Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	National University Continuing Education Association (U.S.)
Title:	National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA) Records
Inclusive Dates:	1980-1996
Quantity:	11.75 linear ft.
Abstract:	Administrative files, conference materials, interviews, and publications of NUCEA, an adult education organization.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA) was originally formed in 1915 as the National University Extension Association (NUEA). NUEA's focus was originally on establishing standards for correspondence schools and distance education, though its scope expanded considerably through the years. When it shifted to a division structure and gained 501(c)(3) nonprofit status in the 1950s, correspondence study was only one of five charter units. In 1980 NUEA reorganized itself away from the division structure to a more national focus; to reflect this, the name was changed to the National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA). In 1996 the word "National" was dropped as membership had expanded internationally, and the name became University Continuing Education Association (UCEA). In 2010 the word "Professional" was added to reflect members who were new to higher education, and the name became University Professional and Continuing Education Association (UPCEA). In 2024 this title was dropped and the initialism, UPCEA, became the official name of the organization.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA) Records contains administrative files, conference materials, interviews, publications, and a small number of miscellaneous items of NUCEA. The majority of original folder titles were retained.

Administrative files include financial materials, memos, minutes, reports, forms, directories, agendas, guidelines, handbooks, proposals, drafts, surveys, by-laws, and correspondence. Subseries include Committees, Directories, Divisions, Regional reports, and Miscellaneous. Committees are involved in governance, are grouped into administrative or special cohorts, and tend to focus on the association as a whole. Divisions are more specialized sectors of the organization aligned with a practical aspect, or specific association function, in the continuing education field.

Conference materials includes programs, proceedings, correspondence, evaluations, speaker biographies, seminars, and presentations from NUCEA annual, divisional, and regional gatherings. [Also contains program and session recordings on audio cassette tapes.]

Interviews contains transcripts, audio recordings, and 1 videotape of an oral history project on past presidents.

Publications includes journals (Continuum and Continuing Higher Education Review), other serials, brochures, newsletters (NUCEA News), a book, and miscellaneous materials.

Miscellaneous contains a telecommunication/distance education project, a poster, program tapes, and NUCEA materials made for the continuing education field.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

This collection is arranged alphabetically. The majority of original folder titles were retained.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Lifelong Learning Trends: A Profile of Continuing Higher Education, 2nd and 4th edition; Challenges for Continuing Higher Education Leadership series: Global Interdependence-Issues and Opportunities, The Transformation of Rural America, and Economic Development in a Multicultural Society; Innovations in Continuing Education, Award-Winning New Programs series, 1982, 1984-1996 - all three periodicals transferred to serial department for cataloging. They are accessible via Libraries Search .

See also the University Continuing Education Association (UCEA) Records, the National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records, and the Alexander N. Charters Papers.

In addition, Special Collections Research Center has dozens of manuscript collections relating to adult education, both of individuals and organizations. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Interview release forms, tapes, and transcripts and 4 U-matic program tapes, gift of Hilton T. Bonniwell [Past President], 1990.

Publications, videotapes, and conference audio cassettes, gift of the National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA), 1995.

Bulk of collection, gift of University Continuing Education Association (UCEA), 1997-1998, 2007, 2010.

Some items, gift of University of Wisconsin [Madison]-Extension, 1994.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 4 Feb 2010
Revision history: 1 Jul 2024 - collection fully processed (JDW); 18 Sep 2024 - media inventory updated (JDW)

