Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	National University Extension Association
Title:	National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records
Inclusive Dates:	1915-1980
Quantity:	46.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Administrative files, materials from Project Head Start and Teacher Training Institutes, subject files, biographical sketches, conference/convention materials, manuals, and publications of NUEA, a continuing education organization.
Language:	English, and some Spanish
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The National University Extension Association (NUEA) was formed in 1915. NUEA's focus was originally on establishing standards for correspondence schools and distance education, though its scope expanded considerably through the years. When it shifted to a division structure and gained 501(c)(3) nonprofit status in the 1950s, correspondence study was only one of five charter units. In 1980 NUEA reorganized itself away from the division structure to a more national focus; to reflect this, the name was changed to the National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA). In 1996 the word "National" was dropped as membership had expanded internationally, and the name became University Continuing Education Association (UCEA). In 2010 the word "Professional" was added to reflect members who were new to higher education, and the name became University Professional and Continuing Education Association (UPCEA). In 2024 this title was dropped and the initialism, UPCEA, became the official name of the organization.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records consist of three separate accessions, in the form of parts 1-3, which have not been integrated. Information is linked among the sections, but the researcher is advised to review each part to ensure locating all relevant information.

Part 1 of the NUEA records is divided into three subseries: Administrative files, Project Head Start, and Subject files. Administrative files comprise board of directors' materials, committee files, correspondence, and contains reports of the Secretaries of the Association, minutes, corporate affairs, and transcripts of meetings. There are also subject files within correspondence that concerns annual meetings and new members. Project Head Start materials are detailed records of the special program funded by the Office of Education. It includes university contracts, correspondence, university orientation and training program materials, financial reports, required evaluation reports on the success or failure of the project at each of the participating universities, and general material relating to the program -- its development, progress, and completion, with computer analyses documenting the completed report. NUEA subject files includes financial records and conference, division, and project materials.

Part 2 of the NUEA Records supplements the first accession and is divided into three subseries: Administrative files, Manuals and publications, and Teacher Training Institutes. Administrative files comprise business materials, committee files, conferences, division materials, Job Corps Driver Education Training, Project Head Start, a small number of miscellaneous items. The subseries contains correspondence, minutes, legislation, lists, rosters, programs, proposals, memoranda, and reports. There are also numerous lists of participants, professional resources, and materials. Manuals and publications contain mostly Project Head Start materials and a few other items. U.S. Office of Education, Adult Basic Education, Teacher Trainer Institutes (abbreviated as USOE-ABE-TTI) material is of a federally funded continuing education program, administered by the NUEA, and held in various colleges and universities around the country. It includes photographs, correspondence, forms, curricula, financial materials, grants, university and regional records, and other administrative files.

Part 3 of the NUEA Records is the most recent accession and is divided into four subseries: Administrative files, Biographical sketches, Conference/convention materials, and Publications. Administrative files comprise committee files, division materials, manuals, a small number of miscellaneous items. The subseries includes minutes, correspondence, memos, proceedings, membership information, surveys, notes, by-laws, and reports. Biographical sketches feature profiles of continuing educators in the field (including NUEA presidents) and contains photographs, resumes, correspondence, and some writing samples. Conference/convention materials contain mostly proceedings of annual gatherings and some reports, correspondence, minutes, and a few items from other miscellaneous continuing education meetings. Publications include the NUEA journals (Spectator and Continuum), booklets, a book, brochures, newsletters, continuing education job recruiter announcements, and a few miscellaneous materials.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Part 1 of this collection is arranged alphabetically, the only exception being the subseries group Correspondence-general, which is arranged chronologically. Part 2 is arranged alphabetically, the only exception being the subseries U.S. Office of Education, Adult Basic Education, Teacher Trainer Institutes (USOE-ABE-TTI), which is grouped chronologically by year firstly and within those years materials are arranged alphabetically. Part 3 is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Spectator issues 1966-1971, 1974 and Innovations in Continuing Education, Award-Winning New Programs series 1977, 1979 transferred to serial department for cataloging. They are accessible via Libraries Search .

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of all adult education collections. See also the records of NUEA's successor organizations, the National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA) Records and the University Continuing Education Association (UCEA) Records.

The following may also be of interest:

• Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC) Records
• Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) Records
• Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) Records
• Fund for Adult Education (FAE) Records
• Galaxy Conference of Adult Education Organizations
• Alexander A. Liveright Papers
• Paul Sheats Papers

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Part 1 and 2, gift of National University Extension Association (NUEA), 1966, 1969-1970, 1974.

Part 3, gift of University Continuing Education Association (UCEA), 1998, 2000.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: --
Revision history: 2 Feb 2007 - Converted to EAD (MRC); 9 Apr 2007 - updated Related Material section to include NUCEA; 24 Jul 2024 - parts 1 and 2 rehoused, inventory updated, and part 3 fully processed (JDW)

Return to top

Inventory

	Part 1
		Administrative files
			Board of Directors
				See also Part 2: Administrative files: Business.
Box 1				Correspondence and meetings 1931-1960 (13 folders)
Box 2				Correspondence and meetings 1960-1968, undated (9 folders)
Box 3				Minutes and reports 1955-1960
			Committee files
				See also Part 2: Administrative files: Committee files; Part 3: Administrative files: Committee files.
