Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Liveright, A. A. (Alexander Albert), 1907-1969
Title:	Alexander A. Liveright Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1934-1969
Bulk Dates:	1956-1969
Quantity:	8.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Alexander A. Liveright was a professor of adult education and director of the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) for more than ten years. Correspondence, minutes and reports which highlight Liveright’s professional interests and affiliations. Included are papers generated while professor in the schools of education at Boston University and Syracuse University, as director of The Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, and as founding member and Secretary of the International Congress of University Adult Education. Sagamore Conference papers and those of the New Institutional Forms Project, a research project begun by Liveright to study the development of comprehensive adult education programs, also appear in the collection. International adult education is the focus of records from trips to Australia, Hong Kong, India, New Zealand, the Philippines, and Thailand. Miscellaneous material includes newspaper clippings, War Manpower Commission documents, and material from the Highlander Folk School.
Language:	English
Language:	French
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Alexander A. Liveright was born in Philadelphia, PA, in 1907. He received his bachelor's degree from the University of Wisconsin (1929), an M.A. in Guidance and Counseling from Teachers College, Columbia University (1930), and a Ph.D. in Adult Education from the University of Chicago (1956). Over his thirty-year career he was a professor, consultant, researcher and director for various institutions and universities specializing in adult and continuing education.

Liveright was director of the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) from 1956 until its dissolution in 1968. (The Center was independently located in Chicago from 1951 until 1965, and then was affiliated with Boston University.) In 1966 he spent four months on a round-the-world study sponsored by the Carnegie Corporation. As director of CSLEA, and in his own right, he was involved in a wide range of adult and continuing education programs in the United States, had many contacts with adult education in other countries, and was a leader in international activities such as the International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE), of which he was a founding member and, at the time of his death, secretary.

He was on the faculty of George Williams College, Columbia College, University College of the University of Chicago, and the University of Michigan; a member of the Visiting Committee for Summer Schools and Extension Division of Harvard; Executive Director, American Council on Race relations; Director of Labor Education, University of Chicago; consultant to the Research Bureau, U.S. Office of Education; consultant to the Academy for Educational Development; consultant to the Air Line Pilots Association; consultant to the Montana Farmers Union; and Conference Coordinator for the 1956 AEA Conference. From 1967 until his death in 1969, Liveright was Associate Professor of Adult Education at Syracuse University.

Dr. Liveright authored numerous articles, monographs, and book chapters and served on the editorial boards of Convergence and Adult Education.

He died in 1969.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Papers reflecting Liveright's activity in both the CSLEA and ICUAE, as well as his wide-ranging national and international involvement in adult education, form the bulk of the Alexander A. Liveright Papers. Notable in this portion of the collection are papers from the Sagamore Conference (September, 1960) marking the inception of the ICUAE. The CSLEA (with Liveright as its Director) was one of six adult education organizations sponsoring the Conference; Liveright became Secretary of the ICUAE.

Subjects covered include travels associated with the First World Conference and European Study Tour, adult education in Africa, Latin America, and Australia, as well as UNESCO meetings and conferences. The folders pertaining to the CSLEA International Comparative Education Conference at Exeter, New Hampshire are of note, since they form the basis of The Exeter Papers, published by Liveright (1966).

The bulk of the remainder of the collection is from the years 1968-1969, incorporating the phase-out of the CSLEA, Liveright's move to Syracuse University, and his ensuing illness. At Syracuse University, Liveright became associated with the ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education, plus numerous research and publication projects (Liveright had hoped to complete a book on leaders in adult education before he died). During his illness and at the time of his death, some of Liveright's administrative duties were shared by James Whipple and Robert Blakely; in addition, John Ohliger, Robert Theobald and David Mosconi completed publication projects in progress.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into series based on the various organizations and projects: Boston University, CSLEA, ICUAE, the New Institutional Forms Project, and Syracuse University. Travel includes material relating to trips to Australia, Hong Kong, India, New Zealand, Thailand and the Philippines. A final division covers Other activities while Miscellaneous includes photographs, clippings, and two audio tapes by Dr. Manet Fowler. The tapes record her interview with C. B. Ratchford, and refer to Liveright in two brief interchanges on Tape 1: on Side A of (after about 5 mm of tape), and on Side B (after about 10 mm of tape).