Return to top

Inventory

	Administrative files
		Committees
Box 1			Advisory committee on organizational issue publications series 1992-1995 - includes correspondence, a guide for authors, and 1993, 1995 issues
Box 1			Awards and honors committee publications 1985-1995 (3 folders)
Box 1			Board subcommittee on organizational structure final report 1992
			Committee on guidelines and standards for continuing education (CGSCE) [formerly committee on liaison for accrediting and standards in continuing education (CLASCE)]
Box 1				Guidelines for assessment and evaluation of instructional programs 1990 - a collaborative document; includes drafts, reviews, comments, and correspondence (5 folders)
Box 1				Standards of good practice document 1985 - compilation of resources for NUCEA member institutions
Box 1			Long-range planning committee 1981-1982 - devised NUCEA’s strategic plan for the 1980s
Box 2			Long-range planning committee 1981-1982 - includes drafts, meeting minutes, correspondence, and reports (6 folders)
Box 2			NUCEA archives and history 1989-1990 - includes materials on the oral history past president project, correspondence, reports, and NUEA materials (2 folders)
				See also Interviews.
Box 23			NUCEA archives and history undated (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: nucea_192)
Box 2			Strategic planning committee, strategic directions for NUCEA 1991
			Professional development committee
Box 2				Files 1989-1996 - meeting minutes and notes, correspondence, brochures, surveys, and an internship program (2 folders)
Box 24				The competent continuing educator, tape 1 undated (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: nucea_199)
Box 24				The competent continuing educator, tape 2 undated (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: nucea_200)
		Directories
Box 2			Association handbook 1987
Box 2			Black professionals in continuing higher education directory 1989, 1991
Box 2			Division of educational telecommunications, distance education directory 1988-1989
Box 3			Handbooks and directories of NUCEA 1982-1986 (2 folders)
Box 3			Inventory of diversity programs and services in continuing higher education 1993
			Membership
Box 3				Directories 1987-1991 (4 folders)
Box 4				Directories 1991-1995 (5 folders)
Box 4				Division of educational telecommunications 1991-1992
Box 4				Division of independent study 1990-1991, 1993-1996
Box 4				Division of international education 1993
Box 5				Division of summer, evening, and off-campus credit programs 1992
Box 5			Professional development handbook 1990
Box 5			Resource directories 1989 - from the division of career counseling, advisement, and adult student services, and region 7
		Divisions
Box 5			Community development and services 1981-1985, 1990 - handbook, draft paper, brochure, and awards materials
			Continuing education for the professions, historical binder
Box 5				Awards programs 1984-1993
Box 5				Bylaws and correspondence 1986, 1989-1990, 1992
Box 5				Conference programs 1986-1988, 1990-1993
Box 5				Executive committee 1986-1993
Box 5				Meeting minutes 1984-1992 (3 folders)
Box 5				Newsletters 1985-1993 (2 folders)
Box 6				Reports, grants, surveys, and membership 1985-1987, 1990
Box 6			Environmental health and safety programs, course catalog 1991-1992
Box 23			Information services, awards competition winners 1985-1986 (U-matic; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_193)
			Marketing and promotion
Box 6				4th annual strategic marketing planning awards competition 1994
Box 6				Awards for excellence in strategic marketing planning 1996
Box 6				Binder of materials 1991-1996 - includes conference materials, correspondence, division meetings and minutes, evaluations, forms, surveys, and publications (8 folders)
Box 24				Division awards 1985-1987 (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: nucea_201)
Box 24				Division awards 1988 (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: nucea_202)
Box 7			Miscellaneous brochures undated
Box 7			Miscellaneous newsletters 1992-1993
		Regional reports
Box 7			Region 2 report 1996 - meeting minutes, correspondence, and newsletter drafts
Box 7			Region 4 membership attitudes and perceptions study 1986
			Region 4 secretary’s reports - types of materials include meetings and minutes, agendas, correspondence, memos, and reports
Box 7				Board of directors and executive materials 1986-1993 - includes trustee retreat, treasurer's report, and strategic directions
Box 7				Business meetings 1987-1993 (3 folders)
Box 7				By-laws and guidelines 1985, 1987-1989 - includes secretary's role and responsibilities document
Box 7				Committee materials 1991-1993 - includes awards programs and membership information
Box 7				Conference materials 1989-1992 - includes programs and schedules
					See also Conferences, NUCEA region 4.
Box 7				Correspondence 1988-1990 - includes messages to regional members and executive materials (3 folders)
Box 7				Divisions 1987, 1990-1991 - includes budgets, awards programs, and meetings/conferences
Box 8				Executive committee 1985-1993 - includes financial materials (12 folders)
Box 9				Executive committee 1985-1993 (5 folders)
Box 9				Membership 1986-1987, 1990 - surveys and a profile of constituents
Box 9				Newsletters, NUCEA news 1989-1991
					See also Publications, Newsletters.
Box 9				Officers and committee members 1986-1989
Box 9				Miscellaneous materials 1992 - includes a round table on regional issues, guidelines, standards, and correspondence
Box 9			Region 4 task force on diversity report 1993
Box 9			Region 4 treasurer’s reports 1984-1992 - includes correspondence, meeting minutes, regional committees, and financial materials like checks, statements, ledgers, expenses, invoices, and reports (4 folders)
Box 10			Region 4 treasurer’s reports 1984-1992 (9 folders)
		Miscellaneous
Box 10			Board of directors’ meetings 1995-1996 - includes minutes, charts, correspondence, strategic planning, and reports
Box 10			Final report of NUCEA continuing higher education leadership (CHEL) project 1990 - to WK Kellog Foundation
Box 10			NUCEA guidelines, visions and values 1992
Box 10			Survey of member institutions 1982-1985 - includes data, tables, reports, and statistics (3 folders)
Box 11			Survey of member institutions 1982-1985 (2 folders)