Box 3				Ad-hoc committee on time and place 1959-1962
Box 3				Advisory committee of universities for civil defense 1962-1963
Box 3				Committee for cooperation with the land grant council 1951-1965
Box 3				Committee for cooperation with the national rehabilitation association 1958-1959
Box 3				Committee on accreditation ca. 1947
Box 3				Committee on awards and honors 1957-1966
Box 3				Committee on business affairs 1957-1964
Box 3				Committee on Canada-U.S. relationships 1953-1961
Box 3				Committee on constitutional revision, organization structure and fee modification 1965
Box 3				Committee on cooperation with the American Vocational Association 1958-1961
Box 3				Committee on cooperation with trade and professional associations 1956-1960
Box 3				Committee on directors, constitution, and fees 1965-1966
Box 3				Committee on discussion and debate materials 1951-1965
Box 3				Committee on extension services for the armed forces 1956-1964
Box 4				Committee on federal aid 1940-1945
Box 4				Committee on governmental relations 1946-1965 (2 folders)
Box 4				Committee on governmental relations, reports and testimony 1965
Box 4				Committee on grants and relations with foundations 1954-1955
Box 4				Committee on humanities 1956-1965
Box 4				Committee on implications of atomic energy 1950-1964
Box 4				Committee on industrial relations workers education 1955
Box 4				Committee on labor management relations 1956-1961
Box 4				Committee on liaison with the General Federation of Women's Clubs 1963-1965
Box 4				Committee on liberal education 1957-1961
Box 4				Committee on organizational problems undated
Box 4				Committee on policies and membership 1947-1965
Box 4				Committee on political platforms 1960
Box 5				Committee on preparation of extension leaders 1950-1952
Box 5				Committee on professional development 1962-1964
Box 5				Committee on publications and public information 1956-1965
Box 5				Committee on research 1947-1965
Box 5				Committee on resolutions 1959-1964
Box 5				Committee on standardization of extension credit courses 1924
Box 5				Committee on technical institutes 1947
Box 5				Committee on terminal programs 1957-1963
Box 5				Committee on UNESCO 1951-1958
Box 5				Committee on uniform statistics 1932
Box 5				Committee on workers education movement 1924
Box 5				Committee on world affairs 1956-1964
Box 5				Editorial and publications committee 1955
Box 5				Joint committee for the study of adult education 1947 - includes policies, principles, and practices
Box 5				Joint committee of the AAAE and NEA 1949
Box 5				Joint NUEA-AUCC committee on uniform reporting 1956-1965
Box 6				National committee on publicity 1941
Box 6				Position paper committee 1961
Box 6				Research committee on extension and adult education 1950-1966
Box 6				Reports and business practices 1950-1963 (2 folders)
Box 6				Miscellaneous 1956-1964
			Correspondence
				General
Box 6					1930-1932 (3 folders)
Box 7					Jan 1934 - Sep 1950 (19 folders)
Box 8					Oct 1950 - Sep 1952 (8 folders)
Box 9					Oct 1952 - Dec 1954 (9 folders)
Box 10					1954-1955 (8 folders)
Box 11					1956-1957 (8 folders)
Box 12					Jan 1958 - Jun 1960 (10 folders)
Box 13					Jul 1960 - Jun 1962 (8 folders)
Box 14					Jul 1962 - Aug 1963 (7 folders)
Box 15					Sep 1963 - Dec 1964 (6 folders)
Box 16					1965-1967 (10 folders)
Box 17					1968
				Subject files
Box 17					Annual general meetings 1959-1966 (5 folders)
Box 17					New members 1953-1965
		Project Head Start
			See also Part 2: Administrative files: Project Head Start.
			Contracts 1965
Box 18				A-M (8 folders)
Box 19				N-Z, miscellaneous (8 folders)
			Correspondence
				General
Box 20					1965 (6 folders)
Box 21					1965 - 1966 (2 folders)
Box 21					Samples of form letters 1965
					Universities 1965
Box 21						A-M (6 folders)
Box 22						N-Y (5 folders)
				Financial reports 1965
Box 22					A-C (3 folders)
Box 23					D-N (8 folders)
Box 24					O-Z (5 folders)
				Orientation and training programs 1965
Box 24					A
Box 25					B-K (6 folders)
Box 26					L-S (5 folders)
Box 27					T-Wh (2 folders)
				Participating institution evaluation reports 1965
Box 27					A-J (3 folders)
Box 28					K-W (6 folders)
			Files
Box 29				Addressograph plates 1965
Box 29				Adult basic education project 1965
Box 29				Conference for participating institutions 1965
Box 29				Directives and forms 1965
Box 29				Insurance coverage, correspondence 1965
Box 29				Inter-American university trainees' personal data 1965 (2 folders)
Box 29				Management center reports 1965
Box 29				Newspaper clippings 1965
				Photographs
Box 29					General 1965
Box 29					Fort Hays and Kansas State College 1965
Box 29					Pennsylvania State College 1965
Box 29					Rochester Institute of Technology 1965
Box 30				Position papers 1960-1961
Box 30				Preliminary meetings, planning Mar-Apr 1965
Box 30				Program and training manuals 1965
Box 30				Program proposal 1965-1966
Box 30				Pupil personnel research, University of Texas 1965
Box 30				Purchase order clauses, photostats 1965
Box 30				Report of the staff training program, typescript 1965
Box 30				Request for trainees by university 1965
Box 30				Telegrams 1965
				Trainees assignments 1965
Box 31					Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas
Box 31					California, Colorado, Connecticut
Box 31					Delaware, District of Columbia
Box 31					Florida
Box 31					Georgia
Box 31					Hawaii
Box 31					Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa
Box 31					Kansas, Kentucky
Box 31					Louisiana
Box 31					Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan
Box 31					Minnesota, Missouri, Montana
Box 31					Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico
Box 31					New York, North Carolina, North Dakota
Box 31					Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon
Box 31					Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico
Box 31					Rhode Island
Box 31					South Carolina, South Dakota
Box 31					Tennessee, Texas
Box 31					Utah
Box 31					Vermont, Virginia
Box 31					Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Box 32				Trainees, by university 1965
Box 32				Trainees' capacity by university (2 notebooks)
Box 32				United States government income tax papers 1965
Box 32				University evaluation, forms for use in 1965
			Project report, computer analyses 1965 - duplicate copies present; surveys and statistics about the program
Box 33				Alabama - Idaho
Box 33				Colorado - Kansas; Louisiana - Mississippi
Box 33				Guam - Mississippi
Box 33				Local project approval, supplementary collection lists
Box 33				Missouri - South Dakota
Box 33				Montana - Oregon
Oversize 1				PHS information book (1 bound volume)
Oversize 2-6				PHS information - in no particular order (15 folders)
Box 33				Tennesee - Wyoming 1965
		Subject files
Box 34			Adult Education Association 1953-1958
Box 34			Advisory Council of Presidents 1959
Box 34			American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers 1961-1964
Box 34			American Council on Education 1960-1964
Box 34			American Council on Education, reports 1952-1956
Box 34			Association for Higher Education 1963-1964
Box 34			Canadian Association for Adult Education 1962
			Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults
Box 34				1955-1956
Box 35				1957-1965 (2 folders)
Box 35			Conference on education and the states 1965
Box 35			Constitution, NUEA 1958
Box 35			Council of National Organizations (AEA) 1955
Box 35			Division of audio-visual communications 1931-1965
Box 35			Division of community development 1957-1966
Box 35			Division of conferences and institutes 1956-1964
Box 36			Division of correspondence study 1931-1966 (5 folders)
			Division of correspondence study, reports
Box 36				1958-1962
Box 37				1963-1966
Box 37			Division of evening colleges and class extension 1955-1965
Box 37			Film Council of America 1950
Box 37			Financial record books 1925-1945
Box 37			Financial reports 1951-1965
Box 38			Fund for adult education 1951-1954
Box 38			Inter-American seminar of overall planning for education 1958
Box 38			Internal reports 1966-1968
Box 38			Joint commission for the study of adult education 1949
Box 38			Mid-century White House conference on children and youth 1950
Box 38			Mid-West regional workshop 1960
Box 38			National Commission on Accrediting 1960-1963
Box 38			National study of university extension 1952
			Placement service
Box 38				Correspondence 1960-1964
				Personal history records
Box 38					A-E 1964
Box 39					F-Z 1964 (3 folders)
Box 39					A-Z 1965-1966
Box 40			Sagamore conference 1960
Box 40			Salary survey and personnel placement correspondence undated
Box 40			Speeches and reports, miscellaneous 1924-1965 (2 folders)
Box 40			Survey of industries on manpower and training needs 1951
Box 40			White House conference on aging 1961

	Part 2
		Administrative files
			Business
				See also Part 1: Administrative files: Board of Directors.
Box 41				Administrative manual 1966
Box 41				Administrative manual, revised 1967 by-laws undated
Box 41				Charter undated
Box 41				Constitution undated
Box 41				Correspondence 1965
Box 41				Directory 1955
Box 41				Financial statements 1963
Box 41				Handbook March 1966
Box 41				Lists -- directors, divisions, committees, delegates and special appointees 1956-1957
				Meetings
Box 41					45th annual 1960 - business meeting, report; deans and directors, report
Box 41					49th annual 1964 - President Neville's remarks, rosters, speeches
Box 41					Annual meeting, general session #1, "future of higher education" 1971
Box 41					Board of Directors 1957
Box 41					Regional meeting, discussion groups 1961
Box 41				Member institutions' list -- deans and directors April 1960
Box 41				Personnel -- applications 1962-1967
			Committee files
				See also Part 1: Administrative files: Committee files; Part 3: Administrative files: Committee files.
				Arts
Box 41					Minutes 1950
Box 41					Memoranda, arts in society 1959
Box 41					Statistics 1961
Box 41				Conferences and institutes, subcommittee on procedures, report--survey of conference and short course procedures 1955
Box 41				Discussion and debate, materials and interstate cooperation, annual report 1955-1957
Box 41				Governmental relations, report 1958
Box 41				Humanities committee meeting 1962
				Liberal education
Box 41					Memoranda 1958-1961
Box 41					Minutes, agendas, notes 1957
Box 41					Minutes, reports, memoranda, misc. 1957-1958
Box 41					Reports 1957-1959
Box 41				Policy statement committee 1961
Box 41				Radio-television, audio-visual committee 1953-1954, 1957-1959
Box 41				Reports and business practices, annual statistical report 1958
Box 42				Reports 1953-1958 (6 folders)
				Research
Box 42					Criteria 1958
Box 42					Minutes 1958-1959
Box 42					Proposed functions 1958
Box 42					Report 1952-1953
Box 42					Misc. 1959
				Research subcommittee
Box 42					Annual report 1958-1959
Box 42					Meeting minutes 1958
Box 42				View of the future, report 1972
Box 42				World affairs 1960 - programs, propositions, misc., conference acceptances
			Conferences
				See also Part 3: Conference/convention materials.
Box 42				45th annual, agenda 1960
Box 42				46th annual 1961 - resolutions (business session) roster
Box 42				National ABE, participant replies 1968
Box 42				National leadership, logistics 1968
Box 42				Northwest regional university extension, list of delegates 1959
Box 42				Official convention roster 1958
Box 42				Regional conference, roster 1961
Box 42				Wingspread arts conference, report 1962
			Divisions
				See also Part 3: Administrative files: Divisions.