Because the collection was received as two separate donations several years apart and the two sections were processed separately, the intellectual order of contents shown in the finding aid is not necessarily the same as the physical order. For example, the CSLEA material is located in boxes 1, 2 and 8. Refer to the box numbers given in the finding aid for the correct location of a particular item.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

The following are particularly closely related to the Alexander A. Liveright Papers:

Organizations:

• Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC) Records
• Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) Records
• Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) Records
• Fund for Adult Education (FAE) Records
• Galaxy Conference
• International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE) Records

• National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records
• Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records
• University Council on Education for Public Responsibility (UCEPR) Records

Individuals

• Robert J. Blakely Papers
• Alexander N. Charters Papers
• Paul Sheats Papers
• James B. Whipple Papers

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alexander A. Liveright Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -/KW
Date: Oct 1976, Jun 1991
Revision history: 6 Jun 2006 - finding aids for parts 1 and 2 combined, converted to EAD (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

	Boston University
Box 1		Problems in Adult Education 1965-1968
Box 1		Problems in Adult Education 1965-1968 - course outlines and student papers (4 folders)
Box 1		Seminar in Comparative and International Adult Education 1968
Box 1		Seminar on Comparative Adult Education 1967-1968
Box 1		Student papers 1967-1968

	Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA)
Box 8		4th Leadership Conference for University Adult Education 1956
Box 1		Academy study undated - draft of chapters 3, 4 and 5, n.d.
Box 8		Anglo-American Conference 1963-1965
		Board meetings, minutes
Box 1			1956-1957
Box 2			1957
Box 2		Board minutes 1956
		Conference on Comparative Adult Education/Exeter, New Hampshire
Box 8			Correspondence 1966
Box 8			Reports & info. 1966
Box 8			Roster 1966
Box 8			Discussion papers 1966
			Working papers 1966
Box 8				Canada (English)
Box 8				Canada (French)
Box 8				Denmark
Box 8				France
Box 8				Hong Kong
Box 8				India
Box 8				Puerto Rico
Box 8				Sudan
Box 8				USA
Box 8				Yugoslavia
Box 2		Core programs 1960-1961
		Correspondence
Box 2			Australia 1966
Box 2			Hawaii 1966-1967
Box 2			India 1967
Box 2			Israel 1965
Box 2			Malaysia and Singapore 1967
Box 2			Nepal 1966-1967
Box 2			New Zealand 1966-1967
Box 2			Philippines 1967
Box 2			Thailand 1967
		CSLEA phase-out
Box 8			James Whipple 1968-1969
Box 8			Correspondence 1968
Box 8			Syracuse University 1968
		Foundations
Box 8			Carnegie Corp. 1964-1969
Box 8			Ford Foundation 1959-1968
Box 8			Standard Oil of New Jersey 1966-1967
Box 8			United States Steel 1964-1967
Box 8			Western Electric 1965-1969
Box 8			Miscellaneous 1964-1965
Box 2		Grants and submissions 1963
Box 2		Impact study and supplement 1958-1959
Box 2		Program goals study 1964-1965
		Proposals
			See also Syracuse University: Kellogg Foundation proposal
Box 8			Audience Education proposal undated
Box 8			Correspondence Ed. Research Proj. 1964-1965
Box 8			Directory for Independent Study 1964-1968
Box 8			Research & Development Center 1966
Box 8		State University of New York (SUNY) /Albany 1964-1968
Box 8		University Council on Education for Public Responsibility (UCEPR) 1967-1968
		U.S. Dept. of Health, Ed., Welfare (DHEW)/Office of Education (USOE)
Box 8			Bureau of Research 1965-1966
Box 8			Correspondence 1965-1968
Box 8			Follow-up 1966-1968
Box 8			Research & Development Center 1966-1967
		Visitors
Box 8			Drew, Vernon 1964-1968
Box 8			Kelly, Tom 1967-1968
Box 8			Samolovcev, Borivoj 1964-1969
Box 8			Singh, Amrik 1967-1968
Box 8			Stretton, Dulcie 1967-1968
Box 8			Miscellaneous 1962-1968