	Conference materials
		NUCEA
			Audio recordings
				78th annual, Nashville, TN
Box 19					Episode S5 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 62:00) (ID#: nucea_001)
						Towards a strategic vision for distance learning and the use of high-speed net works in higher education.
Box 19					Episode S6 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 62:00) (ID#: nucea_002)
						The migration path from today to tomorrow in terms of technology and organization.
Box 19					Episode S7 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 62:00) (ID#: nucea_003)
						Is higher education going to have to fend for itself?
Box 19					Episode S8 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 62:00) (ID#: nucea_004)
						Addressing educational challenges through statewide telecommunications.
Box 19					Episode S9 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 62:00) (ID#: nucea_005)
						Small group discussion reports on political, economic, and organizational strategic planning issues.
Box 19					Episode S10 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_006)
						Change, challenge, and choice: the power of personal change.
Box 19					Episode S12 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_007)
						NAFTA: providing new educational opportunities and challenges in new markets.
Box 19					Episode S13 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_008)
						Staying ahead of the headlights: innovative programming in tough financial times.
Box 19					Episode S14 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_009)
						Opportunities in environmental health and safety training.
Box 19					Episode S15 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_010)
						Into the second hundred years: independent study prepares for the 21st century.
Box 19					Episode S16 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_011)
						The building process in continuing education.
Box 19					Episode S19 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_012)
						Evaluating and improving prison higher education programs: a historic perspective.
Box 19					Episode S21 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_013)
						Labor, government, and industry: how can continuing higher education help competitors become collaborators.
Box 19					Episode S22, tape 1 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_014)
						Issues forum: our changing agenda.
Box 19					Episode S22, tape 2 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_015)
						Issues forum: our changing agenda.
Box 19					Episode S23 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_016)
						Building equitable and sustainable communities for the 21s century.
Box 19					Episode S24 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_017)
						Attitudes, trends, and numbers: spotting opportunities in what you may already know.
Box 19					Episode S25, tape 1 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_018)
						The U.S.A. and the Commonwealth of Independent States: the future of continuing education relationships.
Box 19					Episode S25, tape 2 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_019)
						The U.S.A. and the Commonwealth of Independent States: the future of continuing education relationships.
Box 19					Episode S26 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_020)
						Independent study students and the world of computers/technology.
Box 19					Episode S27, tape 1 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_021)
						The compleat adult educator, 2010.
Box 19					Episode S27, tape 2 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_022)
						The compleat adult educator, 2010.
Box 19					Episode S32 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_023)
						Socratic dialogue: is higher education bankrupt?
Box 19					Episode S33 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_024)
						Implications of leadership today.
Box 19					Episode S34 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_025)
						Organizational change: the bottom line.
Box 19					Episode S35 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_026)
						Training CE staff in client development to optimize program delivery.
Box 19					Episode S37 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_027)
						Issues forum: the challenge of workforce training.
Box 19					Episode S38 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_028)
						Risk-taking: a survival strategy for rapidly changing environments.
Box 19					Episode S41 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_029)
						The present and future of independent study within institutions, the distance education movement, and NUCEA.
Box 19					Episode S42 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_030)
						Asia/Pacific Rim: innovative continuing education programs.
Box 19					Episode S43 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_031)
						Identifying key factors influencing the decision to enroll in continuing education programs, and using the factors to target and recruit potential enrollees.
Box 19					Episode S44 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_032)
						The role of focus groups in applied research.
Box 19					Episode S45 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_033)
						Special issue session: narrowing the skills gap, implications for colleges and universities.
Box 19					Episode S46 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_034)
						The Americans with Disabilities Act: what continuing education providers need to know (and what they don't need to fear).
Box 19					Episode S47 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_035)
						Heartaches and tears: country music as a reflection of American life.
Box 19					Episode S48 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_036)
						Undisciplined problems: extending the conversation and building relationships.
Box 19					Episode S49 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_037)
						Division of programs for women luncheon.
Box 19					Episode S50 1993 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_038)
						Issues forum: continuing education's financial role: do we have a choice.
				79th annual, Atlanta, GA
Box 20					Episode N1 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_039)
						New thinking: system thinking/visioning, defining the role of CED in its context.
Box 20					Episode N2 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_040)
						Panel: partnerships, alternative models.
Box 20					Episode N4 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_041)
						New models of leadership: coaching, team building, leading in a culturally diverse workplace.
Box 20					Episode N5 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_042)
						Where do we go from here?
Box 20					Episode N6 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_043)
						New York University's virtual college: interactive media and continuing professional education.
Box 20					Episode N7 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_044)
						University of Nebraska campus-wide technology reorganization.
Box 20					Episode N8 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_045)
						Teacher training and retraining.
Box 20					Episode N9 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_046)
						Powerful partnerships: continuing education as an agent of change.
Box 20					Episode N10 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_047)
						Rebuilding a sense of community.
Box 20					Episode N11 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_048)
						Restarting the economic engine.
Box 20					Episode N12 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_049)
						Harnessing the power of technology.
Box 20					Episode N13 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_050)
						Academic and administrative reform: where are we?
Box 20					Episode N14 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_051)
						Building collaborative relationships.
Box 20					Episode N15 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_052)
						A clash of values: mercantilism versus academic altruism, the Sheriff of Nottingham versus Robin Hood.
Box 20					Episode N16 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_053)
						How do you know when you've made a difference?
Box 20					Episode N17 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_054)
						Academic and administrative reform: speaking from a margin.
Box 20					Episode N18 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_055)
						Sharing responsibility for new student success.
Box 20					Episode N19 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_056)
						Partnering for responsible programming: building community oriented certificate programs.
Box 20					Episode N20 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_057)