Box 42				Audio-visual communication, membership directory 1957
				Community development
Box 42					Meeting program 1959
Box 42					Report, community development in university extension 1956
Box 42					Seminar, information and registration forms 1960
Box 42					Third NUEA community development seminar, proceedings 1963
Box 42				Conferences and institutes, minutes 1966
				Evening colleges and class extension
Box 42					Annual reports 1956-1958
Box 42					Memorandum -- membership lists 1958
Box 42					Program 1959
			Job Corps Driver Education Training
Box 42				Colorado State University 1968
Box 42				Eastern New Mexico University 1968
Box 43				Job Corps Driver Education 1968-1969 (2 folders)
Box 43				Oregon State board of higher education 1968
Box 43				Original proposal 1968
Box 43				Portland State 1968-1969
Box 43				Training -- contract 1968
Box 43				University of Illinois 1968
Box 43				University of Pittsburgh 1968
			Project Head Start
				See also Part 1: Project Head Start.
Box 43				Office of economic opportunity 1964-1967
Box 43				Pitchell, Dr. Robert 1965
Box 43				Proposals 1966-1967 (2 folders)
Box 43				Proposal 1968
Box 43				Staff report on conference for participating institutions, teacher training 1965
			Miscellaneous
Box 43				Comments -- community organization programs in university extension 1955
Box 43				History -- university extension legislation 1957
				Proposals
Box 43					Concentrated employment program -- Scheur amendment 1967
Box 43					Specialist services and technical assistance, OEO undated
Box 43				Recommendations and analysis and interpretation, "the university's responsibility for the general education of adults" 1955
Box 43				Report -- continuation centers 1954
Box 43				Statistics -- correspondence or home study 1956-1957
Box 43				Tentative roster -- workshop on the arts 1958
		Manuals and publications
			See also Part 3: Publications.
Box 68			NUEA studies in university extension education (I-X); NUEA: Bloomington, Indiana 1943-1953
			Project Head Start
Box 68				Local project approval 1965
Box 68				Local project approval supplement no. 1 1965
Box 68				Manuals
Box 68					Eastern Kentucky State College 1965
Box 69					Eastern Kentucky State College 1965
Box 69					Pennsylvania State College 1965 (6 folders)
Box 69					Tufts University 1965
Box 69					Universidad de Puerto Rico 1965 (2 folders)
Box 70					University of Colorado 1965
Box 70					University of Georgia 1965
Box 70					University of Missouri undated
Box 70					University of Tennessee undated
Box 70					Upper Iowa University 1965
Box 70					Utah State University 1965 (3 folders)
		U.S. Office of Education, Adult Basic Education, Teacher Training Institute
			1965
Box 44				Administration 1965-1966
Box 44				Florida State University 1965
Box 44				Nichols, Herb 1965-1967
			1966
Box 44				ABE institutes, general (2 folders)
Box 44				ABE report -- reference materials
Box 44				Advisory council
Box 44				Basic analog model of systems analysis and evaluation
Box 44				Biographical data sheet
Box 44				Conferences -- ABE conference, mayflower hotel (2 folders)
Box 44				Consultant list
Box 45				Core curriculum
Box 45				Curriculum guide and background statements
Box 45				Data analysis and evaluation design
Box 45				Directory
Box 45				Educational technology (2 folders)
				Evaluation
Box 45					Design
Box 45					Forms (3 folders)
Box 45					Forms, regional reports, educational psychology associates
Box 45					Meetings
Box 45					Report
Box 45					Report (abstract of)
Box 45				"Documents relating to the USOE ABE Teacher Trainer Institutes"
Box 45				Final report -- summer ABE institutes
Box 45				Finance
Box 45				General correspondence, memos
Box 46				General correspondence (A-H) (8 folders)
Box 46				Grant
Box 46				Information and materials list
Box 46				Joint staff meeting, USOE/ NUEA
Box 46				Manual of training materials
Box 46				Materials to TTI directors (4 folders)
Box 46				National advisory council
Box 46				National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE)
Box 47				New careers training program
Box 47				Participants (2 folders)
Box 47				Progress reports first second
Box 47				Proposed weekly schedule for different regions schedule 2 folders
Box 47				"Summer 1966 Teacher Trainer Institutes" -- draft
Box 47				U.S. Office of Education (USOE) -- correspondence
Box 47				USOE mission
			1966 regional institues
Box 47				Florida State University (2 folders)
Box 47				North Carolina State University
Box 47				SUNY Buffalo (2 folders)
Box 47				SUNY Buffalo, appendix to final report
Box 48				SUNY Buffalo, supplemental report
Box 48				UCLA (2 folders)
Box 48				University of Colorado
Box 48				University of Connecticut
Box 48				University of Missouri - Kansas City (2 folders)
Box 48				University of Missouri - Kansas City, programmed instruction
Box 48				University of Texas
Box 48				Wayne State University
			1966 TTI photographs - many but not all are labeled; includes regional institutes
Box 49				Florida State University
Box 49				North Carolina State University
Box 49				NUEA
Box 49				SUNY Buffalo
Box 49				UCLA
Box 49				University of Colorado
Box 49				University of Maine
Box 49				University of Missouri - Kansas City
Box 49				University of Texas (2 folders)
Box 49				Washington, DC - "preliminary planning for summer institutes" meeting (2 folders)
Box 49				Wayne State University (2 folders)
Box 50				Wayne State University binder (3 folders)
Box 50				Miscellaneous (4 folders)
			1967
Box 51				ABE in Yonkers, optimal program plan
Box 51				Administration
Box 51				Administration, memoranda (3 folders)
Box 51				"Adult basic education for the disadvantaged"– McKee, John
Box 51				Annual meeting
Box 51				Background statement
Box 51				Bibliographies
Box 51				Bibliography for administrators and teachers
Box 51				Business concepts
Box 51				Carnegie Corporation of New York 1967-1968
Box 51				Clipping
Box 51				Conference room dedication
Box 51				Conferences -- Southeastern, April 20-21
Box 52				Consultants
Box 52				Contact lists (2 folders)
				Correspondence
Box 52					Administration (4 folders)
Box 52					Foster, Gerald A.