	ICUAE
		Business
			Correspondence
Box 8				Crowley, Desmond 1965-1969
Box 8				Dakin, James 1965-1969
Box 8				Friesen, John 1965-1969
Box 8				Howard, Campbell 1966-1969
Box 8				Hughes, Ieuan 1967-1968
Box 8				Jessup, Frank 1966-1969
				Kidd, James Roby 1964-1969
Box 8					Convergence 1968-1969
Box 8				Melling, John 1965-1967
Box 8				Okamura, Seiichi 1965-1968
Box 8				Canadian Assoc. Adult Ed. (CAE) 1966-1967
Box 8				Canadian Assoc. Depts. of Ext. & Summer Schools, CADESS 1966-1967
Box 8				India-Rajasthan 1965-1969
Box 8				Uganda-Makerere Univ. College 1965-1966
			Executive Committee, Members (alphabetical)
Box 9				Borinski, Fritz 1965-1969 - correspondence
Box 9				Coles, E.K. Townsend 1963-1969 - correspondence
Box 9				al-Halim, Amad Abd 1966-1967
Box 9				Lai, T.C. 1964-1969
Box 9				McCallion, W.J. (chair) 1963-1968
Box 9				Raybould, Sidney 1965-1969
Box 9				Savicevic, Dusan 1966-1969
Box 9				Schwartz, Bertrand 1966-1968
			Executive Committee
Box 9				Minutes 1960-1963
Box 9				Minutes, correspondence Jul-Nov 1965
Box 9				Minutes, agenda, corres., Boston-Buffalo 1966
				Minutes, correspondence, Syracuse-NYC 1967
Box 9					Education Permanente Seminar 1967 - speeches
Box 9					Education Permanente Seminar 1967 - corres. & speeches
Box 9				Minutes, correspondence, Leeds-Syracuse 1968
			Legal affairs
Box 9				Geo. Overton 1962-1967
Box 9				Legal/financial affairs 1964-1968
Box 9				UNESCO affiliation 1962-1963
			Membership affairs
Box 9				Ballots, institutional & individual undated
Box 9				Correspondence & misc. 1963-1966
Box 9				Dues 1963-1968
Box 9				Dues 1967-1968
Box 9				Information 1965-1968
Box 9				Invoices, individual memberships 1967-1970
Box 9				Invoices, institutional memberships 1967-1969
Box 9				Lifetime membership, Seiichi Okamura 1966
Box 9				List - individual 1966
Box 9				List - institutional 1966
Box 9				Prospective members 1966-1967
			Publications
				Newsletter
Box 9					First issue 1961
Box 9					Mailing list 1965
Box 9					Subscriptions 1965-1967
Box 9					Correspondence 1967-1968
Box 9					Diana Ironside, newsletter & personal correspondence 1965-1969
Box 9				Adult Ed publications 1966-1968
Box 9				ICUAE Adult Ed. Directory [1966?]
		Conferences
			Africa
Box 9				Cables 1961
Box 9				Correspondence 1961-1962
Box 10				Visa information 1961
Box 10				African Adult Education Institute 1961-1964
				Ghana
Box 10					Correspondence 1961
Box 10					Memoranda & miscellaneous 1961-1962
Box 10					Reports 1961-1962
Box 10				Basutoland 1962
Box 10				African Trip, follow-up 1962-1963
Box 10				Africa, correspondence 1962-1966
			Australia
Box 10				Conference 1961-1964
Box 10				Miscellaneous 1963
			Europe
Box 10				Study tour 1963-1965
Box 10				Study tour, memos 1964-1965
Box 10				Study tour, questionnaires 1964
Box 10				Study tour, participants 1964-1965
Box 10				Study tour, cancellations 1964-1965
Box 10				Study tour, arrangements 1965
				Study tour-Oxford 1965
Box 10					Britain, correspondence 1965-1968
Box 10				Study tour-UNESCO 1965
Box 10				World Conference, Krogerup Denmark, correspondence 1963-1964
Box 10				World Conference 1963-1965
Box 10				World Conference, business 1963-1965
Box 10				World Conference, Ford Grant 1964-1965
Box 10				World Conference, correspondence 1964-1965
Box 10				World Conference, correspondence/papers 1964-1965
Box 10				World Conference, ICCE/correspondence 1964-1965
Box 10				World Conference, Secretary's report 1965
Box 10				World Conference, executive minutes 1965
Box 10				World Conference, resolution
Box 10				World Conference, memoranda 1965
Box 10				World Conference, participants 1965
Box 10				World Conference, newsletter 1965
Box 10				World Conference, newsletter/correspondence 1965-1966
			Latin America
Box 10				Correspondence 1961-1963
Box 10				Memoranda 1961-1963
Box 10				Correspondence & lists 1962
Box 10				Latin America/S. American conference 1962
Box 10				Latin America 1963 - correspondence
Box 10				Inter-American Conference 1964
Box 10				Inter-American Conference 1964-1968 - correspondence
			United States
				Sagamore Conference
Box 11					Agenda, minutes, participants 1960-1961
Box 11					Correspondence 1960
Box 11					Speeches Sep 1960
Box 11				Other conference notifications 1964-1968
Box 11				Other conferences, information/reports 1964-1968
Box 11			UNESCO, research & training grant 1967-1968
Box 11			UNESCO conferences 1968-1969
Box 11			2nd World Conference 1968-1969

	New Institutional Forms Project
		Consultant panel 1969
Box 2			Project #1
Box 3			Project #2
Box 3		Contract and proposal 1968
Box 3		Correspondence, Ivan Lappin 1968-1969
		Draft Proposals
Box 3			Comments 1968
Box 3			Correspondence 1966-1968 (2 folders)
Box 3		National Focus Activity 1969
Box 3		National forms 1969
Box 4		Panel meetings 1968-1969
Box 4		Program budget 1968
Box 4		Proposal and background material 1966-1969
Box 4		Report, inquiries re 1969
Box 4		Reports to Committee of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) 1968-1969
Box 4		Staff appointments 1969 - correspondence
Box 4		Survey form, city of Syracuse 1969