						Accountability and accreditation in distance education.
Box 20					Episode N22 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_058)
						Partnering with foreign institutions for human resource development.
Box 20					Episode N24 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_059)
						Seven steps to measure the community economic impact of continuing education programs.
Box 20					Episode N26 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_060)
						A national study of non-matriculating student policies and procedures.
Box 20					Episode N27 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_061)
						Transforming tomorrow's workforce: creating partnerships to enhance individual and organizational career development.
Box 20					Episode N28 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_062)
						Access through financial aid.
Box 20					Episode N29 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_063)
						Planning and development models for statewide telecommunications systems, part 2.
Box 20					Episode N30 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_064)
						Comprehensive assessment of a statewide distance learning program: Washington University's extended degree program.
Box 20					Episode N33, tape 2 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_065)
						Interactivity at a distance: personalizing the experience.
Box 20					Episode N34 15-19 Apr 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_066)
						How continuing education can build better partnerships with business and industry.
				80th annual, Anaheim, CA
Box 20					Episode N1 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_067)
						Keynote: learning to learn in the 21st century.
Box 20					Episode N2 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_068)
						Interactive video telecourse project; A nationally delivered curriculum in hazardous materials management.
Box 20					Episode N3 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_069)
						Are state borders obsolete? The future of policy in a free market economy.
Box 20					Episode N4 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_070)
						Utilizing distance education to internationalize graduate instruction.
Box 20					Episode N5 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_071)
						Setting fees for distance learning programs: precedents and priorities for pricing.
Box 20					Episode N6 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_072)
						Leading through a sea change.
Box 20					Episode N7 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_073)
						Traveling the information superhighway: implications for continuing higher education.
Box 20					Episode N8 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_074)
						Transforming education: the university of the 21st century.
Box 20					Episode N9 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_075)
						Leadership in continuing higher education and society.
Box 20					Episode N10 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_076)
						What do Americans want their universities to be: today and tomorrow?
Box 20					Episode N11 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_077)
						Humanistic and values issues.
Box 20					Episode N12 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_078)
						Technology issues.
Box 20					Episode N13 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_079)
						Education and training systems issues: what's new, and working, for the competition?
Box 20					Episode N14 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_080)
						Creating value.
Box 20					Episode N15 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_081)
						The promise of distance learning: public/private expectations versus university responses.
Box 20					Episode N16 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_082)
						Developing human capital resources for North America and beyond.
Box 20					Episode N17 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_083)
						Higher education's role in serving displaced professionals: the critical challenge facing NUCEA members in the 90s.
Box 20					Episode N18 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_084)
						Continuing education involvement in urban issues: strategies and resources for success.
Box 20					Episode N19 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_085)
						Disseminating information to the masses.
Box 20					Episode N20 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_086)
						Creating value.
Box 20					Episode N21 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_087)
						Forum on practical applications of distance learning; National information infrastructure activities.
Box 20					Episode N22 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_088)
						Transformation or stasis: the culture of continuing education organizational structures and learning relationships.
Box 20					Episode N23 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_089)
						Institutional representatives seminar.
Box 20					Episode N24 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_090)
						Managing your boss and other important people in your life.
Box 20					Episode N26 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_091)
						Designing and implementing your own successful surveys.
Box 20					Episode N27 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_092)
						Tools and methods for continuing professional education.
Box 20					Episode N28 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_093)
						The University of Wisconsin's distance education symposium: a team training and development experience.
Box 20					Episode N29 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_094)
						Working with faculty: managing change through faculty development.
Box 20					Episode N30 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_095)
						Certificate programs: an effective response to mid-career challenges?
Box 20					Episode N32 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_096)
						What does distance learning mean to continuing education: the impact on realities, roles and resources.
Box 20					Episode N33 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_097)
						Done in by Disneyland: how does an anthropologist explore the happiest place on Earth?
Box 20					Episode N34 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_098)
						The future of continuing education: international electronic aspects.
Box 20					Episode N36 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_099)
						Programming, student services, and technology: which comes first?
Box 20					Episode N37 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_100)
						Using the internet to support academic and professional programs.
Box 20					Episode N38 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_101)
						The California young scholar project: a California state and K-12 partnership for rural schools.
Box 19					Episode N39 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_102)
						New programs and approaches in environmental, health, and safety continuing education.
Box 19					Episode N41 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_103)
						Linking the global village.
Box 19					Episode N43 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_104)
						Off-campus access to library resources, changing institutional mindsets.
Box 19					Episode N45 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_105)
						Hidden technologies: how information systems support, transform, or inhibit the "conferences business."
Box 19					Episode N46 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_106)
						Transforming student services: creating the future today.
Box 19					Episode N47 7-11 Apr 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_107)
						Developing interactive multimedia for university audiences: future opportunities and challenges.
				81st annual, Boston, MA
Box 21					Episode N1, tape 1 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_108)
						Forces shaping the future: implications for leaders.
Box 21					Episode N1, tape 2 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_109)
						Forces shaping the future: implications for leaders.
Box 21					Episode N1, tape 3 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_110)
						Forces shaping the future: implications for leaders.
Box 21					Episode N1, tape 4 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_111)
						Forces shaping the future: implications for leaders.
Box 21					Episode N3 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_112)
						Assessing the effectiveness of distance education: a Lilly endowment funded study of tele-education.
Box 21					Episode N4 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_113)
						Satisfying faculty and accrediting bodies for quality graduate/professional degree distance learning.