Box 52					Hoffman, Hy 1967-1968
Box 52					Mack, Lynn
Box 53					Mack, Lynn (2 folders)
Box 53					Nunney, Derek
Box 53					Paige, Joseph C.
Box 53					Requests for publications (2 folders)
Box 53					Ryan, James J.
Box 53				Curriculum guide 1967-1968
Box 53				Curriculum guide for ABE for personal and family development
Box 53				Curriculum guides
Box 53				Curriculum meeting
Box 53				Directory -- ABE institutes
Box 53				Educational psychology associates report, evaluation and documentation
Box 54				Educational psychology associates report, evaluation and documentation (with photographs)
Box 54				Educational technology (3 folders)
Box 54				Educational technology, report -- pre-institute seminar
Box 54				Evaluation report (2 folders)
Box 54				Evaluation report, abstract
Box 54				Federal roster
Box 54				Field interviews
Box 55				Final report
Box 55				Final report, guidelines and data (2 folders)
Box 55				Finance
Box 55				Finance -- anticipated expenses
Box 55				Finance, financial reports
Box 55				Financial statements
Box 55				Forms, general
Box 55				Furniture management center
Box 55				General correspondence
Box 56				General correspondence (3 folders)
Box 56				General correspondence (A-I) (8 folders)
				Grant
Box 56					Contract and proposal
Box 56					Contract renewal
Box 57					Evaluation and other materials (exhibits)
Box 57					Extension data
Box 57					Revisions
Box 57				Information and materials list
Box 57				Memoranda
				NAPSAE
Box 57					General files (2 folders)
Box 57					Manual of training materials
Box 57					NAPSAE-NUEA meeting, June 29
Box 57					Report of evaluation committee
Box 57				National ABE conference, Sept. 28-29
Box 57				National curriculum meeting, background statement
Box 57				National curriculum meeting, March 6-7
Box 57				National training meeting, March 16-17
Box 57				New careers training program
Box 57				Nunney, Dr.
				Participants
Box 58					ABE institutes
Box 58					Allocations, two and three week institutes
Box 58					Allocations and assignments
Box 58					Changes
Box 58					Lists
Box 59					Lists (3 folders)
Box 59					Participants and associates, breakdown by sex
Box 59				Position papers, Barron, Bill
				Pre-institute seminar
Box 59					Films
Box 59					Memoranda
Box 59					Presentations
Box 59					Proceedings
Box 59					Proceedings report 1967-1968
Box 59					Wayne State University (3 folders)
Box 59				Printing
Box 59				Printing -- Gumpert, Frank
Box 60				Professional resources (2 folders)
Box 60				Programming Planning Budgeting System (PPBS) undated
				Progress reports
Box 60					3rd
Box 60					4th
Box 60					4th (original)
Box 60				Purchase order information
Box 60				Purchasing, general
Box 60				Questionnaire and coding
Box 60				Questionnaire responses (2 folders)
Box 61				Questionnaire responses
Box 61				Reports (2 folders)
Box 61				Reports -- drafts
Box 61				Requests for proceedings and films
Box 61				Speech -- Luke, Robert
				Staffing
Box 61					Aids and associates
Box 61					Associates
Box 61					Institutes
Box 61					Specialists
Box 61				State director meeting
Box 61				Technical reports
Box 61				Travelling record of staff members
Box 61				University estimates for summer institutes
Box 61				University resources specialist, progress report
Box 61				University staff specialists
Box 61				U.S. Armed Forces Institutes, quotation
Box 61				USOE
Box 61				USOE quarterly reports
Box 61				USOE staff meeting
			1967 regional institutes
Box 62				Florida State University
Box 62				George Washington University
Box 62				Montclair State College (2 folders)
Box 62				North Carolina State University
Box 62				Northern Illinois University
Box 62				Portland State College (2 folders)
Box 62				Regional reports (I-VI) (6 folders)
Box 63				Regional reports (VII-VIII) (2 folders)
Box 63				SUNY Albany (2 folders)
Box 63				UCLA evaluation report, 1967-68 (3 folders)
Box 63				University of Colorado (2 folders)
Box 63				University of Connecticut
Box 63				University of Hawaii
Box 64				University of Iowa
Box 64				University of Maine (2 folders)
Box 64				University of Missouri - Kansas City (2 folders)
Box 64				University of Oklahoma
Box 64				University of South Carolina
Box 65				University of Texas (3 folders)
Box 65				University of Wyoming
Box 65				Wayne State University
			1968-1969
Box 65				ABE involvement
Box 65				Administration
Box 65				Administration, general and memoranda
Box 65				Audio-visual
Box 65				Audio-visual specialists
Box 65				Business concepts
Box 65				Contact list
				Correspondence
Box 65					Florida State University
Box 66					George Washington University
Box 66					North Carolina State University
Box 66					Northern Illinois University
Box 66					Nunney, Derek
Box 66					Portland State College
Box 66					Requests for publications
Box 66					SUNY Albany
Box 66					UCLA
Box 66					University of Connecticut
Box 66					University of Hawaii
Box 66					University of Iowa
Box 66					University of Maine
Box 66					University of Missouri
Box 66					University of South Carolina
Box 66					University of Texas
Box 66					University of Wyoming
Box 66					Wayne State University
Box 66				Educational psychology associates
				Evaluation
Box 66					Evaluation
Box 66					Forms--educational psychology associates
Box 66					Participant evaluation
Box 66					Questionnaire
Box 66					Report -- proposal
Box 66					Report -- request for quotations
Box 66				Evaluation and final report (originals), Vol. I and II
Box 67				Evaluation and final report references (2 folders)
Box 67				Final report (original), correspondence and guidelines (2 folders)
Box 67				Finance
Box 67				Follow-up evaluation
Box 67				Follow-up questionnaire
Box 67				General correspondence (4 folders)
Box 67				General information
Box 67				Grant
Box 67				Information and materials lists
Box 67				Institute visitations
Box 67				"Involving the uninvolved in adult education" -- Easley, Edgar
Box 67				Meetings
Box 67				Montclair State College
Box 67				NAPSAE
Box 67				North Carolina State University
Box 67				Participants survey
Box 67				Programmed instruction
Box 67				Proposal
Box 68				Requests for 1968 ABE materials
Box 68				Requests for proceedings and films
Box 68				University of California
Box 68				University of Texas
Box 68				USOE (3 folders)

	Part 3
		Administrative files
			Committee files
				See also Part 1: Administrative files: Committee files; Part 2: Administrative files: Committee files.
