, "Inertrum, neutronium, chromaloy, p-p-p-proot" 1943 - reproduction of original New Yorker article, and several photoreproductions of a title page or cover indicating it was reprinted "compliments of Hugo Gernsback"
Box 37			Herrold, Charles D., "90 miles with a one inch coil" in Modern Electrics
Box 37			Kazantsev, Aleksandr, Пылающий остров [Burning Island] 1939 - Russian edition hardback; signed and inscribed on title page to Gernsback as "father of modern science fiction"
Box 37			Marlowe, A.C., "Wave form apparatus," in Modern Electrics - includes letter to editor (i.e., Gernsback) about hearing earthquake through radio
Box 37			Moskowitz, Sam, "The origin of the term science fiction" Feb 1957 - reprinted by Gernsback as small booklet; originally appeared in Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction
Box 37			Pomeroy, Wardell, "An analysis of questions on sex" 1960 - reprint from The Psychological Record; used letters to Gernsback's magazine Sexology as its data set
Box 37			Radio & Television guest editorials 1939 - original clippings; authors are Dubilier, McNinch, Girardeau, Beverage
Box 37			Short Wave & Television guest editorials 1937 - list of titles and original clippings; authors are Sarnoff, de Forest, Horn, Zworykin, Hogan, Reinartz, Goldsmith, von Ardenne, Farnsworth, Baird
Box 37			Steckler, Larry, "Solder joint removal" undated - typescript drafts of chapter 3 of How to Build Anything Electronic
Box 37			Wolff, Th. [Thomas], "Can man free himself from gravity?" undated - photocopy; translated from the German and published in Science Wonder Stories
Box 37			Unknown, "Electronics Industry Hall of Fame" circa 1990 - typescript (computer printout) draft, consisting of bios of numerous members of the EIHF (3 folders)

Return to top