Box 21					Episode N5 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_114)
						Libraries@distance.edu: new students, new technologies, new demands.
Box 21					Episode N6 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_115)
						Quality in distance education: some research perspectives.
Box 21					Episode N7 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_116)
						Planning effective distance education programs: administrative, academic, and cost considerations.
Box 21					Episode N8 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_117)
						Intellectual property in distance education: problems and prospects.
Box 21					Episode N9 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_118)
						Conference wrap-up.
Box 21					Episode N10 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_119)
						Keynote address: decade of possibilities or perils? How science and technology will reshape higher education.
Box 21					Episode N11 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_120)
						Tools, toys, trivia? What to expect from technologies on the near horizon.
Box 21					Episode N12 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_121)
						The end of work? technology's impact on global employment.
Box 21					Episode N13 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_122)
						Better education? How technology can support learning and teaching.
Box 21					Episode N14 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_123)
						Current burning issues in policy, finance and administration: a roundtable discussion.
Box 21					Episode N15 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_124)
						Separating the administration and technical support services: will it work?
Box 21					Episode N16 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_125)
						Consumer education: strategies for establishing successful partnerships with diverse populations.
Box 21					Episode N18 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_126)
						A march through the jungle of adjuncts.
Box 21					Episode N19 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_127)
						Assessing off-campus programs: in search of a continuous quality improvement.
Box 21					Episode N20 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_128)
						How to market your products and services on the internet.
Box 21					Episode N21 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_129)
						Marketing strategically: case studies.
Box 21					Episode N22 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_130)
						Off-campus center: nature, role, and clientele.
Box 21					Episode N23 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_131)
						Where the rubber meets the superhighway: using computer conferencing for independent study students.
Box 21					Episode N24 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_132)
						Teleclasses: low-tech high impact televised instruction.
Box 21					Episode N25 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_133)
						Distance education in the military: looking toward the future.
Box 21					Episode N26 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_134)
						Lessons from practice: strategies for managing successful distance education programs.
Box 21					Episode N27 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_135)
						Distributed management of outreach education: a new vision for the 21st century.
Box 21					Episode N28 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_136)
						Needs assessment and evaluation in program planning and development.
Box 21					Episode N29 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_137)
						Providing effective leadership for developing distance education programming and technology choices.
Box 21					Episode N30, tape 1 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_138)
						Cooperation in distance education: policies and programs.
Box 21					Episode N30, tape 2 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_139)
						Cooperation in distance education: policies and programs.
Box 21					Episode N31 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_140)
						Using research to reach your market: successful strategies for the 21st century.
Box 21					Episode N32 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_141)
						A partnership to design student-centered information systems.
Box 21					Episode N33, tape 1 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_142)
						Adding value through business partnerships.
Box 21					Episode N33, tape 2 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_143)
						Adding value through business partnerships.
Box 21					Episode N34 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_144)
						Privatization...a panacea?
Box 21					Episode N35 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_145)
						The Getty art history information project.
Box 21					Episode N37 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_146)
						Vision to reality: design and implementation of a distance learning videoconference program.
Box 21					Episode N38 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_147)
						Faculty development in using technology to enhance teaching and learning: a systemwide project of the California State University.
Box 21					Episode N41 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_148)
						Multimedia and marketing: developing and using a CD-ROM.
Box 21					Episode N42 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_149)
						Access, quality and economics of certificate programs.
Box 21					Episode N43 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_150)
						Adding value through market leadership.
Box 21					Episode N44 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_151)
						Going global: emerging trends in international distance education.
Box 21					Episode N45 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_152)
						Breaking down barriers: how information technology is reshaping higher education by redefining boundaries within and outside the university.
Box 21					Episode N46 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_153)
						Organizing continuing education: centralization versus decentralization.
Box 21					Episode N48 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_154)
						How restructuring and global competition are changing the role of universities in corporate education and training.
Box 21					Episode N49 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_155)
						Continuing education's role in building community.
Box 21					Episode N50 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_156)
						Who benefits from training vouchers? Prospects for students and institutions.
Box 21					Episode N51 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_157)
						Institutional representatives' dialogue restructuring to thrive/survive new competitive pressures.
Box 21					Episode N52 29 Mar-1 Apr 1996 (Audio cassette; running time 92:00) (ID#: nucea_158)
						Programs for women luncheon.
			Files
Box 11				70th annual, Louisville, KY 1985
Box 11				71st annual, Portland, OR 1986
Box 11				72nd annual, Kansas City, MO 1987
Box 11				73rd annual, Philadelphia, PA 1988
Box 11				74th annual, Salt Lake City, UT 1989
Box 11				75th annual, New Orleans, LA 1990
Box 11				76th annual, Miami, FL 1991
Box 11				78th annual, Nashville, TN 1993
Box 11				79th annual, Atlanta, GA 1994
Box 11				80th annual, Anaheim, CA 1995
Box 11				Caucus on state telecommunications network 1991
Box 11				Conference facilities and services directories 1985, 1989
				Division of business, industry, and labor
Box 11					6th – 13th annual national professional development 1981-1988
Box 12					14th annual national professional development, binder 1989 - includes proceedings, programming, evaluations, and speaker biographies and presentations (5 folders)
Box 12					15th annual national professional development, binder 1990 - includes proceedings, programming, evaluations, and speaker biographies and presentations (6 folders)
Box 13					16th – 18th annual national professional development 1991-1993
Box 13				Division of conferences and institutes 1990-1992
Box 13				Division of humanities, arts, and sciences 1986, 1988, 1990-1993
Box 13				Region 1 1980-1983, 1985-1987, 1991
Box 13				Region 2 1986, 1988-1989, 1991, 1994 (2 folders)
Box 13				Region 3 1984-1986, 1989
Box 13				Region 4 1983, 1985-1989 (2 folders)
Box 13				Region 5 1985-1986, 1988-1989 - conferences focus on professional development
Box 13				Regions 6 and 7 1991, 1995
Box 13				Washington DC symposium 1982
Box 13		Rutgers University, University of California, and NUCEA, protecting the environment 1990
Box 13		Seminars 1987-1989, 1991, 1994, 1996 - NUCEA and/or cosponsored sessions, such as youth, environmental, alumni, older adults, and professional development programs
Box 13		Survey of NUCEA conference offices undated