				Ad-hoc
Box 71					Accreditation 1977
Box 71					Continuing education for the profession 1977
Box 71					Continuing education unit policy 1979
Box 71					Creed 1978-1979 - overseeing national contest to create a NUEA doctrine
Box 71					Education telecommunications 1975-1980 (2 folders)
Box 71					Labor education 1978
Box 71					Military Programs 1977
Box 71					Purposes of monitoring [student] athletes 1980
Box 71					Reconsider name of association 1978-1980
Box 71					Visitation 1977
Box 71					Washington Symposium 1976-1977, 1979
Box 71				Audio-visual aide 1951-1960, 1962-1965 - includes reports, by-laws, a cataloging project, correspondence, programs, notes, and publications, like newsletters (5 folders)
Box 72				Audio-visual aide 1951-1960, 1962-1965 (4 folders)
Box 72				Awards and honors 1974-1977
Box 72				Business affairs 1958-1959, 1962-1965
Box 72				Community organization report 1954
Box 72				Conferences and institutes 1955 - report by subcommittee on procedures
Box 72				Executive questionnaire 1954-1955
				Joint
Box 72					AACBS [American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business]/ACHE [Association for Continuing Higher Education] - NUEA 1976-1977
Box 72					ACHE/NUEA on minimum data and definitions 1970, 1973, 1975-1979 (2 folders)
Box 72					ACRL [Association of College and Research Libraries, an ALA division]/NUEA on extension library services 1970-1976, 1978 (2 folders)
Box 72					IAVA [Industrial Audio-Visual Association]/NUEA 1952-1954
Box 73					Membership needs committee and long-term planning commission 1979/1980 - relationship unclear but materials originally grouped together
Box 73					OPM [Office of Personnel Management]/NUEA 1979-1980
Box 73					Study and improvement of teaching methods in the use of audio-visual aids 1951-1952
Box 73				Policy statement report 1961
Box 73				Reports and business practices 1950-1958 - includes mostly yearly committee reports and correspondence (5 folders)
Box 73				Resolutions report 1963-1964 (3 folders)
				Task forces
Box 73					Financial policies and procedures for subordinate units of NUEA 1980
Box 73					Membership and organizational concerns 1977-1979 (2 folders)
			Divisions
				See also Part 2: Administrative files: Divisions.
