Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Galaxy Conference on Adult Education (1969: Washington, D.C.)
Title:	Galaxy Conference Records
Inclusive Dates:	1967-1970
Quantity:	1.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	The Galaxy Conference on Adult Education was held in Washington, D.C. in 1969. Participating organizations included the American Education Association, American Library Association, Commission of Professors of Adult Education, Committee of Adult Education Organizations, Council of National Organizations, National Association for Public School Adult Education, National Council on Adult Jewish Education, and the National University Extension Association. The records of the Galaxy Conference provide comprehensive documentation of the history, planning and execution of the conference.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The Galaxy Conference of Adult. Education Organizations was held in Washington, D.C., in 1969. It was the outgrowth of the Conference of Adult Education Organizations, convened in 1964 to provide liaison among the major professional associations in the field and to focus on common concerns. By 1969, 19 organizations were participating. The Conference, which had both general sessions and associated conferences, was successful both in its own right and in forwarding the goals of the Committee of Adult Education Organizations, which dropped the ad hoc qualification and later incorporated as the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Galaxy Papers, besides giving a comprehensive documentation of the planning and execution of the Conference, include (in Box 3) an organized history, a formal report, and the statement "Imperatives for Action," which resulted from the Galaxy Conference.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Additional material on the Wingspread Conference is located in the Council for the Continuing Education Unit (CCEU) Records. Other collections that may be of particular interest include:

Adult Education Association (AEA-USA)/American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) Records
Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC) Records
Alexander N. Charters papers
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) Records
Commission of the Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) Records
International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE) Records
National Association for Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE) Records
National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records
University Council on Education for Public Responsibility (UCEPR) Records

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Galaxy Conference Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Oct 1976
Revision history: 5 Jun 2006 - converted to EAD (MRR); 2 Dec 2008 - correction to related material (MRC); 2 Feb 2010 - link to AEA fixed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Organizational papers
Box 1		Advertising 1969
Box 1		Budgets, correspondence re 1967-1970
		Central Planning Group
Box 1			1964-1970
Box 1			1968-1970
Box 1		Correspondence, general 1969-1970
Box 1		Evaluation 1969-1970
Box 1		Exhibits 1968-1969
Box 1		Exhibits and advertising, correspondence re 1969
Box 1		Local arrangements 1969
Box 2		News releases 1969
Box 2		Program committee 1968-1970
Box 2		Program materials 1969
Box 2		Program materials and papers 1969
Box 2		Program schedules 1969
Box 2		Public relations 1968-1969
Box 2		Registration packet information 1969
Box 2		Speakers 1969

	Participating organizations
Box 2		Miscellaneous Papers 1967-1969
Box 2		Miscellaneous, A-Z 1969
Box 3		Adult Education Association 1969
Box 3		American Library Association 1968-1969
Box 3		Commission of the Professors of Adult Education 1969
Box 3		Committee of Adult Education Organizations 1968-1969
Box 3		Council of National Organizations 1969
Box 3		National Association for Public School Adult Education 1969
Box 3		National Council on Adult Jewish Education 1969
Box 3		National University Extension Association 1968-1969

	Miscellaneous
Box 3		Charters, Alexander N. 1969 - notes
Box 3		History of the planning for the conference 1970
Box 3		"Imperatives for Action" 1969
Box 3		Report on the 1969 Galaxy Conference of Adult Education Organizations 1970
Box 3		Wingspread Conference 1969 - general papers

Return to top