	Interviews
		Release forms
Box 13			NUCEA oral history project, past presidents 1988-1990
		Tapes - all but one are audio recordings; presidential terms in parentheses
Box 22			Bonniwell, Hilton (1986-87) [tape 1, copy 1] 7 Dec 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_159)
Box 22			Bonniwell, Hilton (1986-87) [tape 1, copy 2] 7 Dec 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_161)
Box 22			Bonniwell, Hilton (1986-87) [tape 2, copy 1] 7 Dec 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_160)
Box 22			Bonniwell, Hilton (1986-87) [tape 2, copy 2] 7 Dec 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_162)
Box 22			Charters, Alexander N. (1965-66) [tape 1, copy 1] 9-12 Dec 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: nucea_163)
Box 22			Charters, Alexander N. (1965-66) [tape 1, copy 2] 9-12 Dec 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: nucea_165)
Box 22			Charters, Alexander N. (1965-66) [tape 2, copy 1] 9-12 Dec 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_164)
Box 22			Charters, Alexander N. (1965-66) [tape 2, copy 2] 9-12 Dec 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_166)
Box 22			Donehower, Grace (1979-80) [copy 1] 21 Nov 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: nucea_167)
Box 22			Donehower, Grace (1979-80) [copy 2] 21 Nov 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: nucea_168)
Box 22			Drazek, Stanley (1964-65) circa 1988-1990 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_169)
Box 22			Ervin, John (1975-76), tape 1 27 Feb 1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_170)
Box 22			Ervin, John (1975-76), tape 2 27 Feb 1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_171)
Box 22			Fischer, Floyd (1971-72) circa 1988-1990 (Mini-cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_172)
Box 22			Gessner, Quentin (1982-83) [tape 1] 27 Oct 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_173)
Box 22			Gessner, Quentin (1982-83) [tape 2] 27 Oct 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_174)
Box 22			Goddard, Joseph (1981-82) [tape 1] Jan 1989 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: nucea_175)
Box 22			Goddard, Joseph (1981-82) [tape 2] Jan 1989 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: nucea_176)
Box 22			Goerke, Glenn (1973-74), tape 1 1989 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: nucea_177)
Box 22			Goerke, Glenn (1973-74), tape 2 1989 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: nucea_178)
Box 22			Hadley, Paul (1976-77) [copy 1] 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_179)
Box 22			Hadley, Paul (1976-77) [copy 2] 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_180)
Box 22			Hunter, Armand (1972-73) [copy 1] 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_181)
Box 22			Hunter, Armand (1972-73) [copy 2] 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_182)
Box 22			Miller, Harold (1987-88) [copy 1] 1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_183)
Box 22			Miller, Harold (1987-88) [copy 2] 1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_184)
Box 22			Snider, John (1985-86) [tape 1, copy 1] 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_185)
Box 22			Snider, John (1985-86) [tape 1, copy 2] 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_187)
Box 22			Snider, John (1985-86) [tape 2, copy 1] 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_186)
Box 22			Snider, John (1985-86) [tape 2, copy 2] 1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_188)
Box 22			Walker, T. Howard (1967-68), tape 1 24 Jan 1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_189)
Box 22			Walker, T. Howard (1967-68), tape 2 24 Jan 1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: nucea_190)
Box 22			White, Thurman J. (1960-61) 9 Feb 1990 - no corresponding transcript (VHS; running time 55:36) (ID#: nucea_191)
		Transcripts - presidential terms in parentheses
Box 13			Bonniwell, Hilton (1986-87) 1988
Box 13			Charters, Alexander N. (1965-66) 1988
Box 14			Donehower, Grace (1979-80) 1988
Box 14			Drazek, Stanley (1964-65) circa 1988-1990
Box 14			Ervin, John (1975-76) 1989
Box 14			Fischer, Floyd (1971-72) circa 1988-1990
Box 14			Gessner, Quentin (1982-83) 1988
Box 14			Goddard, Joseph (1981-82) 1989
Box 14			Goerke, Glenn (1973-74) 1989
Box 14			Hadley, Paul (1976-77) 1988
Box 14			Hunter, Armand (1972-73) 1988
Box 14			Miller, Harold (1987-88) 1989
Box 14			Robinson, Stanley (1968-69) 1989 - corresponding tape erased after interview
Box 14			Snider, John (1985-86) 1988
Box 14			Walker, T. Howard (1967-68) 1989