Box 74				Audio-visual communication 1955-1960, 1962-1963, 1967/1970 - includes correspondence, memos, surveys, reports, programming, and by-laws (5 folders)
Box 74				Business, industry, and labor pamphlets undated
				Community development
Box 74					Proceedings 1967, 1974
Box 74					Publications 1967, 1971, 1976, 1980
Box 74					Report 1956
				Conferences and institutes
Box 74					Awards 1979
Box 74					Chairman’s handbook 1952-1953, 1955-1964 - includes reports, minutes, projects, by-laws, rosters, and notes (3 folders)
Box 74					Continuation center survey 1958 - of NUEA member institutions
Box 74					Newsletter and rosters 1963-1964
Box 75					Proceedings booklet 1965
Box 75				Federal 1919
Box 75				Information services brochure undated
				Student services
Box 75					Administration 1976-1980 - includes annual report, by-laws, minutes, election nominations, mailing lists, reports, and correspondence
Box 75					Conference materials 1975-1978, 1980
Box 75					Membership and newsletters 1977, 1979-1980
Box 75					Secretary’s binder 1979-1980
Box 75					Successful student services practices in NUEA institutions 1979
Box 75					Miscellaneous material 1977-1980 - includes correspondence, programs, and ballots/election items
			Manuals
Box 75				Division of community development directory 1966, 1971, 1978 (2 folders)
Box 75				NUEA directory 1965-1966
Box 76				NUEA handbook 1961
Box 76				NUEA handbook and directory 1974-1975, 1978-1979 (2 folders)
			Miscellaneous
Box 76				Index of board minutes 1963-1980 (2 folders)
Box 76				NUEA general 1949-1951, 1953, 1955-1958 - includes lists, correspondence, publications and association by-laws (3 folders)
Box 76				NUEA history 1964 (2 folders)
Box 76				Public information services list 1949
		Biographical sketches - NUEA presidents noted by their terms in brackets
Box 76			Adolfson, Lorentz Henning [1951-52], University of Wisconsin 1959
Box 76			Alford, John, University of Wyoming 1964 - no photographs
Box 76			Anderson, Frank, University of Washington undated
Box 76			Bentley, Harlod, University of Utah undated
Box 76			Bower, Warren, NYU 1959
Box 76			Brandenburg, Ernest, Washington University in St. Louis undated
Box 76			Broady, Knute [1948-49], University of Nebraska 1959
Box 76			Brouillette, Joseph Walter [1952-53], LSU 1959
Box 76			Canada, John Robert, North Carolina State University undated
Box 76			Charters, Alexander [1965-66], Syracuse University undated
Box 76			Child, Robert, Southern Illinois University 1966 - no photographs
Box 77			Clark, Howard, Brigham Young University undated
Box 77			Clettenberg, Joseph, Northern Illinois University 1966 - no photographs
Box 77			Cochran, Lee William, State University of Iowa undated
Box 77			Cole, James, University of Virginia 1961, 1966
Box 77			Davies, J. L., State University of Iowa 1960 - no photographs
Box 77			Donahue, Maurice undated
Box 77			Drazek, Stanley [1964-65], University of Maryland 1959, 1964
Box 77			Duive, Henry, University of Wisconsin undated
Box 77			Easton, D. Mack [1961-62], University of Colorado undated
Box 77			Eddy, James R. D. [1959-60], University of Texas at Austin undated
Box 77			Eklund, Lowell [1974-75], Oakland University [of Michigan State University] 1966
Box 77			Eley, Lynn, University of Wisconsin 1968
Box 77			Faris, Gene, Indiana University undated - no photographs
Box 77			Fischer, Floyd B. [1971-72]; Milner, Charles [1966-67]; Pitchell, Robert [NUEA executive director]; Robinson, Stanley [1968-69]; Walker, Howard [1967-68] undated
Box 77			Glancy, Keith, Purdue University undated
Box 77			Godbey, Gordon, University of Delaware 1959
Box 77			Gustafson, Ben, University of North Dakota 1966
Box 77			Harrison, James, Utica College [of Syracuse University] undated
Box 77			Hiett, Norris Andrews, University of Texas at Austin 1959
Box 77			Higgens, Smith, Indiana University undated
Box 77			Hoehler, Fred, Michigan State University 1959
Box 77			Hoiberg, Otto, University of Nebraska undated
Box 77			Jenusaitis, Edmund, Rutgers University 1966 - no photographs
Box 77			Keller, John Orvis [1940-41], Pennsylvania State University undated
Box 77			Kitchens, John, University of New Mexico (unconfirmed) undated
Box 77			Lawshe, Charles, Purdue University 1966-1967
Box 77			Marvel, William, Carnegie Corporation undated - no photographs
Box 77			McMahon, Ernest [1957-58], Rutgers University 1959
Box 77			Miller, Paul, University of Illinois (unconfirmed) undated
Box 77			Milner, Charles [1966-67], University of North Carolina Chapel Hill 1964
Box 77			Mitchell, Nicholas [1969-70], University of South Carolina undated
Box 77			Neville, Howard [1963-64], Michigan State University 1964
Box 77			Nolte, Julius M. [1950-51], University of Minnesota undated
Box 77			Nueffer, Frank, University of Cincinnati 1967
Box 77			Pellegrin, Lionel, LSU 1968
Box 77			Pitchell, Robert, Roosevelt University (former president) and NUEA executive director undated - appointed by president Alexander Charters circa 1965-66
Box 77			Powell, Elizabeth, University of Georgia 1967 - no photographs
Box 77			Price, Richard, University of Minnesota 1963 - no photographs
Box 77			Riley, Bert C. [1939-40], University of Florida undated
Box 77			Robinson, Stanley [1968-69], University of Illinois 1960
Box 77			Rogers, Bill, University of Minnesota (unconfirmed) undated
Box 77			Schram, Llyod [1954-55], University of Washington 1966 - no photographs
Box 77			Shannon, Theordore, University of Wisconsin 1965 - no photographs
Box 77			Sheats, Paul [1962-63], UCLA 1963
Box 77			Shelby, Thomas H. University of Texas (unconfirmed) 1950
Box 77			Sherburne, James, Oregon State University 1967
Box 77			Sloan, Denver, University of Kentucky 1964, 1968
Box 78			Smith, Russel, NYU 1959
Box 78			Soop, Everett [1953-54], University of Michigan 1959
Box 78			Steffek, Ralph, University of Michigan 1959
Box 78			Stern, Milton, NYU and director of University Council of Adult Education 1963, 1966
Box 78			Storey, Alfred, University of Michigan 1967
Box 78			Thompson, Willard, University of Minnesota undated
Box 78			Tucker, Allan, State University System of Florida undated
Box 78			Turman, James, US Office of Education 1966
Box 78			Verhaalen, Roman, Kansas State University undated
Box 78			Walker, Howard [1967-68], University of Kansas undated
Box 78			Wedemeyer, Charles, University of Wisconsin 1962
Box 78			Welden, J. Eugene, University of Georgia 1960 - no photographs
Box 78			White, Frederick, University of Wisconsin undated - no photographs
Box 78			White, Thurman J. [1960-61], University of Oklahoma 1961
Box 78			Woods, Donald Z., University of Minnesota 1966
		Conference/convention materials
			See also Part 2: Administrative files: Conferences.
