Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
George A. Parkinson Papers
An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University
The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Parkinson, George A. |
| Title: | George A. Parkinson Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1937-1963 |
| Quantity: | .25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Speeches on adult education topics. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
George A. Parkinson was a member of the Milwaukee University of Wisconsin Extension (1937-1956) and director of the Milwaukee Teachers College (1958-1968). He served many posts as board member and officer of the Association of University Evening Colleges. He was active in bringing educational television to Milwaukee. He also served ETV both regionally and nationally as Vice President of the Midwest ETV Association (1962- ) and as a board member of the National Instructional Television Library (1962- ).
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The George A. Parkinson Papers consists of his speeches extending from 1937 to 1963, and ranging in subject matter from "The Role of the Evening College in Community Education," to "A Pattern of Higher Education for the State of Wisconsin" to "Education Beyond the High School and Where Vocation and Adult Education Fit Into the Picture."
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.
In particular, see also:
Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC) Records
National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
George A. Parkinson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRR
Date: 31 May 2006
Revision history:
Inventory
| Speeches | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | 2 Feb 1937 "Some Aspects of Adult Education" - ts, 7 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | [1937] "Report on the Investigation of Evening School Students at the Milwaukee Center in the Spring of 1937" - ts, 8 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 9 Feb 1938 "Adult Education for Adults" - ts, 15 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | [ca.1938] "Modern Aspects of Adult Education" - ts, 13 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 26 Mar 1946 "What Does the Veteran of Foreign Wars Expect of the Public Schools?" - ts, 4 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 8 Apr 1946 "Should an Additional Year Be Added to the Present Four-Year High School Curriculum?" - ts, 3 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 10 Dec 1946 "What Is the Meaning of Education?" - ts, 3 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 19 Dec 1946 "The Philosophy of an Educator" - ts, 10 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 31 Jul 1947 "Who Should Go to College" - ts, 7 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 11 Nov 1947 "The Role of the Evening College in Community Education" - ts, 3 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 17 Nov 1947 "A Pattern of Higher Education for the State of Wisconsin" - ts, 16 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 16 Jan 1949 "A Mathematician Looks at Education" - ts, 8 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 1956 "Patterns for the Future" - ts, 10 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 18 Feb 1958 "Education versus Social and Industrial Change" - ts, 5 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 15 Sep 1958 "Education and Survival in an Atomic Age" - ts, 9 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 26 Jan 1959 Commencement Address at Milwaukee Boy's Technical. High School - ts, 9 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 18 Mar 1959 "Education versus Social and Industrial Change" - ts, 5 pp. (2 copies) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 8 Sep 1959 "Education Beyond High School and Where the Vocational and Adult Schools Fit into the Picture" - ts, 8 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 27 Apr 1961 "Adult Education and Automation" - ts, 4 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 6 Jun 1961 "Education and Social and Industrial Change" - ts, 9 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 10 Apr 1962 "Some Reflections on Basic Trends Affecting Our Educational Patterns" - ts, 9 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 9 Oct 1962 "Some Aspects of Vocational and Technical Education" - ts, 8 pp. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | [Spring 1963] "The Philosophy and Operation of the Milwaukee Vocational and Adult. Schools" - ts, 7 pp. | ||||||||||