	Publications
Box 14		Annual reports 1989-1990
Box 14		Brochures undated - includes membership information, North American fellows' program, and general association/continuing education information
Box 14		Challenges for continuing higher education leadership series, corporate/campus collaboration 1984, 1987
Box 14		Expanding access to knowledge: continuing higher education; NUCEA 1915-1990 1990 - book about NUCEA/continuing education history in honor of their 75th anniversary
Box 14		Innovations in continuing education series 1983
		Journals
Box 14			Continuing higher education review, volume 51 1987 (3 issues)
Box 15			Continuing higher education review, volume 52-58 1988-1994 (21 issues)
Box 16			Continuum, volume 45-48 1980-1984 (14 issues)
Box 17			Continuum, volume 49-50 1985-1987 (6 issues)
Box 17			Lifelong learning trends: a profile of continuing higher education, 3rd edition 1994
Box 17			Miscellaneous materials 1980-1981 - includes forms, correspondence, and guides about continuum
Box 17		Newsletters, NUCEA news 1984-1989 - circa 60 issues (5 folders)
Box 18		Newsletters, NUCEA news 1989-1996 - circa 55 issues (5 folders)
Box 18		Steal these ideas series 1995
Box 17		Miscellaneous publications 1990, 1995 - includes a workforce development booklet, prison education newsletter, and general continuing education materials