Box 78			1st annual Robert W. Richey symposium, on continuing education, Bloomington, IN 1978
Box 78			Galaxy conference on adult education, Washington, DC 1969
			NUEA
Box 78				1st annual, Madison, WI 1915
Box 78				3rd annual, Pittsburgh, PA 1917
Box 78				4th annual, Chicago, IL 1919
Box 78				5th annual, Ann Arbor, MI 1920
Box 78				6th annual, Iowa City, IA 1921
Box 78				7th annual, Lexington, KY 1922
Box 79				8th annual, St. Louis, MO 1923
Box 79				9th annual, Madison, WI 1924
Box 79				10th annual, Charlottesville, VA 1925
Box 79				11th annual, Salt Lake City, UT 1926
Box 79				12th annual, Chappel Hill, NC 1927
Box 79				13th annual, Lawrence, KS 1928
Box 79				14th annual, Austin, TX 1929
Box 79				15th annual, New York City, NY 1930
Box 80				16th annual, Boulder, CO 1931
Box 80				17th annual, Minneapolis, MN 1932
Box 80				18th annual, Bloomington, IN 1933
Box 80				19th annual, Chicago, IL 1934
Box 80				20th annual, Lincoln, NE 1935
Box 80				21st annual, Baton Rouge, LA 1936
Box 80				22nd annual, St. Louis, MO 1937
Box 80				23rd annual, Hot Springs, AR 1938
Box 80				24th annual, Berkley, CA 1939
Box 81				25th annual, Ann Arbor, MI 1940
Box 81				26th annual, Oklahoma City, OK 1941
Box 81				27th annual, State College, PA 1942
Box 81				28th annual, Chicago, IL 1943
Box 81				29th annual, St. Louis, MO 1944
Box 81				30th annual, Chicago, IL 1945
Box 81				31st annual, Detroit, MI 1946
Box 81				32nd annual, Atlantic City, NJ 1947
Box 81				34th annual, Edgewater Park, MS 1949
Box 82				35th annual, Excelsior Springs, MO 1950 (2 folders)
Box 82				36th annual, Bend, OR 1951
Box 82				37th annual, Austin, TX 1952
Box 82				38th annual, East Lansing, MI 1953 (2 folders)
Box 82				39th annual, Gatlinburg, TN 1954
Box 82				40th annual, State College, PA 1955 (3 folders)
Box 82				41st annual, Madison, WI 1956 (2 folders)
Box 83				42nd annual, Athens, GA 1957 (2 folders)
Box 83				43rd annual, Salt Lake City, UT 1958 (4 folders)
Box 83				44th annual, Syracuse, NY 1959 (3 folders)
Box 83				45th annual, Chicago, IL 1960 (3 folders)
Box 83				46th annual, Santa Barabara, CA 1961
Box 84				46th annual, Santa Barabara, CA 1961 (2 folders)
Box 84				47th annual, Lincoln, NE 1962 (2 folders)
Box 84				48th annual, Minneapolis, MN 1963 (3 folders)
Box 84				49th annual, Washington, DC 1964 (2 folders)
Box 84				50th annual, Lafayette, IN 1965 (2 folders)
Box 84				51st annual, Albuquerque, NM 1966
Box 84				52nd annual, Ann Arbor, MI 1967
Box 85				53rd annual, Miami Beach, FL 1968
Box 85				56th annual, Portland, OR 1971
Box 85				57th annual, Columbia, SC 1972
Box 85				58th annual, Omaha, NE 1973
Box 85				59th annual, Denver, CO 1974
Box 85				60th annual, San Juan, PR 1975
Box 85				61st annual, St. Louis MO 1976
Box 85				62nd annual, Tucson, AR 1977
Box 85				Division of business, labor, and industry 1978-1980 - on professional development
Box 85				Region 4, Notre Dame, Indiana 1977
Box 85				Region 2, Syracuse, NY 1961
		Publications
			See also Part 2: Manuals and publications.
Box 86			Booklets 1954, 1973-1975 - leadership training, community development, and a guide to independent study
Box 86			Continuing education recruiter 1975-1980 - job announcements (2 folders)
Box 86			Expanding horizons…continuing education; golden anniversary (50th) publication of NUEA 1965 - paperback and hardcover (2 folders)
			Journals
Box 86				Continuum correspondence 1976-1980 - includes additional miscellaneous files relating to the journal (4 folders)
Box 86				Continuum, volume 41 1976-1977 (4 issues)
Box 87				Continuum, volume 42-44 1977-1980 (12 issues)
Box 87				Spectator 1956-1965, 1971 - vol. 22 no. 1-2, 5; vol. 23 no. 1-4; vol. 24 no. 2, 4; vol. 25 no. 1, 4; vol. 27 no. 1, 4-5; vol. 28 no. 1, 4-5; vol. 29 no 1, 3-5; vol. 30 no. 1-5; vol. 31, no. 1; vol. 36 no. 3 (circa 30 issues)
Box 88				Spectator 1971-1976 - vol. 36 no. 3-4, 7-11; vol. 37 no. 12-14, 17; vol. 38. no. 19; vol. 39 no. 20-22; vol. 40 no. 23-24 (circa 15 issues)
Box 88			Membership brochures 1979
Box 88			Newsletters 1971-1973 - circa 50 issues
Box 88			NUEA programs and information 1973
Box 88			Perspectives on delivery systems for continuing education undated
Box 88			University of Tennessee continuing education, annual report 1978-1979

Return to top