	Syracuse University
Box 11		Academy for Education Development 1967-1969
Box 11		Academy for Education Development, report
Box 11		Academy for Education Development - Dave Mosconi 1968-1969
		Adult education
Box 4			Course outline and student papers 1968
Box 5			Programs 1967-1969
Box 5			Related programs 1968
Box 5		Appointment to staff 1968-1969 - correspondence
Box 5		Continuing education 1969 - publications list
Box 5		Continuing education publications 1968 - correspondence
Box 5		Faculty interviews, drafts ca.1968
Box 5		Highlander Research and Education Center 1969
Box 5		International Seminar on Adult Education 1969
Box 11		International Seminar/Galaxy Conference 1968-1969
Box 11		Kellogg Foundation proposal 1968-1969
Box 11		National Institute for Independent Study 1968-1969
Box 11		New Institutional Forms 1969
Box 11		Miller, Paul A. 1968-1969
		Publication Activity
Box 11			Adult Education Information 1968-1969
Box 11			Continuing Education for Adults 1968-1969
Box 11			ERIC Advisory Committee 1968, 1966-1969
Box 11			ERIC 1968-1969 - correspondence
Box 11			Kapoor, Sudarshan - correspondence
Box 11			Liveright, Alexander 1969
Box 11			Ohliger, John 1969
Box 11		UNESCO, Ruth Lazarus 1968-1969
		Miscellaneous
Box 12			Archives 1968-1969
Box 12			Planning schedule 1968
Box 12			School of Ed/Ph.D. Orals 1968
Box 12			Recruitment, etc. 1968-1969
Box 12			Alex Charters, memos undated

	Travel
Box 5		Australia, Canberra 1967
Box 5		Australia, Melbourne 1967
Box 5		Australia, New South Wales 1966-1967
Box 5		Australia, Perth 1967
Box 5		Australia, University of Sydney 1967
Box 5		Australia, Tasmania 1967
Box 5		Hong Kong
Box 5		India (general) 1967
Box 5		India, University of Rajasthan 1967
Box 6		New Zealand 1967
Box 6		Philippines 1967
Box 6		Thailand 1966-1967

	Other Activities
Box 12		American Association of Jr. Colleges 1964-1969
Box 12		American Council on Education 1968-1969
		American Education Association (AEA)
Box 12			Professional Standards Committee 1967-1968
Box 12			Continuing education 1967-1968
Box 12			Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) 1967-1969
Box 12				Reports 1967-1969
Box 12				Correspondence 1966-1969
Box 12		Cleveland State University 1966-1969
		College Entrance Examination Board (CEEB)
Box 12			General 1966-1969
Box 12			Correspondence 1966-1969
Box 12			Directory 1966-1969
Box 12		Delbert Clark Award 1968-1969
Box 12		General Electric Seminar 1968
		Harvard College, Board of Overseers
Box 12			Correspondence 1965-1969
Box 12			Reginald Phelps 1968-1969
		Highlander Folk School
Box 12			1957-1962
Box 12			1968-1969
Box 12		Leaders in Adult Education [1968]-1969
Box 6		National Adult Education Resources Institute 1967 - confidential memoranda
Box 12		National Educational TV 1964-1968
Box 12		Ontario Institute for Studies in Education 1968
Box 7		South-East Asian Institute of Adult Education 1966-1968
Box 12		Theobald, Robert 1966-1969 - book contract & correspondence
Box 12		US Office of Education (USOE)/Region 2 1968-1969
Box 12		University of Pittsburgh, Board of Visitors 1968-1969
		War Manpower Commission
Box 6			War Manpower Commission 1942
Box 7			Confidential study for 1942
Box 7			Office of Emergency Management, War Manpower Commission 1943
Box 7			U.S.A. Before War Manpower Commission 1943
Box 12		WCOTP, mailing list undated

	Miscellaneous
Box 12		Audio tapes - interview of C.B. Ratchford by Dr. Manet Fowler undated
		Clippings
Box 6			Newspaper clippings 1934-1935
Box 7			Printed papers and newspaper clippings 1968-1969
Box 12		Collected papers 1966-1968
		Correspondence
Box 6			General 1963-1967
Box 12			Blakely, Robert 1965-1969
Box 12			Daigneualt, George 1968
Box 12			Houle, Cyril 1968-1969
Box 12			Other correspondence 1962-1969
Box 12			Illness 1969
Box 6		Dissertation proposals 1966-1967
Box 7		Notes on various topics 1966-1968
		Photographs
Box 7			Alexander A. Liveright undated
Box 12			Miscellaneous photos 1951-[n.d.]

Return to top