	Miscellaneous
		Annenberg School of Communication (ASC)/Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB) project - explores telecommunication opportunities for higher education; funded a NUCEA study
Box 18			ASC/CPB project overview 1981-1982, 1987 - includes ad-hoc committee materials and course examples
Box 18			NUCEA grant proposal 1981
Box 18			NUCEA interim report 1983
Box 18			NUCEA last/final report 1983 (2 folders)
Box 23		Heritage and vision [tape 1] 10 Jul 1990 - programs produced by University of Wisconsin-Extension for NUCEA (U-matic; running time 20:03) (ID#: nucea_194)
Box 23		Heritage and vision [tape 2] 10 Jul 1990 - programs produced by University of Wisconsin-Extension for NUCEA (U-matic; running time 20:03) (ID#: nucea_195)
Box 23		Heritage and vision [tape 3] 10 Jul 1990 - programs produced by University of Wisconsin-Extension for NUCEA (U-matic; running time 20:03) (ID#: nucea_196)
Box 23		Heritage and vision [tape 4] 10 Jul 1990 - programs produced by University of Wisconsin-Extension for NUCEA (U-matic; running time 20:03) (ID#: nucea_197)
		NUCEA
Box 18			100 years of correspondence by mail, 1892-1992, stamp poster 1992
Box 18			Funding resources for international continuing education programs undated
Box 23			NUCEA 15 May 1990 (VHS; running time 30:00) (ID#: nucea_198)
Box 18			Principles of good practice for continuing education programs 1993

Return to top